寫入和讀取/寫操作 - Amazon Redshift

本文為英文版的機器翻譯版本,如內容有任何歧義或不一致之處,概以英文版為準。

寫入和讀取/寫操作

透過決定何時與如何執行不同的類型的命令,您可以管理並行寫入操作的特定行為。以下是與此討論相關的命令:

  • COPY 命令,執行載入 (初始或遞增)

  • INSERT 命令,一次附加一或多個資料列

  • UPDATE 命令,修改現有資料列

  • DELETE 命令,移除資料列

COPY 和 INSERT 操作為單純寫入的操作,但 DELETE 和 UPDATE 操作為讀/寫操作。(若要刪除或更新行,必須先進行讀取。) 並行寫入操作的結果取決於並行執行的特定命令。對相同資料表的 COPY 和 INSERT 操作會保留在等候狀態,直到鎖定釋出為止,然後會照常進行。

UPDATE 和 DELETE 操作有不同的行為,因為它們仰賴於執行任何寫入之前的初始資料表讀取。由於並行交易彼此看不見對方,UPDATE 和 DELETE 必須從上次認可讀取資料的快照。第一個 UPDATE 或 DELETE 釋出其鎖定時,第二個 UPDATE 或 DELETE 必須判斷要使用的資料是否可能過時。它將不會過時,因為第二個交易不會取得其資料的快照,直到第一個交易已釋出其鎖定為止。

並行寫入交易可能的死鎖情況

每當交易牽涉到一個以上資料表的更新,當它們都嘗試寫入相同的資料表集時,並行執行的交易有可能變得死鎖。交易會在認可或復原時一次釋出其所有資料表鎖定;它不會一次撤回一個鎖定。

例如,假設交易 T1 和 T2 在大約相同的時間開始。如果 T1 開始寫入資料表和 T2 開始寫入資料表 B,這兩個交易都可以繼續而不衝突;不過,如果 T1 完成寫入資料表並且必須開始寫入資料表 B,它將無法繼續,因為 T2 仍在 B 上保有鎖定。相反地,如果 T2 完成寫入資料表 B 並且必須開始寫入資料表 A,它將無法繼續,因為 T1 仍在 A 上保有鎖定。因為這兩個交易都可釋出其鎖定,直到其所有寫入操作都認可,因此沒有任一交易可以繼續。

為了避免這類的死鎖,您必須謹慎排程並行寫入操作。例如,您應該一律以相同的順序更新交易中的資料表,同時,如果指定鎖定,在執行任何 DML 操作之前,以相同的順序鎖定資料表。

Menu
Amazon Redshift
Database Developer Guide (API Version 2012-12-01)

Write and Read-Write Operations

You can manage the specific behavior of concurrent write operations by deciding when and how to run different types of commands. The following commands are relevant to this discussion:

  • COPY commands, which perform loads (initial or incremental)

  • INSERT commands that append one or more rows at a time

  • UPDATE commands, which modify existing rows

  • DELETE commands, which remove rows

COPY and INSERT operations are pure write operations, but DELETE and UPDATE operations are read-write operations. (In order for rows to be deleted or updated, they have to be read first.) The results of concurrent write operations depend on the specific commands that are being run concurrently. COPY and INSERT operations against the same table are held in a wait state until the lock is released, then they proceed as normal.

UPDATE and DELETE operations behave differently because they rely on an initial table read before they do any writes. Given that concurrent transactions are invisible to each other, both UPDATEs and DELETEs have to read a snapshot of the data from the last commit. When the first UPDATE or DELETE releases its lock, the second UPDATE or DELETE needs to determine whether the data that it is going to work with is potentially stale. It will not be stale , because the second transaction does not obtain its snapshot of data until after the first transaction has released its lock.

Potential Deadlock Situation for Concurrent Write Transactions

Whenever transactions involve updates of more than one table, there is always the possibility of concurrently running transactions becoming deadlocked when they both try to write to the same set of tables. A transaction releases all of its table locks at once when it either commits or rolls back; it does not relinquish locks one at a time.

For example, suppose that transactions T1 and T2 start at roughly the same time. If T1 starts writing to table A and T2 starts writing to table B, both transactions can proceed without conflict; however, if T1 finishes writing to table A and needs to start writing to table B, it will not be able to proceed because T2 still holds the lock on B. Conversely, if T2 finishes writing to table B and needs to start writing to table A, it will not be able to proceed either because T1 still holds the lock on A. Because neither transaction can release its locks until all its write operations are committed, neither transaction can proceed.

In order to avoid this kind of deadlock, you need to schedule concurrent write operations carefully. For example, you should always update tables in the same order in transactions and, if specifying locks, lock tables in the same order before you perform any DML operations.