適用於 的建置通知範例 CodeBuild - AWS CodeBuild

本文為英文版的機器翻譯版本,如內容有任何歧義或不一致之處,概以英文版為準。

適用於 的建置通知範例 CodeBuild

亞馬遜 CloudWatch 事件具有AWS CodeBuild。 CloudWatch Events 是系統事件流,其會描述AWS的費用。搭配 CloudWatch 事件,您會撰寫宣告式規則,以將感興趣的事件與要採取的自動化動作關聯。此範例使用 Amazon CloudWatch 事件和 Amazon SSimple Notification Service (Amazon SNS),每當建置成功、失敗、從一個建置階段進入另一個建置階段時,或這些事件的任意組合發生時,就發生建置通知給訂者。

重要

執行此範例可能會對您的 AWS 帳戶收取費用。收費的項目可能包括 CodeBuild 和AWS與亞馬遜相關的資源和操作 CloudWatch 和 Amazon SNS。如需詳細資訊,請參閱「」CodeBuild 定價Amazon CloudWatch 定價,和Amazon SNS 定價

執行範例

如何執行此範例

  1. 如果您在 Amazon SNS 中已設定並訂想要用於此範例的主題,請跳至步驟 4。否則,如果您使用的是 IAM 用户而不是AWS根賬户或管理員 IAM 用户使用 Amazon SNS,請添加以下語句(介於### 開始在這裏添加語句 ###### 結束在這裏添加語句 ###)添加到用户(或與用户關聯的 IAM 組)。不建議使用 AWS 根帳戶。此陳述式可讓您在 Amazon SNS 中查看、建立、訂和測試通知發送至 Amazon SNS 中的主題。省略符號 (...) 用於簡化和協助您找到新增陳述式的位置。請不要移除任何陳述式,也不要在現有政策中輸入這些省略符號。

    { "Statement": [ ### BEGIN ADDING STATEMENT HERE ### { "Action": [ "sns:CreateTopic", "sns:GetTopicAttributes", "sns:List*", "sns:Publish", "sns:SetTopicAttributes", "sns:Subscribe" ], "Resource": "*", "Effect": "Allow" }, ### END ADDING STATEMENT HERE ### ... ], "Version": "2012-10-17" }
    注意

    修改此政策的 IAM 實體在 IAM 中必須有許可來修改政策。

    如需詳細資訊,請參閱「」編輯客户受管政策或是中的「若要為羣組、使用者或角色編輯或刪除內嵌政策」使用內嵌政策 (主控台)中的IAM User Guide

  2. 在 Amazon SNS 中建立或識別主題。AWS CodeBuild使用 CloudWatch 通過 Amazon SNS 將建置通知傳送至本主題的事件。

    建立主題:

    1. 在開啟 Amazon SNS 主控台https://console.aws.amazon.com/sns

    2. 請選擇 Create topic (建立主題)。

    3. Create new topic (建立新主題) 中,針對 Topic name (主題名稱),輸入主題的名稱 (例如 CodeBuildDemoTopic)。(如果您選擇其他名稱,請在此範例中全部換成此名稱。)

    4. 請選擇 Create topic (建立主題)。

    5. 主題詳細信息:代碼構建解碼主題頁面上,複製ARN 主題值。您在下一個步驟中需要使用到此數值。

    如需詳細資訊,請參閱「」建立主題中的Amazon SNS 開發人員指南

  3. 讓一或多個收件人訂閱主題來接收電子郵件通知。

    讓收件人訂閱主題:

    1. 自上個步驟開啟的 Amazon SNS 主控台,從導覽窗格中選擇訂閱選擇,接著選擇建立訂

    2. Create subscription (建立訂閱) 中,對於 Topic ARN (主題 ARN),貼上您從上個步驟複製的主題 ARN。

    3. 對於 Protocol (通訊協定),選擇 Email (電子郵件)。

    4. 針對 ​Endpoint (端點),輸入收件人的完整電子郵件地址。

    5. 選擇 Create Subscription (建立訂閱)。

    6. Amazon SNS 會將訂確認電子郵件傳送給收件人。若要開始接收電子郵件通知,收件人必須選擇訂閱確認電子郵件中的 Confirm subscription (確認訂閱) 連結。在收件人按一下連結後,若訂成功,Amazon SNS 會在收件人的 Web 瀏覽器中顯示確認消息。

    如需詳細資訊,請參閱「」訂閱主題中的Amazon SNS 開發人員指南

  4. 如果您使用的是 IAM 用户而不是AWS根賬户或管理員 IAM 用户以使用 CloudWatch 事件,請添加以下語句(介於### 開始在這裏添加語句 ###### 結束在這裏添加語句 ###)添加到用户(或與用户關聯的 IAM 組)。不建議使用 AWS 根帳戶。此陳述式是用來允許使用者使用 CloudWatch 事件 省略符號 (...) 用於簡化和協助您找到新增陳述式的位置。請不要移除任何陳述式,也不要在現有政策中輸入這些省略符號。

    { "Statement": [ ### BEGIN ADDING STATEMENT HERE ### { "Action": [ "events:*", "iam:PassRole" ], "Resource": "*", "Effect": "Allow" }, ### END ADDING STATEMENT HERE ### ... ], "Version": "2012-10-17" }
    注意

    修改此政策的 IAM 實體在 IAM 中必須有許可來修改政策。

    如需詳細資訊,請參閱「」編輯客户受管政策或是中的「若要為羣組、使用者或角色編輯或刪除內嵌政策」使用內嵌政策 (主控台)中的IAM User Guide

  5. 在中建立規則 CloudWatch 事件 若要執行此作業,請打開 CloudWatch 主控台,位於https://console.aws.amazon.com/cloudwatch

  6. 在導覽窗格中,在 Events (事件) 下方選擇 Rules (規則),然後選擇 Create rule (建立規則)

  7. 步驟 1:建立規則頁面事件模式建立事件模式,依服務來匹配事件應該已選擇。

  8. 適用於服務名稱,選擇CodeBuild。在 Event Type (事件類型) 中,應該已選取 All Events (所有事件)

  9. 下列程式碼應顯示於 Event Pattern Preview (事件模式預覽) 中:

    { "source": [ "aws.codebuild" ] }
  10. 選擇 Edit (編輯),將 Event Pattern Preview (事件模式預覽) 中的程式碼換成下列兩個規則模式之一。

    AWS CodeBuild 中指定的建置專案有建置開始或完成時,這第一個規則模式就會觸發事件。

    { "source": [ "aws.codebuild" ], "detail-type": [ "CodeBuild Build State Change" ], "detail": { "build-status": [ "IN_PROGRESS", "SUCCEEDED", "FAILED", "STOPPED" ], "project-name": [ "my-demo-project-1", "my-demo-project-2" ] } }

    在上個規則中,依需要進行下列程式碼變更。

    • 若要在有建置開始或完成時觸發事件,請保留 build-status 陣列中所示的所有值,或移除整個 build-status 陣列。

    • 若只要在組建完成時才觸發事件,請從 build-status 陣列中移除 IN_PROGRESS

    • 若只要在組建開始時才觸發事件,請從 build-status 陣列中移除所有值,但保留 IN_PROGRESS

    • 若要對所有組建專案觸發事件,請移除整個 project-name 陣列。

    • 若只要對個別組建專案觸發事件,請在 project-name 陣列中指定每個組建專案的名稱。

    每當 AWS CodeBuild 中指定的建置專案有建置從一個建置階段進入另一個建置階段時,這第二個規則模式就會觸發事件。

    { "source": [ "aws.codebuild" ], "detail-type": [ "CodeBuild Build Phase Change" ], "detail": { "completed-phase": [ "SUBMITTED", "PROVISIONING", "DOWNLOAD_SOURCE", "INSTALL", "PRE_BUILD", "BUILD", "POST_BUILD", "UPLOAD_ARTIFACTS", "FINALIZING" ], "completed-phase-status": [ "TIMED_OUT", "STOPPED", "FAILED", "SUCCEEDED", "FAULT", "CLIENT_ERROR" ], "project-name": [ "my-demo-project-1", "my-demo-project-2" ] } }

    在上個規則中,依需要進行下列程式碼變更。

    • 若要在每次建置階段變更時觸發事件 (對每個建置,最多可傳送九次通知),請保留 completed-phase 陣列中所示的所有值,或移除整個 completed-phase 陣列。

