Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud
Benutzerhandbuch für Linux-Instances

Regionen und Availability Zones

Amazon EC2 wird an mehreren Standorten weltweit gehostet. Diese Standorte bestehen aus Regionen und Availability Zones. Jede Region ist ein separater geografischer Bereich. Jede Region verfügt über mehrere isolierte Standorte, die als Availability Zones bezeichnet werden. Mit Amazon EC2 können Sie Ressourcen, z. B. Instances und Daten, an mehreren Standorten anordnen. Ressourcen werden nur dann regionsübergreifend repliziert, wenn Sie dies explizit durchführen.

Amazon betreibt hochmoderne, hoch verfügbare Rechenzentren. In seltenen Fällen kann es aber zu Ausfällen kommen, die die Verfügbarkeit von Instances desselben Standorts beeinträchtigen. Wenn Sie Ihre gesamten Instances an einem einzelnen Standort hosten, der von einem Ausfall dieser Art betroffen ist, ist keine Ihrer Instances verfügbar.

Regionen und Availability Zones – Konzepte

Jede Region ist komplett eigenständig. Jede Availability Zone ist isoliert, aber die Availability Zones einer Region sind über Verbindungen geringer Latenz miteinander verbunden. Im folgenden Diagramm ist die Beziehung zwischen Regionen und Availability Zones dargestellt.


				Regionen und Availability Zones

Amazon EC2-Ressourcen sind entweder global oder mit einer Region oder einer Availability Zone verknüpft. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter Ressourcenstandorte.

Regionen

Jede Amazon EC2-Region ist darauf ausgelegt, vollständig von den anderen Amazon EC2-Regionen getrennt zu sein. Dies sorgt für die größtmögliche Fehlertoleranz und Stabilität.

Ihnen werden nur die Ressourcen angezeigt, die mit der von Ihnen angegebenen Region verknüpft sind. Der Grund hierfür ist, dass die Regionen voneinander isoliert sind und Ressourcen nicht automatisch über unterschiedliche Regionen repliziert werden.

Beim Starten einer Instance müssen Sie ein AMI auswählen, das sich in derselben Region befindet. Wenn sich das AMI in einer anderen Region befindet, können Sie das AMI in die von Ihnen verwendete Region kopieren. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter Kopieren eines AMI.

Beachten Sie, dass für die Datenübertragung zwischen Regionen eine Gebühr anfällt. Weitere Informationen hierzu erhalten Sie unter Amazon EC2-Preise – Datenübertragung.

Availability Zones

Beim Starten einer Instance können Sie eine Availability Zone selbst auswählen oder von uns für Sie auswählen lassen. Wenn Sie Ihre Instances auf mehrere Availability Zones verteilen, ist es sinnvoll, Ihre Anwendung so zu entwerfen, dass bei einem Ausfall einer Instance die Anforderungen von einer Instance in einer anderen Availability Zone verarbeitet werden können.

Außerdem können Sie Elastic IP-Adressen verwenden, um den Ausfall einer Instance in einer Availability Zone zu maskieren, indem Sie die Adresse schnell einer Instance in einer anderen Availability Zone zuordnen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter Elastic IP-Adressen.

Eine Availability Zone wird durch einen Regionscode gefolgt von einem Buchstaben als Bezeichner angegeben, z. B. us-east-1a. Um sicherzustellen, dass Ressourcen auf die Availability Zones einer Region verteilt sind, ordnen wir Availability Zones einzeln Namen für jedes AWS-Konto zu. So ist beispielsweise die Availability Zone us-east-1a für Ihr AWS-Konto möglicherweise nicht derselbe Ort wie us-east-1a für ein anderes AWS-Konto.

Um die Availability Zones kontenübergreifend zu koordinieren, müssen Sie die AZ-ID verwenden, die eine eindeutige und konsistente Kennung für eine Availability Zone ist. Beispielsweise ist use1-az1 eine AZ-ID für die us-east-1-Region und hat in jedem AWS-Konto den gleichen Standort.

