數值的計算 - Amazon Redshift

本文為英文版的機器翻譯版本,如內容有任何歧義或不一致之處,概以英文版為準。

數值的計算

在本文中,計算是指二進位數學運算:加、減、乘和除。本節說明這些運算預期的傳回類型,以及使用 DECIMAL 資料類型時,用來決定精確度與小數位數的特定公式。

在查詢處理作業期間計算數值時,可能會遇到無法進行計算的情況,而且查詢會傳回數值溢位錯誤。您也可能會遇到計算值的小數位數改變或出乎意料的情況。對於某些操作,您可以使用明確轉換(類型提升)或 Amazon Redshift 配置參數,來解決這些問題。

關於使用 SQL 函式進行類似計算的結果,詳細資訊請參閱 彙總函數

計算的傳回類型

根據 Amazon Redshift 所支援的一組數值資料類型,下表顯示了加法、減法、乘法和除法運算預期的回報類型。表格左側的第一欄代表計算中的第一個運算元,最上面的列代表第二個運算元。

INT2 INT4 INT8 DECIMAL FLOAT4 FLOAT8
INT2 INT2 INT4 INT8 DECIMAL FLOAT8 FLOAT8
INT4 INT4 INT4 INT8 DECIMAL FLOAT8 FLOAT8
INT8 INT8 INT8 INT8 DECIMAL FLOAT8 FLOAT8
DECIMAL DECIMAL DECIMAL DECIMAL DECIMAL FLOAT8 FLOAT8
FLOAT4 FLOAT8 FLOAT8 FLOAT8 FLOAT8 FLOAT4 FLOAT8
FLOAT8 FLOAT8 FLOAT8 FLOAT8 FLOAT8 FLOAT8 FLOAT8

計算出 DECIMAL 結果的精確度和小數位數

下表顯示摘要,說明在數學運算傳回 DECIMAL 結果時,用來計算結果精確度和小數位數的規則。在這個表格中,p1s1 代表計算式中第一個運算元的精確度和小數位數,p2s2 代表第二個運算元的精確度和小數位數。(無論這些計算如何,結果的最高精確度為 38、結果的最大小數位數為 38。)

操作 結果的精確度與小數位數
+ 或 - 擴展 = max(s1,s2)

精確度 = max(p1-s1,p2-s2)+1+scale

* 擴展 = s1+s2

精確度 = p1+p2+1

/ 擴展 = max(4,s1+p2-s2+1)

精確度 = p1-s1+ s2+scale

例如,SALES 資料表中的 PRICEPAID 和 COMMISSION 資料欄都是 DECIMAL(8,2) 資料欄。如果將 PRICEPAID 除以 COMMISSION (或反過來),會如下套用公式:

Precision = 8-2 + 2 + max(4,2+8-2+1) = 6 + 2 + 9 = 17 Scale = max(4,2+8-2+1) = 9 Result = DECIMAL(17,9)

下列的計算是一般規則,適用於針對 DECIMAL 數值的運算 (使用 UNION、INTERSECT 和 EXCEPT 等集合運算子,或 COALESCE 和 DECODE 等函式),計算出結果的精確度和小數位數:

Scale = max(s1,s2) Precision = min(max(p1-s1,p2-s2)+scale,19)

例如,包含一個 DECIMAL(7,2) 資料欄的 DEC1 資料表,會與包含一個 DECIMAL(15,3) 資料欄的 DEC2 資料表聯結,以產生 DEC3 資料表。DEC3 的結構描述顯示,其資料欄會變成 NUMERIC(15,3) 資料欄。

create table dec3 as select * from dec1 union select * from dec2;

結果

select "column", type, encoding, distkey, sortkey from pg_table_def where tablename = 'dec3'; column | type | encoding | distkey | sortkey -------+---------------+----------+---------+--------- c1 | numeric(15,3) | none | f | 0

在上述的範例中,會如下套用公式:

Precision = min(max(7-2,15-3) + max(2,3), 19) = 12 + 3 = 15 Scale = max(2,3) = 3 Result = DECIMAL(15,3)

關於除法運算的備註

如果是除法運算,除以 0 的情況會傳回錯誤。

在計算出精確度和小數位數之後,會套用 100 個小數位數的限制。如果計算結果的小數位數大於 100,除的結果會如下設定小數位數:

  • 精確度 = precision - (scale - max_scale)

