Amazon ElastiCache
User Guide (API Version 2015-02-02)

Choosing Regions and Availability Zones

AWS cloud computing resources are housed in highly available data center facilities. To provide additional scalability and reliability, these data center facilities are located in different physical locations. These locations are categorized by regions and Availability Zones.

Regions are large and widely dispersed into separate geographic locations. Availability Zones are distinct locations within a region that are engineered to be isolated from failures in other Availability Zones and provide inexpensive, low latency network connectivity to other Availability Zones in the same region.


Each region is completely independent. Any ElastiCache activity you initiate (for example, creating clusters) runs only in your current default region.

To create or work with a cluster in a specific region, use the corresponding regional service endpoint. For service endpoints, see Supported Regions & Endpoints.

			Image: Regions and Availability Zones

Regions and Availability Zones

Locating Your Redis Read Replicas and Memcached Nodes

Amazon ElastiCache supports locating all of a cluster's members in a single or multiple Availability Zones (AZs). Further, if you elect to locate a cluster's members in multiple AZs (recommended), ElastiCache enables you to either choose the AZ for each member, or allow ElastiCache to choose them for you.

By locating the clusters or nodes in different Availability Zones, you eliminate the chance that a failure, such as a power outage, in one Availability Zone will cause your entire system to fail. Testing has demonstrated that there is no significant latency difference between locating all nodes in one Availability Zone or spreading them across multiple Availability Zones.

To specify an Availability Zone for your Memcached nodes, create a Memcached cluster as you normally do. On the Cluster Details page of the Launch Cluster wizard, use the Preferred Zone list to specify an Availability Zone for this node.

To specify an Availability Zone for your Redis read replica, you first create a replication group and then add from one to five read replicas to the replication group. You can specify a different Availability Zone for each read replica. For more information on creating a Redis read replica in an Availability Zone different from the primary Redis cache cluster, see Creating a Redis Cluster with Replicas and Adding a Read Replica to a Redis Cluster.

Supported Regions & Endpoints

Amazon ElastiCache is available in multiple regions so that you can launch ElastiCache clusters in locations that meet your requirements, such as launching in the region closest to your customers or to meet certain legal requirements.

By default, the AWS SDKs, AWS CLI, ElastiCache API, and ElastiCache console reference the US-West (Oregon) region. As ElastiCache expands availability to new regions, new endpoints for these regions are also available to use in your HTTP requests, the AWS SDKs, AWS CLI, and the console.

Each region is designed to be completely isolated from the other regions. Within each region are multiple availability zones (AZ). By launching your nodes in different AZs you are able to achieve the greatest possible fault tolerance. For more information on regions and availability zones, go to Choosing Regions and Availability Zones at the top of this topic.

Regions where ElastiCache is supported

Region Name Region Endpoint Protocol
US East (Ohio) Region



US East (N. Virginia) Region



US West (N. California) Region



US West (Oregon) Region



Canada (Central) Region

Only T2 and M4 node types are currently supported in this region.



Asia Pacific (Mumbai) Region

Only T2, R3, and M4 node types are currently supported in this region.



Asia Pacific (Seoul) Region



Asia Pacific (Singapore) Region



Asia Pacific (Sydney) Region



Asia Pacific (Tokyo) Region



EU (Frankfurt) Region



EU (Ireland) Region



EU (London) Region

Only T2 and M4 node types are currently supported in this region.



South America (São Paulo) Region



China (Beijing) Region



AWS GovCloud (US)

M4 node types are currently not supported in this region.

For information on using the AWS GovCloud (US) with ElastiCache, see Services in the AWS GovCloud (US) region: ElastiCache.

us-gov-west-1 HTTPS

For a table of AWS products and services by region, see Products and Services by Region.