Mit der Anzeige von AZ-IDs können Sie den Standort von Ressourcen in einem Konto im Verhältnis zu den Ressourcen in einem anderen Konto bestimmen. Wenn Sie beispielsweise ein Subnetz in der Availability Zone mit der AZ-ID use-az2 mit einem anderen Konto teilen, steht dieses Subnetz dem Konto in der Availability Zone zur Verfügung, dessen AZ-ID ebenfalls use-az2 ist. Die AZ-ID für jede VPC und jedes Subnetz wird in der Amazon VPC-Konsole angezeigt. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter Arbeiten mit freigegebenen VPCs im Amazon VPC Benutzerhandbuch.

Da Availability Zones im Laufe der Zeit größer werden, werden die Erweiterungsmöglichkeiten in der Regel immer weiter eingeschränkt. Wenn dies eintritt, wird für Sie das Starten einer Instance in einer eingeschränkten Availability Zone unter Umständen verhindert, es sei denn, sie verfügen bereits über eine Instance in dieser Availability Zone. Es kann auch sein, dass wir die eingeschränkte Availability Zone aus der Liste mit den Availability Zones für neue Konten entfernen. Daher besteht die Möglichkeit, dass Ihr Konto in einer Region über eine andere Anzahl von verfügbaren Availability Zones als ein anderes Konto verfügt.

Sie können die Availability Zones auflisten, die für Ihr Konto verfügbar sind. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter Beschreiben Ihrer Regionen und Availability Zones.

Verfügbare Regionen

Ihr Konto bestimmt die Regionen, die für Sie verfügbar sind. Beispiel:

  • Unter einem AWS-Konto werden mehrere Regionen bereitgestellt, sodass Sie Amazon EC2 Instances an Standorten starten können, die Ihre Anforderungen erfüllen. Beispielsweise kann es sinnvoll sein, Instances in Europa zu starten, damit sie sich in der Nähe Ihrer europäischen Kunden befinden oder um rechtliche Anforderungen zu erfüllen.

  • Mit dem Konto AWS GovCloud (US-West) haben Sie nur Zugriff auf die Region AWS GovCloud (US-West). Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie unter AWS GovCloud (US-West) – Region.

  • Mit einem Amazon AWS (China)-Konto haben Sie nur Zugriff auf die Region Peking und Ningxia. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter AWS in China.

In der folgenden Tabelle sind die Regionen aufgeführt, die von einem AWS-Konto bereitgestellt werden. Es ist für Sie nicht möglich, zusätzliche Regionen über ein AWS-Konto zu beschreiben oder darauf zuzugreifen, z. B. AWS GovCloud (US-West) oder Regionen in China.

Code Name

us-east-1

USA Ost (Nord-Virginia)

us-east-2

USA Ost (Ohio)

us-west-1

USA West (Nordkalifornien)

us-west-2

USA West (Oregon)

ca-central-1

Kanada (Zentral)

eu-central-1

EU (Frankfurt)

eu-west-1

EU (Irland)

eu-west-2

EU (London)

eu-west-3

EU (Paris)

eu-north-1

EU (Stockholm)

ap-east-1

Asien-Pazifik (Hongkong)

ap-northeast-1

Asien-Pazifik (Tokio)

ap-northeast-2

Asien-Pazifik (Seoul)

ap-northeast-3

Asien-Pazifik (Osaka-Lokal)

ap-southeast-1

Asien-Pazifik (Singapur)

ap-southeast-2

Asien-Pazifik (Sydney)

ap-south-1

Asien-Pazifik (Mumbai)

sa-east-1

Südamerika (São Paulo)

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie unter Globale AWS-Infrastruktur.

Die Anzahl und Zuweisung von Availability Zones pro Region kann für AWS-Konten variieren. Zum Abrufen einer Liste mit den Availability Zones, die für Ihr Konto verfügbar sind, können Sie die Amazon EC2-Konsole oder die Befehlszeilenschnittstelle verwenden. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter Beschreiben Ihrer Regionen und Availability Zones.

Regionen und Endpunkte

Wenn Sie über die Befehlszeilenschnittstelle oder über API-Aktionen mit einer Instance arbeiten, müssen Sie ihren regionalen Endpunkt angeben. Weitere Informationen zu den Regionen und Endpunkten für Amazon EC2 erhalten Sie unter Regionen und Endpunkte im Allgemeine Amazon Web Services-Referenz.

Weitere Informationen zu Endpunkten und Protokollen in AWS GovCloud (US-West) erhalten Sie unter AWS GovCloud (US-West)-Endpunkte im AWS GovCloud (US) User Guide.

Beschreiben Ihrer Regionen und Availability Zones

Sie können die Amazon EC2-Konsole oder die Befehlszeilenschnittstelle verwenden, um zu ermitteln, welche Regionen und Availability Zones für Ihr Konto verfügbar sind. Weitere Informationen zu diesen Befehlszeilenschnittstellen erhalten Sie unter Zugriff auf Amazon EC2.

So suchen Sie mit der Konsole nach Ihren Regionen und Availability Zones

  1. Öffnen Sie die Amazon EC2-Konsole unter https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/.

  2. Zeigen Sie über die Navigationsleiste die Optionen in der Regionsauswahl an.

    
						Anzeigen Ihrer Regionen
  3. Wählen Sie im Navigationsbereich EC2-Dashboard aus.

  4. Die Availability Zones sind unter Service Health, Availability Zone Status aufgelistet.

So suchen Sie mit der Befehlszeile nach Ihren Regionen und Availability Zones

  1. [AWS CLI] Verwenden Sie wie folgt den Befehl describe-regions, um die Regionen für Ihr Konto zu beschreiben.

    aws ec2 describe-regions
  2. [AWS CLI] Verwenden Sie wie folgt den Befehl describe-availability-zones, um die Availability Zones in der angegebenen Region zu beschreiben.

    aws ec2 describe-availability-zones --region region-name
  3. [AWS-Tools für Windows PowerShell] Verwenden Sie wie folgt den Befehl Get-EC2Region, um die Regionen für Ihr Konto zu beschreiben.

    PS C:\> Get-EC2Region
  4. [AWS-Tools für Windows PowerShell] Verwenden Sie wie folgt den Befehl Get-EC2AvailabilityZone, um die Availability Zones in der angegebenen Region zu beschreiben.

    PS C:\> Get-EC2AvailabilityZone -Region region-name

Angeben der Region für eine Ressource

Bei jeder Erstellung einer Amazon EC2-Ressource können Sie die Region für die Ressource angeben. Sie können die Region für eine Ressource angeben, indem Sie die AWS Management Console oder die Befehlszeile verwenden.

Anmerkung

Einige AWS-Ressourcen sind ggf. nicht in allen Regionen und Availability Zones verfügbar. Stellen Sie sicher, dass Sie die Ressourcen erstellen können, die Sie in den gewünschten Regionen oder in der Availability Zone benötigen, bevor Sie eine Instance in einer bestimmten Availability Zone starten.

So geben Sie die Region für eine Ressource mit der Konsole an

  1. Öffnen Sie die Amazon EC2-Konsole unter https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/.

  2. Verwenden Sie die Regionsauswahl in der Navigationsleiste.

    
						Verwenden der Regionsauswahl in der Konsole

So geben Sie die Standardregion über die Befehlszeile an

Sie können den Wert einer Umgebungsvariablen auf den gewünschten regionalen Endpunkt festlegen (z. B. https://ec2.us-east-2.amazonaws.com):

  • AWS_DEFAULT_REGION (AWS CLI)

  • Set-AWSDefaultRegion (AWS-Tools für Windows PowerShell)

Alternativ hierzu können Sie für jeden Befehl auch die Befehlszeilenoption --region (AWS CLI) oder -Region (AWS-Tools für Windows PowerShell) verwenden. Beispiel, --region us-east-2.

Weitere Informationen zu den Endpunkten für Amazon EC2 erhalten Sie unter Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud – Endpunkte.

Starten von Instances in einer Availability Zone

Wählen Sie beim Starten einer Instance eine Region aus, in der Instances näher an bestimmten Kunden platziert werden oder mit der rechtliche oder andere Anforderungen erfüllt werden. Indem Sie Instances in separaten Availability Zones starten, können Sie Ihre Anwendungen vor dem Ausfall eines einzelnen Standorts schützen.

