執行個體與 AMI - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud

執行個體與 AMI

Amazon Machine Image (AMI) 是一種範本,其中包含軟體組態 (例如作業系統、應用程式伺服器和應用程式)。您可以從 AMI 啟動執行個體,執行個體是 AMI 的複本,在雲端中以虛擬伺服器的形式執行。您可以啟動 AMI 的多個執行個體,如下圖所示。


					從 AMI 啟動多個執行個體

執行個體會持續執行運作,直到您加以停止或終止,或直到故障。如果執行個體故障,您可以從 AMI 啟動新的執行個體。

執行個體

執行個體是雲端中的虛擬伺服器。其在啟動時會設定 AMI 的副本,而此 AMI 是您啟動執行個體時所指定的。

您可以從單一 AMI 啟動不同類型的執行個體。執行個體類型基本上可決定執行個體所用主機電腦的硬體。每個執行個體類型皆提供不同的運算與記憶體功能。針對您計畫在執行個體類型上所執行的應用程式或軟體,根據其所需的記憶體數量和運算能力,來選擇執行個體的類型。如需各 Amazon EC2 執行個體類型的硬體規格詳細資訊,請參閱 Amazon EC2 執行個體類型

執行個體在啟動之後看起來會像是傳統主機,您可以像使用任何電腦一樣地與其互動。您可以完全控制執行個體;您可以使用 sudo 來執行需要根權限的指令。

AWS 帳戶對可以執行的執行個體數量有所限制。如需關於此限制的詳細資訊,以及如何申請提高上限,請參閱 Amazon EC2 一般常見問答集中的我可以在 Amazon EC2 中執行多少執行個體

執行個體的儲存體

執行個體的根設備包含了用來啟動執行個體的映像。如需更多詳細資訊,請參閱 Amazon EC2根設備磁碟區

執行個體可以包含本機儲存磁碟區 (稱為執行個體存放磁碟區),您可在啟動時使用區塊型設備映射來設定此磁碟區。如需更多詳細資訊,請參閱 區塊型設備映射。當這些磁碟區新增並對應到執行個體之後,即可提供掛載和使用。如果執行個體故障,或是停止或終止,則這些磁碟區上的資料會遺失;因此,這些磁碟區最好用來儲存暫時性的資料。若要安全地保存重要資料,您應採用複寫到多個執行個體的策略,或是將持久性資料存放於 Amazon S3 或 Amazon EBS 磁碟區中。如需更多詳細資訊,請參閱 儲存

安全最佳實務

  • 使用 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 來控管對 AWS 資源的存取,包括執行個體。您可以在 AWS 帳戶中建立 IAM 使用者和群組、針對每個使用者指派安全登入資料,並控管其對於 AWS 資源和服務的存取。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 Amazon EC2 的 Identity and Access Management

  • 透過只讓受信任的主機或網路存取執行個體上的通訊埠,來限制存取。例如,您可以藉由限制 22 號埠上的傳入流量,來限制 SSH 的存取。如需更多詳細資訊,請參閱 Linux 執行個體的 Amazon EC2 安全群組

  • 定期檢視安全群組中的規則,並確定實行最低權限的規則 (只開放需要的權限)。您也可以建立不同的安全群組,來處理具有不同安全要求的執行個體。請考慮建立只允許外部登入的堡壘安全群組,並且讓群組中其他的執行個體不允許外部登入。

  • 停用使用密碼登入從 AMI 啟動的執行個體。密碼可能會遭到竊取或破解,而帶來安全的風險。如需更多詳細資訊,請參閱 停用根使用者的密碼型態遠端登入。如需安全共用 AMI 的相關詳細資訊,請參閱 共享 AMI

停止和終止執行個體

您可以隨時停止或終止執行中的執行個體。

停止執行個體

當執行個體停止時,會進行正常的關閉動作,然後轉換為 stopped 狀態。該執行個體所有的 Amazon EBS 磁碟區仍會保持連結,您可以在之後再次啟動該執行個體。

當執行個體處於停止狀態時,將不會向您收取額外的執行個體使用費。每次從已停止狀態轉換為執行狀態時,我們都會收取 (至少一分鐘) 的費用。如果執行個體的類型在執行個體停止時變更,則在執行個體啟動之後,將會依新的執行個體類型來計算您的費用。執行個體所有相關 Amazon EBS 的使用,包括根設備的使用,都會以一般的 Amazon EBS 價格計費。

當執行個體處於停止狀態時,您可以連結 Amazon EBS 磁碟區或中斷其連結。您也可以從執行個體建立 AMI,和變更核心、RAM 磁碟及執行個體類型。

終止執行個體

當執行個體終止時,會進行正常的關閉動作。根據預設,根設備磁碟區會刪除,但任何連結的 Amazon EBS 磁碟區會保留,由每個磁碟區的 deleteOnTermination 屬性設定決定。執行個體本身也會刪除,而且之後無法再次啟動該執行個體。

若要預防意外終止,您可以停用執行個體終止。若要這麼做,請確定將執行個體的 disableApiTermination 屬性設定為 true。若要控制執行個體關閉的行為 (例如在 Linux 中的 shutdown -h 或是在 Windows 中的 shutdown),請根據需要,將 instanceInitiatedShutdownBehavior 執行個體屬性設定為 stopterminate。使用 Amazon EBS 磁碟區做為根設備執行個體預設為 stop;使用執行個體存放區根設備的執行個體,在執行個體關閉時則一律會終止。

如需詳細資訊,請參閱 執行個體生命週期

AMI

Amazon Web Services (AWS) 會發佈許多 Amazon Machine Image (AMI),其中包含常見的公有使用軟體組態。此外,AWS 開發人員社群的成員,也發佈了自己的自訂 AMI。您也可以建立自己自訂的 AMI,如此就能快速輕鬆地啟動具有您一切所需的新執行個體。例如,如果您的應用程式是網站或 web 服務,則 AMI 可包含 web 伺服器、相關的靜態內容和動態網頁的程式碼。因此,在從這個 AMI 啟動執行個體後,web 伺服器會啟動,您的應用程式也就緒可接受請求。

所有的 AMI 可分類為以 Amazon EBS 為後端和以執行個體存放區為後端,前者表示從 AMI 啟動的執行個體根設備為 Amazon EBS 磁碟區,後者表示從 AMI 啟動的執行個體根設備,是以儲存於 Amazon S3 中的範本所建立的執行個體存放磁碟區。

AMI 的描述會指出根設備的類型 (ebsinstance store)。這點十分重要,因為每種 AMI 的用途有極大的差異。如需這些差異的詳細資訊,請參閱 根設備儲存

您可以在完成使用之後取消註冊 AMI。在您取消註冊 AMI 之後,您便無法用它來啟動新的執行個體。從 AMI 啟動的現有執行個體不會受影響。因此,如果您也完成了從這些 AMI 啟動的執行個體,即應該終止這些執行個體。

Menu
Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud
User Guide for Linux Instances

Instances and AMIs

An Amazon Machine Image (AMI) is a template that contains a software configuration (for example, an operating system, an application server, and applications). From an AMI, you launch an instance, which is a copy of the AMI running as a virtual server in the cloud. You can launch multiple instances of an AMI, as shown in the following figure.


					Launch multiple instances from an AMI

Your instances keep running until you stop or terminate them, or until they fail. If an instance fails, you can launch a new one from the AMI.

Instances

You can launch different types of instances from a single AMI. An instance type essentially determines the hardware of the host computer used for your instance. Each instance type offers different compute and memory capabilities. Select an instance type based on the amount of memory and computing power that you need for the application or software that you plan to run on the instance. For more information about the hardware specifications for each Amazon EC2 instance type, see Amazon EC2 Instances.

After you launch an instance, it looks like a traditional host, and you can interact with it as you would any computer. You have complete control of your instances; you can use sudo to run commands that require root privileges.

Your AWS account has a limit on the number of instances that you can have running. For more information about this limit, and how to request an increase, see How many instances can I run in Amazon EC2 in the Amazon EC2 General FAQ.

