创建新堆栈 - AWS OpsWorks

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

创建新堆栈

要创建新的堆栈,请在 AWS OpsWorks Stacks 控制面板上,单击 Add stack (添加堆栈)。然后,您可以使用 Add Stack 页来配置堆栈。完成后,单击 Add Stack

选择要创建的堆栈类型

创建堆栈前,您必须决定要创建的堆栈的类型。有关帮助,请参阅下表。

如果需要创建... 在以下情况下,创建此类型的堆栈 要了解如何操作,请遵循以下说明:
示例堆栈 利用基于 Linux 的 Chef 12 堆栈和示例 Node.js 应用程序来探索 AWS OpsWorks 的基础知识。

入门:示例

基于 Linux 的 Chef 12 堆栈 创建基于 Linux 的堆栈,该堆栈使用 AWS OpsWorks 支持的最新版本的 Chef。如果您是高级 Chef 用户,并且您想从大量可选的社区说明书中获益,或编写您自己的自定义说明书,请选择此选项。有关更多信息,请参阅 Chef 12 Linux

入门:Linux

基于 Windows 的 Chef 12.2 堆栈 创建基于 Windows 的堆栈。

入门:Windows

基于 Linux 的 Chef 11.10 堆栈 如果您的组织需要将 Chef 11.10 与 Linux 结合使用以实现向后兼容性,请创建此堆栈。

Chef 11 Linux 堆栈入门

基本选项

Add Stack 页包含以下基本选项。

堆栈名称

(必需) 用于标识 AWS OpsWorks Stacks 控制台中的堆栈的名称。该名称无需是唯一的。AWS OpsWorks Stacks 还生成一个堆栈 ID,它是用于唯一标识堆栈的 GUID。例如,对于 AWS CLI 命令(如 update-stack),您使用堆栈 ID 标识特殊堆栈。创建堆栈后,您可以通过在导航窗格中选择 Stack,然后选择 Stack Settings 来查找堆栈 ID。此 ID 标有 OpsWorks ID

区域

(必需) 将从中启动实例的 AWS 区域。

VPC

(可选) 堆栈将启动到的 VPC 的 ID。所有实例都将启动到此 VPC 中,并且您稍后无法更改 ID。

  • 如果您的账户支持 EC2 Classic,则当您不需要使用 VPC 时,可指定 No VPC (默认值)。

    有关 EC2 Classic 的更多信息,请参阅支持的平台

  • 如果您的账户不支持 EC2 Classic,则必须指定 VPC。

    默认设置为 Default VPC,它将 EC2 Classic 的易用性与 VPC 联网功能的好处集于一身。如果您需要在常规 VPC 中运行堆栈,则必须使用 VPC 控制台APICLI 来创建堆栈。有关如何为 AWS OpsWorks Stacks 堆栈创建 VPC 的更多信息,请参阅在 VPC 中运行堆栈。有关一般信息,请参阅 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud

默认可用区/默认子网

(可选) 此设置依赖于您是否在 VPC 中创建堆栈:

  • 如果您的账户支持 EC2 Classic,并且您将 VPC 设置为 No VPC,则此设置将标有 Default Availability Zone,这会指定将从中启动实例的默认 AWS 可用区。

  • 如果您的账户不支持 EC2 Classic 或者您选择指定 VPC,则此字段将标有 Default subnet,这会指定将从中启动实例的默认子网。您可以通过在创建实例时覆盖此值来在其他子网中启动实例。每个子网均与一个可用区关联。

您可以让 AWS OpsWorks Stacks 在其他可用区或子网中启动实例,方式是在创建实例时覆盖此设置。

有关如何在 VPC 中运行堆栈的更多信息,请参阅在 VPC 中运行堆栈

默认操作系统

(可选) 默认情况下安装在每个实例上的操作系统。您有以下选项:

  • 内置 Linux 操作系统之一。

  • Microsoft Windows Server 2012 R2.

  • 基于某个支持的操作系统的自定义 AMI。

    如果您选择 Use custom AMI,则操作系统由创建实例时指定的自定义 AMI 决定。有关更多信息,请参阅 使用自定义 AMI

有关可用操作系统的更多信息,请参阅AWS OpsWorks Stacks 操作系统

注意

您可以在创建实例时覆盖默认操作系统。不过,您无法覆盖 Linux 操作系统来指定 Windows,也无法覆盖 Windows 来指定 Linux 操作系统。

默认 SSH 密钥

(可选) 来自堆栈的区域的 Amazon EC2 密钥对。默认值为 none。如果您指定密钥对,则 AWS OpsWorks Stacks 将在实例上安装公有密钥。

  • 对于 Linux 实例,您可以将私有密钥用于 SSH 客户端来登录堆栈的实例。

    有关更多信息,请参阅 使用 SSH 登录

  • 对于 Windows 实例,您可以将私有密钥用于 Amazon EC2 控制台或 CLI 来检索实例的管理员密码。

    随后,您可以将密码用于 RDP 客户端来以管理员身份登录到实例。有关更多信息,请参阅使用 RDP 登录

有关如何管理 SSH 密钥的更多信息,请参阅管理 SSH 访问

注意

您可以通过在创建实例时指定其他密钥对来覆盖此设置或不指定任何密钥对。

Chef 版本

这将显示您选定的 Chef 版本。

有关 Chef 版本的更多信息,请参阅Chef 版本

使用自定义 Chef 说明书

是否在堆栈的实例上安装自定义 Chef 说明书。

对于 Chef 12,默认设置为 Yes。对于 Chef 11,默认设置为 NoYes (是) 选项将显示额外几个选项,这些选项向 AWS OpsWorks Stacks 提供将自定义说明书从其存储库部署到堆栈的实例所需的信息(如存储库 URL)。详细信息取决于您对说明书使用的存储库。有关更多信息,请参阅 安装自定义说明书

堆栈颜色

(可选) 用于表示 AWS OpsWorks Stacks 控制台上的堆栈的色调。您可以对不同的堆栈使用不同的颜色来帮助在开发期间区分临时和生产堆栈。

堆栈标签

您可以在堆栈和层级别应用标签。当您创建一个标签后,您将对标记的结构范围内的每个资源应用该标签。例如,如果您向堆栈应用一个标签,则将向每个层应用该标签,而在每个层中,将向层中的每个实例、Amazon EBS 卷或 Elastic Load Balancing 负载均衡器应用该标签。有关如何激活标签以及用其跟踪和管理 AWS OpsWorks Stacks 资源成本的更多信息,请参阅 Billing and Cost Management 用户指南 中的使用成本分配标签激活用户定义的成本分配标签。有关在 AWS OpsWorks Stacks 中添加标签的更多信息,请参阅标签

高级选项

对于高级设置,单击 Advanced >> 可显示 Advanced optionsSecurity 部分。

Advanced options 部分具有以下选项:

默认根设备类型

确定要用于实例的根卷的存储类型。有关更多信息,请参阅存储

  • 默认情况下,Linux 堆栈使用由 Amazon EBS 提供支持的根卷,但您也可以指定由实例存储提供支持的根卷。

  • Windows 堆栈必须使用由 Amazon EBS 提供支持的根卷。

IAM 角色

(可选) 堆栈的 AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 角色,AWS OpsWorks Stacks 使用该角色代表您与 AWS 进行交互。您应使用由 AWS OpsWorks Stacks 创建的角色以确保它具有所有必需权限。如果您当前没有 AWS OpsWorks Stacks 角色,请选择 New IAM Role (新建 IAM 角色) 以让 AWS OpsWorks Stacks 为您创建新的 IAM 角色。有关更多信息,请参阅允许 AWS OpsWorks Stacks 代表您执行操作

默认 IAM 实例配置文件

(可选)要与堆栈的 Amazon EC2 实例关联的默认 IAM 角色。此角色向正在堆栈的实例上运行的应用程序授予对 AWS 资源 (如 S3 存储桶) 的访问权。

  • 要向应用程序授予特定权限,请选择具有适当策略的现有实例配置文件 (角色)。

  • 否则,请选择 New IAM Instance Profile (新建 IAM 实例配置文件),AWS OpsWorks Stacks 将为您创建新的实例配置文件。

  • 最初,配置文件的角色不授予任何权限,但您可以使用 IAM 控制台、API 或 CLI 来附加适当的策略。有关更多信息,请参阅 为在 EC2 实例上运行的应用程序指定权限

API 终端节点区域

此设置采用您在堆栈的基本设置中选择的区域中的值。您可以从以下区域终端节点中选择。

  • 美国东部(弗吉尼亚北部)地区

  • 美国东部(俄亥俄)区域

  • 美国西部(俄勒冈)区域

  • 美国西部(加利福利亚北部)区域

  • 加拿大 (中部) 区域(仅限 API;不适用于在 AWS 管理控制台中创建的堆栈)

  • 亚太地区(孟买)区域

  • 亚太区域(新加坡)

  • 亚太区域(悉尼)

  • 亚太区域(东京)

  • 亚太区域(首尔)

  • 欧洲(法兰克福)区域

  • 欧洲(爱尔兰)区域

  • 欧洲(伦敦)区域

  • 欧洲(巴黎)区域

  • 南美洲(圣保罗)区域

在一个 API 终端节点中创建的堆栈不适用于另一个 API 终端节点。由于 AWS OpsWorks Stacks 用户也是区域特定的,因此,如果您希望其中某个终端节点区域中的 AWS OpsWorks Stacks 用户管理另一个终端节点区域中的堆栈,则必须将这些用户导入将与堆栈关联的终端节点。有关导入用户的更多信息,请参阅将用户导入 AWS OpsWorks Stacks

主机名主题

(可选) 一个用于为每个实例生成默认主机名的字符串。默认值为 Layer Dependent,它使用实例层的短名称并向每个实例附加一个唯一的编号。例如,依赖角色的负载均衡器 主题根为“lb”。您添加到层的第一个实例名为“lb1”,您添加到层的第二个实例名为“lb2”,以此类推。

OpsWorks 代理版本

(可选) 是在新版本可用时自动更新 AWS OpsWorks Stacks 代理,还是使用指定的代理版本并手动更新它。此功能适用于 Chef 11.10 和 Chef 12 堆栈。默认设置为 Manual update,这将设置为最新代理版本。

AWS OpsWorks Stacks 在每个实例上安装一个代理,此代理将与服务进行通信并处理任务(例如,初始化 Chef 运行以响应生命周期事件)。此代理将定期更新。对于为堆栈指定代理版本,您有两个选项。

  • Auto-update (自动更新) – 当有更新可用时,AWS OpsWorks Stacks 会自动在堆栈的实例上安装每个新的代理版本。

  • Manual update (手动更新) – AWS OpsWorks Stacks 在堆栈的实例上安装指定的代理版本。

    在有新的代理版本可用时,AWS OpsWorks Stacks 会在堆栈页上发布消息,但不会更新堆栈的实例。要更新代理,您必须手动更新堆栈设置以指定新的代理版本,AWS OpsWorks Stacks 随后将更新堆栈的实例。

可以通过更新特定实例的配置来覆盖该实例的默认 OpsWorks Agent Version 设置。在此情况下,实例的设置优先。例如,假定默认设置为 Auto-update,而您为特定实例指定 Manual update。当 AWS OpsWorks Stacks 发布新的代理版本时,它将自动更新堆栈的所有实例,但设置为 Manual update (手动更新) 的实例除外。要在该实例上安装新的代理版本,您必须手动更新其配置并指定新版本。

注意

控制台将显示缩写的代理版本号。要查看完整版本号,请调用 AWS CLI describe-agent-versions 命令或等效的 API 或开发工具包方法。它们将返回可用代理版本的完整版本号。

自定义 JSON

(可选) 一个或多个格式化为 JSON 结构的属性。这些属性将合并为堆栈配置和部署属性,它们将安装到每个实例上并且可由配方使用。您可以使用自定义 JSON 来自定义配置设置,方式是覆盖指定默认设置的内置属性。有关更多信息,请参阅使用自定义 JSON

Security (安全性) 包含一个 Use OpsWorks security groups (使用 OpsWorks 安全组) 选项,您可使用此选项指定是否将 AWS OpsWorks Stacks 内置安全组与堆栈的层关联。

AWS OpsWorks Stacks 提供一套标准的内置安全组(一层一个),在默认情况下,每层关联一个安全组。Use OpsWorks security groups 可让您改为提供您自己的自定义安全组。有关更多信息,请参阅使用安全组

Use OpsWorks security groups 具有以下设置:

  • Yes (是) - AWS OpsWorks Stacks 自动将适当的内置安全组与每个层关联(默认设置)。

    您可以在创建一个层后将该层与额外的安全组关联,但无法删除内置安全组。

  • No (否) - AWS OpsWorks Stacks 不会将内置安全组与层关联。

    您必须创建适当的 EC2 安全组并将一个安全组与创建的每个层关联。但是,您仍然可以在创建时手动关联内置的安全组和层;只有需要自定义设置的层才必须要自定义安全组。

请注意以下几点:

  • 如果 Use OpsWorks security groups 设置为 Yes,则无法通过向层添加更严格的安全组来限制默认安全组的端口访问设置。对于多个安全组,Amazon EC2 会使用最宽松的设置。此外,您无法通过修改内置安全组配置来创建更严格的设置。当您创建堆栈时,AWS OpsWorks Stacks 会用标准设置覆盖内置安全组的配置,因此,您所做的任何更改都将在您下次创建堆栈时丢失。如果层需要比内置安全组更严格的安全组设置,请将 Use OpsWorks security groups 设置为 No,使用首选设置创建自定义安全组,并在创建时将它们分配给层。

  • 如果您意外删除 AWS OpsWorks Stacks 安全组并需要重新创建此安全组,则它必须是原始安全组的准确副本,包括组名称的大写形式。建议您让 AWS OpsWorks Stacks 为您重新创建组,而不是手动执行此任务。直接在同一个 AWS 区域(以及 VPC,如果有)中创建新的堆栈,AWS OpsWorks Stacks 将自动重新创建所有内置安全组,包括您删除的那个安全组。如果您不再需要该堆栈,则随后您可以删除它;安全组将保留。

Menu
AWS OpsWorks
User Guide (API Version 2013-02-18)

Create a New Stack

To create a new stack, on the AWS OpsWorks dashboard, click Add stack. You can then use the Add Stack page to configure the stack. When you are finished, click Add Stack.

Choose the Type of Stack to Create

Before you create a stack, you must decide the type of stack that you want to create. For help, see the following table.

If you want to create...Create this type of stack if you want to...To learn how, follow these instructions:
A sample stackExplore the basics of AWS OpsWorks with a Linux-based Chef 12 stack and a sample Node.js app.

Getting Started: Sample

A Linux-based Chef 12 stackCreate a Linux-based stack that uses the latest version of Chef that AWS OpsWorks supports. Choose this option if you are an advanced Chef user who would like to benefit from the large selection of community cookbooks or write your own custom cookbooks. For more information, see Chef 12 Linux.

Getting Started: Linux

A Windows-based Chef 12.2 stackCreate a Windows-based stack. Creating new Windows-based resources is not currently supported in new regional endpoints outside US East (N. Virginia) Region; however, in all regions that are available within the US East (N. Virginia) Region endpoint, you can create new Windows-based stacks and instances.

Getting Started: Windows

A Linux-based Chef 11.10 stackCreate this stack if your organization requires the use of Chef 11.10 with Linux for backward compatibility.

Getting Started with Chef 11 Linux Stacks


Basic Options

The Add Stack page has the following basic options.

Stack name

(Required) A name that is used to identify the stack in the AWS OpsWorks console. The name does not need to be unique. AWS OpsWorks also generates a stack ID, which is a GUID that uniquely identifies the stack. For example, with AWS CLI commands such as update-stack, you use the stack ID to identify the particular stack. After you have created a stack, you can find it's ID by choosing Stack in the navigation pane and then choosing Stack Settings. The ID is labelled OpsWorks ID.

Region

(Required) The AWS region where the instances will be launched.

VPC

(Optional) The ID of the VPC that the stack is to be launched into. All instances will be launched into this VPC, and you cannot change the ID later.

  • If your account supports EC2 Classic, you can specify No VPC (the default value) if you don't want to use a VPC.

    For more information on EC2 Classic, see Supported Platforms.

  • If your account does not support EC2 Classic, you must specify a VPC.

    The default setting is Default VPC, which combines the ease of use of EC2 Classic with the benefits of VPC networking features. If you want to run your stack in a regular VPC, you must create it by using the VPC console, API, or CLI. For more information on how to create a VPC for an AWS OpsWorks stack, see Running a Stack in a VPC. For general information, see Amazon Virtual Private Cloud.

Default Availability Zone/Default subnet

(Optional) This setting depends on whether you are creating your stack in a VPC:

  • If your account supports EC2 Classic and you set VPC to No VPC, this setting is labeled Default Availability Zone, which specifies the default AWS Availability Zone where the instances will be launched.

  • If your account does not support EC2 Classic or you choose to specify a VPC, this field is labeled Default subnet, which specifies the default subnet where the instances will be launched. You can launch an instance in other subnets by overriding this value when you create the instance. Each subnet is associated with one Availability Zone.

You can have AWS OpsWorks launch an instance in a different Availability Zone or subnet by overriding this setting when you create the instance.

For more information about how to run a stack in a VPC, see Running a Stack in a VPC.

Default operating system

(Optional) The operating system that is installed by default on each instance. You have the following options:

  • One of the built-in Linux operating systems.

  • Microsoft Windows Server 2012 R2. (Not available outside the US East (N. Virginia) Region regional endpoint.)

  • A custom AMI based on one of the supported operating systems.

    If you select Use custom AMI, the operating system is determined by a custom AMI that you specify when you create instances. For more information, see Using Custom AMIs.

For more information on the available operating systems, see AWS OpsWorks Operating Systems.

Note

You can override the default operating system when you create an instance. However, you cannot override a Linux operating system to specify Windows, or Windows to specify a Linux operating system.

Default SSH key

(Optional) An Amazon EC2 key pair from the stack's region. The default value is none. If you specify a key pair, AWS OpsWorks installs the public key on the instance.

  • With Linux instances, you can use the private key with an SSH client to log in to the stack's instances.

    For more information, see Logging In with SSH.

  • With Windows instances, you can use the private key with the Amazon EC2 console or CLI to retrieve an instance's Administrator password.

    You can then use that password with an RDP client to log in to the instance as Administrator. For more information, see Logging In with RDP.

For more information on how to manage SSH keys, see Managing SSH Access.

Note

You can override this setting by specifying a different key pair, or no key pair, when you create an instance.

Chef version

This shows the Chef version that you have chosen.

For more information on Chef versions, see Chef Versions.

Use custom Chef cookbooks

Whether to install your custom Chef cookbooks on the stack's instances.

For Chef 12, the default setting is Yes. For Chef 11, The default setting is No. The Yes option displays several additional settings that provide AWS OpsWorks with the information it needs to deploy the custom cookbooks from their repository to the stack's instances, such as the repository URL. The details depend on which repository you use for your cookbooks. For more information, see Installing Custom Cookbooks.

Stack color

(Optional) The hue used to represent the stack on the AWS OpsWorks console. You can use different colors for different stacks to help distinguish, for example, among development, staging, and production stacks.

Advanced Options

For advanced settings, click Advanced >> to display the Advanced options and Security sections.

The Advanced options section has the following options:

Default root device type

Determines the type of storage to be used for the instance's root volume. For more information, see Storage.

  • Linux stacks use an Amazon EBS-backed root volume by default but you can also specify an instance store-backed root volume.

  • Windows stacks must use an Amazon EBS-backed root volume.

IAM role

(Optional) The stack's AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) role, which AWS OpsWorks uses to interact with AWS on your behalf. You should use a role that was created by AWS OpsWorks to ensure that it has all the required permissions. If you don't have an existing AWS OpsWorks role, select New IAM Role to have AWS OpsWorks create a new IAM role for you. For more information, see Allowing AWS OpsWorks to Act on Your Behalf.

Default IAM instance profile

(Optional) The default IAM role to be associated with the stack's Amazon EC2 instances. This role grants permissions to applications running on the stack's instances to access AWS resources such as S3 buckets.

  • To grant specific permissions to applications, choose an existing instance profile (role) that has the appropriate policies.

  • Otherwise, select New IAM Instance Profile to have AWS OpsWorks create a new instance profile for you.

  • Initially, the profile's role grants no permissions, but you can use the IAM console, API, or CLI to attach appropriate policies. For more information, see Specifying Permissions for Apps Running on EC2 instances.

API endpoint region

This setting takes its value from the region that you choose in the stack's basic settings. You can choose from the following regional endpoints.

  • US East (N. Virginia) Region

  • US West (Oregon) Region

  • US West (N. California) Region

  • Asia Pacific (Mumbai) Region

  • Asia Pacific (Singapore) Region

  • Asia Pacific (Sydney) Region

  • Asia Pacific (Tokyo) Region

  • Asia Pacific (Seoul) Region

  • EU (Frankfurt) Region

  • EU (Ireland) Region

  • South America (São Paulo) Region

Stacks that are created in one API endpoint are not available in another API endpoint. Because AWS OpsWorks users are also region-specific, if you want AWS OpsWorks users in one of these endpoint regions to manage stacks in another endpoint region, you must import the users to the endpoint in which the stacks reside. For more information about importing users, see Importing Users into AWS OpsWorks.

Hostname theme

(Optional) A string that is used to generate a default hostname for each instance. The default value is Layer Dependent, which uses the short name of the instance's layer and appends a unique number to each instance. For example, the role-dependent Load Balancer theme root is "lb". The first instance you add to the layer is named "lb1", the second "lb2", and so on.

OpsWorks Agent version

(Optional) Whether to automatically update the AWS OpsWorks agent when a new version is available, or use a specified agent version and manually update it. This feature is available on Chef 11.10 and Chef 12 stacks. The default setting is Manual update, set to the latest agent version.

AWS OpsWorks installs an agent on each instance that communicates with the service and handles tasks such as initiating Chef runs in response to lifecycle events. This agent is regularly updated. You have two options for specifying the agent version for your stack.

  • Auto-update – AWS OpsWorks automatically installs each new agent version on the stack's instances as soon as the update is available.

  • Manual update – AWS OpsWorks installs the specified agent version on the stack's instances.

    AWS OpsWorks posts a message on the stack page when a new agent version is available, but does not update the stack's instances. To update the agent, you must manually update the stack settings to specify a new agent version and AWS OpsWorks will then update the stack's instances.

You can override the default OpsWorks Agent Version setting for a particular instance by updating its configuration. In that case, the instance's setting takes precedence. For example, suppose that the default setting is Auto-update but you specify Manual update for a particular instance. When AWS OpsWorks releases a new agent version, it will automatically update all of the stack's instances except for the one that is set to Manual update. To install a new agent version on that instance, you must manually update its configuration and specify a new version.

Tip

The console displays abbreviated agent version numbers. To see full version numbers, call the AWS CLI describe-agent-versions command or the equivalent API or SDK methods. They return the full version numbers for the available agent versions.

Custom JSON

(Optional) One or more custom attributes, formatted as a JSON structure. These attributes are merged into the stack configuration and deployment attributes that are installed on every instance and can be used by recipes. You can use custom JSON, for example, to customize configuration settings by overriding the built-in attributes that specify the default settings. For more information, see Using Custom JSON.

Security has one option, Use OpsWorks security groups, which allows you to specify whether to associate the AWS OpsWorks built-in security groups with the stack's layers.

AWS OpsWorks provides a standard set of built-in security groups—one for each layer— which are associated with layers by default. Use OpsWorks security groups allows you to instead provide your own custom security groups. For more information, see Using Security Groups.

Use OpsWorks security groups has the following settings:

  • Yes - AWS OpsWorks automatically associates the appropriate built-in security group with each layer (default setting).

    You can associate additional security groups with a layer after you create it but you cannot delete the built-in security group.

  • No - AWS OpsWorks does not associate built-in security groups with layers.

    You must create appropriate EC2 security groups and associate a security group with each layer that you create. However, you can still manually associate a built-in security group with a layer on creation; custom security groups are required only for those layers that need custom settings.

Note the following:

  • If Use OpsWorks security groups is set to Yes, you cannot restrict a default security group's port access settings by adding a more restrictive security group to a layer. With multiple security groups, Amazon EC2 uses the most permissive settings. In addition, you cannot create more restrictive settings by modifying the built-in security group configuration. When you create a stack, AWS OpsWorks overwrites the built-in security groups' configurations with the standard settings, so any changes that you make will be lost the next time you create a stack. If a layer requires more restrictive security group settings than the built-in security group, set Use OpsWorks security groups to No, create custom security groups with your preferred settings, and assign them to the layers on creation.

  • If you accidentally delete an AWS OpsWorks security group and want to recreate it, it must an exact duplicate of the original, including the group name's capitalization. Instead of recreating the group manually, we recommend having AWS OpsWorks perform the task for you. Just create a new stack in the same AWS region—and VPC, if present—and AWS OpsWorks will automatically recreate all the built-in security groups, including the one that you deleted. You can then delete the stack if you don't have any further use for it; the security groups will remain.