So werden Reserved Instances angewendet - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud

So werden Reserved Instances angewendet

Wenn Sie eine Reserved Instance erwerben und bereits über eine aktive Instance verfügen, die den Spezifikationen der Reserved Instance entspricht, erhalten Sie einen sofortigen Preisvorteil. Sie müssen Ihre Instances nicht neu starten. Wenn Sie über keine passende Instance verfügen, starten Sie eine Instance mit denselben Kriterien, die Sie für die Reserved Instance angegeben haben. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter Nutzen Ihres Reserved Instances.

Alle Reserved Instances werden gleich angewendet – unabhängig vom Angebotstyp (Standard oder Convertible). Sie werden automatisch auf aktive On-Demand-Instances mit entsprechenden Attributen angewendet.

So werden zonengebundene Reserved Instances angewendet

Wenn Reserved Instances einer speziellen Availability Zone zugewiesen sind, wird der Reserved Instance-Rabatt auf die passende Instance-Nutzung in der entsprechenden Availability Zone angewendet. Wenn Sie beispielsweise zwei c4.xlarge Standard-Tenancy Linux/Unix Standard Reserved Instances in der Availability Zone us-east-1a erwerben, können bis zu zwei aktive c4.xlarge Standard-Tenancy Linux/Unix-Instances in der Availability Zone us-east-1a vom Reserved Instance-Rabatt profitieren. Die Attribute (Tenancy, Plattform, Availability Zone, Instance-Typ und Instance-Größe) der aktiven Instances müssen denen der Reserved Instances entsprechen.

So werden regionale Reserved Instances angewendet

Regionale Reserved Instances werden für eine Region erworben und bieten Flexibilität bezüglich der Availability Zone. Der Reserved Instance-Rabatt gilt für die Instance-Nutzung in jeder Availability Zone in dieser Region.

Regionale Reserved Instances bieten auch Flexibilität bezüglich der Instance-Größe, während der Reserved Instance-Rabatt unabhängig von der Größe für die Instance-Nutzung in der Instance-Familie gilt.

Einschränkungen für die Flexibilität bezüglich der Instance-Größe

Die Flexibilität bezüglich der Instance-Größe gilt nicht für die folgenden Reserved Instances:

  • Reserved Instances, die für eine bestimmte Availability Zone erworben werden (zonengebundene Reserved Instances)

  • Reserved Instances mit Dedicated Tenancy

  • Reserved Instances für Windows Server, Windows Server mit SQL Standard, Windows Server mit SQL Server Enterprise, Windows Server mit SQL Server Web, RHEL und SUSE Linux Enterprise Server

  • Reserved Instances für G4n-Instances

Flexibilität bezüglich der Instance-Größe anhängig vom Normalisierungsfaktor

Die flexible Instance-Größe wird durch den Normalisierungsfaktor der Instance-Größe bestimmt. Der Rabatt gilt für aktive Instances derselben Instance-Familie Typs in jeder Availability Zone der Region entweder vollständig oder teilweise. Dies hängt von der Instance-Größe der Reservierung ab. Nur die Attribute Instance-Familie, Tenancy und Plattform müssen übereinstimmen.

Größenflexibilität für Instances wird basierend auf dem Normalisierungsfaktor innerhalb der Instance-Familie von der kleinsten bis hin zur größten Instance-Größe angewendet.

Die folgende Tabelle zeigt die unterschiedlichen Größen in einer Instance-Familie und den entsprechenden Normalisierungsfaktor pro Stunde. Diese Maßeinheit wird zur Anwendung des Rabatts für Reserved Instances auf die normalisierte Nutzung des Instance-Familie genutzt.

Instance-Größe Normalisierungsfaktor
nano 0,25
micro 0,5
small 1
medium 2
large 4
xlarge 8
2xlarge 16
3xlarge 24
4xlarge 32
6xlarge 48
8xlarge 64
9xlarge 72
10xlarge 80
12xlarge 96
16xlarge 128
18xlarge 144
24xlarge 192
32xlarge 256

Eine t2.medium-Instance hat beispielsweise einen Normalisierungsfaktor von 2. Wenn Sie eine t2.medium Standard-Tenancy Amazon Linux/Unix Reserved Instance in USA Ost (Nord-Virginia) erwerben, und in der Region über zwei aktive t2.small Instances in Ihrem Konto verfügen, wird der Rabatt voll auf beide Instances angewendet.


					Anwendung einer regionalen Reserved Instance

Wenn Sie über eine t2.large-Instance in USA Ost (Nord-Virginia) in Ihrem Konto verfügen, wird der Rabatt zu 50 % auf die Nutzung der Instance angewendet.


					Anwendung einer regionalen Reserved Instance

Der Normalisierungsfaktor wird auch angewendet, wenn Sie Reserved Instances ändern. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter Ändern von Reserved Instances.

Normalisierungsfaktor für Bare Metal-Instances

Flexibilität bezüglich der Instance-Größe gilt auch für Bare Metal-Instances in der Instance-Familie. Bei regionalen Amazon Linux/Unix-Reserved Instances mit geteilter Tenancy für Bare Metal-Instances können Sie von den Reserved Instance-Einsparungen in derselben Instance-Familie profitieren. Dies gilt auch umgekehrt. Bei regionalen Amazon Linux/Unix-Reserved Instances mit geteilter Tenancy für Instances in derselben Familie wie eine Bare Metal-Instance können Sie von den Reserved Instance-Einsparungen für die Bare Metal-Instance profitieren.

Die metal-Instance-Größe besitzt keinen einzigen Normalisierungsfaktor. Eine Bare Metal-Instance hat den gleichen Normalisierungsfaktor wie die entsprechende virtualisierte Instance-Größe innerhalb derselben Instance-Familie. Beispielsweise hat eine i3.metal-Instance den gleichen Normalisierungsfaktor wie eine i3.16xlarge-Instance.

Instance-Größe Normalisierungsfaktor
a1.metal 32
m5zn.metal | z1d.metal 96
c6g.metal | c6gd.metal | g4dn.metal | i3.metal | m6g.metal | m6gd.metal | r6g.metal | r6gd.metal | 128
c5n.metal 144
c5.metal | c5d.metal | i3en.metal | m5.metal | m5d.metal | m5dn.metal | m5n.metal | r5.metal | r5b.metal | r5d.metal | r5dn.metal | r5n.metal 192

Beispiel: Eine i3.metal-Instance hat beispielsweise einen Normalisierungsfaktor von 128. Wenn Sie eine i3.metal-Reserved Instance der Amazon Linux/Unix-Plattform mit Standard-Tenancy in der Region USA Ost (Nord-Virginia) erwerben, kann der Rabatt wie folgt angewendet werden:

  • Wenn Sie in Ihrem Konto in dieser Region über eine aktive i3.16xlarge-Instance verfügen, wird der Rabatt voll auf die i3.16xlarge-Instance (i3.16xlarge-Normalisierungsfaktor = 128) angewendet.

  • Oder wenn Sie in Ihrem Konto in dieser Region über zwei aktive i3.8xlarge-Instances verfügen, wird der Rabatt voll auf beide i3.8xlarge-Instances (i3.8xlarge-Normalisierungsfaktor = 64) angewendet.

  • Oder wenn Sie in Ihrem Konto in dieser Region über vier aktive i3.4xlarge-Instances verfügen, wird der Rabatt voll auf alle vier i3.4xlarge-Instances (i3.4xlarge-Normalisierungsfaktor = 32) angewendet.

Dies gilt auch umgekehrt. Wenn Sie z. B. zwei i3.8xlarge-Reserved Instances auf der Amazon Linux/Unix-Plattform mit Standard-Tenancy in der Region USA Ost (Nord-Virginia) erwerben und bereits über eine aktive i3.metal-Instance in dieser Region verfügen, wird der Rabatt voll auf die i3.metal-Instance angewendet.

