Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud
用户指南(适用于 Linux 实例)

实例的计划事件

AWS 可为您的实例计划事件,例如重启、停止/启动或停用。这些事件不会频繁发生。如果您的一个实例将受某计划事件影响,则 AWS 将在该计划事件发生之前向与您的 AWS 账户关联的电子邮件地址发送电子邮件。该电子邮件将提供有关该事件的详细信息,包括开始和结束日期。根据事件的不同,您也许能够采取操作来控制事件的发生时间。

要更新账户的联系人信息以确保获得有关计划事件的通知,请转至 Account Settings 页。

计划事件的类型

Amazon EC2 为您的实例支持下列类型的计划事件:

  • 实例停止:实例在计划的时间停止。再次启动实例时,实例会迁移至新主机。仅适用于 Amazon EBS 支持的实例。

  • 实例停用:在计划的时间,由 Amazon EBS 支持的实例将停止;由实例存储支持的实例将终止。

  • 实例重启:在计划的时间实例重启。

  • 系统重启:在计划的时间实例的主机重启。

  • 系统维护:在计划的时间,实例可能会因网络维护或电源维护受到暂时的影响。

查看计划的事件

除了通过电子邮件接收计划事件的通知外,您还可使用以下方法之一查看计划的事件。

使用控制台查看实例的计划事件

  1. 打开 Amazon EC2 控制台 https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/

  2. 在导航窗格中,选择 Events。将显示与事件关联的所有资源。您可按资源类型或按特定事件类型进行筛选。您可选择资源来查看详细信息。

    
                             使用“Events”页查看事件。
  3. 或者,在导航窗格中,选择 EC2 DashboardScheduled Events 下将显示与事件关联的所有资源。

    
                             使用控制面板查看事件。
  4. 还将显示受影响资源的一些事件。例如,在导航窗格中,选择 Instances (实例),然后选择一个实例。如果所选实例具有关联的实例停止或实例停用事件,则该事件将显示在底部窗格中。

    
                             在实例详细信息中查看事件。

使用 AWS CLI 查看实例的计划事件

  • 使用以下 describe-instance-status 命令:

    aws ec2 describe-instance-status --instance-id i-1234567890abcdef0 --query "InstanceStatuses[].Events"

    以下示例输出显示重启事件:

    [ "Events": [ { "InstanceEventId": "instance-event-0d59937288b749b32", "Code": "system-reboot", "Description": "The instance is scheduled for a reboot", "NotAfter": "2019-03-15T22:00:00.000Z", "NotBefore": "2019-03-14T20:00:00.000Z", "NotBeforeDeadline": "2019-04-05T11:00:00.000Z" } ] ]

    以下示例输出显示实例停用事件。

    [ "Events": [ { "InstanceEventId": "instance-event-0e439355b779n26", "Code": "instance-stop", "Description": "The instance is running on degraded hardware", "NotBefore": "2015-05-23T00:00:00.000Z" } ] ]

使用 适用于 Windows PowerShell 的 AWS 工具 查看实例的计划事件

  • 使用以下 Get-EC2InstanceStatus 命令。

    PS C:\> (Get-EC2InstanceStatus -InstanceId i-1234567890abcdef0).Events

    以下示例输出显示实例停用事件。

    Code : instance-stop Description : The instance is running on degraded hardware NotBefore : 5/23/2015 12:00:00 AM

使用实例元数据查看实例的计划事件

  • 您可以从实例元数据中检索有关实例的活动维护事件的信息,如下所示。

    [ec2-user ~]$ curl http://169.254.169.254/latest/meta-data/events/maintenance/scheduled

    以下是 JSON 格式的计划系统重启事件信息的示例输出。

    [ { "NotBefore" : "21 Jan 2019 09:00:43 GMT", "Code" : "system-reboot", "Description" : "scheduled reboot", "EventId" : "instance-event-0d59937288b749b32", "NotAfter" : "21 Jan 2019 09:17:23 GMT", "State" : "active" } ]

使用实例元数据查看有关实例的已完成或已取消事件的事件历史记录

  • 您可以从实例元数据中检索有关实例的已完成或已取消事件的信息,如下所示。

    [ec2-user ~]$ curl http://169.254.169.254/latest/meta-data/events/maintenance/history

    以下是 JSON 格式的已取消和已完成系统重启事件相关信息的示例输出。

    [ { "NotBefore" : "21 Jan 2019 09:00:43 GMT", "Code" : "system-reboot", "Description" : "[Canceled] scheduled reboot", "EventId" : "instance-event-0d59937288b749b32", "NotAfter" : "21 Jan 2019 09:17:23 GMT", "State" : "canceled" }, { "NotBefore" : "29 Jan 2019 09:00:43 GMT", "Code" : "system-reboot", "Description" : "[Completed] scheduled reboot", "EventId" : "instance-event-0d59937288b749b32", "NotAfter" : "29 Jan 2019 09:17:23 GMT", "State" : "completed" } ]

使用计划停止或停用的实例

当 AWS 检测到您的实例的基础主机存在无法修复的故障时,它将计划实例停止或终止,这取决于实例根设备的类型。如果根设备为 EBS 卷,则将计划实例停止。如果根设备为实例存储卷,则将计划实例终止。有关更多信息,请参阅 实例停用

重要

实例停止或终止之后,实例存储卷上存储的所有数据都将丢失。这包括附加到使用 EBS 卷作为根设备的实例的实例存储卷。在实例停止或终止之前,请务必保存实例存储卷中以后可能需要的数据。

Amazon EBS 支持的实例操作

您可等待实例按计划停止。您也可自行停止并启动实例,这会将实例迁移至新的主机。有关停止实例的更多信息,以及有关实例停止时的实例配置更改的信息,请参阅 停止和启动您的实例

您可以自动化立即停止并启动以响应计划的实例停止事件。有关更多信息,请参阅 AWS Health 用户指南 中的自动化 EC2 实例的操作

实例存储支持的实例操作

建议您在实例按计划终止之前,从最新的 AMI 启动替代实例并将所有必需数据迁移至替代实例。然后,您可终止原始实例,或等待其按计划终止。

使用计划为重启的实例

当 AWS 必须执行安装更新或维护基础主机等任务时,它可计划实例或基础主机进行重启。您可以重新计划大部分重启事件,以便您的实例在适合您的特定日期和时间重启。

查看重启事件类型

您可以使用 AWS 管理控制台、AWS CLI, 或 Amazon EC2 API 来查看某个重启事件是实例重启还是系统重启。

查看计划的重启事件的类型(控制台)

  1. 打开 Amazon EC2 控制台 https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/

  2. 在导航窗格中,选择 Events

  3. 从筛选器列表中选择 Instance resources (实例资源)

  4. 对于每个实例,查看 Event Type (事件类型) 列中的值。该值为 system-rebootinstance-reboot

查看计划的重启事件的类型 (AWS CLI)

  • 使用以下 describe-instance-status 命令:

    aws ec2 describe-instance-status --instance-id i-1234567890abcdef0

    对于计划的重启事件, Code 的值是 system-rebootinstance-reboot。以下示例输出显示 system-reboot 事件。

    [ "Events": [ { "InstanceEventId": "instance-event-0d59937288b749b32", "Code": "system-reboot", "Description": "The instance is scheduled for a reboot", "NotAfter": "2019-03-14T22:00:00.000Z", "NotBefore": "2019-03-14T20:00:00.000Z", "NotBeforeDeadline": "2019-04-05T11:00:00.000Z" } ] ]

针对实例重启的操作

您可以等待实例重启在计划的维护时段进行,或者重新计划实例重启在适合您的日期和时间进行,或者在您方便的时间自行重新启动实例。

在实例重启之后,将清除计划的事件并更新事件说明。底层主机上的所有挂起维护都会完成,并且在实例完全启动后,即可再次开始使用您的实例。

针对系统重启的操作

您无法自行重启系统。您可以等待系统重启在计划的维护时段进行,或者您可以 重新计划系统重启在适合您的日期和时间进行。系统重启通常在几分钟内完成。在系统重启之后,实例将保留其 IP 地址和 DNS 名称,并且本地实例存储卷上的任何数据将会得到保留。在系统重启完成之后,将清除实例的计划事件,并且您可验证实例上的软件是否按预期运行。

