使用 Snowball 客户端 - AWS Snowball

本指南正在弃用,将不再更新。

第一代 80 TB Snowball 设备不再可用。使用 Snowball Edge 存储优化设备完成所有数据传输作业。有关 Snowball Edge 文档,请参阅AWS Snowball Edge开发者指南

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

使用 Snowball 客户端

在下文中,您将大体了解 Snowball 客户端,它是您可用于在本地数据中心与 Snowball 之间传输数据的工具之一。Snowball 客户端支持将以下类型的数据传输到或从中传输数据。

注意

导入的每个文件或对象的大小必须小于或等于 5 TB。

由于您进行数据传输的计算机工作站通常是传输数据的瓶颈所在,我们强烈建议您使用性能强大的计算机作为工作站。理想情况下,它应该能够满足在处理、内存和网络方面的高要求。有关更多信息,请参阅 工作站规格

使用 Snowball 客户端测试您的数据传输

在开始之前,您可以使用 Snowball 客户端测试您的数据传输。测试可以帮助您确定传输数据的最有效方法,因而非常有帮助。Snowball 安装到您的设施现场之后,前 10 天可以免费使用,从第 11 天开始产生费用,您可以预先测试您的数据传输,以免届时产生这部分费用。

您可以随时从工具页面下载 Snowball 客户端,甚至是在您首次登录之前AWS Snow 系列管理控制台. 您还可以使用 Snowball 客户端在创建任务之前测试数据传输任务,也可在此后的任意时间进行测试。您可以在没有清单、没有解锁代码、甚至没有 Snowball 的情况下测试 Snowball 客户端。

使用 Snowball 客户端测试数据传输

  1. 从下载并安装 Snowball 客户端http://aws.amazon.com/snowball/resources/页.

  2. 确保您的工作站可以与本地网络中的数据源通信。我们建议您尽可能减少二者之间的跃点数。

  3. 运行 Snowball 客户端的测试命令并在您的命令中包括指向所装载数据源的路径,如下所示。

    snowball test [OPTION...] [path/to/data/source]
    snowball test --recursive --time 5 /Logs/2015/August
    snowball test -r -t 5 /Logs/2015/August

在上述示例中,第一条命令指示 Snowball 客户端以递归方式对在下面发现的所有文件夹和文件运行测试/Logs/2015/August在数据源上停留 5 分钟。第二条命令指示 Snowball 客户端报告测试持续时间内的实时传输速度数据。

注意

测试命令运行的时间越长,得到的测试数据就越准确。

对 Snowball 客户端进行身份验证以传输数据

在使用已下载和安装的 Snowball 客户端传输数据之前,您必须先运行snowball start命令。此命令验证您对 Snowball 的访问权限。为正常运行此命令,您将在任务中使用的 Snowball 必须位于现场、接通电源和网络并打开。此外,Snowball 前端的电子墨水显示屏必须显示Ready.

验证 Snowball 客户端对 Snowball 的访问权限

  1. 获取您的清单和打开代码。

    1. 从获取清单AWS Snow 系列管理控制台或者任务管理 API。您的清单是加密的,只有打开代码才能解密。Snowball 客户端将解密的清单与 Snowball 在准备时置入的信息进行比较。比较过程中会验证您是否具有适合您即将开始的数据传输任务的 Snowball。

    2. 获取打开代码,这个 29 位的代码也会在您下载清单时显示。我们建议您写下这个代码,将其保存在与所下载清单不同的存储位置,以防止其他人未经授权访问您设施中的 Snowball。

  2. 在 Snowball 的电子墨水显示屏上找到雪球的 IP 地址。当 Snowball 首次连接到您的网络时,它会自动创建 DHCP IP 地址。如果您要使用其他 IP 地址,可以从电子墨水显示屏上进行更改。有关更多信息,请参阅 使用 AWS Snowball 设备

  3. 执行snowball start命令使用 Snowball 的 IP 地址和您的凭证,验证您对 Snowball 的访问权限,如下所示:

    snowball start -i [IP Address] -m [Path/to/manifest/file] -u [29 character unlock code]
    snowball start -i 192.0.2.0 -m /user/tmp/manifest -u 01234-abcde-01234-ABCDE-01234

Snowball 客户端的架构

Snowball 客户端使用架构来定义在本地数据中心与 Snowball 之间传输的数据类型。每次当您发出命令时,即会声明架构。

Snowball 客户端命令的来源

从本地装载的文件系统传输文件数据时,您需要以适用于操作系统类型的格式指定源路径。例如,在命令 snowball ls C:\User\Dan\CatPhotos s3://MyBucket/Photos/Cats 中,源架构指定源数据为标准文件数据。

Snowball 客户端的目的地

除了源架构之外,还存在目标架构。当前,唯一受支持的目标架构是 s3://。例如,在命令 snowball cp -r /Logs/April s3://MyBucket/Logs 中,使用 s3:// 架构将 /Logs/April 中的内容以递归方式复制到 Snowball 上的 MyBucket/Logs 位置。

Menu
AWS Snowball
User Guide

This guide is for the Snowball (50TB or 80TB of storage space). If you are looking for documentation for the Snowball Edge, see the AWS Snowball Edge Developer Guide.

Using the Snowball Client

Following, you can find an overview of the Snowball client, one of the tools that you can use to transfer data between your on-premises data center and the Snowball. The Snowball client supports transferring the following types of data to and from a Snowball.

Sources of data that can be imported with the Snowball client are as follows:

  • Files or objects hosted in locally mounted file systems.

