Menu
Amazon Simple Storage Service
Console User Guide

How Do I Empty an S3 Bucket?

If you are in the old Amazon S3 console, to use the new console, choose Opt In in the following box, which appears on the old Amazon S3 console home page. Note that Opt In is not available in all Regions.  


                            Opt-in to new Amazon S3 console UI

You can empty a bucket, which deletes all of the objects in the bucket without deleting the bucket. When you empty a bucket with versioning enabled, all versions of all the objects in the bucket are deleted. For more information, see Managing Objects in a Versioning-Enabled Bucket and Deleting/Emptying a Bucket in the Amazon Simple Storage Service Developer Guide.

To empty an S3 bucket

  1. Sign in to the AWS Management Console and open the Amazon S3 console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/s3/.

  2. In the Bucket name list, choose the bucket icon next to the name of bucket that you want to delete and then choose Empty bucket.

  3. In the Empty bucket dialog box, type the name of the bucket you want to empty for confirmation and then choose Confirm.