Beispiele zur Anwendung von Reserved Instances

Die folgenden Szenarien decken die Anwendungsmöglichkeiten von Reserved Instances ab.

Beispiel Szenario 1: Reserved Instances in einem einzigen Konto

Sie führen die folgenden On-Demand-Instances in Konto A aus:

  • 4 x m3.large Linux, Standard-Tenancy-Instances in Availability Zone us-east-1a

  • 2 x m4.xlarge Amazon Linux, Standard-Tenancy-Instances in Availability Zone us-east-1b

  • 1 x c4.xlarge Amazon Linux, Standard-Tenancy-Instances in Availability Zone us-east-1c

Sie erwerben die folgenden Reserved Instances in Konto A:

  • 4 x m3.large Linux, Standard-Tenancy Reserved Instances in Availability Zone us-east-1a (Kapazität ist reserviert)

  • 1 x m4.large Amazon Linux, Standard-Tenancy Reserved Instances in der Region us-east-1

  • 1 x c4.large Amazon Linux, Standard-Tenancy Reserved Instances in der Region us-east-1

Die Reserved Instance-Rabatte werden folgendermaßen angewendet:

  • Da die Attribute (Instance-Größe, Region, Plattform, Tenancy) übereinstimmen, werden der Rabatt und die Kapazitätsreservierung der vier m3.large Zonen-Reserved Instances für die vier m3.large Instances genutzt.

  • Die regionalen m4.large Reserved Instances bieten eine Flexibilität für die Availability Zone und die Instance-Größe. Sie sind regionale Amazon Linux Reserved Instances mit Standard-Tenancy.

    Eine m4.large entspricht 4 normalisierten Einheiten/Stunde.

    Sie haben vier regionale m4.large Reserved Instances erworben. Insgesamt entsprechen diese 16 normalisierten Einheiten/Stunde (4x4). Konto A verfügt über zwei aktive m4.xlarge Instances. Dies entspricht 16 normalisierten Einheiten/Stunde (2x8). In diesem Fall sorgen die vier regionalen m4.large Reserved Instances für einen Rabatt für eine komplette Nutzungsstunde der zwei m4.xlarge Instances.

  • Die regionale c4.large Reserved Instance in us-east-1 bietet eine Flexibilität für die Availability Zone und die Instance-Größe, denn sie ist eine regionale Amazon Linux Reserved Instance mit Standard-Tenancy und wird auf die c4.xlarge Instance angewendet. Eine c4.large Instance entspricht 4 normalisierten Einheiten/Stunde und eine c4.xlarge entspricht 8 normalisierten Einheiten/Stunde.

    In diesem Fall wird die regionale c4.large Reserved Instance teilweise auf die c4.xlarge-Nutzung angewendet. Dies liegt daran, dass die c4.large Reserved Instance der Nutzung von 4 normalisierten Einheiten/Stunde entspricht, die c4.xlarge Instance jedoch 8 normalisierte Einheiten/Stunde erfordert. Aus diesem Grund wird der Rabatt durch die c4.large Reserved Instance nur zu 50 % auf die c4.xlarge-Nutzung angewendet. Die verbleibende c4.xlarge-Nutzung wird über den On-Demand-Tarif abgerechnet.

Beispiel Szenario 2: Regionale Reserved Instances in verknüpften Konten

Reserved Instances werden zuerst auf die Nutzung im erwerbenden Konto angewendet. Danach folgt die qualifizierte Nutzung in anderen Konten der Organisation. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter Reserved Instances- und konsolidierte Fakturierung. Bei regionalen Reserved Instances, die Größenflexibilität für Instances anbieten, wird der Vorteil innerhalb der Instance-Familie von der kleinsten bis hin zur größten Instance-Größe angewendet.

Sie führen die folgenden On-Demand-Instances in Konto A (das erwerbende Konto) aus:

  • 2 x m4.xlarge Linux, Standard-Tenancy-Instances in Availability Zone us-east-1a

  • 1 x m4.2xlarge Linux, Standard-Tenancy-Instances in Availability Zone us-east-1b

  • 2 x c4.xlarge Linux, Standard-Tenancy-Instances in Availability Zone us-east-1a

  • 1 x c4.2xlarge Linux, Standard-Tenancy-Instances in Availability Zone us-east-1b

Ein weiterer Kunde führt die folgenden On-Demand-Instances in Konto B— (ein verknüpftes Konto) aus:

  • 2 x m4.xlarge Linux, Standard-Tenancy-Instances in Availability Zone us-east-1a

Sie erwerben die folgenden regionalen Reserved Instances in Konto A:

  • 4 x m4.xlarge Linux, Standard-Tenancy Reserved Instances in der Region us-east-1

  • 2 x c4.xlarge Linux, Standard-Tenancy Reserved Instances in der Region us-east-1

Die regionalen Reserved Instance-Rabatte werden folgendermaßen angewendet:

  • Der Rabatt der vier m4.xlarge-Reserved Instances wird von den beiden m4.xlarge-Instances und der einzelnen m4.2xlarge-Instance in Konto A (dem erwerbenden Konto) genutzt. Alle drei Instance entsprechen den Attributen (Instance-Familie, Region, Plattform, Tenancy). Der Rabatt wird zuerst auf die Instances im erwerbenden Konto (Konto A) angewendet, obwohl Konto B (verknüpftes Konto) über zwei m4.xlarge verfügt, dem den Reserved Instances ebenfalls entsprechen. Es wird keine Kapazitätsreservierung geboten, da es sich bei den Reserved Instances um regionale Reserved Instances handelt.

  • Der Rabatt auf die zwei c4.xlarge Reserved Instances wird auf die zwei c4.xlarge Instances angewendet, da ihre Instance-Größe kleiner als die der c4.2xlarge Instance ist. Es wird keine Kapazitätsreservierung geboten, da es sich bei den Reserved Instances um regionale Reserved Instances handelt.

Beispiel Szenario 3: Zonenbasierte Reserved Instances in einem verknüpften Konto

Reserved Instances im Besitz eines Kontos werden grundsätzlich erst auf die Nutzung in diesem Konto angewendet. Wenn es qualifizierende und nicht genutzte Reserved Instances für eine bestimmte Availability Zone (zonenbasierte Reserved Instances) in anderen Konten in der Organisation gibt, werden diese vor den regionalen Reserved Instances im Besitz des Kontos auf das Konto angewendet. Dies geschieht, um eine maximale Nutzung der Reserved Instances und somit eine geringere Rechnung zu gewährleisten. Zu Fakturierungszwecken werden alle Konten in der Organisation wie ein einziges Konto behandelt. Das folgende Beispiel veranschaulicht dies.

Sie führen die folgenden On-Demand-Instance in Konto A (das erwerbende Konto) aus:

  • 1 x m4.xlarge Linux, Standard-Tenancy-Instance in Availability Zone us-east-1a

Ein Kunde führt die folgende On-Demand-Instance im verknüpften Konto B aus:

  • 1 x m4.xlarge Linux, Standard-Tenancy-Instance in Availability Zone us-east-1b

Sie erwerben die folgenden regionalen Reserved Instances in Konto A:

  • 1 x m4.xlarge Linux, Standard-Tenancy Reserved Instance in der Region us-east-1

Ein Kunde erwirbt die folgenden zonenbezogenen Reserved Instances im verknüpften Konto C:

  • 1 x m4.xlarge Linux, Standard-Tenancy-Reserved Instances in Availability Zone us-east-1a

Die Reserved Instance-Rabatte werden folgendermaßen angewendet:

  • Der Rabatt der zonenbezogenen m4.xlarge Reserved Instances im Besitz von Konto C wird auf die m4.xlarge-Nutzung in Konto A angewendet.

