使用 IAM 角色向在 Amazon EC2 实例上运行的应用程序授予权限 - AWS Identity and Access Management

使用 IAM 角色向在 Amazon EC2 实例上运行的应用程序授予权限

在 EC2 实例上运行的应用程序必须将 AWS 凭证包含在其 AWS API 请求中。您可以让开发人员将 AWS 凭证直接存储在 EC2 实例中,并允许该实例中的应用程序使用这些凭证。但开发人员随后必须管理凭证,确保他们能安全地将凭证传递给每个实例,并在需要轮换凭证时更新每个 EC2 实例。这需要进行大量的额外工作。

相反,您可以且应使用 IAM 角色管理在 EC2 实例上运行的应用程序的临时凭证。在使用角色时,您不需要将长期凭证 (如用户名和密码或访问密钥) 分配给 EC2 实例。相反,角色可提供临时权限供应用程序在调用其他 AWS 资源时使用。当您启动 EC2 实例时,可指定要与实例关联的 IAM 角色。然后,实例上运行的应用程序可使用角色提供的临时凭证对 API 请求进行签名。

若要使用角色向 EC2 实例上运行的应用程序授予权限,需要进行一点额外配置。EC2 实例上运行的应用程序由虚拟化操作系统从 AWS 中提取。因为存在这一额外分离操作,所以需要执行一个附加步骤将 AWS 角色及其关联权限分配给 EC2 实例,并使这些权限对其应用程序可用。此额外步骤是创建要附加到实例的实例配置文件。实例配置文件包含角色,并且可以为实例上运行的应用程序提供角色的临时凭证。然后,可以在应用程序的 API 调用中使用这些临时凭证访问资源,以及将访问限制为仅角色指定的那些资源。请注意,一次只能将一个角色分配给 EC2 实例,实例上的所有应用程序都共享相同的角色和权限。

以这种方式使用该角色拥有多种优势。因为角色凭证是临时的,并且会自动轮换,所以您不必管理凭证,也不必担心长期安全风险。此外,如果您对多个实例使用单个角色,则可以对该角色进行更改,而此更改会自动传播到所有实例。

注意

通常会在您启动 EC2 实例时向它分配角色,不过也可以向已在运行的 EC2 实例附加角色。要了解如何将角色附加到运行的实例,请参阅适用于 Amazon EC2 的 IAM 角色

EC2 实例的角色的工作方式?

在下图中,一名开发人员在 EC2 实例上运行一个应用程序,该应用程序要求访问名为 photos 的 S3 存储桶。管理员创建 Get-pics 服务角色并将该角色附加到 EC2 实例。该角色包括一个权限策略,该策略授予对指定 S3 存储桶的只读访问权限。它还包括一个信任策略,该策略允许 EC2 实例担任该角色并检索临时凭证。在该实例上运行应用程序时,应用程序可以使用该角色的临时凭证访问照片存储桶。管理员不必向开发人员授予访问照片存储桶的权限,开发人员完全不必共享或管理凭证。


        访问 AWS 资源的 EC2 实例上的应用程序
  1. 管理员使用 IAM 创建 Get-pics 角色。在角色的信任策略中,管理员指定仅 EC2 实例能够担任该角色。在角色的权限策略中,管理员为 photos 存储桶指定只读权限。

  2. 开发人员启动 EC2 实例,并向该实例分配 Get-pics 角色。

    注意

    如果您使用 IAM 控制台,则会为您管理实例配置文件,该配置文件大部分对您是透明的。但是,如果您使用 AWS CLI 或 API 创建和管理角色和 EC2 实例,则必须创建实例配置文件并采用单独步骤将角色分配给它。随后在启动实例时,您必须指定实例配置文件名称而不是角色名称。

  3. 应用程序在运行时会从 Amazon EC2 实例元数据获取临时安全凭证,如从实例元数据检索安全凭证中所述。这些是临时安全凭证,用于表示角色,在有限时间段内有效。

