集群缩减 - Amazon EMR

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

集群缩减

注意

自 Amazon EMR 发行版 5.10.0 起,不再支持缩减行为选项。因为 Amazon EC2 中引入了按秒计费,Amazon EMR 集群的默认缩减行为现在在任务完成时终止。

对于 Amazon EMR 发行版 5.1.0 到 5.9.1,有两种缩减行为选项:在用于 Amazon EC2 计费的实例小时边界终止,或者在任务完成时终止。从 Amazon EMR 发行版 5.10.0 开始,在实例小时边界处终止的设置已弃用,因为在 Amazon EC2 中引入了按秒计费。我们不建议在提供了此选项的版本中指定在实例小时边界终止。

警告

如果您使用 AWS CLI 来发出 a modify-instance-groupsEC2InstanceIdsToTerminate,则这些实例将立即终止,而不考虑这些设置,也不管在这些实例上运行的应用程序的状态如何。通过这种方式终止实例将面临数据丢失以及出现不可预测的集群行为的风险。

当指定在任务完成后终止时,Amazon EMR 首先将拒绝列出来自节点的任务,并耗尽这些任务,然后再终止 Amazon EC2 实例。对于指定的任一行为,Amazon EMR 都不会终止核心实例组中的 Amazon EC2 实例(如果这会导致 HDFS 受损)。

在任务完成时终止

Amazon EMR 让您能够在不影响工作负载的情况下缩减集群。在向下调整操作期间,Amazon EMR 能够正常停止核心节点和任务节点上的 YARN、HDFS 及其它守护进程,而不会丢失数据或中断任务。Amazon EMR 仅缩减已完成所分配的工作并处于空闲状态的实例组大小。对于 Y NodeManager ARN Graceful 停用,您可以手动调整节点等待停用的时间。

使用 YARN-site 配置分类中的属性来设置此时间。要使用 Amazon EMR 发行版 5.12.0 及更高版本,请指定 YARN.resourcemanager.nodemanager-graceful-decommission-timeout-secs 属性。要使用早期的 Amazon EMR 发行版,请指定 YARN.resourcemanager.decommissioning.timeout 属性。

如果停止超时过后仍有容器或 YARN 应用程序在运行,则系统会强制停止此节点,且由 YARN 在其它节点上重新计划受影响的容器。默认值为 3600 秒 (1 小时)。您可以将此超时设为任意大的值,以强制自然缩减操作等待更长时间。有关更多信息,请参阅 Apache Hadoop 文档中的 Graceful Decommission of YARN nodes(正常停止 YARN 节点)。

任务节点组

Amazon EMR 将智能地选择没有针对任何步骤或应用程序运行的任务的实例,并首先将这些实例从集群中删除。如果集群中的所有实例均处于使用状态,Amazon EMR 会等待实例上的任务完成,然后将其从集群中删除。默认等待时间为 1 小时。该值可通过 YARN.resourcemanager.decommissioning.timeout 设置进行更改。Amazon EMR 将动态使用此新设置。您可以将其设置为任意大数字,以确保 Amazon EMR 在缩减集群大小的同时不会终止任何任务。

核心节点组

在核心节点上,必须停用 YARN NodeManager 和 HDFS DataNode 守护程序才能减少实例组。对于 YARN,自然缩减可确保标记为停止的节点仅在没有挂起或未完成的容器或应用程序时才转换到 DECOMMISSIONED 状态。如果开始淘汰时,节点上没有任何正在运行的容器,淘汰会立即完成。

对于 HDFS,自然缩减可确保 HDFS 的目标容量大到足以容纳所有现有数据块。如果目标容量不够大,则只停止部分核心实例,以便剩余节点能够处理驻留在 HDFS 中的当前数据。您应确保额外的 HDFS 容量以允许进一步执行淘汰。在尝试减少实例组之前,您还应该尽量减少写入 I/O。过多的写入 I/O 可能会延迟调整大小操作的完成。

另一个限制是默认复制因素:/etc/hadoop/conf/hdfs-site 内的 dfs.replication。创建集群时,Amazon EMR 会根据集群中的实例数来配置此值:1-3 个实例为 1;4-9 个实例的集群为 2;10 个以上实例的集群为 3

警告
  1. 如果单个节点出现故障,则在少于四个节点的集群上将 dfs.replication 设置为 1 可能会导致 HDFS 数据丢失。建议您使用具有至少四个核心节点的集群来处理生产工作负载。

  2. Amazon EMR 不允许集群扩展 dfs.replication 下方的核心节点。例如,如果是 dfs.replication = 2,则最小核心节点数为 2。

  3. 当您使用托管扩缩、自动扩缩或选择手动调整集群大小时,建议您将设置 dfs.replication 为 2 或更高。

自然缩减不允许您将核心节点减少到低于 HDFS 复制因子。这是为了允许 HDFS 因副本不足而关闭文件。要规避此限制,请降低重复因子并重新启动NameNode 守护程序。

配置 Amazon EMR 缩减行为

注意

Amazon EMR 发行版 5.10.0 及更高版本不再支持在实例小时终止缩减行为选项。以下缩减行为选项仅在 Amazon EMR 控制台发行版 5.1.0 到 5.9.1 中显示。

在创建集群时 AWS Management Console,您可以使用 AWS CLI、或 Amazon EMR API 来配置缩减行为。

注意

我们重新设计了 Amazon EMR 控制台,以便其易于使用。请参阅 亚马逊 EMR 控制台,以了解有关新旧控制台体验差异的信息。

New console
使用新控制台配置缩减行为
  1. 登录并打开亚马逊 EMR 控制台,网址为 https://console.aws.amazon.com/emr。 AWS Management Console

  2. 在左侧导航窗格中的 EMR on EC2 下,选择 Clusters(集群),然后选择 Create cluster(创建集群)。

  3. Cluster scaling and provisioning option(集群扩展和预置选项)部分中,找到 Cluster termination(集群终止)并选择手动终止集群或者让 Amazon EMR 在指定的空闲时间后终止集群。您也可以选择打开针对漏洞或错误的终止保护。

  4. 选择适用于集群的任何其他选项。

  5. 要启动集群,选择 Create cluster(创建集群)。

Old console
使用旧控制台配置缩减行为
  1. 打开 Amazon EMR 控制台(https://console.aws.amazon.com/elasticmapreduce)。

  2. 选择创建集群。转到 Advanced options(高级选项),然后在 Step 1: Software and Steps(步骤 1:软件和步骤)和 Step 2: Hardware(步骤 2:硬件)中选择配置设置。

  3. Step 3: General Cluster Settings(步骤 3:常规集群设置)中,选择首选的缩减行为。完成剩余配置并创建集群。

AWS CLI
使用配置缩小行为 AWS CLI
  • 使用 --scale-down-behavior 选项指定 TERMINATE_AT_INSTANCE_HOURTERMINATE_AT_TASK_COMPLETION

Menu
Amazon EMR
Management Guide

Cluster Scale-Down

With Amazon EMR release version 5.1.0 and later, there are two options for scale-down behavior: terminate at the instance-hour boundary for Amazon EC2 billing, or terminate at task completion. Starting with Amazon EMR release version 5.10.0, the terminate at instance-hour boundary setting is deprecated because of the introduction of per-second billing in Amazon EC2. We do not recommend specifying termination at the instance-hour boundary in versions where the option is available.

Warning

If you use the AWS CLI to issue a modify-instance-groups with EC2InstanceIdsToTerminate, these instances are terminated immediately, without consideration for these settings, and regardless of the status of applications running on them. Terminating an instance in this way risks data loss and unpredictable cluster behavior.

When terminate at task completion is specified, Amazon EMR blacklists and drains tasks from nodes before terminating the Amazon EC2 instances. With either behavior specified, Amazon EMR does not terminate Amazon EC2 instances in core instance groups if it could lead to HDFS corruption.

Terminate at Task Completion

Amazon EMR allows you to scale down your cluster without affecting your workload. Amazon EMR gracefully decommissions YARN, HDFS, and other daemons on core and task nodes during a resize down operation without losing data or interrupting jobs. Amazon EMR only shrinks instance groups if the work assigned to the groups has completed and they are idle. For YARN NodeManager decommissioning, you can manually adjust the time a node waits for decommissioning by setting yarn.resourcemanager.decommissioning.timeout inside /etc/hadoop/conf/yarn-site.xml; this setting is dynamically propagated. If there are still running containers or YARN applications when the decommissioning timeout passes, the node is forced to be decommissioned and YARN reschedules affected containers on other nodes. The default value is 3600s (one hour), meaning a YARN node under that has been issued a resize down request will become decommissioned within one hour or less. You can set this timeout to be an arbitrarily high value to force graceful shrink to wait longer.

Task Node Groups

Amazon EMR will intelligently select instances which are not running tasks and remove them from a cluster first. If all instances in the cluster are being utilized, Amazon EMR will wait for tasks to complete on a given instance before removing it from the cluster. The default wait time is 1 hour and this value can be changed by setting yarn.resourcemanager.decommissioning.timeout. Amazon EMR will dynamically use the new setting. You can set this to an arbitrarily large number to ensure that no tasks are killed while shrinking the cluster.

Core Node Groups

On core nodes, both YARN NodeManager and HDFS DataNode daemons must be decommissioned in order for the instance group to shrink. For YARN, graceful shrink ensures that a node marked for decommissioning is only transitioned to the DECOMMISSIONED state if there are no pending or incomplete containers or applications. The decommissioning finishes immediately if there are no running containers on the node at the beginning of decommissioning.

For HDFS, graceful shrink ensures that the target capacity of HDFS is large enough to fit all existing blocks. If the target capacity is not large enough, only a partial amount of core instances are decommissioned such that the remaining nodes can handle the current data residing in HDFS. You should ensure additional HDFS capacity to allow further decommissioning. You should also try to minimize write I/O before attempting to shrink instance groups as that may delay the completion of the resize operation.

Another limit is the default replication factor, dfs.replication inside /etc/hadoop/conf/hdfs-site. Amazon EMR configures the value based on the number of instances in the cluster: 1 with 1-3 instances, 2 for clusters with 4-9 instances, and 3 for clusters with 10+ instances. Graceful shrink does not allow you to shrink core nodes below the HDFS replication factor; this is to prevent HDFS from being unable to close files due insufficient replicas. To circumvent this limit, you must lower the replication factor and restart the NameNode daemon.

Configuring Amazon EMR Scale-Down Behavior

Note

This configuration feature is only available for Amazon EMR releases 5.1.0 or later.

You can use the AWS Management Console, the AWS CLI, or the Amazon EMR API to configure scale-down behavior when you create a cluster. Configuring scale-down using the AWS Management Console is done in the Step 3: General Cluster Settings screen when you create a cluster using Advanced options.


					Scale-down configuration for Amazon EMR instance termination.

When you create a cluster using the AWS CLI, use the --ScaleDownBehavior option to specify either TERMINATE_AT_INSTANCE_HOUR or TERMINATE_AT_TASK_COMPLETION.