    • 若只要對個別組建階段變更來觸發事件,請在 completed-phase 陣列中移除您不想觸發事件的每個組建階段的名稱。

    • 若要在每次組建階段狀態變更時觸發事件,請保留 completed-phase-status 陣列中所示的全部值,或移除整個 completed-phase-status 陣列。

    • 若只要對個別組建階段狀態變更來觸發事件,請在 completed-phase-status 陣列中移除您不想觸發事件的每個組建階段狀態的名稱。

    • 若要對所有組建專案觸發事件,請移除 project-name 陣列。

    • 若要對個別組建專案觸發事件,請在 project-name 陣列中指定每個組建專案的名稱。

    如需事件模式的詳細資訊,請參事件模式在卓越亞馬遜 EventBridge 使用者指南。

    如需有關使用事件模式篩選的詳細資訊,請參具有事件模式的內容式篩選在卓越亞馬遜 EventBridge 使用者指南。

    注意

    如果希望建置狀態變更和建置階段變更都觸發事件,您必須建立兩個不同的規則:一個用於建置狀態變更,另一個用於建置階段變更。如果您嘗試將兩個規則合併成單一規則,合併的規則可能產生非預期的結果,或完全停止運作。

    完成取代程式碼時,選擇 Save (儲存)

  11. Targets (目標) 中,選擇 Add target (新增目標)

  12. 在目標清單中,選擇 ​SNS topic (SNS 主題)

  13. 對於 Topic (主題),選擇您稍早識別或建立的主題。

  14. 展開 ​Configure input (設定輸入),然後選擇 ​Input Transformer (輸入轉換器)

  15. ​Input Path (輸入路徑) 方塊中,輸入下列其中一個輸入路徑。

    如果規則的 detail-type 值為 CodeBuild Build State Change,請輸入下列程式碼。

    {"build-id":"$.detail.build-id","project-name":"$.detail.project-name","build-status":"$.detail.build-status"}

    如果規則的 detail-type 值為 CodeBuild Build Phase Change,請輸入下列程式碼。

    {"build-id":"$.detail.build-id","project-name":"$.detail.project-name","completed-phase":"$.detail.completed-phase","completed-phase-status":"$.detail.completed-phase-status"}

    如需其他類型的資訊,請參閱建置通知輸入格式參考

  16. ​Input Template (輸入範本) 方塊中,輸入下列其中一個輸入範本。

    如果規則的 detail-type 值為 CodeBuild Build State Change,請輸入下列程式碼。

    "Build '<build-id>' for build project '<project-name>' has reached the build status of '<build-status>'."

    如果規則的 detail-type 值為 CodeBuild Build Phase Change,請輸入下列程式碼。

    "Build '<build-id>' for build project '<project-name>' has completed the build phase of '<completed-phase>' with a status of '<completed-phase-status>'."
  17. 選擇 Configure details (設定詳細資訊)

  18. 步驟 2:設定規則的詳細資訊頁面上,輸入名稱和選填的描述。針對 State (狀態),將 Enabled (啟用) 保留為選取狀態。

  19. 選擇 Create rule (建立規則)

  20. 按照執行執行 CodeBuild中的步驟進行,以建立建置專案、執行建置和檢視建置資訊。

  21. 確認 CodeBuild 現在成功傳送建置通知。例如,檢查您的收件匣中是否有組建通知電子郵件。

要更改規則的行為,請在 CloudWatch 主控台上,選擇您要更改的規則,選擇動作選擇,接著選擇Edit (編輯)。變更規則,選擇 ​Configure details (設定詳細資訊),然後選擇 ​Update rule (更新規則)

若要停止使用規則來發送組建通知,請在 CloudWatch 主控台上,選擇您要停止使用的規則,選擇動作選擇,接著選擇Disable

若要完全刪除規則,請在 CloudWatch 主控台上,選擇您要刪除的規則,選擇動作選擇,接著選擇刪除

相關資源

建置通知輸入格式參考

CloudWatch 以 JSON 格式傳遞通知。

組建狀態變更通知採用以下格式:

{ "version": "0", "id": "c030038d-8c4d-6141-9545-00ff7b7153EX", "detail-type": "CodeBuild Build State Change", "source": "aws.codebuild", "account": "123456789012", "time": "2017-09-01T16:14:28Z", "region": "us-west-2", "resources":[ "arn:aws:codebuild:us-west-2:123456789012:build/my-sample-project:8745a7a9-c340-456a-9166-edf953571bEX" ], "detail":{ "build-status": "SUCCEEDED", "project-name": "my-sample-project", "build-id": "arn:aws:codebuild:us-west-2:123456789012:build/my-sample-project:8745a7a9-c340-456a-9166-edf953571bEX", "additional-information": { "artifact": { "md5sum": "da9c44c8a9a3cd4b443126e823168fEX", "sha256sum": "6ccc2ae1df9d155ba83c597051611c42d60e09c6329dcb14a312cecc0a8e39EX", "location": "arn:aws:s3:::codebuild-123456789012-output-bucket/my-output-artifact.zip" }, "environment": { "image": "aws/codebuild/standard:4.0", "privileged-mode": false, "compute-type": "BUILD_GENERAL1_SMALL", "type": "LINUX_CONTAINER", "environment-variables": [] }, "timeout-in-minutes": 60, "build-complete": true, "initiator": "MyCodeBuildDemoUser", "build-start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:12:29 PM", "source": { "location": "codebuild-123456789012-input-bucket/my-input-artifact.zip", "type": "S3" }, "logs": { "group-name": "/aws/codebuild/my-sample-project", "stream-name": "8745a7a9-c340-456a-9166-edf953571bEX", "deep-link": "https://console.aws.amazon.com/cloudwatch/home?region=us-west-2#logEvent:group=/aws/codebuild/my-sample-project;stream=8745a7a9-c340-456a-9166-edf953571bEX" }, "phases": [ { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:12:29 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:12:29 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 0, "phase-type": "SUBMITTED", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:12:29 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:13:05 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 36, "phase-type": "PROVISIONING", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:13:05 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:13:10 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 4, "phase-type": "DOWNLOAD_SOURCE", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:13:10 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:13:10 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 0, "phase-type": "INSTALL", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:13:10 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:13:10 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 0, "phase-type": "PRE_BUILD", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:13:10 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:21 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 70, "phase-type": "BUILD", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:21 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:21 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 0, "phase-type": "POST_BUILD", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:21 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:21 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 0, "phase-type": "UPLOAD_ARTIFACTS", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:21 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:26 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 4, "phase-type": "FINALIZING", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:26 PM", "phase-type": "COMPLETED" } ] }, "current-phase": "COMPLETED", "current-phase-context": "[]", "version": "1" } }

組建階段變更通知採用以下格式:

{ "version": "0", "id": "43ddc2bd-af76-9ca5-2dc7-b695e15adeEX", "detail-type": "CodeBuild Build Phase Change", "source": "aws.codebuild", "account": "123456789012", "time": "2017-09-01T16:14:21Z", "region": "us-west-2", "resources":[ "arn:aws:codebuild:us-west-2:123456789012:build/my-sample-project:8745a7a9-c340-456a-9166-edf953571bEX" ], "detail":{ "completed-phase": "COMPLETED", "project-name": "my-sample-project", "build-id": "arn:aws:codebuild:us-west-2:123456789012:build/my-sample-project:8745a7a9-c340-456a-9166-edf953571bEX", "completed-phase-context": "[]", "additional-information": { "artifact": { "md5sum": "da9c44c8a9a3cd4b443126e823168fEX", "sha256sum": "6ccc2ae1df9d155ba83c597051611c42d60e09c6329dcb14a312cecc0a8e39EX", "location": "arn:aws:s3:::codebuild-123456789012-output-bucket/my-output-artifact.zip" }, "environment": { "image": "aws/codebuild/standard:4.0", "privileged-mode": false, "compute-type": "BUILD_GENERAL1_SMALL", "type": "LINUX_CONTAINER", "environment-variables": [] }, "timeout-in-minutes": 60, "build-complete": true, "initiator": "MyCodeBuildDemoUser", "build-start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:12:29 PM", "source": { "location": "codebuild-123456789012-input-bucket/my-input-artifact.zip", "type": "S3" }, "logs": { "group-name": "/aws/codebuild/my-sample-project", "stream-name": "8745a7a9-c340-456a-9166-edf953571bEX", "deep-link": "https://console.aws.amazon.com/cloudwatch/home?region=us-west-2#logEvent:group=/aws/codebuild/my-sample-project;stream=8745a7a9-c340-456a-9166-edf953571bEX" }, "phases": [ { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:12:29 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:12:29 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 0, "phase-type": "SUBMITTED", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:12:29 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:13:05 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 36, "phase-type": "PROVISIONING", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:13:05 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:13:10 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 4, "phase-type": "DOWNLOAD_SOURCE", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:13:10 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:13:10 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 0, "phase-type": "INSTALL", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:13:10 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:13:10 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 0, "phase-type": "PRE_BUILD", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:13:10 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:21 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 70, "phase-type": "BUILD", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:21 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:21 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 0, "phase-type": "POST_BUILD", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:21 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:21 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 0, "phase-type": "UPLOAD_ARTIFACTS", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:21 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:26 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 4, "phase-type": "FINALIZING", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:26 PM", "phase-type": "COMPLETED" } ] }, "completed-phase-status": "SUCCEEDED", "completed-phase-duration-seconds": 4, "version": "1", "completed-phase-start": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:21 PM", "completed-phase-end": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:26 PM" } }

Menu
AWS CodeBuild
User Guide (API Version 2016-10-06)

Build Notifications Sample for AWS CodeBuild

Amazon CloudWatch Events has built-in support for AWS CodeBuild. CloudWatch Events is a stream of system events describing changes in your AWS resources. With CloudWatch Events, you write declarative rules to associate events of interest with automated actions to be taken. This sample uses Amazon CloudWatch Events and Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS) to send build notifications to subscribers whenever builds succeed, fail, go from one build phase to another, or any combination of these events.

Important

Running this sample may result in charges to your AWS account. These include possible charges for AWS CodeBuild and for AWS resources and actions related to Amazon CloudWatch and Amazon SNS. For more information, see AWS CodeBuild Pricing, Amazon CloudWatch Pricing, and Amazon SNS Pricing.

Running the Sample

To run this sample:

  1. If you already have a topic set up and subscribed to in Amazon SNS that you want to use for this sample, skip ahead to step 4. Otherwise, if you are using an IAM user instead of an AWS root account or an administrator IAM user to work with Amazon SNS, add the following statement (between ### BEGIN ADDING STATEMENT HERE ### and ### END ADDING STATEMENT HERE ###) to the user (or IAM group the user is associated with). (Using an AWS root account is not recommended.) This statement enables viewing, creating, subscribing, and testing the sending of notifications to topics in Amazon SNS. Ellipses (...) are used for brevity and to help you locate where to add the statement. Do not remove any statements, and do not type these ellipses into the existing policy.

    Copy
    { "Statement": [ ### BEGIN ADDING STATEMENT HERE ### { "Action": [ "sns:CreateTopic", "sns:GetTopicAttributes", "sns:List*", "sns:Publish", "sns:SetTopicAttributes", "sns:Subscribe" ], "Resource": "*", "Effect": "Allow" }, ### END ADDING STATEMENT HERE ### ... ], "Version": "2012-10-17" }

    Note

    The IAM entity that modifies this policy must have permission in IAM to modify policies.

    For more information, see Editing Customer Managed Policies or the "To edit or delete an inline policy for a group, user, or role" section in Working with Inline Policies (Console) in the IAM User Guide.

  2. Create or identify a topic in Amazon SNS. AWS CodeBuild will use CloudWatch Events to send build notifications to this topic through Amazon SNS. To create a topic:

    1. Open the Amazon SNS console, at https://console.aws.amazon.com/sns.

    2. Choose Create topic.

    3. In the Create new topic dialog box, for Topic name, type a name for the topic, for example CodeBuildDemoTopic. (If you choose a different name, substitute it throughout this sample.)

    4. Choose Create topic.

    5. On the Topic details: CodeBuildDemoTopic page, copy the Topic ARN value, as shown in the following screen shot. You will need this value for the next step.

    For more information, see Create a Topic in the Amazon SNS Developer Guide.

  3. Subscribe one or more recipients to the topic to receive email notifications. To subscribe a recipient to a topic:

    1. With the Amazon SNS console open from the previous step, in the navigation pane, choose Subscriptions, and then choose Create subscription.

    2. In the Create subscription dialog box, for Topic ARN, paste the topic ARN you copied from the previous step.

    3. For Protocol, choose Email.

    4. For Endpoint, type the recipient's full email address. Compare your results to the following screen shot.

    5. Choose Create Subscription.

    6. Amazon SNS sends a subscription confirmation email to the recipient. To begin receiving email notifications, the recipient must choose the Confirm subscription link in the subscription confirmation email. After the recipient clicks the link, if successfully subscribed, Amazon SNS displays a confirmation message in the recipient's web browser.

    For more information, see Subscribe to a Topic in the Amazon SNS Developer Guide.

  4. If you are using an IAM user instead of an AWS root account or an administrator IAM user to work with CloudWatch Events, add the following statement (between ### BEGIN ADDING STATEMENT HERE ### and ### END ADDING STATEMENT HERE ###) to the user (or IAM group the user is associated with). (Using an AWS root account is not recommended.) This statement enables working with CloudWatch Events. Ellipses (...) are used for brevity and to help you locate where to add the statement. Do not remove any statements, and do not type these ellipses into the existing policy.

    Copy
    { "Statement": [ ### BEGIN ADDING STATEMENT HERE ### { "Action": [ "events:*", "iam:PassRole" ], "Resource": "*", "Effect": "Allow" }, ### END ADDING STATEMENT HERE ### ... ], "Version": "2012-10-17" }

    Note

    The IAM entity that modifies this policy must have permission in IAM to modify policies.

    For more information, see Editing Customer Managed Policies or the "To edit or delete an inline policy for a group, user, or role" section in Working with Inline Policies (Console) in the IAM User Guide.

  5. Create a rule in CloudWatch Events. To do this, open the CloudWatch console, at https://console.aws.amazon.com/cloudwatch.

  6. In the navigation pane, under Events, choose Rules, and then choose Create rule.

  7. On the Step 1: Create rule page, the following should already be chosen: Event Pattern and Build event pattern to match events by service.

  8. For Service Name, choose CodeBuild. For Event Type, All Events should already be chosen.

  9. Event Pattern Preview should show the following code.

    Copy
    { "source": [ "aws.codebuild" ] }

    Compare your results so far to the following screen shot:

  10. Replace the code in Event Pattern Preview with one of the following two rule patterns by choosing Edit.

    This first rule pattern triggers an event whenever a build starts or completes, for the specified build projects in AWS CodeBuild.

    Copy
    { "source": [ "aws.codebuild" ], "detail-type": [ "CodeBuild Build State Change" ], "detail": { "build-status": [ "IN_PROGRESS", "SUCCEEDED", "FAILED", "STOPPED" ], "project-name": [ "my-demo-project-1", "my-demo-project-2" ] } }

    In the preceding rule, make the following code changes as needed.

    • To trigger an event whenever a build starts or completes, either leave all of the values as shown in the build-status array, or remove the build-status array altogether.

    • To trigger an event only when a build completes, remove IN_PROGRESS from the build-status array.

    • To trigger an event only when a build starts, remove all of the values except IN_PROGRESS from the build-status array.

    • To trigger events for all build projects, remove the project-name array altogether.

    • To trigger events only for individual build projects, specify the name of each build project in the project-name array.

    This second rule pattern triggers an event whenever a build moves from one build phase to another, for the specified build projects in AWS CodeBuild.

    Copy
    { "source": [ "aws.codebuild" ], "detail-type": [ "CodeBuild Build Phase Change" ], "detail": { "completed-phase": [ "SUBMITTED", "PROVISIONING", "DOWNLOAD_SOURCE", "INSTALL", "PRE_BUILD", "BUILD", "POST_BUILD", "UPLOAD_ARTIFACTS", "FINALIZING" ], "completed-phase-status": [ "TIMED_OUT", "STOPPED", "FAILED", "SUCCEEDED", "FAULT", "CLIENT_ERROR" ], "project-name": [ "my-demo-project-1", "my-demo-project-2" ] } }

    In the preceding rule, make the following code changes as needed.

    • To trigger an event for every build phase change (which may send up to 9 notifications for each build), either leave all of the values as shown in the completed-phase array, or remove the completed-phase array altogether.

    • To trigger events only for individual build phase changes, remove the name of each build phase in the completed-phase array that you do not want to trigger an event for.

    • To trigger an event for every build phase status change, either leave all of the values as shown in the completed-phase-status array, or remove the completed-phase-status array altogether.

    • To trigger events only for individual build phase status changes, remove the name of each build phase status in the completed-phase-status array that you do not want to trigger an event for.

    • To trigger events for all build projects, remove the project-name array.

    • To trigger events for individual build projects, specify the name of each build project in the project-name array.

    Note

    If you want to trigger events for both build state changes and build phase changes, you must create two separate rules, one for build state changes and another for build phase changes. If you try to combine both rules into a single rule, the combined rule may produce unexpected results or stop working altogether.

    When you have finished replacing the code, choose Save.

  11. For Targets, choose Add target.

  12. In the list of targets, choose SNS topic.

  13. For Topic, choose the topic you identified or created earlier.

  14. Expand Configure input, and then choose Input Transformer.

  15. In the Input Path box, type one of the following input paths.

    For a rule with a detail-type value of CodeBuild Build State Change, type the following.

    Copy
    {"build-id":"$.detail.build-id","project-name":"$.detail.project-name","build-status":"$.detail.build-status"}

    For a rule with a detail-type value of CodeBuild Build Phase Change, type the following.

    Copy
    {"build-id":"$.detail.build-id","project-name":"$.detail.project-name","completed-phase":"$.detail.completed-phase","completed-phase-status":"$.detail.completed-phase-status"}

    Note

    To get other types of information, see the Build Notifications Input Format Reference.

  16. In the Input Template box, type one of the following input templates.

    For a rule with a detail-type value of CodeBuild Build State Change, type the following.

    Copy
    "Build '<build-id>' for build project '<project-name>' has reached the build status of '<build-status>'."

    For a rule with a detail-type value of CodeBuild Build Phase Change, type the following.

    Copy
    "Build '<build-id>' for build project '<project-name>' has completed the build phase of '<completed-phase>' with a status of '<completed-phase-status>'."

    Compare your results so far to the following screen shot, which shows a rule with a detail-type value of CodeBuild Build State Change:

  17. Choose Configure details.

  18. On the Step 2: Configure rule details page, type a Name and an optional Description. Leave the Enabled box checked for State.

    Compare your results so far to the following screen shot:

  19. Choose Create rule.

  20. Create build projects, run the builds, and view build information, for example by following the steps in Run AWS CodeBuild Directly.

  21. Confirm that AWS CodeBuild is now successfully sending build notifications. For example, check to see if the build notification emails are now in your inbox.

To change a rule's behavior, in the CloudWatch console, choose the rule you want to change, and then choose Actions, Edit. Make changes to the rule, and then choose Configure details, followed by choosing Update rule.

To stop using a rule to send build notifications, in the CloudWatch console, choose the rule you want to stop using, and then choose Actions, Disable.

To delete a rule altogether, in the CloudWatch console, choose the rule you want to delete, and then choose Actions, Delete.

Related Resources

Build Notifications Input Format Reference

CloudWatch delivers notifications in JSON format.

Build state change notifications use the following format:

Copy
{ "version": "0", "id": "c030038d-8c4d-6141-9545-00ff7b7153EX", "detail-type": "CodeBuild Build State Change", "source": "aws.codebuild", "account": "123456789012", "time": "2017-09-01T16:14:28Z", "region": "us-west-2", "resources":[ "arn:aws:codebuild:us-west-2:123456789012:build/my-sample-project:8745a7a9-c340-456a-9166-edf953571bEX" ], "detail":{ "build-status": "SUCCEEDED", "project-name": "my-sample-project", "build-id": "arn:aws:codebuild:us-west-2:123456789012:build/my-sample-project:8745a7a9-c340-456a-9166-edf953571bEX", "additional-information": { "artifact": { "md5sum": "da9c44c8a9a3cd4b443126e823168fEX", "sha256sum": "6ccc2ae1df9d155ba83c597051611c42d60e09c6329dcb14a312cecc0a8e39EX", "location": "arn:aws:s3:::codebuild-123456789012-output-bucket/my-output-artifact.zip" }, "environment": { "image": "aws/codebuild/dot-net:1.1", "privileged-mode": false, "compute-type": "BUILD_GENERAL1_SMALL", "type": "LINUX_CONTAINER", "environment-variables": [] }, "timeout-in-minutes": 60, "build-complete": true, "initiator": "MyCodeBuildDemoUser", "build-start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:12:29 PM", "source": { "location": "codebuild-123456789012-input-bucket/my-input-artifact.zip", "type": "S3" }, "logs": { "group-name": "/aws/codebuild/my-sample-project", "stream-name": "8745a7a9-c340-456a-9166-edf953571bEX", "deep-link": "https://console.aws.amazon.com/cloudwatch/home?region=us-west-2#logEvent:group=/aws/codebuild/my-sample-project;stream=8745a7a9-c340-456a-9166-edf953571bEX" }, "phases": [ { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:12:29 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:12:29 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 0, "phase-type": "SUBMITTED", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:12:29 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:13:05 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 36, "phase-type": "PROVISIONING", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:13:05 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:13:10 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 4, "phase-type": "DOWNLOAD_SOURCE", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:13:10 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:13:10 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 0, "phase-type": "INSTALL", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:13:10 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:13:10 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 0, "phase-type": "PRE_BUILD", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:13:10 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:21 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 70, "phase-type": "BUILD", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:21 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:21 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 0, "phase-type": "POST_BUILD", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:21 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:21 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 0, "phase-type": "UPLOAD_ARTIFACTS", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:21 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:26 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 4, "phase-type": "FINALIZING", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:26 PM", "phase-type": "COMPLETED" } ] }, "current-phase": "COMPLETED", "current-phase-context": "[]", "version": "1" } }

Build phase change notifications use the following format:

Copy
{ "version": "0", "id": "43ddc2bd-af76-9ca5-2dc7-b695e15adeEX", "detail-type": "CodeBuild Build Phase Change", "source": "aws.codebuild", "account": "123456789012", "time": "2017-09-01T16:14:21Z", "region": "us-west-2", "resources":[ "arn:aws:codebuild:us-west-2:123456789012:build/my-sample-project:8745a7a9-c340-456a-9166-edf953571bEX" ], "detail":{ "completed-phase": "COMPLETED", "project-name": "my-sample-project", "build-id": "arn:aws:codebuild:us-west-2:123456789012:build/my-sample-project:8745a7a9-c340-456a-9166-edf953571bEX", "completed-phase-context": "[]", "additional-information": { "artifact": { "md5sum": "da9c44c8a9a3cd4b443126e823168fEX", "sha256sum": "6ccc2ae1df9d155ba83c597051611c42d60e09c6329dcb14a312cecc0a8e39EX", "location": "arn:aws:s3:::codebuild-123456789012-output-bucket/my-output-artifact.zip" }, "environment": { "image": "aws/codebuild/dot-net:1.1", "privileged-mode": false, "compute-type": "BUILD_GENERAL1_SMALL", "type": "LINUX_CONTAINER", "environment-variables": [] }, "timeout-in-minutes": 60, "build-complete": true, "initiator": "MyCodeBuildDemoUser", "build-start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:12:29 PM", "source": { "location": "codebuild-123456789012-input-bucket/my-input-artifact.zip", "type": "S3" }, "logs": { "group-name": "/aws/codebuild/my-sample-project", "stream-name": "8745a7a9-c340-456a-9166-edf953571bEX", "deep-link": "https://console.aws.amazon.com/cloudwatch/home?region=us-west-2#logEvent:group=/aws/codebuild/my-sample-project;stream=8745a7a9-c340-456a-9166-edf953571bEX" }, "phases": [ { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:12:29 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:12:29 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 0, "phase-type": "SUBMITTED", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:12:29 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:13:05 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 36, "phase-type": "PROVISIONING", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:13:05 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:13:10 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 4, "phase-type": "DOWNLOAD_SOURCE", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:13:10 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:13:10 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 0, "phase-type": "INSTALL", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:13:10 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:13:10 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 0, "phase-type": "PRE_BUILD", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:13:10 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:21 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 70, "phase-type": "BUILD", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:21 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:21 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 0, "phase-type": "POST_BUILD", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:21 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:21 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 0, "phase-type": "UPLOAD_ARTIFACTS", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "phase-context": [], "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:21 PM", "end-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:26 PM", "duration-in-seconds": 4, "phase-type": "FINALIZING", "phase-status": "SUCCEEDED" }, { "start-time": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:26 PM", "phase-type": "COMPLETED" } ] }, "completed-phase-status": "SUCCEEDED", "completed-phase-duration-seconds": 4, "version": "1", "completed-phase-start": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:21 PM", "completed-phase-end": "Sep 1, 2017 4:14:26 PM" } }