使用适用于 Snowball 的 Amazon S3 API 适配器进行授权 - AWS Snowball

本指南正在弃用,将不再更新。

第一代 80 TB Snowball 设备不再可用。使用 Snowball Edge 存储优化设备完成所有数据传输作业。有关 Snowball Edge 文档,请参阅AWS Snowball Edge开发者指南

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

使用适用于 Snowball 的 Amazon S3 API 适配器进行授权

在您对 Snowball 使用 Amazon S3 适配器时,每次交互都会与AWS默认情况下,签名版本 4 算法。此授权仅用于验证从数据源传输到适配器的数据。所有加密和解密都在您的工作站内存中完成。未加密的数据绝不会存储在工作站或 Snowball 上。

使用适配器时,请牢记以下内容:

  • 你可以禁用签名在工作站上安装适配器之后,可通过修改 snowball-adapter.config 文件禁用签名。此文件保存到 /.aws/snowball /config 中,有一个名为auth.enabled默认情况下设置为 true。如果将此值更改为false,您可以通过签名版本 4 算法禁用签名。您可能不想禁用签名,因为签名用于防止在适配器和数据存储之间传输数据的修改或更改。您还可以启用 HTTPS 并在与适配器通信时提供自己的证书。为此,您可以使用其他选项启动适配器。有关更多信息,请参阅 《Amazon S3 Adapter》Snowball

    注意

    无论您使用哪种签名解决方案,传入或传出 Snowball 的数据应始终加密。

  • 加密密钥不会因内容而有所更改。AWS使用的凭证由于使用签名版本 4 算法进行签名只用于验证从数据源传输到适配器的数据,因此不会影响用于对 Snowball 上的数据进行加密的加密密密密钥。

  • 您可以使用任何AWS轮廓— Snowball 的 Amazon S3 适配器从不会连接回AWS验证您的AWS凭据,所以你可以使用任何AWS使用适配器进行配置文件以签署在工作站和适配器之间传输的数据。

  • Snowball 不包含任何内容AWS证书— 您可以在本地管理对 Snowball 的访问控制和授权。Snowball 或适配器上没有任何软件能够区分用户之间的访问。当有人访问 Snowball、清单和解锁代码时,该用户可以完全访问设备及设备上的所有数据。我们建议您能够相应地制定好 Snowball 的物理和网络访问计划。

Menu
AWS Snowball
User Guide

This guide is for the Snowball (50 TB or 80 TB of storage space). If you are looking for documentation for the Snowball Edge, see the AWS Snowball Edge Developer Guide.

Authorization with the Amazon S3 API Adapter for Snowball

When you use the Amazon S3 Adapter for Snowball, every interaction is signed with the AWS Signature Version 4 algorithm by default. This authorization is used only to verify the data traveling from its source to the adapter. All encryption and decryption happens in your workstation's memory. Unencrypted data is never stored on the workstation or the Snowball.

When using the adapter, keep the following in mind:

  • You can disable signing – After you've installed the adapter on your workstation, you can disable signing by modifying the snowball-adapter.config file. This file, saved to /.aws/snowball/config, has a value named auth.enabled set to true by default. If you change this value to false, you disable signing through the Signature Version 4 algorithm. You might not want to disable signing, because signing is used to prevent modifications or changes to data traveling between the adapter and your data storage. You can also enable HTTPS and provide your own certificate when communicating with the adapter. To do so, you start the adapter with additional options. For more information, see Options for the Amazon S3 Adapter for Snowball.

    Note

    Data traveling to or from a Snowball is always encrypted, regardless of your signing solution.

  • The encryption key is not changed by what AWS credentials you use – Because signing with the Signature Version 4 algorithm is only used to verify the data traveling from its source to the adapter, it never factors into the encryption keys used to encrypt your data on the Snowball.

  • You can use any AWS profile – The Amazon S3 Adapter for Snowball never connects back to AWS to verify your AWS credentials, so you can use any AWS profile with the adapter to sign the data traveling between the workstation and the adapter.

  • The Snowball doesn't contain any AWS credentials – You manage access control and authorization to a Snowball on-premises. No software on the Snowball or adapter differentiates access between one user and another. When someone has access to a Snowball, the manifest, and the unlock code, that person has complete and total access to the appliance and all data on it. We recommend that you plan physical and network access for the Snowball accordingly.