或者,如果有必要在其他时间维护实例,并且您无法重新计划系统重启,则您可以停止并启动 Amazon EBS 支持的实例,这会将它迁移到新主机。但是,本地实例存储卷上的数据将不会保留。您也可以自动化立即停止并启动实例以响应计划的系统重启事件。有关更多信息,请参阅 AWS Health 用户指南 中的自动化 EC2 实例的操作。对于由实例存储支持的实例,如果您无法重新计划系统重启,可在计划的维护时段之前从最新的 AMI 启动替代实例,并将所有必需数据迁移至替代实例,然后终止原始实例。

重新计划重启事件

您可以重新计划大部分重启事件,以便您的实例在适合您的特定日期和时间重启。

重新计划重启事件(控制台)

  1. 打开 Amazon EC2 控制台 https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/

  2. 在导航窗格中,选择 Events

  3. 从筛选器列表中选择 Instance resources (实例资源)

  4. 选择一个或多个实例,然后选择 Actions (操作)Schedule Event (计划事件)

    注意

    只有具有事件截止日期(由 Event Deadline (事件截止期限) 的值指示)的事件才可以重新计划。

  5. 对于 Event start time (事件开始时间),输入新的重启日期和时间。新的日期和时间必须早于 Event Deadline (事件截止期限)

  6. 选择 Schedule Event (计划事件)

    注意

    更新的事件开始时间可能需要 1-2 分钟才会反映在控制台中。

重新计划重启事件(AWS CLI)

  1. 只有具有事件截止日期(由 NotBeforeDeadline 的值指示)才可以重新计划。使用以下 describe-instance-status 命令查看 NotBeforeDeadline 参数值。

    aws ec2 describe-instance-status --instance-id i-1234567890abcdef0

    以下示例输出显示因 NotBeforeDeadline 包含值而可以重新计划的 system-reboot 事件。

    [ "Events": [ { "InstanceEventId": "instance-event-0d59937288b749b32", "Code": "system-reboot", "Description": "The instance is scheduled for a reboot", "NotAfter": "2019-03-14T22:00:00.000Z", "NotBefore": "2019-03-14T20:00:00.000Z", "NotBeforeDeadline": "2019-04-05T11:00:00.000Z" } ] ]
  2. 若要重新计划事件,应使用 modify-instance-event-start-time 命令。使用 not-before 参数指定新的事件开始时间。新的事件开始时间必须早于 NotBeforeDeadline

    aws ec2 modify-instance-event-start-time --instance-id i-1234567890abcdef0 --instance-event-id instance-event-0d59937288b749b32 --not-before 2019-03-25T10:00:00.000

    注意

    describe-instance-status 命令返回更新的 not-before 参数值之前可能需要 1-2 分钟。

对重启事件的限制

  • 只有具有事件截止日期的重启事件才可以重新计划。可以将事件重新计划到事件截止日期之前的日期。控制台中的 Event Deadline (事件截止期限) 列和 AWS CLI 中的 NotBeforeDeadline 字段指示了事件是否有截止日期。

  • 只有尚未开始的重启事件才可以重新计划。控制台中的 Start Time (开始时间) 列和 AWS CLI 中的 NotBefore 字段指示了事件的开始时间。还有 5 分钟便要按计划开始的重启事件无法重新计划。

  • 新的事件开始时间离当前时间必须至少有 60 分钟。

  • 如果您使用控制台重新计划多个事件,则事件截止日期由具有最早的事件截止日期的事件决定。

使用计划为维护的实例

当 AWS 必须维护实例的基础主机时,它将计划实例的维护。维护事件有两种:网络维护和电源维护。

在网络维护期间,计划的实例会在短时间内失去网络连接。在维护完成后,将恢复与实例的正常网络连接。

在电源维护期间,计划的实例将短时间脱机,然后重启。执行重启后,将保留您的所有实例的配置设置。

在实例重启后 (这通常需要几分钟),验证您的应用程序是否按预期运行。此时,您的实例应该不再具有与之关联的计划事件,或者计划事件的描述应该以 [Completed] 开头。实例状态说明的刷新有时需要长达 1 个小时。已完成的维护事件将在 Amazon EC2 控制台面板上显示长达一周时间。

Amazon EBS 支持的实例操作

您可等待维护按计划进行。您也可停止并启动实例,这会将实例迁移至新的主机。有关停止实例的更多信息,以及有关实例停止时的实例配置更改的信息,请参阅 停止和启动您的实例

您可以自动化立即停止并启动以响应计划维护事件。有关更多信息,请参阅 AWS Health 用户指南 中的自动化 EC2 实例的操作

实例存储支持的实例操作

您可等待维护按计划进行。或者,如果您想在计划的维护时间段内保持正常操作,可在计划的维护时间段之前从最新的 AMI 启动替代实例,并将所有必需数据迁移至替代实例,然后终止原始实例。

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud
User Guide for Linux Instances

Scheduled Events for Your Instances

AWS can schedule events for your instances, such as a reboot, stop/start, or retirement. These events do not occur frequently. If one of your instances will be affected by a scheduled event, AWS sends an email to the email address that's associated with your AWS account prior to the scheduled event. The email provides details about the event, including the start and end date. Depending on the event, you might be able to take action to control the timing of the event.

To update the contact information for your account so that you can be sure to be notified about scheduled events, go to the Account Settings page.

Types of Scheduled Events

Amazon EC2 supports the following types of scheduled events for your instances:

  • Instance stop: The instance will be stopped. When you start it again, it's migrated to a new host. Applies only to instances backed by Amazon EBS.

  • Instance retirement: The instance will be stopped if it is backed by Amazon EBS, or terminated if it is backed by instance store.

  • Instance reboot: The instance will be rebooted.

  • System reboot: The host for the instance will be rebooted.

  • System maintenance: The instance might be temporarily affected by network maintenance or power maintenance.

Viewing Scheduled Events

In addition to receiving notification of scheduled events in email, you can check for scheduled events using one of the following methods.

To view scheduled events for your instances using the console

  1. Open the Amazon EC2 console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Events. Any resources with an associated event are displayed. You can filter by resource type, or by specific event types. You can select the resource to view details.

    
                            Viewing events using the Events page.
  3. Alternatively, in the navigation pane, choose EC2 Dashboard. Any resources with an associated event are displayed under Scheduled Events.

    
                            Viewing events using the dashboard.
  4. Some events are also shown for affected resources. For example, in the navigation pane, choose Instances and select an instance. If the instance has an associated instance stop or instance retirement event, it is displayed in the lower pane.

    
                            Viewing events in the instance details.

To view scheduled events for your instances using the AWS CLI

  • Use the following describe-instance-status command:

    aws ec2 describe-instance-status --instance-id i-1234567890abcdef0 --query "InstanceStatuses[].Events"

    The following example output shows a reboot event:

    [ "Events": [ { "InstanceEventId": "instance-event-0d59937288b749b32", "Code": "system-reboot", "Description": "The instance is scheduled for a reboot", "NotAfter": "2019-03-15T22:00:00.000Z", "NotBefore": "2019-03-14T20:00:00.000Z", "NotBeforeDeadline": "2019-04-05T11:00:00.000Z" } ] ]

    The following example output shows an instance retirement event:

    [ "Events": [ { "InstanceEventId": "instance-event-0e439355b779n26", "Code": "instance-stop", "Description": "The instance is running on degraded hardware", "NotBefore": "2015-05-23T00:00:00.000Z" } ] ]

To view scheduled events for your instances using the AWS Tools for Windows PowerShell

  • Use the following Get-EC2InstanceStatus command:

    PS C:\> (Get-EC2InstanceStatus -InstanceId i-1234567890abcdef0).Events

    The following example output shows an instance retirement event:

    Code : instance-stop Description : The instance is running on degraded hardware NotBefore : 5/23/2015 12:00:00 AM

To view scheduled events for your instances using instance metadata

  • You can retrieve information about active maintenance events for your instances from the instance metadata as follows:

    [ec2-user ~]$ curl http://169.254.169.254/latest/meta-data/events/maintenance/scheduled

    The following is example output with information about a scheduled system reboot event, in JSON format.

    [ { "NotBefore" : "21 Jan 2019 09:00:43 GMT", "Code" : "system-reboot", "Description" : "scheduled reboot", "EventId" : "instance-event-0d59937288b749b32", "NotAfter" : "21 Jan 2019 09:17:23 GMT", "State" : "active" } ]

To view event history about completed or canceled events for your instances using instance metadata

  • You can retrieve information about completed or canceled events for your instances from the instance metadata as follows:

    [ec2-user ~]$ curl http://169.254.169.254/latest/meta-data/events/maintenance/history

    The following is example output with information about a system reboot event that was canceled and a system reboot event that was completed, in JSON format.