Beim Starten einer Instance können Sie optional eine Availability Zone in der Region angeben, die Sie verwenden. Falls Sie keine Availability Zone angeben, übernehmen wir die Auswahl für Sie. Beim Starten Ihrer ersten Instances ist es ratsam, die standardmäßig vorgegebene Availability Zone zu akzeptieren. Wir können so basierend auf der Systemstabilität und der verfügbaren Kapazität die beste Availability Zone für Sie auswählen. Geben Sie beim Starten weiterer Instances nur dann eine Availability Zone an, wenn Ihre Instances nah bei Ihren laufenden Instances oder getrennt davon angeordnet werden müssen.

Migrieren einer Instance zu einer anderen Availability Zone

Bei Bedarf können Sie eine Instance aus einer Availability Zone zu einer anderen migrieren. Wenn Sie beispielsweise versuchen, den Instance-Typ Ihrer Instance zu ändern, und wir in der aktuellen Availability Zone keine Instance des neuen Instance-Typs starten können, können Sie die Instance zu einer Availability Zone migrieren, in der für uns das Starten einer Instance mit diesem Instance-Typ möglich ist.

Der Migrationsprozess umfasst das Erstellen eines AMI aus der ursprünglichen Instance, das Starten einer Instance in der neuen Availability Zone und das Aktualisieren der neuen Instance. Dies wird in der folgenden Vorgehensweise veranschaulicht.

So migrieren Sie eine Instance zu einer anderen Availability Zone

  1. Erstellen Sie aus der Instance ein AMI. Das Verfahren richtet sich nach dem Betriebssystem und dem Typ des Root-Gerät-Datenträgers für die Instance. Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie in der Dokumentation zu Ihrem Betriebssystem und Root-Gerät-Datenträger:

  2. Wenn Sie die private IPv4-Adresse der Instance beibehalten möchten, müssen Sie das Subnetz in der aktuellen Availability Zone löschen und in der neuen Availability Zone dann ein Subnetz erstellen, das über den gleichen IPv4-Adressbereich wie das ursprüngliche Subnetz verfügt. Beachten Sie hierbei, das Sie in einem Subnetz alle Instances beenden müssen, bevor Sie es löschen können. Aus diesem Grund sollten Sie AMIs aus allen Instances in Ihrem Subnetz erstellen, damit Sie alle Instances im aktuellen Subnetz in das neue Subnetz verschieben können.

  3. Starten Sie eine Instance über das gerade erstellte AMI und geben Sie die neue Availability Zone bzw. das Subnetz an. Sie können den gleichen Instance-Typ wie für die ursprüngliche Instance verwenden oder einen neuen Instance-Typ wählen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter Starten von Instances in einer Availability Zone.

  4. Wenn die ursprüngliche Instance über eine zugeordnete Elastic IP-Adresse verfügt, sollten Sie sie der neuen Instance zuordnen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter Aufheben der Zuordnung einer Elastic IP-Adresse und Neuzuordnung zu einer anderen Instance.

  5. Wenn die ursprüngliche Instance eine Reserved Instance ist, sollten Sie die Availability Zone für Ihre Reservierung ändern. (Falls Sie auch den Instance-Typ geändert haben, können Sie zusätzlich den Instance-Typ für Ihre Reservierung ändern.) Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter Senden von Änderungsanforderungen.

  6. (Optional) Beenden Sie die ursprüngliche Instance. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter Beenden einer Instance.

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud
User Guide for Linux Instances

Regions, Availability Zones, and Local Zones

Amazon EC2 is hosted in multiple locations world-wide. These locations are composed of Regions, Availability Zones, and Local Zones. Each Region is a separate geographic area. Each Region has multiple, isolated locations known as Availability Zones. Local Zones provide you the ability to place resources, such as compute and storage, in multiple locations closer to your end users. Resources aren't replicated across Regions unless you specifically choose to do so.

Amazon operates state-of-the-art, highly available data centers. Although rare, failures can occur that affect the availability of instances that are in the same location. If you host all of your instances in a single location that is affected by a failure, none of your instances would be available.

Region, Availability Zone, and Local Zone Concepts

Each Region is completely independent. Each Availability Zone is isolated, but the Availability Zones in a Region are connected through low-latency links. A Local Zone is an AWS infrastructure deployment that places select services closer to your end users. A Local Zone is an extension of a Region that is in a different location from your Region. It provides a high-bandwidth backbone to the AWS infrastructure and is ideal for latency-sensitive applications, for example machine learning. The following diagram illustrates the relationship between Regions, Availability Zones, and Local Zones.


				Regions, Availability Zones, and Local Zones

Amazon EC2 resources are one of the following: global, tied to a Region, an Availability Zone, or a Local Zone. For more information, see Resource Locations.

Regions

Each Amazon EC2 Region is designed to be isolated from the other Amazon EC2 Regions. This achieves the greatest possible fault tolerance and stability.

When you view your resources, you see only the resources that are tied to the Region that you specified. This is because Regions are isolated from each other, and we don't automatically replicate resources across Regions.

When you launch an instance, you must select an AMI that's in the same Region. If the AMI is in another Region, you can copy the AMI to the Region you're using. For more information, see Copying an AMI.

Note that there is a charge for data transfer between Regions. For more information, see Amazon EC2 Pricing - Data Transfer.

Availability Zones

When you launch an instance, you can select an Availability Zone or let us choose one for you. If you distribute your instances across multiple Availability Zones and one instance fails, you can design your application so that an instance in another Availability Zone can handle requests.

You can also use Elastic IP addresses to mask the failure of an instance in one Availability Zone by rapidly remapping the address to an instance in another Availability Zone. For more information, see Elastic IP Addresses.

An Availability Zone is represented by a Region code followed by a letter identifier; for example, us-east-1a. To ensure that resources are distributed across the Availability Zones for a Region, we independently map Availability Zones to names for each AWS account. For example, the Availability Zone us-east-1a for your AWS account might not be the same location as us-east-1a for another AWS account.

To coordinate Availability Zones across accounts, you must use the AZ ID, which is a unique and consistent identifier for an Availability Zone. For example, use1-az1 is an AZ ID for the us-east-1 Region and it has the same location in every AWS account.

Viewing AZ IDs enables you to determine the location of resources in one account relative to the resources in another account. For example, if you share a subnet in the Availability Zone with the AZ ID use-az2 with another account, this subnet is available to that account in the Availability Zone whose AZ ID is also use-az2. The AZ ID for each VPC and subnet is displayed in the Amazon VPC console. For more information, see Working with VPC Sharing in the Amazon VPC User Guide.

As Availability Zones grow over time, our ability to expand them can become constrained. If this happens, we might restrict you from launching an instance in a constrained Availability Zone unless you already have an instance in that Availability Zone. Eventually, we might also remove the constrained Availability Zone from the list of Availability Zones for new accounts. Therefore, your account might have a different number of available Availability Zones in a Region than another account.

You can list the Availability Zones that are available to your account. For more information, see Describing Your Regions, Availability Zones, and Local Zones.

Local Zones

When you launch an instance, you can optionally select a Local Zone so that your applications are closer to your end users.

Local Zones allow you to seamlessly connect to the full range of services in the AWS Region such as Amazon Simple Storage Service and Amazon DynamoDB through the same APIs and tool sets.

Local Zones are not available in every Region. For information about the Regions that support Local Zones, see Available Regions.

A Local Zone is represented by a Region code followed by an identifier that indicates the location, for example, us-west-2-lax-1a.

To use Local Zones, you must first opt in. For more information, see Opting in to a Local Zone.

After you opt in to a Local Zone, you can launch any of the following resources in the Local Zone:

  • Amazon Virtual Private Cloud subnet

  • Amazon EC2 instances

  • Amazon EBS volumes

  • Amazon FSx file servers

  • Application Load Balancer

You can list the Local Zones that are available to your account. For more information, see Describing Your Regions, Availability Zones, and Local Zones.

