怎么样AWS Snowball使用标准 Snowball 设备 - AWS Snowball

本指南正在弃用,将不再更新。

第一代 80 TB Snowball 设备不再可用。使用 Snowball Edge 存储优化设备完成所有数据传输作业。有关 Snowball Edge 文档,请参阅AWS Snowball Edge开发者指南

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

怎么样AWS Snowball使用标准 Snowball 设备

下面,您可以找到有关方法的信息AWS Snowball作品,包括概念和 end-to-end 实现。

工作方式:概念

导入的工作方式


           此表显示了如何进行导入。

每个导入任务使用单个 Snowball 设备。在中创建作业之后AWS Snow 系列管理控制台或者任务管理 API,我们会为您寄运 Snowball。经过数日到达后,请将 Snowball 连接到您的网络,并使用 Snowball 客户端或 Amazon S3 Adapter to Snowball,将要导入到 Amazon S3 的数据传输到该 Snowball 上。

完成数据传输之后,请将 Snowball 寄回AWS,我们会将您的数据导入到 Amazon S3。

导出的工作方式


          此表显示了如何进行导出。

每个导出任务可以使用任意数量的 Snowball 设备。在中创建作业之后AWS Snow 系列管理控制台或任务管理 API,列举操作在 Amazon S3 中启动。此列举操作将您的任务分割为几个部分。每个任务部分的大小最多为约 80 TB,每个任务部分均有一个与之关联的 Snowball。在您创建任务部分之后,第一个任务部分进入 Preparing Snowball 状态。

在此之后不久,我们将开始将您的数据导出到 Snowball。通常,导出数据需要一个工作日。不过,此过程可能需要更长时间。一旦出口完成,AWS让 Snowball 已准备好供您所在区域的承运商取货。当在几天内到达您的数据中心或办公室时,您将连接到您的网络并使用 Snowball 客户端或用于 Snowball 的 Amazon S3 适配器将要导出的数据传输到服务器。

完成数据传输之后,请将 Snowball 寄回AWS. 收到您导出任务部分退回的 Snowball 后,我们将对执行完整擦除 Snowball。此擦除过程遵循美国国家标准与技术研究院 (NIST) 800-88 标准。此步骤标记这一特定任务部分的完成。如果有多个任务部分,则现已准备好下一个任务部分的发运。

注意

列举操作是 Amazon S3 的一项功能。就像您使用的任意 Amazon S3 操作一样收费,即使您取消了导出任务也是如此。

工作方式:实现

下文概述了如何实施 Snowball 以导入和导出数据。两个概述都假定你将使用AWS Snow 系列管理控制台创建任务,请使用 Snowball 客户端在本地传输数据。如果您希望以编程方式创建任务,则可以使用适用于 Snowball 的任务管理 API。有关更多信息,请参阅 AWS Snowball API 参考。要以编程方式传输数据,您可以使用适用于 Snowball 的 Amazon S3 适配器。有关更多信息,请参阅 。使用 Amazon S3 API 适配器传输 Snowball.

端到端导入实施

  1. 创建导入任务— 登录到AWS Snow 系列管理控制台创建作业。您的任务状态现在为 Job created,我们已使您的任务请求排队进行处理。如果您的请求有问题,此时您可以取消任务。

  2. Snowball 已经为你的工作做好了准备— 我们为您的任务准备 Snowball,您的任务状态现在为。Preparing Snowball. 出于安全目的,数据传输必须在准备 Snowball 之后的 90 天内完成。

  3. 您所在地区的承运人将 Snowball 运送给您— 运营商从这里接管,您的任务状态现在为。In transit to you. 在 AWS Snow 系列管理控制台上,您可以找到跟踪编号以及 跟踪网站的链接。

  4. 获取 Snowball— 经过数天后,您所在区域的运营商会将 Snowball 运送到您在创建任务时提供的地址,此时您的任务状态会更改为。Delivered to you. 到达 Snowball 后,您会注意到它并没有装箱,因为 Snowball 就是一个运输容器。

  5. 获取凭证并下载 Snowball 客户端— 获取您的证书、任务清单以及清单的打开代码,然后下载 Snowball 客户端,从而准备好开始传输数据。

    • Snowball 客户端是一个工具,用于管理从内部数据源到 Snowball 的数据流。

      您可以从下载并安装 Snowball 客户端AWS Snowball资源.