    [ { "NotBefore" : "21 Jan 2019 09:00:43 GMT", "Code" : "system-reboot", "Description" : "[Canceled] scheduled reboot", "EventId" : "instance-event-0d59937288b749b32", "NotAfter" : "21 Jan 2019 09:17:23 GMT", "State" : "canceled" }, { "NotBefore" : "29 Jan 2019 09:00:43 GMT", "Code" : "system-reboot", "Description" : "[Completed] scheduled reboot", "EventId" : "instance-event-0d59937288b749b32", "NotAfter" : "29 Jan 2019 09:17:23 GMT", "State" : "completed" } ]

Working with Instances Scheduled to Stop or Retire

When AWS detects irreparable failure of the underlying host for your instance, it schedules the instance to stop or terminate, depending on the type of root device for the instance. If the root device is an EBS volume, the instance is scheduled to stop. If the root device is an instance store volume, the instance is scheduled to terminate. For more information, see Instance Retirement.

Important

Any data stored on instance store volumes is lost when an instance is stopped or terminated. This includes instance store volumes that are attached to an instance that has an EBS volume as the root device. Be sure to save data from your instance store volumes that you will need later before the instance is stopped or terminated.

Actions for Instances Backed by Amazon EBS

You can wait for the instance to stop as scheduled. Alternatively, you can stop and start the instance yourself, which migrates it to a new host. For more information about stopping your instance, in addition to information about the changes to your instance configuration when it's stopped, see Stop and Start Your Instance.

You can automate an immediate stop and start in response to a scheduled instance stop event. For more information, see Automating Actions for EC2 Instances in the AWS Health User Guide.

Actions for Instances Backed by Instance Store

We recommend that you launch a replacement instance from your most recent AMI and migrate all necessary data to the replacement instance before the instance is scheduled to terminate. Then, you can terminate the original instance, or wait for it to terminate as scheduled.

Working with Instances Scheduled for Reboot

When AWS must perform tasks such as installing updates or maintaining the underlying host, it can schedule the instance or the underlying host for a reboot. You can reschedule most reboot events so that your instance is rebooted at a specific date and time that suits you.

Viewing Reboot Event Type

You can view whether a reboot event is an instance reboot or a system reboot using the AWS Management Console, AWS CLI, or Amazon EC2 API.

To view the type of scheduled reboot event (console)

  1. Open the Amazon EC2 console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Events.

  3. Choose Instance resources from the filter list.

  4. For each instance, view the value in the Event Type column. The value is either system-reboot or instance-reboot.

To view the type of scheduled reboot event (AWS CLI)

  • Use the following describe-instance-status command:

    aws ec2 describe-instance-status --instance-id i-1234567890abcdef0

    For scheduled reboot events, the value for Code is either system-reboot or instance-reboot. The following example output shows a system-reboot event:

    [ "Events": [ { "InstanceEventId": "instance-event-0d59937288b749b32", "Code": "system-reboot", "Description": "The instance is scheduled for a reboot", "NotAfter": "2019-03-14T22:00:00.000Z", "NotBefore": "2019-03-14T20:00:00.000Z", "NotBeforeDeadline": "2019-04-05T11:00:00.000Z" } ] ]

Actions for Instance Reboot

You can wait for the instance reboot to occur within its scheduled maintenance window, reschedule the instance reboot to a date and time that suits you, or reboot the instance yourself at a time that is convenient for you.

After your instance is rebooted, the scheduled event is cleared and the event's description is updated. The pending maintenance to the underlying host is completed, and you can begin using your instance again after it has fully booted.

Actions for System Reboot

It is not possible for you to reboot the system yourself. You can wait for the system reboot to occur during its scheduled maintenance window, or you can reschedule the system reboot to a date and time that suits you. A system reboot typically completes in a matter of minutes. After the system reboot has occurred, the instance retains its IP address and DNS name, and any data on local instance store volumes is preserved. After the system reboot is complete, the scheduled event for the instance is cleared, and you can verify that the software on your instance is operating as expected.

Alternatively, if it is necessary to maintain the instance at a different time and you can't reschedule the system reboot, then you can stop and start an Amazon EBS-backed instance, which migrates it to a new host. However, the data on the local instance store volumes is not preserved. You can also automate an immediate instance stop and start in response to a scheduled system reboot event. For more information, see Automating Actions for EC2 Instances in the AWS Health User Guide. For an instance store-backed instance, if you can't reschedule the system reboot, then you can launch a replacement instance from your most recent AMI, migrate all necessary data to the replacement instance before the scheduled maintenance window, and then terminate the original instance.

