对于 DynamoDB Streams 的更改数据捕获 - Amazon DynamoDB

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

对于 DynamoDB Streams 的更改数据捕获

DynamoDB Streams 在任何 DynamoDB 表中捕获按时间排序的项目级修改序列,并将此类信息存储在日志中长达 24 小时。应用程序可访问此日志,并在数据项目修改前后近乎实时地查看所显示的数据项目。

静态加密会加密 DynamoDB 流中的数据。有关更多信息,请参阅DynamoDB 静态加密

ADynamoDB 流是一种有关 DynamoDB 表中的项目更改的有序信息流。当您对表启用流时,DynamoDB 将捕获有关对表中的数据项目进行的每项修改的信息。

每当应用程序在表中创建、更新或删除项目时,DynamoDB Streams 将编写一条具有已修改项目的主键属性的流记录。A流记录包含有关对 DynamoDB 表中的单个项目所做的数据修改的信息。您可以配置流,以便流记录捕获其他信息,例如已修改项目的“前”和“后”图像。

DynamoDB Streams 可以帮助确保:

  • 每个流记录仅在流中显示一次。

  • 对于在 DynamoDB 表中修改的每个项目,流记录将按照对该项目进行的实际修改的顺序显示。

DynamoDB 流近乎实时写入流记录,以便您能构建使用这些流并根据内容采取操作的应用程序。

DynamoDB Streams 的终端节点

AWS为 DynamoDB 和 DynamoDDynamoDB Streams 维护单独的终端节点。要使用数据库表和索引,您的应用程序必须访问 DynamoDB 终端节点。要读取和处理 DynamoDB Streams 记录,您的应用程序必须访问相同区域内的 DynamoDB 流终端节点。

DynamoDB Streams 端点的命名约定为streams.dynamodb.<region>.amazonaws.com。例如,如果您使用终端节点dynamodb.us-west-2.amazonaws.com来访问 DynamoDB,您将使用端点streams.dynamodb.us-west-2.amazonaws.com访问 DynamoDB Streams。

注意

有关 DynamoDB 和 DynamoDynamoDB Streams 区域和终端节点的完整列表,请参阅。区域和终端节点中的AWS一般参考

这些区域有:AWS开发工具包为 DynamoDB 和 DynamoDynamoDB Streams 提供单独的客户端。根据您的要求,您的应用程序可以访问 DynamoDB 终端节点、DynamoDB Streams 终端节点或同时访问二者。要连接到两个端点,您的应用程序必须实例化两个客户端 — 一个用于 DynamoDB,另一个用于 DynamoDB Streams。

启用流

可在新表中使用AWS CLI或者其中一个AWS开发工具包。还可以对现有表启用或禁用流,或更改流设置。DynamoDB Streams 是异步执行操作的,因此在启用流的情况下不会影响表的性能。

管理 DynamoDB Streams 的最简单方法是使用AWS Management Console。

  1. 登录到AWS Management Console,DynamoDB 后在https://console.aws.amazon.com/dynamodb/

  2. 在 DynamoDB 控制台控制面板上,选择,然后选择现有表。

  3. Overview (概述) 选项卡上,选择 Manage Stream (管理流)

  4. 管理流窗口中,选择在修改表中的数据时将写入流中的信息:

    • 仅密钥— 仅所修改项目的键属性。

    • 新映像— 整个项目在修改后的显示。

    • 旧映像— 整个项目在修改前的显示。

    • 新的和旧的映像— 项目的新旧映像。

    根据需要进行设置后,选择 Enable (启用)

  5. (可选)要禁用现有流,请选择 Manage Stream (管理流),然后选择 Disable (禁用)

您还可以使用 CreateTableUpdateTable API 操作来启用或修改流。StreamSpecification 参数确定如何配置流:

  • StreamEnabled— 指定是否启用流 (true)或已禁用(false)作为表。

  • StreamViewType— 指定在修改表中的数据时将写入流中的信息:

    • KEYS_ONLY— 仅所修改项目的键属性。

    • NEW_IMAGE— 整个项目在修改后的显示。

    • OLD_IMAGE— 整个项目在修改前的显示。

    • NEW_AND_OLD_IMAGES— 项目的新旧映像。

您可以随时启用或禁用流。但是,如果您尝试在已有流的表上启用流,则会收到 ResourceInUseException。如果您尝试在没有流的表上禁用流,则会收到 ValidationException

当您设置StreamEnabledtrue中,DynamoDB 将创建一个新流,并为其分配一个唯一的流描述符。如果您在表上禁用然后重新启用流,则将创建一个具有不同流描述符的新流。

每个流均由一个 Amazon 资源名称 (ARN) 进行唯一标识。以下是 DynamoDB 表中一个流的示例 ARN。TestTable

arn:aws:dynamodb:us-west-2:111122223333:table/TestTable/stream/2015-05-11T21:21:33.291

要确定表的最新流描述符,请发出 DynamoDBDescribeTable请求并查找LatestStreamArn元素。

读取和处理流

要读取和处理流,您的应用程序必须连接到 DynamoDB Streams 终端节点并发出 API 请求。

流由流记录 构成。每条流记录均代表流所在的 DynamoDB 表中的一个数据修改。每条流记录均分配有一个序列号,该序列号反映了将记录发布至流的顺序。

流记录将组织到群组或分区 中。每个分区可充当多条流记录的容器,并包含访问和迭代这些记录所需的信息。分区中的流记录将在 24 小时后自动删除。

碎片是短暂的:将根据需要自动创建和删除它们。此外,任何分区均可拆分为多个新分区;这也是自动进行的。(请注意,父分片还可能只有一个子分片。) 分区可能会在响应其父表上的高级写入活动时拆分,以便应用程序可以并行处理来自多个分区的记录。

如果您禁用流,将关闭已打开的分区。流中的数据将在 24 小时内继续可读。

由于分区存在沿袭 (父分区和子分区),应用程序必须始终先处理父分区,然后再处理子分区。这可帮助确保流记录也会按正确顺序进行处理。(如果您使用 DynamoDB Streams Kinesis Adapter,则会为您进行处理。) 您的应用程序按正确顺序处理分片和流记录。 它自动处理新分片或过期分片,以及在应用程序运行期间拆分的分片。 有关更多信息,请参阅 。使用 DynamoDB Streams Kinesis 适配器处理流记录。)

下图显示流、流中的分区和分区中的流记录之间的关系。

注意

如果您执行PutItem或者UpdateItem操作不更改项目中的任何数据,DynamoDB Streams 会执行为该操作编写流记录。

要访问流和处理其中的流记录,您必须执行以下操作:

  • 确定您要访问的流的唯一 ARN。

  • 确定流中的哪些分片包含您感兴趣的流记录。

  • 访问分片并检索所需的流记录。

注意

从同一流分片中同时读取的进程最多不得超过 2 个。读取器超过 2 个的分片可能会受到限制。

DynamoDB Streams API 提供以下操作以供应用程序使用:

  • ListStreams— 返回当前账户和终端节点的流描述符列表。(可选) 您可以只请求特定表名称的流描述符。

  • DescribeStream— 返回有关给定流的详细信息。输出包含与流关联的分区的列表 (包括分区 ID)。

  • GetShardIterator— 返回分片迭代器,描述分片中位置。您可以请求该迭代器提供对流中最旧的点、最新的点或某个特定点的访问权。

  • GetRecords— 返回来自给定分片中的流记录。您必须提供从 GetShardIterator 请求中返回的分区迭代器。

有关这些 API 操作的完整描述(包括示例请求和响应),请参阅Amazon DynamoDB Streams API 参考

DynamoDB Streams 的数据保留限制

DynamoDB Streams 中的所有数据的生命周期为 24 小时。您可以检索和分析任意给定表过去 24 小时的活动。但是,24 小时之前的数据可能会随时被修剪(删除)。

如果您对某个表禁用一个流,该流中的数据仍在 24 小时内可读。此时间过后,数据将过期,并且流记录将自动被删除。没有手动删除现有流的机制。您必须等待直至保留期限过期(24 小时),然后将删除所有流记录。

Amazon DynamoDB
Developer Guide (API Version 2012-08-10)

Capturing Table Activity with DynamoDB Streams

Many applications can benefit from the ability to capture changes to items stored in a DynamoDB table, at the point in time when such changes occur. Here are some example use cases:

  • An application in one AWS region modifies the data in a DynamoDB table. A second application in another AWS region reads these data modifications and writes the data to another table, creating a replica that stays in sync with the original table.

  • A popular mobile app modifies data in a DynamoDB table, at the rate of thousands of updates per second. Another application captures and stores data about these updates, providing near real time usage metrics for the mobile app.

  • A global multi-player game has a multi-master topology, storing data in multiple AWS regions. Each master stays in sync by consuming and replaying the changes that occur in the remote regions.

  • An application automatically sends notifications to the mobile devices of all friends in a group as soon as one friend uploads a new picture.

  • A new customer adds data to a DynamoDB table. This event invokes another application that sends a welcome email to the new customer.

DynamoDB Streams enables solutions such as these, and many others. DynamoDB Streams captures a time-ordered sequence of item-level modifications in any DynamoDB table, and stores this information in a log for up to 24 hours. Applications can access this log and view the data items as they appeared before and after they were modified, in near real time.

A DynamoDB stream is an ordered flow of information about changes to items in an Amazon DynamoDB table. When you enable a stream on a table, DynamoDB captures information about every modification to data items in the table.

Whenever an application creates, updates, or deletes items in the table, DynamoDB Streams writes a stream record with the primary key attribute(s) of the items that were modified. A stream record contains information about a data modification to a single item in a DynamoDB table. You can configure the stream so that the stream records capture additional information, such as the "before" and "after" images of modified items.

DynamoDB Streams guarantees the following:

  • Each stream record appears exactly once in the stream.

  • For each item that is modified in a DynamoDB table, the stream records appear in the same sequence as the actual modifications to the item.

DynamoDB Streams writes stream records in near real time, so that you can build applications that consume these streams and take action based on the contents.

Endpoints for DynamoDB Streams

AWS maintains separate endpoints for DynamoDB and DynamoDB Streams. To work with database tables and indexes, your application will need to access a DynamoDB endpoint. To read and process DynamoDB Streams records, your application will need to access a DynamoDB Streams endpoint in the same region.

The naming convention for DynamoDB Streams endpoints is streams.dynamodb.<region> For example, if you use the endpoint to access DynamoDB, you would use the endpoint to access DynamoDB Streams.


For a complete list of DynamoDB and DynamoDB Streams regions and endpoints, see Regions and Endpoints in the AWS General Reference.

The AWS SDKs provide separate clients for DynamoDB and DynamoDB Streams. Depending on your requirements, your application can access a DynamoDB endpoint, a DynamoDB Streams endpoint, or both at the same time. To connect to both endpoints, your application will need to instantiate two clients - one for DynamoDB, and one for DynamoDB Streams.

Enabling a Stream

You can enable a stream on a new table when you create it. You can also enable or disable a stream on an existing table, or change the settings of a stream. DynamoDB Streams operates asynchronously, so there is no performance impact on a table if you enable a stream.

The easiest way to manage DynamoDB Streams is by using the AWS Management Console.

  1. Open the DynamoDB console at

  2. From the DynamoDB console dashboard, choose Tables

  3. On the Overview tab, choose Manage Stream.

  4. In the Manage Stream window, choose the information that will be written to the stream whenever data in the table is modified:

    • Keys only—only the key attributes of the modified item.

    • New image—the entire item, as it appears after it was modified.

    • Old image—the entire item, as it appeared before it was modified.

    • New and old images—both the new and the old images of the item.

    When the settings are as you want them, choose Enable.

  5. (Optional) To disable an existing stream, choose Manage Stream and then choose Disable.

You can also use the CreateTable or UpdateTable APIs to enable or modify a stream. The StreamSpecification parameter determines how the stream is configured:

  • StreamEnabled—specifies whether a stream is enabled (true) or disabled (false) for the table.

  • StreamViewType—specifies the information that will be written to the stream whenever data in the table is modified:

    • KEYS_ONLY—only the key attributes of the modified item.

    • NEW_IMAGE—the entire item, as it appears after it was modified.

    • OLD_IMAGE—the entire item, as it appeared before it was modified.

    • NEW_AND_OLD_IMAGES—both the new and the old images of the item.

You can enable or disable a stream at any time. However, note that you will receive a ResourceInUseException if you attempt to enable a stream on a table that already has a stream, and you will receive a ValidationException if you attempt to disable a stream on a table which does not have a stream.

When you set StreamEnabled to true, DynamoDB creates a new stream with a unique stream descriptor assigned to it. If you disable and then re-enable a stream on the table, a new stream will be created with a different stream descriptor.

Every stream is uniquely identified by an Amazon Resource Name (ARN). Here is an example ARN for a stream on a DynamoDB table named TestTable:


To determine the latest stream descriptor for a table, issue a DynamoDB DescribeTable request and look for the LatestStreamArn element in the response.

Reading and Processing a Stream

To read and process a stream, your application will need to connect to a DynamoDB Streams endpoint and issue API requests.

A stream consists of stream records. Each stream record represents a single data modification in the DynamoDB table to which the stream belongs. Each stream record is assigned a sequence number, reflecting the order in which the record was published to the stream.

Stream records are organized into groups, or shards. Each shard acts as a container for multiple stream records, and contains information required for accessing and iterating through these records. The stream records within a shard are removed automatically after 24 hours.

Shards are ephemeral: They are created and deleted automatically, as needed. Any shard can also split into multiple new shards; this also occurs automatically. (Note that it is also possible for a parent shard to have just one child shard.) A shard might split in response to high levels of write activity on its parent table, so that applications can process records from multiple shards in parallel.

If you disable a stream, any shards that are open will be closed.

Because shards have a lineage (parent and children), applications must always process a parent shard before it processes a child shard. This will ensure that the stream records are also processed in the correct order. (If you use the DynamoDB Streams Kinesis Adapter, this is handled for you: Your application will process the shards and stream records in the correct order, and automatically handle new or expired shards, as well as shards that split while the application is running. For more information, see Using the DynamoDB Streams Kinesis Adapter to Process Stream Records.)

The following diagram shows the relationship between a stream, shards in the stream, and stream records in the shards.


If you perform a PutItem or UpdateItem operation that does not change any data in an item, then DynamoDB Streams will not write a stream record for that operation.

To access a stream and process the stream records within, you must do the following:

  • Determine the unique Amazon Resource Name (ARN) of the stream that you want to access.

  • Determine which shard(s) in the stream contain the stream records that you are interested in.

  • Access the shard(s) and retrieve the stream records that you want.


No more than 2 processes at most should be reading from the same Streams shard at the same time. Having more than 2 readers per shard may result in throttling.

The DynamoDB Streams API provides the following actions for use by application programs:

  • ListStreams—returns a list of stream descriptors for the current account and endpoint. You can optionally request just the stream descriptors for a particular table name.

  • DescribeStream—returns detailed information about a given stream. The output includes a list of shards associated with the stream, including the shard IDs.

  • GetShardIterator—returns a shard iterator, which describes a location within a shard. You can request that the iterator provide access to the oldest point, the newest point, or a particular point in the stream.

  • GetRecords—returns the stream records from within a given shard. You must provide the shard iterator returned from a GetShardIterator request.

For complete descriptions of these API actions, including example requests and responses, go to the Amazon DynamoDB Streams API Reference.

Data Retention Limit for DynamoDB Streams

All data in DynamoDB Streams is subject to a 24 hour lifetime. You can retrieve and analyze the last 24 hours of activity for any given table; however, data older than 24 hours is susceptible to trimming (removal) at any moment.

If you disable a stream on a table, the data in the stream will continue to be readable for 24 hours. After this time, the data expires and the stream records are automatically deleted. Note that there is no mechanism for manually deleting an existing stream; you just need to wait until the retention limit expires (24 hours), and all the stream records will be deleted.