You connect to the public internet by using an internet gateway that resides in the Local Zone. This configuration provides customers local incoming and outgoing traffic which helps reduce latency.

Local Zones also support connections to AWS Direct Connect, allowing customers to route their traffic over a private network connection.

Available Regions

Your account determines the Regions that are available to you. For example:

  • An AWS account provides multiple Regions so that you can launch Amazon EC2 instances in locations that meet your requirements. For example, you might want to launch instances in Europe to be closer to your European customers or to meet legal requirements.

  • An AWS GovCloud (US-West) account provides access to the AWS GovCloud (US-West) Region only. For more information, see AWS GovCloud (US-West) Region.

  • An Amazon AWS (China) account provides access to the Beijing and Ningxia Regions only. For more information, see AWS in China.

The following table lists the Regions provided by an AWS account. You can't describe or access additional Regions from an AWS account, such as AWS GovCloud (US-West) or the China Regions. To use a Region introduced after March 20, 2019, you must enable the Region. For more information, see Managing AWS Regions in the AWS General Reference.

Code Name Opt-in Status Local Zone

us-east-2

US East (Ohio)

Not required No

us-east-1

US East (N. Virginia)

Not required No

us-west-1

US West (N. California)

Not required No

us-west-2

US West (Oregon)

Not required Yes - us-west-2-lax-1a

You must opt in to the Local Zone.

ap-east-1

Asia Pacific (Hong Kong)

Required No

ap-south-1

Asia Pacific (Mumbai)

Not required No

ap-northeast-3

Asia Pacific (Osaka-Local)

Not required No

ap-northeast-2

Asia Pacific (Seoul)

Not required No

ap-southeast-1

Asia Pacific (Singapore)

Not required No

ap-southeast-2

Asia Pacific (Sydney)

Not required No

ap-northeast-1

Asia Pacific (Tokyo)

Not required No

ca-central-1

Canada (Central)

Not required No

eu-central-1

Europe (Frankfurt)

Not required No

eu-west-1

Europe (Ireland)

Not required No

eu-west-2

Europe (London)

Not required No

eu-west-3

Europe (Paris)

Not required No

eu-north-1

Europe (Stockholm)

Not required No

me-south-1

Middle East (Bahrain)

Required No

sa-east-1

South America (São Paulo)

Not required No

For more information, see AWS Global Infrastructure.

The number and mapping of Availability Zones per Region may vary between AWS accounts. To get a list of the Availability Zones that are available to your account, you can use the Amazon EC2 console or the command line interface. For more information, see Describing Your Regions, Availability Zones, and Local Zones.

Regions and Endpoints

When you work with an instance using the command line interface or API actions, you must specify its Regional endpoint. For more information about the Regions and endpoints for Amazon EC2, see Regions and Endpoints in the Amazon Web Services General Reference.

For more information about endpoints and protocols in AWS GovCloud (US-West), see AWS GovCloud (US-West) Endpoints in the AWS GovCloud (US) User Guide.

Describing Your Regions, Availability Zones, and Local Zones

You can use the Amazon EC2 console or the command line interface to determine which Regions, Availability Zones, and Local Zones are available for your account. For more information about these command line interfaces, see Accessing Amazon EC2.

To find your Regions, Availability Zones, and Local Zones using the console

  1. Open the Amazon EC2 console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/.

  2. From the navigation bar, view the options in the Region selector.

    
						View your Regions
  3. On the navigation pane, choose EC2 Dashboard.

  4. The Availability Zones and Local Zones are listed under Service Health, Availability Zone Status.

To find your Regions, Availability Zones, and Local Zones using the AWS CLI

  1. Use the describe-regions command as follows to describe the Regions that are enabled for your account.

    aws ec2 describe-regions

    To describe all Regions, including any Regions that are disabled for your account, add the --all-regions option as follows.

    aws ec2 describe-regions --all-regions
  2. Use the describe-availability-zones command as follows to describe the Availability Zones and Local Zones within the specified Region.

    aws ec2 describe-availability-zones --region region-name
  3. Use the describe-availability-zones command as follows to describe the Availability Zones and Local Zones regardless of the opt-in status.

    aws ec2 describe-availability-zones --all-availability-zones

To find your Regions, Availability Zones, and Local Zones using the AWS Tools for Windows PowerShell

  1. Use the Get-EC2Region command as follows to describe the Regions for your account.

    PS C:\> Get-EC2Region
  2. Use the Get-EC2AvailabilityZone command as follows to describe the Availability Zones within the specified Region.

    PS C:\> Get-EC2AvailabilityZone -Region region-name

Specifying the Region for a Resource

Every time you create an Amazon EC2 resource, you can specify the Region for the resource. You can specify the Region for a resource using the AWS Management Console or the command line.

Note

Some AWS resources might not be available in all Regions, Availability Zones, and Local Zones. Ensure that you can create the resources that you need in the desired Regions or Availability Zones before launching an instance in a specific Availability Zone.

To specify the Region for a resource using the console

  1. Open the Amazon EC2 console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/.

  2. Use the Region selector in the navigation bar.

    
						Use the console Region selector

To specify the default Region using the command line

You can set the value of an environment variable to the desired Regional endpoint (for example, https://ec2.us-east-2.amazonaws.com):

  • AWS_DEFAULT_REGION (AWS CLI)

  • Set-AWSDefaultRegion (AWS Tools for Windows PowerShell)

Alternatively, you can use the --region (AWS CLI) or -Region (AWS Tools for Windows PowerShell) command line option with each individual command. For example, --region us-east-2.

For more information about the endpoints for Amazon EC2, see Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud Endpoints.

Opting in to a Local Zone

Before you specify a Local Zone for a resource, or service, you must opt in to the Local Zone.

To a Local Zone, go to AWS Local Zone site, and then make a request.

Launching Instances in an Availability Zone or Local Zone

When you launch an instance, select a Region that puts your instances closer to specific customers, or meets the legal or other requirements that you have. By launching your instances in separate Availability Zones, you can protect your applications from the failure of a single location.

By launching an instance in a Local Zone, you can run latency-sensitive applications close to your end users while having the benefits of the AWS infrastructure.

When you launch an instance, you can optionally specify an Availability Zone or Local Zone in the Region that you are using. If you do not specify an Availability Zone or Local Zone, we select an Availability Zone for you. When you launch your initial instances, we recommend that you accept the default Availability Zone, because this enables us to select the best Availability Zone for you based on system health and available capacity. If you launch additional instances, specify an Availability Zone only if your new instances must be close to, or separated from, your running instances.

Migrating an Instance to Another Availability Zone

If necessary, you can migrate an instance from one Availability Zone to another. For example, let's say you are trying to modify the instance type of your instance and we can't launch an instance of the new instance type in the current Availability Zone. In this case, you can migrate the instance to an Availability Zone where we are able to launch an instance of that instance type.

The migration process involves:

  • Creating an AMI from the original instance

  • Launching an instance in the new Availability Zone

  • Updating the configuration of the new instance, as shown in the following procedure

To migrate an instance to another Availability Zone

  1. Create an AMI from the instance. The procedure depends on your operating system and the type of root device volume for the instance. For more information, see the documentation that corresponds to your operating system and root device volume:

  2. If you need to preserve the private IPv4 address of the instance, you must delete the subnet in the current Availability Zone and then create a subnet in the new Availability Zone with the same IPv4 address range as the original subnet. Note that you must terminate all instances in a subnet before you can delete it. Therefore, you should create AMIs from all of the instances in your subnet so that you can move all instances from the current subnet to the new subnet.

  3. Launch an instance from the AMI that you just created, specifying the new Availability Zone or subnet. You can use the same instance type as the original instance, or select a new instance type. For more information, see Launching Instances in an Availability Zone or Local Zone.

  4. If the original instance has an associated Elastic IP address, associate it with the new instance. For more information, see Disassociating an Elastic IP Address and Reassociating with a Different Instance.

  5. If the original instance is a Reserved Instance, change the Availability Zone for your reservation. (If you also changed the instance type, you can also change the instance type for your reservation.) For more information, see Submitting Modification Requests.

  6. (Optional) Terminate the original instance. For more information, see Terminating an Instance.