      Snowball 客户端必须从AWS Snowball资源页面并安装在您拥有的高性能工作站上。

    • 清单用于验证您对 Snowball 的访问权限,它经过加密,必须使用解锁代码才能解密。您可以从获取清单AWS Snow 系列管理控制台当 Snowball 位于您的内部位置时。

    • 打开代码是 29 个字符的代码,也会在您获取清单时显示。我们建议您记下此代码并将其与清单分开保存,以防止其他人未经授权访问您设施中的 Snowball。在您获取清单时,打开代码可见。

  6. 安装并设置 Snowball 客户端— 将 Snowball 客户端安装到装载了您的数据源的计算机工作站上。

  7. 位置硬件— 将 Snowball 移动到您的数据中心内并按照外壳上的说明打开。将 Snowball Connect 到电源和您的本地网络。

  8. 启动 Snowball— 接下来,按电子墨水显示屏上的电源按钮启动 Snowball。稍等几分钟将显示 Ready 屏幕。

  9. 启动 Snowball 客户端— 在工作站上启动 Snowball 客户端时,请键入 Snowball 的 IP 地址、清单路径以及解锁代码。Snowball 客户端解密清单并使用清单来验证您对 Snowball 的访问权限。

  10. 传输数据— 使用 Snowball 客户端将要导入到 Amazon S3 的数据从数据源传输到 Snowball 中。

  11. 为 Snowball 的回程做好准备— 在您的数据传输完成后,关闭 Snowball 并拔掉线缆。将 Snowball 的线缆缠绕到 Snowball 后面板内的线缆圈上,然后对打 Snowball。现在可以将 Snowball 寄回了。

  12. 您所在地区的承运人将 Snowball 退回至AWS— 在运营商运送 Snowball 期间,该任务的状态将变为。In transit toAWS.

  13. AWS获取 Snowball— Snowball 到来AWS,您的任务状态变为在AWS. 平均而言,需要一天的时间AWS开始将您的数据导入 Amazon S3。

  14. AWS将您的数据导入到 Amazon S3— 导入开始之后,您的任务状态更改为Importing. 导入可能需要几天。此时,如果有任何问题,我们将通过电子邮件联系您。

    导入完成之后,您的任务状态将变为 Completed (已完成),您的任务完成报告的 PDF 文件将可从 AWS Snow 系列管理控制台下载。

  15. 现在,您导入的数据位于 Amazon S3— 导入完成后,您传输的数据现在位于 Amazon S3 中。

既然您已经知道如何导入任务,您就能创建自己的第一个任务了。有关更多信息,请参阅 使用以下命令将数据导入 Amazon S3AWS Snowball

有关适用于 Snowball 的任务管理 API 的更多信息,请参阅。AWS SnowballAPI 参考.

端到端导出实施

  1. 创建导出任务— 登录到AWS Snow 系列管理控制台创建作业。此过程启动 Amazon S3 中的列举操作,以确定要传输的数据量,以及您的任务将传输的存储桶中对象的任意可选范围。列举完成后,AWS Snow 系列管理控制台将创建您的导出任务需要的所有任务部分。此时,如果需要,您可以取消任务。

    注意

    列举操作是 Amazon S3 的一项功能。就像您使用的任意 Amazon S3 操作一样收费,即使您取消了导出任务也是如此。

  2. Snowball 已经为你的工作做好了准备— 在您创建任务部分之后,第一个任务部分进入Preparing Snowball状态。出于安全目的,数据传输必须在准备 Snowball 之后的 90 天内完成。Snowball 准备就绪之后,状态更改为 Exporting。通常,导出需要一个工作日;不过,此过程可能需要更长时间。导出完成后,任务状态变为Preparing shipment, 和AWS让 Snowball 准备好接送。

  3. 您所在地区的承运人将 Snowball 运送给您— 运营商从这里接管,您的任务状态现在为。In transit to you. 在 AWS Snow 系列管理控制台上,您可以找到跟踪编号以及 跟踪网站的链接。

  4. 获取 Snowball— 经过数天后,运营商将 Snowball 运送到您在创建任务时提供的地址,您的第一个任务部分的状态会更改为。Delivered to you. 到达 Snowball 后,您会注意到它并没有装箱,因为 Snowball 就是一个运输容器。

  5. 获取凭证并下载 Snowball 客户端— 获取您的证书、任务清单以及清单的打开代码,然后下载 Snowball 客户端,从而准备好开始传输数据。

    • Snowball 客户端是一个工具,用于管理从 Snowball 到内部数据目标的数据流。

      您可以从下载并安装 Snowball 客户端AWS Snowball资源.