Rescheduling a Reboot Event

You can reschedule most reboot events so that your instance is rebooted at a specific date and time that suits you.

To reschedule a reboot event (console)

  1. Open the Amazon EC2 console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Events.

  3. Choose Instance resources from the filter list.

  4. Select one or more instances, and then choose Actions, Schedule Event.

    Note

    Only events that have an event deadline date, indicated by a value for Event Deadline, can be rescheduled.

  5. For Event start time, enter a new date and time for the reboot. The new date and time must fall before the Event Deadline.

  6. Choose Schedule Event.

    Note

    It might take 1-2 minutes for the updated event start time to reflect in the console.

To reschedule a reboot event (AWS CLI)

  1. Only events that have an event deadline date, indicated by a value for NotBeforeDeadline, can be rescheduled. Use the following describe-instance-status command to view the NotBeforeDeadline parameter value:

    aws ec2 describe-instance-status --instance-id i-1234567890abcdef0

    The following example output shows a system-reboot event that can be rescheduled because NotBeforeDeadline contains a value:

    [ "Events": [ { "InstanceEventId": "instance-event-0d59937288b749b32", "Code": "system-reboot", "Description": "The instance is scheduled for a reboot", "NotAfter": "2019-03-14T22:00:00.000Z", "NotBefore": "2019-03-14T20:00:00.000Z", "NotBeforeDeadline": "2019-04-05T11:00:00.000Z" } ] ]
  2. To reschedule the event, use the modify-instance-event-start-time command. Specify the new event start time using the not-before parameter. The new event start time must fall before the NotBeforeDeadline.

    aws ec2 modify-instance-event-start-time --instance-id i-1234567890abcdef0 --instance-event-id instance-event-0d59937288b749b32 --not-before 2019-03-25T10:00:00.000

    Note

    It might take 1-2 minutes before the describe-instance-status command returns the updated not-before parameter value.

Limitations for Reboot Events

  • Only reboot events with an event deadline date can be rescheduled. The event can be rescheduled up to the event deadline date. The Event Deadline column in the console and the NotBeforeDeadline field in the AWS CLI indicate if the event has a deadline date.

  • Only reboot events that have not yet started can be rescheduled. The Start Time column in the console and the NotBefore field in the AWS CLI indicate the event start time. Reboot events that are scheduled to start in the next 5 minutes cannot be rescheduled.

  • The new event start time must be at least 60 minutes from the current time.

  • If you reschedule multiple events using the console, the event deadline date is determined by the event with earliest event deadline date.

Working with Instances Scheduled for Maintenance

When AWS must maintain the underlying host for an instance, it schedules the instance for maintenance. There are two types of maintenance events: network maintenance and power maintenance.

During network maintenance, scheduled instances lose network connectivity for a brief period of time. Normal network connectivity to your instance will be restored after maintenance is complete.

During power maintenance, scheduled instances are taken offline for a brief period, and then rebooted. When a reboot is performed, all of your instance's configuration settings are retained.

After your instance has rebooted (this normally takes a few minutes), verify that your application is working as expected. At this point, your instance should no longer have a scheduled event associated with it, or the description of the scheduled event begins with [Completed]. It sometimes takes up to 1 hour for the instance status description to refresh. Completed maintenance events are displayed on the Amazon EC2 console dashboard for up to a week.

Actions for Instances Backed by Amazon EBS

You can wait for the maintenance to occur as scheduled. Alternatively, you can stop and start the instance, which migrates it to a new host. For more information about stopping your instance, in addition to information about the changes to your instance configuration when it's stopped, see Stop and Start Your Instance.

You can automate an immediate stop and start in response to a scheduled maintenance event. For more information, see Automating Actions for EC2 Instances in the AWS Health User Guide.

Actions for Instances Backed by Instance Store

You can wait for the maintenance to occur as scheduled. Alternatively, if you want to maintain normal operation during a scheduled maintenance window, you can launch a replacement instance from your most recent AMI, migrate all necessary data to the replacement instance before the scheduled maintenance window, and then terminate the original instance.