主機復原 - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud

主機復原

如果在您的專用執行個體上偵測到特定問題狀況,專用執行個體自動復原會自動將您的執行個體重新啟動到新的替代主機。若有關於系統電源或網路連線事件的非預期專用執行個體失敗,主機復原可減少手動介入的需要,並降低操作負擔。其他專用執行個體問題將需要手動介入才能從中復原。

主機復原基本概念

專用執行個體和主機資源群組復原程序會使用主機層級運作狀態檢查,來存取專用執行個體可用性,以及偵測基礎系統失敗。專用執行個體失敗的類型決定專用執行個體自動復原是否可行。導致主機層級運作狀態檢查失敗的問題範例包括:

  • 網路連線中斷

  • 系統電力中斷

  • 實體主機上的硬體或軟體問題

重要

主機排定為淘汰時,不會發生專用執行個體自動復原。

專用執行個體自動復原

在您的專用執行個體上偵測到系統電源或網路連線失敗時,會初始化專用執行個體自動復原,並且 Amazon EC2 會自動配置替代的 專用執行個體。替代的 專用執行個體 會收到新的主機 ID,但保留與原始 專用執行個體 相同的屬性,包括:

  • 可用區域

  • 執行個體類型

  • 標籤

  • 自動配置設定

  • 保留

當配置替代的專用執行個體時,會將執行個體復原至替代的專用執行個體。復原的執行個體會保留與原始執行個體相同的屬性,包括:

  • 執行個體 ID

  • 私有 IP 地址

  • 彈性 IP 地址

  • EBS 磁碟區連接

  • 所有執行個體中繼資料

此外,與 AWS License Manager 的內建整合會將授權的追蹤和管理自動化。

注意

AWS License Manager 整合僅在 AWS License Manager 可用的區域中支援。

如果執行個體與受損的 專用執行個體 具有主機親和性關係,復原的執行個體會與替代的 專用執行個體 建立主機親和性。

當所有執行個體都已復原至替代的 專用執行個體 上時,受損的 專用執行個體 會被釋出,並且替代的 專用執行個體 會變得可供使用。

初始化主機復原時,AWS 帳戶擁有者會透過電子郵件和 AWS Health Dashboard 事件收到通知。在主機復原已成功完成時,會傳送第二個通知。

如果您使用 AWS License Manager 來追蹤您的授權,AWS License Manager 會根據授權組態限制,為替代的專用執行個體分配新的授權。如果授權組態具有將因為主機復原而違反的硬性限制,將不會允許該復原程序,並且將透過 Amazon SNS 通知來通知您主機復原失敗 (如果已針對 AWS License Manager 設定通知設定)。如果授權組態具有將因為主機復原而違反的軟性限制,將會允許繼續復原,並且將透過 Amazon SNS 通知來通知您相關的限制違反。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 AWS License Manager 使用者指南中的使用授權組態License Manager 中的設定

沒有專用執行個體自動復原的案例

主機排定為淘汰時,不會發生專用執行個體自動復原。您將在 AWS Health Dashboard (Amazon CloudWatch 事件) 中收到淘汰通知,而且 AWS 帳戶擁有者電子郵件地址會收到關於專用執行個體失敗的訊息。請在指定的時間段內遵循淘汰通知中所述的補救步驟,以手動復原淘汰主機中的執行個體。

已停止的執行個體不會復原到替代的 專用執行個體 上。如果您嘗試啟動以受損的 專用執行個體 為目標的停止的執行個體,該執行個體啟動會失敗。建議您將已停止的執行個體修改為以不同的 專用執行個體 為目標,或是在具有相符組態並且已啟用自動配置的任何可用的 專用執行個體 上啟動。

具有執行個體儲存體的執行個體不會復原到替代的專用執行個體上。作為補救措施,會將受損的 專用執行個體 標示為供淘汰,並且您會在主機復原完成之後收到淘汰通知。請在指定的時間期間內遵循淘汰通知中所述的補救步驟,以手動復原受損的 專用執行個體 上其餘的執行個體。

支援的執行個體類型

下列執行個體系列支援主機復原:A1、C3、C4、C5、C5n、C6a、C6g、C6i、Inf1、G2、G3、G5g、M3、M4、M5、M5n、M5zn、M6a、M6g、M6i、P2、P3、R3、R4、R5、R5b、R5n、R6g、R6i、T3、X1、X1e、X2iezn、u-6tb1、u-9tb1、u-12tb1、u-18tb1 和 u-24tb1。

若要復原不受支援的執行個體,請參閱手動復原不支援的執行個體

注意

支援的金屬執行個體類型的專用執行個體自動復原將需要比非金屬執行個體類型更長的時間來偵測和復原。

設定主機復原

您可以在專用執行個體分配時或是在分配之後使用 Amazon EC2 主控台或 AWS Command Line Interface (CLI) 來設定主機復原。

啟用主機復原

您可以在 專用執行個體 配置時或在配置之後啟用主機復原。

如需在 專用執行個體 配置時啟用主機復原的詳細資訊,請參閱 配置 專用執行個體

使用主控台在配置之後啟用主機復原

  1. https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/ 開啟 Amazon EC2 主控台。

  2. 在導覽窗格中,選擇 專用主機

  3. 選取要為其啟用主機復原的 專用執行個體,然後選擇 Actions (動作)Modify Host Recovery (修改主機復原)