      Snowball 客户端必须从AWS Snowball资源页面并安装在您拥有的高性能工作站上。

    • 清单用于验证您对 Snowball 的访问权限,它经过加密,必须使用解锁代码才能解密。您可以从获取清单AWS Snow 系列管理控制台当 Snowball 位于您的内部位置时。

    • 打开代码是 29 个字符的代码,也会在您获取清单时显示。我们建议您记下此代码并将其与清单分开保存,以防止其他人未经授权访问您设施中的 Snowball。在您获取清单时,打开代码可见。

  6. 安装并设置 Snowball 客户端— 将 Snowball 客户端安装到装载了您的数据源的计算机工作站上。

  7. 位置硬件— 将 Snowball 移动到您的数据中心内并按照外壳上的说明打开。将 Snowball Connect 到电源和您的本地网络。

  8. 启动 Snowball— 接下来,按电子墨水显示屏上的电源按钮启动 Snowball。稍等几分钟将显示 Ready 屏幕。

  9. 启动 Snowball 客户端— 在工作站上启动 Snowball 客户端时,请键入 Snowball 的 IP 地址、清单路径以及解锁代码。Snowball 客户端解密清单并使用清单来验证您对 Snowball 的访问权限。

  10. 传输数据— 使用 Snowball 客户端将要从 Snowball 设备导出到内部数据目标的数据目标。

  11. 为 Snowball 的回程做好准备— 在您的数据传输完成后,关闭 Snowball 并拔掉线缆。将 Snowball 的线缆缠绕到 Snowball 后面板内的线缆圈上,然后对打 Snowball。现在可以将 Snowball 寄回了。

  12. 您所在地区的承运人将 Snowball 退回至AWS— 在运营商运送 Snowball 时,任务的状态将变为。In transit toAWS. 此时,如果您的导出任务有多个任务部分,下一个任务部分将进入 Preparing Snowball 状态。

  13. 我们抹掉了 Snowball— 收到退回的 Snowball 后,我们将对执行完整擦除 Snowball。此擦除遵循 NIST 800-88 标准。

既然您已经知道如何导出任务,您就能创建自己的第一个任务了。有关更多信息,请参阅使用 Snowball 从 Amazon S3 导出数据

Menu
AWS Snowball
User Guide

This guide is for the standard Snowball (50TB or 80TB of storage space). If you are looking for documentation for the Snowball Edge, see the AWS Snowball Edge Developer Guide.

How AWS Snowball Works

Following, you can find information on how AWS Snowball works, including concepts and its end-to-end implementation.

How It Works: Concepts

With AWS Snowball (Snowball), you import or export data in discrete units of work called jobs between your on-premises data centers and Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3). The data is physically transported by your region's carrier in rugged Snowball appliances protected by AWS Key Management Service (AWS KMS) and owned by AWS.

How Import Works


            A diagram showing how import works.

Each import job uses a single Snowball appliance. After you create a job in the AWS Snowball Management Console or the job management API, we ship you a Snowball. When it arrives in a few days, you’ll connect the Snowball to your network and transfer the data that you want imported into Amazon S3 onto that Snowball using the Snowball client or the Amazon S3 Adapter for Snowball.

When you’re done transferring data, ship the Snowball back to AWS, and we’ll import your data into Amazon S3.

How Export Works


            A diagram showing how export works.

Each export job can use any number of Snowball appliances. After you create a job in the AWS Snowball Management Console or the job management API, a listing operation starts in Amazon S3. This listing operation splits your job into parts. Each job part can be up to about 80 TB in size, and each job part has exactly one Snowball associated with it. After your job parts are created, your first job part enters the Preparing Snowball status.