  • Der Rabatt der regionalen m4.xlarge Reserved Instances im Besitz von Konto A wird auf die m4.xlarge-Nutzung in Konto B angewendet.

  • Wenn die regionale Reserved Instance im Besitz von Konto A zuerst auf die Nutzung in Konto A angewendet wurde, bleibt die zonenbezogene Reserved Instance im Besitz von Konto C ungenutzt und die Nutzung in Konto B wird zum On-Demand-Tarif abgerechnet.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter der Reserved Instances im Billing and Cost Management Report.

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud
User Guide for Linux Instances

How Reserved Instances Are Applied

If you purchase a Reserved Instance and you already have a running instance that matches the specifications of the Reserved Instance, the billing benefit is immediately applied. You do not have to restart your instances. If you do not have an eligible running instance, launch an instance and ensure that you match the same criteria that you specified for your Reserved Instance. For more information, see Using Your Reserved Instances.

Reserved Instances apply to usage in the same manner, irrespective of the offering type (Standard or Convertible), and are automatically applied to running On-Demand Instances with matching attributes.

How Zonal Reserved Instances Are Applied

Reserved Instances assigned to a specific Availability Zone provide the Reserved Instance discount to matching instance usage in that Availability Zone. For example, if you purchase two c4.xlarge default tenancy Linux/Unix Standard Reserved Instances in Availability Zone us-east-1a, then up to two c4.xlarge default tenancy Linux/Unix instances running in the Availability Zone us-east-1a can benefit from the Reserved Instance discount. The attributes (tenancy, platform, Availability Zone, instance type, and instance size) of the running instances must match that of the Reserved Instances.

How Regional Reserved Instances Are Applied

Regional Reserved Instances are purchased for a Region and provide Availability Zone flexibility. The Reserved Instance discount applies to instance usage in any Availability Zone in that Region.

Regional Reserved Instances also provide instance size flexibility where the Reserved Instance discount applies to instance usage within the instance family, regardless of size.

Limitations for instance size flexibility

Instance size flexibility does not apply to the following Reserved Instances:

  • Reserved Instances that are purchased for a specific Availability Zone (zonal Reserved Instances)

  • Reserved Instances with dedicated tenancy

  • Reserved Instances for Windows Server, Windows Server with SQL Standard, Windows Server with SQL Server Enterprise, Windows Server with SQL Server Web, RHEL, and SLES

  • Reserved Instances for G4 instances

Instance Size Flexibility Determined by Normalization Factor

Instance size flexibility is determined by the normalization factor of the instance size. The discount applies either fully or partially to running instances of the same instance family, depending on the instance size of the reservation, in any Availability Zone in the Region. The only attributes that must be matched are the instance family, tenancy, and platform.

Instance size flexibility is applied from the smallest to the largest instance size within the instance family based on the normalization factor.

The following table lists the different sizes within an instance family, and the corresponding normalization factor per hour. This scale is used to apply the discounted rate of Reserved Instances to the normalized usage of the instance family.

Instance size Normalization factor

nano

0.25

micro

0.5

small

1

medium

2

large

4

xlarge

8

2xlarge

16

3xlarge

24

4xlarge

32

6xlarge

48

8xlarge

64

9xlarge

72

10xlarge

80

12xlarge

96

16xlarge

128

18xlarge

144

24xlarge

192

32xlarge

256

For example, a t2.medium instance has a normalization factor of 2. If you purchase a t2.medium default tenancy Amazon Linux/Unix Reserved Instance in the US East (N. Virginia) and you have two running t2.small instances in your account in that Region, the billing benefit is applied in full to both instances.


					Applying a Regional Reserved Instance

Or, if you have one t2.large instance running in your account in the US East (N. Virginia) Region, the billing benefit is applied to 50% of the usage of the instance.