    使用某些 AWS 开发工具包,开发人员可以使用提供程序以透明方式管理临时安全凭证。(各 AWS 开发工具包的文档介绍该软件开发工具包支持的证书管理功能。)

    应用程序也可以直接从 EC2 实例的实例元数据中获取临时凭证。凭证和相关值可从元数据的 iam/security-credentials/role-name 类别(在本例中为 iam/security-credentials/Get-pics)获得。如果应用程序从实例元数据获取凭证,则它可对凭证进行缓存。

  4. 通过使用检索到的临时凭证,应用程序可以访问照片存储桶。由于附加到 Get-pics 角色的策略,应用程序具有只读权限。

    实例上提供的临时安全凭证会在过期之前自动轮换,因此始终具有有效的凭证集。应用程序只需要确保在当前凭证过期之前从实例元数据获取新的凭证集。可以使用 AWS 开发工具包管理凭证,这样应用程序就不需要包含额外的逻辑来刷新凭证。例如,使用实例配置文件凭证提供程序实例化客户端。但是,如果应用程序从实例元数据获取临时安全凭证并对它们进行缓存,则它应在当前凭证集过期之前,每隔一小时 (或至少每隔 15 分钟) 获取刷新的凭证集。在 iam/security-credentials/role-name 类别中返回的信息中包含过期时间。

在 Amazon EC2 中使用角色所需的权限

要启动具有角色的实例,开发人员必须有启动 EC2 实例的权限和传递 IAM 角色的权限。

以下示例策略可以实现使用 AWS Management Console发布引用角色的实例。策略包含通配符 (*) 以允许用户传递任意角色并执行所有 Amazon EC2 操作。用户可以通过 ListInstanceProfiles 操作浏览 AWS 账户中的所有角色。

例 授权用户使用 Amazon EC2 控制台启动具有任何角色的实例的示例策略

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [{ "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "iam:PassRole", "iam:ListInstanceProfiles", "ec2:*" ], "Resource": "*" }] }

限制哪些角色能够传递到 EC2 实例(使用 PassRole)

您可以使用 PassRole 权限来限制用户启动实例时可以传递给 EC2 实例的角色。这有助于防止用户运行具有超出用户获授权限的应用程序 即防止用户获取提升的权限。例如,假设用户 Alice 仅有权启动 EC2 实例并使用 Amazon S3 存储桶,但是她传递给 EC2 实例的角色有权使用 IAM 和 Amazon DynamoDB。在这种情况下,Alice 或许能够启动实例,登录它,获取临时安全凭证,然后执行未向她授权的 IAM 或 DynamoDB 操作。

要限制用户可以传递给 EC2 实例的角色,您可创建一个允许执行 PassRole 操作的策略。然后,将策略附加到将启动 EC2 实例的用户(或该用户所属的 IAM 组)。在策略的 Resource 元素中,列出允许用户传递给 EC2 实例的角色。用户启动一个实例并将角色与该实例关联时,Amazon EC2 会检查是否允许用户传递该角色。当然,您还应确保用户可传递的角色不包含用户不应拥有的权限。

注意

就像 PassRoleRunInstances 那样,ListInstanceProfiles 不是 API 操作。相反,它是只要有角色 ARN 作为参数传递给 API 时,AWS 便会检查的权限 (或者控制台代表用户这么做)。它帮助管理员控制哪些角色可以由哪些用户传递。在这种情况下,它可确保用户可以将特定角色附加到 Amazon EC2 实例。

例 通过特定角色向用户授予启动 EC2 实例的权限的示例策略

通过以下示例策略,用户可以使用 Amazon EC2 API,通过角色来启动实例。Resource 元素指定角色的 Amazon 资源名称 (ARN)。通过指定 ARN,该策略授予用户仅传递 Get-pics 角色的权限。如果在启动实例时用户尝试指定其他角色,则该操作会失败。用户拥有运行任何实例的权限,无论他们是否传递角色。

