Menu
Amazon DevPay
Developer Guide (API Version 2007-12-01)

Customer Cancellation

When a Customer Cancels

Your customers can cancel their use of your product at any time. To cancel, they go to their Application Billing page, click View/Cancel Application, and then click Cancel the use of [product]. Following is an example of the resulting page.

Application Cancellation Page

When customers cancel, access to your product is discontinued immediately. They can no longer access any data they have stored with AWS using your product (for example, data stored in Amazon S3 with your product). For more information about the data, see Customer Access Stored Data.

If your product has a monthly charge, the customer immediately receives a refund for any unused portion of the monthly charge. One-time charges are never refunded in any situation. For information about how we charge you to cover a customer refund, see Customer Refunds and Chargebacks.

DevPay doesn't notify you by e-mail when a customer cancels. For information about determining when customers cancel, see Reports and Verifying the Customer's Subscription Status.

At the end of the month, we bill the customer for any use of your product up to the point of cancellation (if your product has usage-based charges).

Important

Because customers can't use a different product to access data they store with an AWS service using your product, you should warn your customers that:

  • They should retrieve their data before they cancel use of your product

  • If they don't pay their bills for your product, we cancel their access to your product and their data becomes unavailable

If You Want to Cancel a Customer

If you want to cancel a customer, open a case in the AWS Support Center, selecting Billing > DevPay Inquiry. Note that there isn't a programmatic way for you to cancel a customer.