  • 擴展 = max_scale

如果計算出的精確度大於最高精確度 (38),則精確度會降低為 38,而小數位數會變成下列算式的結果:max(38 + scale - precision), min(4, 100))

溢位狀況

會針對所有數值運算檢查溢位。具有 19 個 (含) 以下有效位數 (精確度) 的 DECIMAL 資料,會儲存為 64 位元整數。具有 19 個 (含) 以上有效位數 (精確度) 的 DECIMAL 資料,會儲存為 128 位元整數。所有 DECIMAL 數值的最高精確度為 38、最大小數位數為 37。當數值超出這些限值時,會出現溢位錯誤,這會同時發生於中間的和最終的結果集:

  • 當特定資料值不符合轉換函式所要求的精確度或指定的小數位數時,明確轉換作業會產生執行時期的溢位錯誤。例如,您無法從 SALES 資料表中的 PRICEPAID 資料欄 (DECIMAL(8,2) 資料欄) 轉換所有的數值,然後傳回 DECIMAL(7,3) 結果:

    select pricepaid::decimal(7,3) from sales; ERROR: Numeric data overflow (result precision)

    由於 PRICEPAID 資料欄中的某些較大的數值無法轉換,因此發生了這項錯誤。

  • 在乘法運算所產生的結果中,其小數位數是每個運算元小數位數的總和。例如,如果兩個運算元都有 4 個小數位數,結果的小數位數是 8 個,使得小數點的左邊只有 10 個位數。因此,在將兩個都擁有大量小數位數的大數值相乘時,就會相當容易產生溢位狀況。

INTEGER 和 DECIMAL 類型的數值計算

當計算式中的其中一個運算元具有 INTEGER 資料類型,而另一個運算元為 DECIMAL,INTEGER 運算元會隱含轉換為 DECIMAL:

  • INT2 (SMALLINT) 會轉換為 DECIMAL(5,0)

  • INT4 (INTEGER) 會轉換為 DECIMAL(10,0)

  • INT8 (BIGINT) 會轉換為 DECIMAL(19,0)

例如,如果將 DECIMAL(8,2) 資料欄 SALES.COMMISSION 乘以 SMALLINT 資料欄 SALES.QTYSOLD,此計算式會進行如下的轉換:

DECIMAL(8,2) * DECIMAL(5,0)

Menu
Amazon Redshift
Database Developer Guide (API Version 2012-12-01)

Computations with Numeric Values

In this context, computation refers to binary mathematical operations: addition, subtraction, multiplication, and division. This section describes the expected return types for these operations, as well as the specific formula that is applied to determine precision and scale when DECIMAL data types are involved.

When numeric values are computed during query processing, you might encounter cases where the computation is impossible and the query returns a numeric overflow error. You might also encounter cases where the scale of computed values varies or is unexpected. For some operations, you can use explicit casting (type promotion) or Amazon Redshift configuration parameters to work around these problems.

For information about the results of similar computations with SQL functions, see Aggregate Functions.

Return Types for Computations

Given the set of numeric data types supported in Amazon Redshift, the following table shows the expected return types for addition, subtraction, multiplication, and division operations. The first column on the left side of the table represents the first operand in the calculation, and the top row represents the second operand.

INT2 INT4 INT8 DECIMAL FLOAT4 FLOAT8
INT2 INT2 INT4 INT8 DECIMAL FLOAT8 FLOAT8
INT4 INT4 INT4 INT8 DECIMAL FLOAT8 FLOAT8
INT8 INT8 INT8 INT8 DECIMAL FLOAT8 FLOAT8
DECIMAL DECIMAL DECIMAL DECIMAL DECIMAL FLOAT8 FLOAT8
FLOAT4 FLOAT8 FLOAT8 FLOAT8 FLOAT8 FLOAT4 FLOAT8
FLOAT8 FLOAT8 FLOAT8 FLOAT8 FLOAT8 FLOAT8 FLOAT8

Precision and Scale of Computed DECIMAL Results

The following table summarizes the rules for computing resulting precision and scale when mathematical operations return DECIMAL results. In this table, p1 and s1 represent the precision and scale of the first operand in a calculation and p2 and s2 represent the precision and scale of the second operand. (Regardless of these calculations, the maximum result precision is 38, and the maximum result scale is 38.)

Operation Result Precision and Scale
+ or - Scale = max(s1,s2)

Precision = max(p1-s1,p2-s2)+1+scale

* Scale = s1+s2

Precision = p1+p2+1

/ Scale = max(4,s1+p2-s2+1)

Precision = p1-s1+ s2+scale

For example, the PRICEPAID and COMMISSION columns in the SALES table are both DECIMAL(8,2) columns. If you divide PRICEPAID by COMMISSION (or vice versa), the formula is applied as follows:

Copy
Precision = 8-2 + 2 + max(4,2+8-2+1) = 6 + 2 + 9 = 17 Scale = max(4,2+8-2+1) = 9 Result = DECIMAL(17,9)

The following calculation is the general rule for computing the resulting precision and scale for operations performed on DECIMAL values with set operators such as UNION, INTERSECT, and EXCEPT or functions such as COALESCE and DECODE:

Copy
Scale = max(s1,s2) Precision = min(max(p1-s1,p2-s2)+scale,19)

For example, a DEC1 table with one DECIMAL(7,2) column is joined with a DEC2 table with one DECIMAL(15,3) column to create a DEC3 table. The schema of DEC3 shows that the column becomes a NUMERIC(15,3) column.

Copy
create table dec3 as select * from dec1 union select * from dec2;

Result

Copy
select "column", type, encoding, distkey, sortkey from pg_table_def where tablename = 'dec3'; column | type | encoding | distkey | sortkey -------+---------------+----------+---------+--------- c1 | numeric(15,3) | none | f | 0
In the above example, the formula is applied as follows:
Copy
Precision = min(max(7-2,15-3) + max(2,3), 19) = 12 + 3 = 15 Scale = max(2,3) = 3 Result = DECIMAL(15,3)

Notes on Division Operations

For division operations, divide-by-zero conditions return errors.

The scale limit of 100 is applied after the precision and scale are calculated. If the calculated result scale is greater than 100, division results are scaled as follows:

  • Precision = precision - (scale - max_scale)

  • Scale = max_scale

If the calculated precision is greater than the maximum precision (38), the precision is reduced to 38, and the scale becomes the result of: max(38 + scale - precision), min(4, 100))

Overflow Conditions

Overflow is checked for all numeric computations. DECIMAL data with a precision of 19 or less is stored as 64-bit integers. DECIMAL data with a precision that is greater than 19 is stored as 128-bit integers. The maximum precision for all DECIMAL values is 38, and the maximum scale is 37. Overflow errors occur when a value exceeds these limits, which apply to both intermediate and final result sets:

  • Explicit casting results in run-time overflow errors when specific data values do not fit the requested precision or scale specified by the cast function. For example, you cannot cast all values from the PRICEPAID column in the SALES table (a DECIMAL(8,2) column) and return a DECIMAL(7,3) result:

    Copy
    select pricepaid::decimal(7,3) from sales; ERROR: Numeric data overflow (result precision)

    This error occurs because some of the larger values in the PRICEPAID column cannot be cast.

  • Multiplication operations produce results in which the result scale is the sum of the scale of each operand. If both operands have a scale of 4, for example, the result scale is 8, leaving only 10 digits for the left side of the decimal point. Therefore, it is relatively easy to run into overflow conditions when multiplying two large numbers that both have significant scale.

  • Implicitly casting 64-bit DECIMAL values to a higher precision causes numeric overflow errors. To avoid overflow errors, explicitly cast 64-bit DECIMAL values to a higher precision by using functions such as the CAST and CONVERT Functions. For example, the PRICEPAID column in the SALES table is a DECIMAL(8,2) column. To multiply the values in this column by a value that increases the precision to greater than 19 digits, such as 100000000000000000000, cast the expression as follows:

    Copy
    select salesid, pricepaid::decimal(38,2) * 100000000000000000000 as value from sales where salesid=2; salesid | value ---------+--------------------------- 2 | 7600000000000000000000.00 (1 row)

Numeric Calculations with INTEGER and DECIMAL Types

When one of the operands in a calculation has an INTEGER data type and the other operand is DECIMAL, the INTEGER operand is implicitly cast as a DECIMAL:

  • INT2 (SMALLINT) is cast as DECIMAL(5,0)

  • INT4 (INTEGER) is cast as DECIMAL(10,0)

  • INT8 (BIGINT) is cast as DECIMAL(19,0)

For example, if you multiply SALES.COMMISSION, a DECIMAL(8,2) column, and SALES.QTYSOLD, a SMALLINT column, this calculation is cast as:

Copy
DECIMAL(8,2) * DECIMAL(5,0)