  • Files or objects from a Hadoop Distributed File System (HDFS) cluster. Currently, only HDFS 2.x clusters are supported.

Note

Each file or object that is imported must be less than or equal to 5 TB in size.

Because the computer workstation from which or to which you make the data transfer is considered to be the bottleneck for transferring data, we highly recommend that your workstation be a powerful computer. It should be able to meet high demands in terms of processing, memory, and networking. For more information, see Workstation Specifications.

Testing Your Data Transfer with the Snowball Client

You can use the Snowball client to test your data transfer before it begins. Testing is useful because it can help you identify the most efficient method of transferring your data. The first 10 days that the Snowball is onsite at your facility are free, and you'll want to test your data transfer ahead of time to prevent fees starting on the eleventh day.

You can download the Snowball client from the tools page at any time, even before you first log in to the AWS Snowball Management Console. You can also use the Snowball client to test your data transfer job before you create the job, or any time thereafter. You can test the Snowball client without having a manifest, an unlock code, or a Snowball.

To test data transfer using the Snowball client

  1. Download and install the Snowball client from the AWS Snowball Tools Download page.

  2. Ensure that your workstation can communicate with your data source across the local network. We recommend that you have as few hops as possible between the two.

  3. Run the Snowball client's test command and include the path to the mounted data source in your command as follows.

    snowball test [OPTION...] [path/to/data/source]
    snowball test --recursive --time 5 /Logs/2015/August
    snowball test -r -t 5 /Logs/2015/August

The preceding example commands tell the Snowball client to run the test recursively through all the folders and files found under /Logs/2015/August on the data source for 5 minutes, and tell the Snowball client to report real-time transfer speed data for the duration of the test.

Note

The longer the test command runs, the more accurate the test data you get back.

Authenticating the Snowball Client to Transfer Data

Before you can transfer data with your downloaded and installed Snowball client, you must first run the snowball start command. This command authenticates your access to the Snowball. For you to run this command, the Snowball you use for your job must be onsite, plugged into power and network, and turned on. In addition, the E Ink display on the Snowball's front must say Ready.

To authenticate the Snowball client's access to a Snowball

  1. Obtain your manifest and unlock code.

    1. Get the manifest from the AWS Snowball Management Console or the job management API. Your manifest is encrypted so that only the unlock code can decrypt it. The Snowball client compares the decrypted manifest against the information that was put in the Snowball when it was being prepared. This comparison verifies that you have the right Snowball for the data transfer job you’re about to begin.

    2. Get the unlock code, a 29-character code that also appears when you download your manifest. We recommend that you write it down and keep it in a separate location from the manifest that you downloaded, to prevent unauthorized access to the Snowball while it’s at your facility.

  2. Locate the IP address for the Snowball on the Snowball's E Ink display. When the Snowball is connected to your network for the first time, it automatically creates a DHCP IP address. If you want to use a different IP address, you can change it from the E Ink display. For more information, see Using an AWS Snowball Appliance.

  3. Execute the snowball start command to authenticate your access to the Snowball with the Snowball's IP address and your credentials, as follows:

    snowball start -i [IP Address] -m [Path/to/manifest/file] -u [29 character unlock
                  code]
    Copy
    snowball start -i 192.0.2.0 -m /user/tmp/manifest -u 01234-abcde-01234-ABCDE-01234

Schemas for Snowball Client

The Snowball client uses schemas to define what kind of data is transferred between your on-premises data center and a Snowball. You declare the schemas whenever you issue a command.

Sources for the Snowball Client Commands

Transferring file data from a local mounted file system requires that you specify the source path, in the format that works for your OS type. For example, in the command snowball ls C:\\User\Dan\CatPhotos s3://MyBucket/Photos/Cats, the source schema specifies that the source data is standard file data.

For importing data directly from a Hadoop Distributed File System (HDFS) to a Snowball, you specify the Namenode URI as the source schema, which has the hdfs://Snowball IP Address:port format. For example:

Copy
snowball cp -n hdfs://192.0.2.0:9000/ImportantPhotos/Cats s3://MyBucket/Photos/Cats

Destinations for the Snowball Client

In addition to source schemas, there are also destination schemas. Currently, the only supported destination schema is s3://. For example, in the command snowball cp -r /Logs/April s3://MyBucket/Logs, the content in /Logs/April is copied recursively to the MyBucket/Logs location on the Snowball using the s3:// schema.

Snowball Logs

When you transfer data between your on-premises data centers and a Snowball, the Snowball client automatically generates a plaintext log and saves it to your workstation. If you encounter unexpected errors during data transfer to the Snowball, make a copy of the associated log files and include them along with a brief description of the issues that you encountered in a message to AWS Support.

Logs are saved in the following locations, based on your workstation's operating system:

  • Windows – C:/Users/<username>/.aws/snowball/logs/

  • Mac – /Users/<username>/.aws/snowball/logs/

  • Linux – /home/<username>/.aws/snowball/logs/

Logs are saved with the file name snowball_<year>_<month>_<date>_<hour>. The hour is based on local system time for the workstation and uses a 24-hour clock.

Example Log Name

Copy
snowball_2016_03_28_10.log

Each log has a maximum file size of 5 MB. When a log reaches that size, a new file is generated, and the log is continued in the new file. If additional logs start within the same hour as the old log, then the name of the first log is appended with .1 and the second log is appended with .2, and so on.

Important

Logs are saved in plaintext format and contain file name and path information for the files that you transfer. To protect this potentially sensitive information, we strongly suggest that you delete these logs once the job that the logs are associated with enters the completed status.