					Applying a Regional Reserved Instance

The normalization factor is also applied when modifying Reserved Instances. For more information, see Modifying Reserved Instances.

Normalization Factor for Bare Metal Instances

Instance size flexibility also applies to bare metal instances within the instance family. If you have regional Amazon Linux/Unix Reserved Instances with shared tenancy on bare metal instances, you can benefit from the Reserved Instance savings within the same instance family. The opposite is also true: if you have regional Amazon Linux/Unix Reserved Instances with shared tenancy on instances in the same family as a bare metal instance, you can benefit from the Reserved Instance savings on the bare metal instance.

A bare metal instance is the same size as the largest instance within the same instance family. For example, an i3.metal is the same size as an i3.16xlarge, so they have the same normalization factor.

Note

The .metal instance sizes do not have a single normalization factor. They vary based on the specific instance family.

Bare metal instance size Normalization factor

c5.metal

192

i3.metal

128

r5.metal

192

r5d.metal

192

z1d.metal

96

m5.metal

192

m5d.metal

192

For example, an i3.metal instance has a normalization factor of 128. If you purchase an i3.metal default tenancy Amazon Linux/Unix Reserved Instance in the US East (N. Virginia), the billing benefit can apply as follows:

  • If you have one running i3.16xlarge in your account in that Region, the billing benefit is applied in full to the i3.16xlarge instance (i3.16xlarge normalization factor = 128).

  • Or, if you have two running i3.8xlarge instances in your account in that Region, the billing benefit is applied in full to both i3.8xlarge instances (i3.8xlarge normalization factor = 64).

  • Or, if you have four running i3.4xlarge instances in your account in that Region, the billing benefit is applied in full to all four i3.4xlarge instances (i3.4xlarge normalization factor = 32).

The opposite is also true. For example, if you purchase two i3.8xlarge default tenancy Amazon Linux/Unix Reserved Instances in the US East (N. Virginia), and you have one running i3.metal instance in that Region, the billing benefit is applied in full to the i3.metal instance.

Examples of Applying Reserved Instances

The following scenarios cover the ways in which Reserved Instances are applied.

Example Scenario 1: Reserved Instances in a Single Account

You are running the following On-Demand Instances in account A:

  • 4 x m3.large Linux, default tenancy instances in Availability Zone us-east-1a

  • 2 x m4.xlarge Amazon Linux, default tenancy instances in Availability Zone us-east-1b

  • 1 x c4.xlarge Amazon Linux, default tenancy instances in Availability Zone us-east-1c

You purchase the following Reserved Instances in account A:

  • 4 x m3.large Linux, default tenancy Reserved Instances in Availability Zone us-east-1a (capacity is reserved)

  • 4 x m4.large Amazon Linux, default tenancy Reserved Instances in Region us-east-1

  • 1 x c4.large Amazon Linux, default tenancy Reserved Instances in Region us-east-1

The Reserved Instance benefits are applied in the following way:

  • The discount and capacity reservation of the four m3.large zonal Reserved Instances is used by the four m3.large instances because the attributes (instance size, Region, platform, tenancy) between them match.

  • The m4.large regional Reserved Instances provide Availability Zone and instance size flexibility, because they are regional Amazon Linux Reserved Instances with default tenancy.

    An m4.large is equivalent to 4 normalized units/hour.

    You've purchased four m4.large regional Reserved Instances, and in total, they are equal to 16 normalized units/hour (4x4). Account A has two m4.xlarge instances running, which is equivalent to 16 normalized units/hour (2x8). In this case, the four m4.large regional Reserved Instances provide the billing benefit to an entire hour of usage of the two m4.xlarge instances.

  • The c4.large regional Reserved Instance in us-east-1 provides Availability Zone and instance size flexibility, because it is a regional Amazon Linux Reserved Instance with default tenancy, and applies to the c4.xlarge instance. A c4.large instance is equivalent to 4 normalized units/hour and a c4.xlarge is equivalent to 8 normalized units/hour.

    In this case, the c4.large regional Reserved Instance provides partial benefit to c4.xlarge usage. This is because the c4.large Reserved Instance is equivalent to 4 normalized units/hour of usage, but the c4.xlarge instance requires 8 normalized units/hour. Therefore, the c4.large Reserved Instance billing discount applies to 50% of c4.xlarge usage. The remaining c4.xlarge usage is charged at the On-Demand rate.

Example Scenario 2: Regional Reserved Instances in Linked Accounts

Reserved Instances are first applied to usage within the purchasing account, followed by qualifying usage in any other account in the organization. For more information, see Reserved Instances and Consolidated Billing. For regional Reserved Instances that offer instance size flexibility, the benefit is applied from the smallest to the largest instance size within the instance family.

You're running the following On-Demand Instances in account A (the purchasing account):

  • 2 x m4.xlarge Linux, default tenancy instances in Availability Zone us-east-1a

  • 1 x m4.2xlarge Linux, default tenancy instances in Availability Zone us-east-1b

  • 2 x c4.xlarge Linux, default tenancy instances in Availability Zone us-east-1a

  • 1 x c4.2xlarge Linux, default tenancy instances in Availability Zone us-east-1b

Another customer is running the following On-Demand Instances in account B—a linked account:

  • 2 x m4.xlarge Linux, default tenancy instances in Availability Zone us-east-1a

You purchase the following regional Reserved Instances in account A:

  • 4 x m4.xlarge Linux, default tenancy Reserved Instances in Region us-east-1

  • 2 x c4.xlarge Linux, default tenancy Reserved Instances in Region us-east-1

The regional Reserved Instance benefits are applied in the following way:

  • The discount of the four m4.xlarge Reserved Instances is used by the two m4.xlarge instances and the single m4.2xlarge instance in account A (purchasing account). All three instances match the attributes (instance family, Region, platform, tenancy). The discount is applied to instances in the purchasing account (account A) first, even though account B (linked account) has two m4.xlarge that also match the Reserved Instances. There is no capacity reservation because the Reserved Instances are regional Reserved Instances.

  • The discount of the two c4.xlarge Reserved Instances applies to the two c4.xlarge instances, because they are a smaller instance size than the c4.2xlarge instance. There is no capacity reservation because the Reserved Instances are regional Reserved Instances.

Example Scenario 3: Zonal Reserved Instances in a Linked Account

In general, Reserved Instances that are owned by an account are applied first to usage in that account. However, if there are qualifying, unused Reserved Instances for a specific Availability Zone (zonal Reserved Instances) in other accounts in the organization, they are applied to the account before regional Reserved Instances owned by the account. This is done to ensure maximum Reserved Instance utilization and a lower bill. For billing purposes, all the accounts in the organization are treated as one account. The following example may help explain this.

You're running the following On-Demand Instance in account A (the purchasing account):

  • 1 x m4.xlarge Linux, default tenancy instance in Availability Zone us-east-1a

A customer is running the following On-Demand Instance in linked account B:

  • 1 x m4.xlarge Linux, default tenancy instance in Availability Zone us-east-1b

You purchase the following regional Reserved Instances in account A:

  • 1 x m4.xlarge Linux, default tenancy Reserved Instance in Region us-east-1

A customer also purchases the following zonal Reserved Instances in linked account C:

  • 1 x m4.xlarge Linux, default tenancy Reserved Instances in Availability Zone us-east-1a

The Reserved Instance benefits are applied in the following way:

  • The discount of the m4.xlarge zonal Reserved Instance owned by account C is applied to the m4.xlarge usage in account A.

  • The discount of the m4.xlarge regional Reserved Instance owned by account A is applied to the m4.xlarge usage in account B.

  • If the regional Reserved Instance owned by account A was first applied to the usage in account A, the zonal Reserved Instance owned by account C remains unused and usage in account B is charged at On-Demand rates.

For more information, see Reserved Instances in the Billing and Cost Management Report.