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "ec2:RunInstances", "Resource": "*" }, { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "iam:PassRole", "Resource": "arn:aws:iam::ACCOUNT-ID-WITHOUT-HYPHENS:role/Get-pics" } ] }

允许实例配置文件角色切换到另一个账户中的角色

您可以允许 Amazon EC2 实例上运行的应用程序在另一个账户中运行命令。为此,您必须允许第一个账户中的 EC2 实例角色切换到第二个账户中的角色。

假设您使用两个 AWS 账户,并希望允许 Amazon EC2 实例上运行的应用程序在两个账户中运行 AWS CLI 命令。假设 EC2 实例位于 111111111111 账户中。该实例包含 abcd 实例配置文件角色,以允许应用程序对同一 111111111111 账户中的 my-bucket-1 存储桶执行只读 Amazon S3 任务。不过,还必须允许应用程序担任 efgh 跨账户角色以访问 222222222222 账户中的 my-bucket-2 Amazon S3 存储桶。

abcd EC2 实例配置文件角色必须具有以下权限策略,以允许应用程序访问 my-bucket-1 Amazon S3 存储桶:

账户 111111111111 abcd 角色权限策略

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "AllowAccountLevelS3Actions", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "s3:ListAllMyBuckets", "s3:HeadBucket" ], "Resource": "*" }, { "Sid": "AllowListAndReadS3ActionOnMyBucket", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "s3:Get*", "s3:List*" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:s3:::my-bucket-1/*", "arn:aws:s3:::my-bucket-1" ] }, { "Sid": "AllowIPToAssumeCrossAccountRole", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "sts:AssumeRole", "Resource": "arn:aws:iam::222222222222:role/efgh" } ] }

abcd 角色必须信任 Amazon EC2 服务以担任该角色。为此,abcd 角色必须具有以下信任策略:

账户 111111111111 abcd 角色信任策略

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "abcdTrustPolicy", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "sts:AssumeRole", "Principal": {"Service": "ec2.amazonaws.com"} } ] }

假设 efgh 跨账户角色允许对同一 222222222222 账户中的 my-bucket-2 存储桶执行只读 Amazon S3 任务。为此,efgh 跨账户角色必须具有以下权限策略:

账户 222222222222 efgh 角色权限策略

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "AllowAccountLevelS3Actions", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "s3:ListAllMyBuckets", "s3:HeadBucket" ], "Resource": "*" }, { "Sid": "AllowListAndReadS3ActionOnMyBucket", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "s3:Get*", "s3:List*" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:s3:::my-bucket-2/*", "arn:aws:s3:::my-bucket-2" ] } ] }

efgh 角色必须信任 abcd 实例配置文件角色以担任该角色。为此,efgh 角色必须具有以下信任策略:

账户 222222222222 efgh 角色信任策略

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "efghTrustPolicy", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "sts:AssumeRole", "Principal": {"AWS": "arn:aws:iam::111111111111:role/abcd"} } ] }

怎样入门?

为了理解角色如何在 EC2 实例中起作用,您需要使用 IAM 控制台创建一个角色,启动使用该角色的 EC2 实例,然后检查正在运行的实例。您可以检查实例元数据,以了解如何为实例提供角色的临时凭证。也可以了解实例上运行的应用程序如何使用角色。使用以下资源了解更多信息。

有关创建角色或适用于 EC2 实例的角色的更多信息,请参阅以下信息:

Menu
AWS Identity and Access Management
User Guide

Using an IAM Role to Grant Permissions to Applications Running on Amazon EC2 Instances

Applications that run on an EC2 instance must include AWS credentials in their AWS API requests. You could have your developers store AWS credentials directly within the EC2 instance and allow applications in that instance to use those credentials. But developers would then have to manage the credentials and ensure that they securely pass the credentials to each instance and update each EC2 instance when it's time to rotate the credentials. That's a lot of additional work.

Instead, you can and should use an IAM role to manage temporary credentials for applications that run on an EC2 instance. When you use a role, you don't have to distribute long-term credentials to an EC2 instance. Instead, the role supplies temporary permissions that applications can use when they make calls to other AWS resources. When you launch an EC2 instance, you specify an IAM role to associate with the instance. Applications that run on the instance can then use the role-supplied temporary credentials to sign API requests.

Using roles to grant permissions to applications that run on EC2 instances requires a bit of extra configuration. An application running on an EC2 instance is abstracted from AWS by the virtualized operating system. Because of this extra separation, an additional step is needed to assign an AWS role and its associated permissions to an EC2 instance and make them available to its applications. This extra step is the creation of an instance profile that is attached to the instance. The instance profile contains the role and can provide the role's credentials to an application that runs on the instance. Those credentials can then be used in the application's API calls to access resources and to limit access to only those resources that the role specifies. Note that only one role can be assigned to an EC2 instance at a time, and all applications on the instance share the same role and permissions.

Using roles in this way has several benefits. Because role credentials are temporary and rotated automatically, you don't have to manage credentials, and you don't have to worry about long-term security risks. In addition, if you use a single role for multiple instances, you can make a change to that one role and the change is propagated automatically to all the instances.

Important

A role is assigned to an EC2 instance when you launch it. It cannot be assigned to an instance that is already running. If you need to add a role to an instance that is already running, you can create an image of the instance, and then launch a new instance from the image with the desired role assigned.

How Do Roles for EC2 Instances Work?

In the following figure, a developer runs an application on an EC2 instance that requires access to the S3 bucket named photos. An administrator creates the Get-pics role. The role includes policies that grant read permissions for the bucket and that allow the developer to launch the role with an EC2 instance. When the application runs on the instance, it can use the role's temporary credentials to access the photos bucket. The administrator doesn't have to grant the developer permission to access the photos bucket, and the developer never has to share or manage credentials.

Application on an EC2 instance accessing an AWS resource

Application on an EC2 instance accessing an AWS resource

  1. The administrator uses IAM to create the Get-pics role. In the role's trust policy, the administrator specifies that only EC2 instances can assume the role. In the role's access policy, the administrator specifies read-only permissions for the photos bucket.

  2. A developer launches an EC2 instance and assigns the Get-pics role to that instance.

    Note

    If you use the IAM console, the instance profile is managed for you and is mostly transparent to you. However, if you use the AWS CLI or API to create and manage the role and EC2 instance, then you must create the instance profile and assign the role to it as separate steps. Then, when you launch the instance, you must specify the instance profile name instead of the role name.

  3. When the application runs, it obtains temporary security credentials from Amazon EC2 instance metadata, as described in Retrieving Security Credentials from Instance Metadata. These are temporary security credentials that represent the role and are valid for a limited period of time.

    With some AWS SDKs, the developer can use a provider that manages the temporary security credentials transparently. (The documentation for individual AWS SDKs describes the features supported by that SDK for managing credentials.)

    Alternatively, the application can get the temporary credentials directly from the instance metadata of the EC2 instance. Credentials and related values are available from the iam/security-credentials/role-name category (in this case, iam/security-credentials/Get-pics) of the metadata. If the application gets the credentials from the instance metadata, it can cache the credentials.

  4. Using the retrieved credentials, the application accesses the photo bucket. Because of the policy attached to the Get-pics role, the application has read-only permissions.

    The temporary security credentials that are available on the instance are automatically rotated before they expire so that a valid set is always available. The application just needs to make sure that it gets a new set of credentials from the instance metadata before the current ones expire. If the AWS SDK manages credentials, the application doesn't need to include additional logic to refresh the credentials. However, if the application gets temporary security credentials from the instance metadata and has cached them, it should get a refreshed set of credentials every hour, or at least 15 minutes before the current set expires. The expiration time is included in the information that is returned in the iam/security-credentials/role-name category.

Permissions Required for Using Roles with Amazon EC2

To launch an instance with a role, the developer must have permission to launch EC2 instances and permission to pass IAM roles.

The following sample policy allows users to use the AWS Management Console to launch an instance with a role. The policy includes wildcards (*) to allow a user to pass any role and to perform all Amazon EC2 actions. The ListInstanceProfiles action allows users to view all of the roles that are available in the AWS account.

Example policy that grants a user permission to use the Amazon EC2 console to launch an instance with any role

{
  "Version": "2012-10-17",
  "Statement": [{
    "Effect": "Allow",
    "Action": [
      "iam:PassRole",
      "iam:ListInstanceProfiles",
      "ec2:*"
    ],
    "Resource": "*"
  }]
}

Restricting Which Roles Can Be Passed to EC2 Instances (Using PassRole)

You can use the PassRole permission to restrict which role a user can pass to an EC2 instance when the user launches the instance. This helps prevent the user from running applications that have more permissions than the user has been granted—that is, from being able to obtain elevated privileges. For example, imagine that user Alice has permissions only to launch EC2 instances and to work with Amazon S3 buckets, but the role she passes to an EC2 instance has permissions to work with IAM and Amazon DynamoDB. In that case, Alice might be able to launch the instance, log into it, get temporary security credentials, and then perform IAM or DynamoDB actions that she's not authorized for.

To restrict which roles a user can pass to an EC2 instance, you create a policy that allows the PassRole action. You then attach the policy to the user (or to an IAM group that the user belongs to) who will launch EC2 instances. In the Resource element of the policy, you list the role or roles that the user is allowed to pass to EC2 instances. When the user launches an instance and associates a role with it, Amazon EC2 checks whether the user is allowed to pass that role. Of course, you should also ensure that the role that the user can pass does not include more permissions than the user is supposed to have.

Note

PassRole is not an API action in the same way that RunInstances or ListInstanceProfiles is. Instead, it's a permission that AWS checks whenever a role ARN is passed as a parameter to an API (or the console does this on the user's behalf). It helps an administrator to control which roles can be passed by which users. In this case, it ensures that the user is allowed to attach a specific role to an Amazon EC2 instance.

Example policy that grants a user permission to launch an EC2 instance with a specific role

The following sample policy allows users to use the Amazon EC2 API to launch an instance with a role. The Resource element specifies the Amazon Resource Name (ARN) of a role. By specifying the ARN, the policy grants the user the permission to pass only the Get-pics role. If the user tries to specify a different role when launching an instance, the action fails.

{
  "Version": "2012-10-17",
  "Statement": [
    {
      "Effect": "Allow",
      "Action": "ec2:RunInstances",
      "Resource": "*"
    },
    {
      "Effect": "Allow",
      "Action": "iam:PassRole",
      "Resource": "arn:aws:iam::ACCOUNT-ID-WITHOUT-HYPHENS:role/Get-pics"
    }
  ]
}

How Do I Get Started?

To understand how roles work with EC2 instances, you need to use the IAM console to create a role, launch an EC2 instance that uses that role, and then examine the running instance. You can examine the instance metadata to see how the role credentials are made available to an instance. You can also see how an application that runs on an instance can use the role. Use the following resources to learn more.

  • Getting Started with IAM Roles for EC2 Instances. The linked video shows how to use an IAM role with an EC2 instance to control what an application can do when it runs on the instance. The video shows how the application (written in the AWS SDK) can get temporary security credentials through the role.

  • SDK walkthroughs. The AWS SDK documentation includes walkthroughs that show an application running on an EC2 instance that uses role credentials to read an Amazon S3 bucket. Each of the following walkthroughs presents similar steps with a different programming language:

For more information about creating roles or roles for EC2 instances, see the following information: