Linux 实例的防撕裂写入法 - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud

Linux 实例的防撕裂写入法

注意

只有 Linux 实例支持防撕裂写入法。

撕裂写防护是由 AWS 设计的块存储功能,可提高 I/O 密集型关系数据库工作负载的性能并减少延迟,而不会对数据弹性产生负面影响。使用 InnoDB 或 XtraDB 作为数据库引擎的关系数据库,例如 MySQL 和 MariaDB,将受益于撕裂写防护这一功能。

通常,使用大于存储设备断电原子性的页面的关系数据库使用数据记录机制来防止撕裂写。MariaDB 和 MySQL 在将数据写入数据表之前使用双写缓冲区文件来记录数据。如果写入事务期间由于操作系统崩溃或断电导致写入不完整或撕裂,数据库可以从双写缓冲区恢复数据。与写入双写缓冲区相关的 I/O 额外开销会影响数据库性能和应用程序延迟,并减少每秒可处理的事务数量。有关双写缓冲区的更多信息,请参阅 MariaDBMySQL 文档。

借助撕裂写防护功能,可以在全有或全无的写入事务中将数据写入存储,这样就无需使用双写缓冲区。这样可以防止在写入事务期间因操作系统崩溃或断电将部分或撕裂的数据写入存储。在不影响工作负载弹性的情况下,每秒处理的事务数量最多可增加 30%,写入延迟最多可减少 50%。

定价

使用撕裂写防护功能不会产生额外费用。

支持的块大小和块边界对齐

撕裂写防护支持 4 KiB、8 KiB 和 16 KiB 数据块的写入操作。数据块起始逻辑块地址(LBA)必须与 4 KiB、8 KiB 或 16 KiB 的相应块的边界大小对齐。例如,对于 16 KiB 写入操作,数据块起始 LBA 必须与 16 KiB 的块边界大小对齐。

下表显示了跨存储和实例类型的支持。

  4 KiB 块 8 KiB 块 16 KiB 块
实例存储卷 所有 NVMe 实例存储卷都附加到当前 I 代新系列实例。 AWS Nitro SSD 支持 I4i、Im4GN 和 Is4Gen 实例。
Amazon EBS 卷 所有 Amazon EBS 卷都附加到基于 AWS Nitro System 构建的实例

要确认您的实例和卷是否支持撕裂写防护,请查询以检查该实例是否支持撕裂写防护以及其他详细信息,例如支持的块和边界大小。有关更多信息,请参阅 检查撕裂写防护支持和配置

要求

要使撕裂防护功能正常运行,I/O 操作必须符合 NTWPUNTWGUNTWBU 字段中指定的大小、对齐方式和边界要求。在提交到设备之前,必须配置操作系统,确保特定的存储子系统(文件系统、LVM、RAID 等)不会修改存储堆栈中的 I/O 属性,包括块合并、拆分或块地址重新定位。

已使用以下配置测试了撕裂写防护功能:

  • 支持所需块大小的实例类型和存储类型。

  • Amazon Linux 2 或更高版本(内核版本为 5.10)。

  • 已启用 bigalloc 的 ext4,集群大小为 16 KiB,还有最新的 ext4 实用程序(e2fsprogs 1.46.5 或更高版本)。

  • O_DIRECT 文件访问模式可绕过 Linux 内核缓冲区缓存。

注意

您无需禁用 MySQL 和 MariaDB 工作负载的 I/O 合并。

检查撕裂写防护支持和配置

要确认您的实例和卷是否支持撕裂写防护,并查看包含撕裂写防护信息的 NVMe 命名空间供应商的特定数据,请使用以下命令。

$ sudo nvme id-ns -v device_name
注意

该命令以带有 ASCII 解释的十六进制形式返回供应商特定信息。您可能需要在应用程序中构建类似 ebsnvme-id 的工具,以读取和解析输出。

例如,以下命令返回 NVMe 命名空间供应商特定数据,其中包含 /dev/nvme1n1 的撕裂写防护信息。

$ sudo nvme id-ns -v /dev/nvme1n1

如果您的实例和卷支持撕裂写防护功能,其会在 NVMe 命名空间供应商特定数据中返回以下 AWS 撕裂写防护信息。

注意

下表中的字节表示从 NVMe 命名空间供应商特定数据开头的偏移量(以字节为单位)。

字节 描述
0:31 设备附件挂载点的名称,例如 /dev/xvda。您在卷附件请求期间提供此信息,Amazon EC2 实例可用其来创建指向 NVMe 区块设备的符号链接(nvmeXn1)。
32:63 卷 ID。例如,vol01234567890abcdef。此字段可用于将 NVMe 设备映射到附加的卷。
64:255 留待将来使用。
256:257 命名空间撕裂写防护单元大小(NTWPU)。此字段表示在断电或发生错误时,保证以原子方式写入 NVM 的写入操作的命名空间特定大小。此字段在逻辑块中指定,从以零开始的值表示。
258:259 命名空间撕裂写防护粒度大小(NTWPG)。此字段表示在断电或发生错误时,保证以原子方式写入 NVM 的写入操作的 NTWPU 下的命名空间特定大小增量。也就是说,大小应为 NTWPG * n <= NTWPU,其中 n 为正整数。写入操作 LBA 偏移量也必须与该字段对齐。此字段在逻辑块中指定,从以零开始的值表示。
260:263 命名空间撕裂写防护边界大小(NTWPB)。此字段表示该 NTWPU 值的此命名空间的原子边界大小。在断电或发生错误时,无法将保证跨原子边界写入此命名空间的操作以原子方式写入 NVM。值为 0h 表示断电或发生错误时没有原子边界。所有其他值使用与 NTWPU 字段相同的编码以逻辑块形式指定大小。