Soon after that, we start exporting your data onto a Snowball. Typically, exporting data takes one business day; however, this process can take longer. Once the export is done, AWS gets the Snowball ready for pickup by your region's carrier. When the Snowball arrives at your data center or office in a few days, you’ll connect the Snowball to your network and transfer the data that you want exported to your servers by using the Snowball client or the Amazon S3 Adapter for Snowball.

When you’re done transferring data, ship the Snowball back to AWS. Once we receive a returned Snowball for your export job part, we perform a complete erasure of the Snowball. This erasure follows the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) 800-88 standards. This step marks the completion of that particular job part. If there are more job parts, the next job part now is prepared for shipping.

Note

The listing operation is a function of Amazon S3, and you are billed for it as you are for any Amazon S3 operation, even if you cancel your export job.

How It Works: Implementation

The following are overviews of how the Snowball is implemented for importing and exporting data. Both overviews assume that you'll use the AWS Snowball Management Console to create your job and the Snowball client to locally transfer your data. If you'd rather work programmatically, to create jobs you can use the job management API for Snowball. For more information, see AWS Snowball API Reference. To transfer your data programmatically, you can use the Amazon S3 Adapter for Snowball. For more information, see Transferring Data with the Amazon S3 API Adapter for Snowball.

End-to-End Import Implementation

  1. Create an import job – Sign in to the AWS Snowball Management Console and create a job. The status of your job is now Job created, and we have queued your job request for processing. If there’s a problem with your request, you can cancel your job at this point.

  2. A Snowball is prepared for your job – We prepare a Snowball for your job, and the status of your job is now Preparing Snowball. For security purposes, data transfers must be completed within 90 days of the Snowball being prepared.

  3. A Snowball is shipped to you by your region's carrier – The carrier takes over from here, and the status of your job is now In transit to you. You can find your tracking number and a link to the tracking website on the AWS Snowball Management Console. For information on who your region's carrier is, see Shipping Carriers.

  4. Receive the Snowball – A few days later, your region's carrier delivers the Snowball to the address that you provided when you created the job, and the status of your job changes to Delivered to you. When the Snowball arrives, you’ll notice that it didn’t arrive in a box, because the Snowball is its own shipping container.

  5. Get your credentials and download the Snowball client – Get ready to start transferring data by getting your credentials, your job manifest, and the manifest's unlock code, and then downloading the Snowball client.

    • The Snowball client is the tool that you’ll use to manage the flow of data from your on-premises data source to the Snowball. You can download the Snowball client from the AWS Snowball Tools Download page.

    • The manifest is used to authenticate your access to the Snowball, and it is encrypted so that only the unlock code can decrypt it. You can get the manifest from the AWS Snowball Management Console when the Snowball is on-premises at your location.

    • The unlock code is a 29-character code that also appears when you get your manifest. We recommend that you write it down and keep it separate from the manifest to prevent unauthorized access to the Snowball while it’s at your facility. The unlock code is visible when you get your manifest.

  6. Install and set up the Snowball client – Install the Snowball client on the computer workstation that has your data source mounted on it.

  7. Position the hardware – Move the Snowball into your data center and open it following the instructions on the case. Connect the Snowball to power and your local network.

  8. Power on the Snowball – Next, power on the Snowball by pressing the power button above the E Ink display. Wait a few minutes, and the Ready screen appears.

  9. Start the Snowball client – When you start the Snowball client on your workstation, type the IP address of the Snowball, the path to your manifest, and the unlock code. The Snowball client decrypts the manifest and uses it to authenticate your access to the Snowball.

  10. Transfer data – Use the Snowball client to transfer the data that you want to import into Amazon S3 from your data source into the Snowball.

  11. Prepare the Snowball for its return trip – After your data transfer is complete, power off the Snowball and unplug its cables. Secure the Snowball’s cables into the cable caddie on the inside of the Snowball’s back panel and seal the Snowball. Now the Snowball is ready to be returned.

  12. Your region's carrier returns the Snowball to AWS – While the carrier has the Snowball for shipping, the status for the job becomes In transit to AWS.

  13. AWS gets the Snowball – The Snowball arrives at AWS, and the status for your job becomes At AWS. On average, it takes about a day for AWS to begin importing your data into Amazon S3.

