Spot instances - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud

Spot instances

Une instance Spot est une instance qui utilise la capacité EC2 inutilisée disponible à un prix inférieur au prix d'une A la demande. Comme une instances Spot vous permet de demander des instances EC2 inutilisées avec de fortes remises, vous pouvez réduire considérablement vos coûts Amazon EC2. Le prix horaire d'une instance Spot est appelé prix spot. Le prix Spot de chaque type d'instance dans chaque zone de disponibilité est défini par Amazon EC2 et varie en fonction de l'offre et de la demande à long terme pour les instances Spot. Votre instance Spot s'exécute chaque fois que la capacité est disponible et que le taux horaire maximal de votre demande dépasse le prix Spot.

Les instances Spot constituent un choix économique si vous êtes flexible quant au moment où vos applications s'exécutent et à la possibilité de les interrompre. Par exemple, les instances Spot sont particulièrement adaptées à l'analyse de données, aux travaux par lots, au traitement en arrière-plan et aux tâches facultatives. Pour de plus amples informations, veuillez consulter Amazon EC2 Instances Spot.

Rubriques

Concepts

Avant de commencer à utiliser les instances Spot, vous devez connaître les concepts suivants :

  • Groupe de capacités Spot – Un ensemble d'instances EC2 inutilisées avec le même type d'instance (par exemple, m5.large) et la même zone de disponibilité.

  • Prix Spot – Prix horaire actuel d'une instance Spot.

  • Demande d'instance Spot – Demande d'une instance Spot. La demande indique le prix maximum par heure que vous êtes prêt à payer pour une instance Spot. Si vous ne spécifiez pas de prix maximum, la valeur par défaut est le prix à la demande. Lorsque le prix maximum par heure de votre demande dépasse le prix Spot, Amazon EC2 satisfait cette dernière si la capacité est disponible. Une demande d'instance Spot est soit One-time (Unique) soit Persistent (Persistante). Amazon EC2 soumet automatiquement à nouveau une demande d'instance Spot persistante après la résiliation de l'instance Spot associée à la demande.

  • Recommandation de rééquilibrage d'instance EC2 - Amazon EC2 émet un signal de recommandation de rééquilibrage d'instance pour vous avertir qu'une instance Spot présente un risque élevé d'interruption. Ce signal vous donne la possibilité de rééquilibrer de manière proactive vos charges de travail entre les instances Spot existantes ou nouvelles sans avoir à attendre l'avis d'interruption d'instance Spot deux minutes avant celle-ci.

  • Spot Instance interruption (Interruption d'instance Spot) : Amazon EC2 résilie, arrête ou met en veille prolongée votre instance Spot lorsque Amazon EC2 a besoin de récupérer la capacité ou que le prix Spot dépasse le prix maximum pour votre demande. Amazon EC2 communique un avis d'interruption d'instance Spot, qui donne à l'instance un avertissement deux minutes avant qu'elle soit interrompue.

Principales différences entre les instances Spot et les instances à la demande

Le tableau suivant répertorie les principales différences entre les instances Spot et les instances à la demande.

Spot instances On-Demand instances

Heure de lancement

Ne peut être lancée immédiatement que si la demande d'instance Spot est active et la capacité disponible.

Peut uniquement être lancé immédiatement si vous émettez une demande de lancement manuel et que la capacité est disponible.

Capacité disponible

Si la capacité n'est pas disponible, la demande d'instance Spot continue à effectuer automatiquement la demande de lancement jusqu'à ce que la capacité devienne disponible.

Si la capacité n'est pas disponible lorsque vous effectuez une demande de lancement, vous obtenez une erreur de capacité insuffisante (ICE).

Tarif horaire

Le prix horaire pour les instances Spot varie en fonction de la demande.

Le prix horaire pour les instances à la demande est statique.

Recommandation de rééquilibrage Le signal émis par Amazon EC2 pour une instance Spot exécutée lorsque l'instance présente un risque élevé d'interruption. Vous déterminez le moment où une instance à la demande est interrompue (arrêtée, mise en veille prolongée ou résiliée).

Interruption d'instance

Vous pouvez arrêter et démarrer une instance Spot basée sur Amazon EBS. De plus, le service Spot Amazon EC2 peut interrompre une instance Spot individuelle si la capacité n'est plus disponible, si le prix Spot dépasse votre prix maximum ou si la demande d'instances Spot augmente.

Vous déterminez le moment où une instance à la demande est interrompue (arrêtée, mise en veille prolongée ou résiliée).

Stratégies d'utilisation des instances Spot

Pour maintenir un niveau minimal de ressources de calcul garanties pour vos applications, vous pouvez utiliser la stratégie qui consiste à lancer un groupe principal d'instances à la demande et les compléter par des instances Spot lorsque l'occasion se présente.


					Comparaison entre les instances à la demande et les instances Spot

Comment démarrer

Vous devez commencer par préparer l'utilisation d'Amazon EC2. Il peut être utile d'avoir déjà eu l'occasion de lancer des instances à la demande avant de lancer des instances Spot.

Bases des instances Spot

Vous pouvez allouer des instances Spot directement à partir d'Amazon EC2. Vous pouvez également allouer des instances Spot à partir d'autres services dans AWS. Pour plus d'informations, consultez la documentation suivante.

Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling et instances Spot

Vous pouvez créer des modèles ou des configurations de lancement avec le prix maximum que vous êtes disposé à payer, de façon à ce qu'Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling puisse lancer des instances Spot. Pour plus d'informations, consultez les sections Demande d'Instances Spot pour des applications flexibles et tolérantes aux pannes et Groupes Auto Scaling avec plusieurs types d'instance et options d'achat du Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling Guide de l'utilisateur.

Amazon EMR et instances Spot

Dans certains cas de figure, il peut être utile d'exécuter des instances Spot dans un cluster Amazon EMR. Pour plus d'informations, consultez Instances Spot et Quand faut-il utiliser des Instances Spot ? dans le Amazon EMR Guide de gestion.

AWS CloudFormationModèles

AWS CloudFormation vous permet de créer et de gérer un ensemble de ressources AWS à l'aide d'un modèle au format JSON. Les modèles AWS CloudFormation peuvent inclure le prix maximum que vous êtes disposé à payer. Pour de plus amples informations, consultez EC2 Spot Instance Updates - Auto Scaling and CloudFormation Integration.

AWS SDK for Java

Vous pouvez utiliser le langage de programmation Java afin de gérer vos instances Spot. Pour plus d'informations, consultez Didacticiel : instances Spot Amazon EC2 et Didacticiel : Gestion avancée des demandes Spot Amazon EC2.

AWS SDK for .NET

Vous pouvez utiliser l'environnement de programmation .NET pour gérer vos instances Spot. Pour plus d'informations, consultez Didacticiel : Instances Spot Amazon EC2.

Tarification et économies

Vous payez le prix spot des instances Spot qui est défini par Amazon EC2 et varie régulièrement en fonction de l'offre et de la demande à long terme pour les instances Spot. Si le prix maximum par heure de votre demande dépasse le prix Spot actuel, Amazon EC2 satisfait cette dernière si la capacité est disponible. Vos Instances Spot sont exécutées jusqu'à ce que vous les arrêtiez, dès que la capacité n'est plus disponible, que le prix Spot dépasse votre prix maximum ou que votre groupe Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling les arrête durant le dimensionnement.

Si vous-même ou Amazon EC2 interrompez une instance Spot en cours d'exécution, vous serez facturé pour les secondes utilisées ou l'heure complète, ou vous ne serez pas facturé, selon le système d'exploitation utilisé et qui a interrompu l'instance Spot. Pour plus d'informations, consultez Facturation des instances Spot interrompues.

Consulter les tarifs

Pour afficher le prix Spot le plus bas par région AWS (information mise à jour toutes les cinq minutes) et le type d'instance, consultez la page Tarification des Instances Spot Amazon EC2.

Pour consulter l'historique du prix Spot au cours des trois derniers mois, utilisez la console Amazon EC2 ou la commande describe-Spot-price-history (AWS CLI). Pour plus d'informations, consultez Historique de tarification d'instances Spot.

Nous mappons indépendamment les zones de disponibilité avec les codes pour chaque compte AWS. Par conséquent, vous pouvez obtenir des résultats variables pour un même code de zone de disponibilité (par exemple, us-west-2a) entre différents comptes.

Consulter les économies

Vous pouvez afficher les économies réalisées grâce à l'utilisation d'instances Spot pour une seula flotte ponctuelle ou pour toutes les instances Spot. Vous pouvez consulter les économies réalisées au cours de la dernière heure ou des trois derniers jours, ainsi que le coût moyen par heure vCPU et par heure de mémoire (Gio). Les économies sont des estimations et peuvent différer de vos économies réelles, car elles ne tiennent pas compte des ajustements de facturation en fonction de votre utilisation. Pour plus d'informations sur la consultation des informations sur les économies, consultez Économies réalisées grâce à l'achat d'instances Spot.

Consulter les factures

Votre facture fournit des détails sur votre utilisation du service. Pour de plus amples informations, consultez la section Viewing your bill (Affichage d'une facture) dans le Guide de l'utilisateur AWS Billing.

Spot Instances - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud

Spot Instances

A Spot Instance is an instance that uses spare EC2 capacity that is available for less than the On-Demand price. Because Spot Instances enable you to request unused EC2 instances at steep discounts, you can lower your Amazon EC2 costs significantly. The hourly price for a Spot Instance is called a Spot price. The Spot price of each instance type in each Availability Zone is set by Amazon EC2, and is adjusted gradually based on the long-term supply of and demand for Spot Instances. Your Spot Instance runs whenever capacity is available and the maximum price per hour for your request exceeds the Spot price.

Spot Instances are a cost-effective choice if you can be flexible about when your applications run and if your applications can be interrupted. For example, Spot Instances are well-suited for data analysis, batch jobs, background processing, and optional tasks. For more information, see Amazon EC2 Spot Instances.

Topics

Concepts

Before you get started with Spot Instances, you should be familiar with the following concepts:

  • Spot capacity pool – A set of unused EC2 instances with the same instance type (for example, m5.large) and Availability Zone.

  • Spot price – The current price of a Spot Instance per hour.

  • Spot Instance request – Requests a Spot Instance. The request provides the maximum price per hour that you are willing to pay for a Spot Instance. If you don't specify a maximum price, the default maximum price is the On-Demand price. When the maximum price per hour for your request exceeds the Spot price, Amazon EC2 fulfills your request if capacity is available. A Spot Instance request is either one-time or persistent. Amazon EC2 automatically resubmits a persistent Spot Instance request after the Spot Instance associated with the request is terminated.

  • EC2 instance rebalance recommendation - Amazon EC2 emits an instance rebalance recommendation signal to notify you that a Spot Instance is at an elevated risk of interruption. This signal gives you the opportunity to proactively rebalance your workloads across existing or new Spot Instances without having to wait for the two-minute Spot Instance interruption notice.

  • Spot Instance interruption – Amazon EC2 terminates, stops, or hibernates your Spot Instance when Amazon EC2 needs the capacity back or the Spot price exceeds the maximum price for your request. Amazon EC2 provides a Spot Instance interruption notice, which gives the instance a two-minute warning before it is interrupted.

Key differences between Spot Instances and On-Demand Instances

The following table lists the key differences between Spot Instances and On-Demand Instances.

Spot Instances On-Demand Instances

Launch time

Can only be launched immediately if the Spot Instance request is active and capacity is available.

Can only be launched immediately if you make a manual launch request and capacity is available.

Available capacity

If capacity is not available, the Spot Instance request continues to automatically make the launch request until capacity becomes available.

If capacity is not available when you make a launch request, you get an insufficient capacity error (ICE).

Hourly price

The hourly price for Spot Instances varies based on demand.

The hourly price for On-Demand Instances is static.

Rebalance recommendation The signal that Amazon EC2 emits for a running Spot Instance when the instance is at an elevated risk of interruption. You determine when an On-Demand Instance is interrupted (stopped, hibernated, or terminated).

Instance interruption

You can stop and start an Amazon EBS-backed Spot Instance. In addition, the Amazon EC2 Spot service can interrupt an individual Spot Instance if capacity is no longer available, the Spot price exceeds your maximum price, or demand for Spot Instances increases.

You determine when an On-Demand Instance is interrupted (stopped, hibernated, or terminated).

Strategies for using Spot Instances

One strategy is to maintain a minimum level of guaranteed compute resources for your applications by launching a core group of On-Demand Instances, and supplementing them with Spot Instances when the opportunity arises.


					Compare On-Demand and Spot Instances

How to get started

The first thing you need to do is get set up to use Amazon EC2. It can also be helpful to have experience launching On-Demand Instances before launching Spot Instances.

You can provision Spot Instances directly using Amazon EC2. You can also provision Spot Instances using other services in AWS. For more information, see the following documentation.

Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling and Spot Instances

You can create launch templates or configurations with the maximum price that you are willing to pay, so that Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling can launch Spot Instances. For more information, see Requesting Spot Instances for fault-tolerant and flexible applications and Auto Scaling groups with multiple instance types and purchase options in the Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling User Guide.

Amazon EMR and Spot Instances

There are scenarios where it can be useful to run Spot Instances in an Amazon EMR cluster. For more information, see Spot Instances and When Should You Use Spot Instances in the Amazon EMR Management Guide.

AWS CloudFormation templates

AWS CloudFormation enables you to create and manage a collection of AWS resources using a template in JSON format. AWS CloudFormation templates can include the maximum price you are willing to pay. For more information, see EC2 Spot Instance Updates - Auto Scaling and CloudFormation Integration.

AWS SDK for Java

You can use the Java programming language to manage your Spot Instances. For more information, see Tutorial: Amazon EC2 Spot Instances and Tutorial: Advanced Amazon EC2 Spot Request Management.

AWS SDK for .NET

You can use the .NET programming environment to manage your Spot Instances. For more information, see Tutorial: Amazon EC2 Spot Instances.

Pricing and savings

You pay the Spot price for Spot Instances, which is set by Amazon EC2 and adjusted gradually based on the long-term supply of and demand for Spot Instances. If the maximum price for your request exceeds the current Spot price, Amazon EC2 fulfills your request if capacity is available. Your Spot Instances run until you terminate them, capacity is no longer available, the Spot price exceeds your maximum price, or your Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling group terminates them during scale in.

If you or Amazon EC2 interrupts a running Spot Instance, you are charged for the seconds used or the full hour, or you receive no charge, depending on the operating system used and who interrupted the Spot Instance. For more information, see Billing for interrupted Spot Instances.

View prices

To view the current (updated every five minutes) lowest Spot price per AWS Region and instance type, see the Amazon EC2 Spot Instances Pricing page.

To view the Spot price history for the past three months, use the Amazon EC2 console or the describe-spot-price-history command (AWS CLI). For more information, see Spot Instance pricing history.

We independently map Availability Zones to codes for each AWS account. Therefore, you can get different results for the same Availability Zone code (for example, us-west-2a) between different accounts.

View savings

You can view the savings made from using Spot Instances for a single Spot Fleet or for all Spot Instances. You can view the savings made in the last hour or the last three days, and you can view the average cost per vCPU hour and per memory (GiB) hour. Savings are estimated and may differ from actual savings because they do not include the billing adjustments for your usage. For more information about viewing savings information, see Savings from purchasing Spot Instances.

View billing

Your bill provides details about your service usage. For more information, see Viewing your bill in the AWS Billing and Cost Management User Guide.