Storage for Your Instance

The root device for your instance contains the image used to boot the instance. For more information, see Amazon EC2 Root Device Volume.

Your instance may include local storage volumes, known as instance store volumes, which you can configure at launch time with block device mapping. For more information, see Block Device Mapping. After these volumes have been added to and mapped on your instance, they are available for you to mount and use. If your instance fails, or if your instance is stopped or terminated, the data on these volumes is lost; therefore, these volumes are best used for temporary data. For important data, you should use a replication strategy across multiple instances in order to keep your data safe, or store your persistent data in Amazon S3 or Amazon EBS volumes. For more information, see Storage.

Security Best Practices

  • Use AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) to control access to your AWS resources, including your instances. You can create IAM users and groups under your AWS account, assign security credentials to each, and control the access that each has to resources and services in AWS. For more information, see Controlling Access to Amazon EC2 Resources.

  • Restrict access by only allowing trusted hosts or networks to access ports on your instance. For example, you can restrict SSH access by restricting incoming traffic on port 22. For more information, see Amazon EC2 Security Groups for Linux Instances.

  • Review the rules in your security groups regularly, and ensure that you apply the principle of least privilege—only open up permissions that you require. You can also create different security groups to deal with instances that have different security requirements. Consider creating a bastion security group that allows external logins, and keep the remainder of your instances in a group that does not allow external logins.

  • Disable password-based logins for instances launched from your AMI. Passwords can be found or cracked, and are a security risk. For more information, see Disable Password-Based Remote Logins for Root. For more information about sharing AMIs safely, see Shared AMIs.

Stopping, Starting, and Terminating Instances

Stopping an instance

When an instance is stopped, the instance performs a normal shutdown, and then transitions to a stopped state. All of its Amazon EBS volumes remain attached, and you can start the instance again at a later time.

You are not charged for additional instance hours while the instance is in a stopped state. A full instance hour will be charged for every transition from a stopped state to a running state, even if this happens multiple times within a single hour. If the instance type was changed while the instance was stopped, you will be charged the rate for the new instance type after the instance is started. All of the associated Amazon EBS usage of your instance, including root device usage, is billed using typical Amazon EBS prices.

When an instance is in a stopped state, you can attach or detach Amazon EBS volumes. You can also create an AMI from the instance, and you can change the kernel, RAM disk, and instance type.

Terminating an instance

When an instance is terminated, the instance performs a normal shutdown, then the attached Amazon EBS volumes are deleted unless the volume's deleteOnTermination attribute is set to false. The instance itself is also deleted, and you can't start the instance again at a later time.

To prevent accidental termination, you can disable instance termination. If you do so, ensure that the disableApiTermination attribute is set to true for the instance. To control the behavior of an instance shutdown, such as shutdown -h in Linux or shutdown in Windows, set the instanceInitiatedShutdownBehavior instance attribute to stop or terminate as desired. Instances with Amazon EBS volumes for the root device default to stop, and instances with instance-store root devices are always terminated as the result of an instance shutdown.

For more information, see Instance Lifecycle.

AMIs

Amazon Web Services (AWS) publishes many Amazon Machine Images (AMIs) that contain common software configurations for public use. In addition, members of the AWS developer community have published their own custom AMIs. You can also create your own custom AMI or AMIs; doing so enables you to quickly and easily start new instances that have everything you need. For example, if your application is a website or a web service, your AMI could include a web server, the associated static content, and the code for the dynamic pages. As a result, after you launch an instance from this AMI, your web server starts, and your application is ready to accept requests.

All AMIs are categorized as either backed by Amazon EBS, which means that the root device for an instance launched from the AMI is an Amazon EBS volume, or backed by instance store, which means that the root device for an instance launched from the AMI is an instance store volume created from a template stored in Amazon S3.

The description of an AMI indicates the type of root device (either ebs or instance store). This is important because there are significant differences in what you can do with each type of AMI. For more information about these differences, see Storage for the Root Device.

On this page: