Menu
AWS Billing and Cost Management
User Guide (Version 2.0)

Turning Off Reserved Instance Sharing

The master account of an organization can turn off Reserved Instance (RI) sharing for member accounts in that organization. This means that Reserved Instances are not shared between that member account and other member accounts. You can change this preference multiple times. Each estimated bill is computed using the last set of preferences. The final bill for the month is calculated based on the preferences set at midnight UTC time, on the last day of the month.

Important

Turning off Reserved Instance sharing can result in a higher monthly bill.

To turn off shared Reserved Instances

You can turn off Reserved Instance (RI) sharing for individual member accounts.

  1. Sign in to the AWS Management Console and open the Billing and Cost Management console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/billing/home#/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Preferences.

  3. Expand RI discount sharing by selecting the arrow symbol.

  4. Under RI discount sharing enabled, select the accounts that you want to disable RI sharing for.

  5. Choose Add to list to add the accounts to the RI discount sharing disabled accounts.

  6. Choose Save preferences.

  7. In the Manage RI Discount and Credit Sharing dialog box, choose Save.

To turn on shared Reserved Instances

If shared Reserved Instances is turned off for an account and you want to turn it back on, you can use the same console page to turn sharing on.

  1. Sign in to the AWS Management Console and open the Billing and Cost Management console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/billing/home#/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Preferences.

  3. Expand RI discount sharing by selecting the arrow symbol.

  4. Under RI discount sharing disabled, select the accounts that you want to enable RI sharing for.

  5. Choose Remove from list to remove the accounts from the RI discount sharing disabled accounts.

  6. Choose Save preferences.

  7. In the Manage RI Discount and Credit Sharing dialog box, choose Save.