Menu
Amazon WorkDocs
User Guide

Locking and Unlocking Files

You can lock a file to prevent others from overwriting your work while you're editing it. Collaborators can see a lock icon next to the file to know when it’s locked. While it’s locked, only the person who locked it can upload a new version.

Owners, co-owners, and contributors can lock files and send requests to unlock a file. Owners and co-owners can also unlock files, and contributors can unlock a file if they locked it.

To lock and unlock a file

  1. Open the Amazon WorkDocs file to lock.

  2. To lock the file, choose the down arrow in the upper-right corner and choose Lock.

  3. To edit the file while it’s locked, choose one of the following options:

    • Choose the down arrow in the upper-right corner, choose Download, and make your changes. When you’re done making changes, open the file again in Amazon WorkDocs, choose the down arrow in the upper-right corner, and choose Upload new version.

    • Edit the file from the Amazon WorkDocs Sync Client.

  4. To unlock the file, choose the down arrow in the upper-right corner and choose one of the following options:

    • If you made changes that you want to save, choose Unlock and save changes.

    • If you made changes that you don't want to save, choose Unlock and discard changes.

    • If you didn't make any changes, choose Unlock.

To send an unlock request

  1. In the Amazon WorkDocs file, choose the down arrow in the upper-right corner and choose Request unlock.

  2. In the Request unlock dialog box, enter a comment (optional) and choose Send request.

  3. The request is sent to the person who locked the file, the file owner, and any co-owners.