配置您的软件堆栈以防止撕裂写

具有支持卷的受支持的实例类型上默认启用撕裂写防护功能。您无需启用任何其他设置即可启用卷或实例的撕裂写防护功能。

注意

对不支持撕裂写防护的工作负载不会产生性能影响。您无需对这些工作负载进行任何更改。

支持撕裂写防护但未配置使用该功能的工作负载会继续使用双写缓冲区,不会获得任何性能优势。

要将 MySQL 或 MariaDB 软件堆栈配置为禁用双写缓冲区并使用撕裂写防护功能,请完成以下步骤:

  1. 将您的卷配置为使用带有 BigAlloc 选项的 ext4 文件系统,并将集群大小设置为 4 KiB、8 KiB 或 16 KiB。使用集群大小为 4 KiB、8 KiB 或 16 KiB 的 BigAlloc,可确保文件系统分配与各自边界对齐的文件。

    $ mkfs.ext4 -O bigalloc -C 4096|8192|16384 device_name
    注意

    对于 MySQL 和 MariaDB,必须使用 -C 16384 来匹配数据库页面大小。将分配粒度设置为页面大小倍数以外的值可能会导致分配与存储设备撕裂写防护边界不匹配。

    例如:

    $ mkfs.ext4 -O bigalloc -C 16384 /dev/nvme1n1
  2. 将 InnoDB 配置为使用 0_DIRECT 刷新方法并关闭 InnoDB 双写模式。使用首选文本编辑器打开 /etc/my.cnf,更新 innodb_flush_methodinnodb_doublewrite 参数,如下所示:

    innodb_flush_method=O_DIRECT innodb_doublewrite=0
重要

如果您使用的是逻辑卷管理器(LVM)或其他存储虚拟化层,请确保卷的起始偏移量以 16 KiB 倍数对齐。这是相对于底层 NVMe 存储而言,用以考虑存储虚拟化层使用的元数据标头和超级块。如果您向 LVM 物理卷添加偏移量,则可能引起文件系统分配与 NVMe 设备的偏移量有偏差,从而导致撕裂写防护失效。有关更多信息,请参阅 Linux manual page(Linux 手册页面)中的 --dataalignmentoffset

Torn write prevention for Linux instances - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud

Torn write prevention for Linux instances

Note

Torn write prevention is supported with Linux instances only.

Torn write prevention is a block storage feature designed by AWS to improve the performance of your I/O-intensive relational database workloads and reduce latency without negatively impacting data resiliency. Relational databases that use InnoDB or XtraDB as the database engine, such as MySQL and MariaDB, will benefit from torn write prevention.

Typically, relational databases that use pages larger than the power fail atomicity of the storage device use data logging mechanisms to protect against torn writes. MariaDB and MySQL use a doublewrite buffer file to log data before writing it to data tables. In the event of incomplete or torn writes, as a result of operating system crashes or power loss during write transactions, the database can recover the data from the doublewrite buffer. The additional I/O overhead associated with writing to the doublewrite buffer impacts database performance and application latency, and it reduces the number transactions that can be processed per second. For more information about doublewrite buffer, see the MariaDB and MySQL documentation.

With torn write prevention, data is written to storage in all-or-nothing write transactions, which eliminates the need for using the doublewrite buffer. This prevents partial, or torn, data from being written to storage in the event of operating system crashes or power loss during write transactions. The number of transactions processed per second can be increased by up to 30 percent, and write latency can be decreased by up to 50 percent, without compromising the resiliency of your workloads.

Pricing

There are no additional costs for using torn write prevention.

Supported block sizes and block boundary alignments

Torn write prevention supports write operations for 4 KiB, 8 KiB, and 16 KiB blocks of data. The data block start logical block address (LBA) must be aligned to the respective block boundary size of 4 KiB, 8 KiB, or 16 KiB. For example, for 16 KiB write operations, the data block start LBA must be aligned to a block boundary size of 16 KiB.

The following table shows support across storage and instance types.

  4 KiB blocks 8 KiB blocks 16 KiB blocks
Instance store volumes All NVMe instance store volumes attached to current generation I-family instances. I4i, Im4gn, and Is4gen instances supported by AWS Nitro SSD.
Amazon EBS volumes All Amazon EBS volumes attached to instances built on the AWS Nitro System.