  14. AWS imports your data into Amazon S3 – When import starts, your job’s status changes to Importing. The import can take a few days. At this point, if there are any complications or issues, we contact you through email.

    Once the import is complete, your job status becomes Completed, and a PDF file of your job completion report becomes available for download from the AWS Snowball Management Console.

  15. Your imported data now resides in Amazon S3 – With the import complete, the data that you transferred is now in Amazon S3.

Now that you know how an import job works, you're ready to create your first job. For more information, see Importing Data into Amazon S3 with Snowball.

For more information about the job management API for Snowball, see AWS Snowball API Reference.

End-to-End Export Implementation

  1. Create an export job – Sign in to the AWS Snowball Management Console and create a job. This process begins a listing operation in Amazon S3 to determine the amount of data to be transferred, and also any optional ranges for objects within your buckets that your job will transfer. Once the listing is complete, the AWS Snowball Management Console creates all the job parts that you'll need for your export job. At this point, you can cancel your job if you need to.

    Note

    The listing operation is a function of Amazon S3, and you are billed for it as you are for any Amazon S3 operation, even if you cancel your export job.

  2. A Snowball is prepared for your job part – Soon after your job parts are created, your first job part enters the Preparing Snowball status. For security purposes, data transfers must be completed within 90 days of the Snowball being prepared. When the Snowball is prepared, the status changes to Exporting. Typically, exporting takes one business day; however, this process can take longer. Once the export is done, the job status becomes Preparing shipment, and AWS gets the Snowball ready for pickup.

  3. A Snowball is shipped to you by your region's carrier – The carrier takes over from here, and the status of your first job part is now In transit to you. You can find your tracking number and a link to the tracking website on the AWS Snowball Management Console. For information on who your region's carrier is, see Shipping Carriers.

  4. Receive the Snowball – A few days later, the carrier delivers the Snowball to the address you provided when you created the job, and the status of your first job part changes to Delivered to you. When the Snowball arrives, you’ll notice that it didn’t arrive in a box, because the Snowball is its own shipping container.

  5. Get your credentials and download the Snowball client – Get ready to start transferring data by getting your credentials, your job manifest, and the manifest's unlock code, and then downloading the Snowball client.

    • The Snowball client is the tool that you’ll use to manage the flow of data from the Snowball to your on-premises data destination. You can download the Snowball client from the AWS Snowball Tools Download page.

    • The manifest is used to authenticate your access to the Snowball, and it is encrypted so that only the unlock code can decrypt it. You can get the manifest from the AWS Snowball Management Console when the Snowball is on-premises at your location.

    • The unlock code is a 29-character code that also appears when you get your manifest. We recommend that you write it down and keep it separate from the manifest to prevent unauthorized access to the Snowball while it’s at your facility. The unlock code is visible when you get your manifest.

  6. Install and set up the Snowball client – Install the Snowball client on the computer workstation that has your data source mounted on it.

  7. Position the hardware – Move the Snowball into your data center and open it following the instructions on the case. Connect the Snowball to power and your local network.

  8. Power on the Snowball – Next, power on the Snowball by pressing the power button above the E Ink display. Wait a few minutes, and the Ready screen appears.

  9. Start the Snowball client – When you start the Snowball client on your workstation, type the IP address of the Snowball, the path to your manifest, and the unlock code. The Snowball client decrypts the manifest and uses it to authenticate your access to the Snowball.

  10. Transfer data – Use the Snowball client to transfer the data that you want to export from the Snowball appliance into your on-premises data destination.

  11. Prepare the Snowball for its return trip – After your data transfer is complete, power off the Snowball and unplug its cables. Secure the Snowball’s cables into the cable caddie on the inside of the Snowball’s back panel and seal the Snowball. The Snowball is now ready to be returned.

  12. Your region's carrier returns the Snowball to AWS – When the carrier has the Snowball, the status for the job becomes In transit to AWS. At this point, if your export job has more job parts, the next job part enters the Preparing Snowball status.

  13. We erase the Snowball – Once we receive a returned Snowball we perform a complete erasure of the Snowball. This erasure follows the NIST 800-88 standards.

Now that you know how an export job works, you're ready to create your first job. For more information, see Exporting Data from Amazon S3 with Snowball.