To confirm whether your instance and volume support torn write prevention, query to check if the instance supports torn write prevention and other details, like supported block and boundary sizes. For more information, see Check torn write prevention support and configuration.

Requirements

For torn write prevention to work properly, an I/O operation must meet size, alignment, and boundary requirements, as specified in the NTWPU, NTWGU, NTWBU fields. You must configure your operating system to ensure that the specific storage subsystem (file system, LVM, RAID, etc) does not modify I/O properties down the storage stack, including block merges, splits, or block address relocation, before being submitted to the device.

Torn write prevent has been tested with the following configuration:

  • An instance type and storage type that supports the required block size.

  • Amazon Linux 2 with kernel version 5.10 or later.

  • ext4 with bigalloc enabled and a cluster size of 16 KiB, and the most recent ext4 utilities (e2fsprogs 1.46.5 or later).

  • O_DIRECT file access mode to bypass Linux kernel buffer cache.

Note

You do not need to disable I/O merging for MySQL and MariaDB workloads.

Check torn write prevention support and configuration

To confirm whether your instance and volume supports torn write prevention, and to view the NVMe namespace vendor specific data that contains torn write prevention information, use the following command.

$ sudo nvme id-ns -v device_name
Note

The command returns the vendor-specific information in hex with ASCII interpretation. You might need to build a tool, similar to ebsnvme-id, into your applications that can read and parse the output.

For example, the following command returns the NVMe namespace vendor specific data that contains torn write prevention information for /dev/nvme1n1.

$ sudo nvme id-ns -v /dev/nvme1n1

If your instance and volume support torn write prevention, it returns the following AWS torn write prevention information in the NVMe namespace vendor specific data.

Note

The bytes in the following table represent the offset in bytes from the beginning of the NVMe namespace vendor specific data.

Bytes Description
0:31 The name of the device attachment mount point, for example /dev/xvda. You provide this during volume attachment request and it can be used by the Amazon EC2 instance to create a symlink to the NVMe block device(nvmeXn1).
32:63 The volume ID. For example, vol01234567890abcdef. This field can be used to map the NVMe device to the attached volume.
64:255 Reserved for future use.
256:257 Namespace Torn Write Prevention Unit size (NTWPU). This field indicates the namespace specific size of the write operation guaranteed to be written atomically to the NVM during a power failure or error condition. This field is specified in logical blocks represented in zero based values.
258:259 Namespace Torn Write Prevention Granularity size (NTWPG). This field indicates the namespace specific size increments below NTWPU of the write operation guaranteed to be written atomically to the NVM during a power failure or error condition. That is, size should be NTWPG * n <= NTWPU where n is positive integer. The write operation LBA offset also must be aligned to this field. This field is specified in logical blocks represented in zero based values.
260:263 Namespace Torn Write Prevention Boundary size (NTWPB). This field indicates the atomic boundary size for this namespace for the NTWPU value. Writes to this namespace that cross atomic boundaries are not guaranteed to be written atomically to the NVM during a power failure or error condition. A value of 0h indicates that there are no atomic boundaries for power fail or error conditions. All other values specify a size in terms of logical blocks using the same encoding as the NTWPU field.

Configure your software stack for torn write prevention

Torn write prevention is enabled by default on supported instance types with supported volumes. You do not need to enabled any additional settings to enable your volume or instance for torn write prevention.

Note

There is no performance impact on workloads that do not support torn write prevention. You do not need to make any changes for these workloads.

Workloads that do support torn write prevention, but are not configured to use it, continue to use the doublewrite buffer and do not receive any performance benefits.

To configure your MySQL or MariaDB software stack to disable the doublewrite buffer and use torn write prevention, complete the following steps:

  1. Configure your volume to use ext4 file system with the BigAlloc option and set the cluster size to 4 KiB, 8 KiB, or 16 KiB. Using BigAlloc with a cluster size of 4 KiB, 8 KiB, or 16 KiB ensures that the file system allocates files that align with the respective boundary.

    $ mkfs.ext4 -O bigalloc -C 4096|8192|16384 device_name
    Note

    For MySQL and MariaDB, you must use -C 16384 to match the database page size. Setting allocation granularity to a value other than a multiple of the page size can result in allocations that might be mismatched with torn write prevention boundaries of the storage device.

    For example:

    $ mkfs.ext4 -O bigalloc -C 16384 /dev/nvme1n1
  2. Configure InnoDB to use the 0_DIRECT flushing method and turn off InnoDB doublewrite. Use your preferred text editor to open /etc/my.cnf, and update the innodb_flush_method and innodb_doublewrite parameters as follows:

    innodb_flush_method=O_DIRECT innodb_doublewrite=0
Important

If you are using Logical Volume Manager (LVM) or other storage virtualization layer, make sure that the starting offsets of the volumes are aligned on 16 KiB multiples. This is relative to the underlying NVMe storage to account for the metadata headers and superblocks used by the storage virtualization layer. If you add an offset to the LVM physical volume, it can cause misalignment between the file system allocations and the NVMe device's offsets, which would invalidate torn write prevention. For more information, see --dataalignmentoffset in the Linux manual page.