  4. 對於 Host recovery (主機復原),選擇 Enable (啟用),然後選擇 Save (儲存)

使用 AWS CLI 在配置之後啟用主機復原

使用 modify-hosts 命令,並指定 host-recovery 參數。

$ aws ec2 modify-hosts --host-recovery on --host-ids h-012a3456b7890cdef

停用主機復原

您可以在 專用執行個體 配置之後隨時停用主機復原。

使用主控台在配置之後停用主機復原

  1. https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/ 開啟 Amazon EC2 主控台。

  2. 在導覽窗格中,選擇 專用主機

  3. 選取要為其停用主機復原的 專用執行個體,然後選擇 Actions (動作)Modify Host Recovery (修改主機復原)

  4. 對於 Host recovery (主機復原),選擇 Disable (停用),然後選擇 Save (儲存)

使用 AWS CLI 在配置之後停用主機復原

使用 modify-hosts 命令,並指定 host-recovery 參數。

$ aws ec2 modify-hosts --host-recovery off --host-ids h-012a3456b7890cdef

檢視主機復原組態

您可以隨時檢視 專用執行個體 的主機復原組態。

使用主控台檢視 專用執行個體 的主機復原組態

  1. https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/ 開啟 Amazon EC2 主控台。

  2. 在導覽窗格中,選擇 專用主機

  3. 選取 專用執行個體,並在 Description (描述) 索引標籤中,檢閱 Host Recovery (主機復原) 欄位。

使用 AWS CLI 檢視專用執行個體的主機復原組態

使用 describe-hosts 命令。

$ aws ec2 describe-hosts --host-ids h-012a3456b7890cdef

HostRecovery 回應元素指出主機復原是否已啟用或已停用。

主機復原狀態

偵測到專用執行個體失敗時,受損的專用執行個體會進入 under-assessment 狀態,並且所有執行個體會進入 impaired 狀態。當受損的 專用執行個體 處於 under-assessment 狀態時,您無法對其啟動執行個體。

配置替代的 專用執行個體 之後,它會進入 pending 狀態。在主機復原程序完成之前,它會保持在此狀態。當替代的 專用執行個體 處於 pending 狀態時,您無法對其啟動執行個體。在復原程序期間,替代的 專用執行個體 上復原的執行個體會維持為 impaired 狀態。

在主機復原完成之後,替代的 專用執行個體 會進入 available 狀態,而復原的執行個體會回到 running 狀態。當替代的 專用執行個體 進入 available 狀態時,您可以對其啟動執行個體。原始受損的 專用執行個體 會永久釋出並且進入 released-permanent-failure 狀態。

如果受損的 專用執行個體 具有不支援主機復原的執行個體,例如具備執行個體存放區磁碟區的執行個體,則不會釋出 專用執行個體。而是會將它標記為供淘汰,並進入 permanent-failure 狀態。

手動復原不支援的執行個體

主機復原不支援復原使用執行個體存放區磁碟區的執行個體。遵循以下的指示來手動復原您無法自動復原的任何執行個體。

警告

位在執行個體存放區磁碟區的資料都會在執行個體停止、休眠或終止時遺失。這包含連接到根設備為 EBS 磁碟區之執行個體的執行個體存放區磁碟區。若要保護執行個體存放區磁碟區的資料,請在執行個體停止或終止之前,將資料備份至持久性儲存。

手動復原 EBS 後端執行個體

對於無法自動復原的 EBS 後端執行個體,建議您手動停止並啟動執行個體,以將它們復原至新的 專用執行個體。如需停止您執行個體的詳細資訊,以及在停止時您執行個體組態中發生的變更,請參閱停止和啟動執行個體

手動復原執行個體存放區後端執行個體

對於無法自動復原的執行個體存放區後端執行個體,建議您執行下列:

  1. 從您的最近的 AMI 的新 專用執行個體 上啟動替代的執行個體。

  2. 將所有必要資料遷移至替代的執行個體。

  3. 終止受損的 專用執行個體 上的原始執行個體。

專用執行個體 已與下列服務整合:

  • AWS License Manager – 追蹤您的 Amazon EC2 專用執行個體間的授權 (僅在 AWS License Manager 可用的區域中支援)。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 AWS License Manager 使用者指南

定價

使用主機復原沒有額外的費用,但適用一般的 專用執行個體 費用。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 Amazon EC2 專用執行個體定價

一旦初始化主機復原,將不再就受損的 專用執行個體 向您收費。替代專用執行個體的計費方式只會在進入 available 狀態之後開始。

如果受損的 專用執行個體 是使用隨需費率計費,則替代的 專用執行個體 也會使用隨需費率計費。如果受損的 專用執行個體 有作用中 專用執行個體預留,則會傳輸到替代的 專用執行個體。

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud
User Guide for Windows Instances

The AWS Documentation website is getting a new look!
Try it now and let us know what you think. Switch to the new look >>

You can return to the original look by selecting English in the language selector above.

Host Recovery

Host recovery automatically restarts your instances on to a new replacement host if failures are detected on your Dedicated Host. Host recovery reduces the need for manual intervention and lowers the operational burden if there is an unexpected Dedicated Host failure.

Additionally, built-in integration with AWS License Manager automates the tracking and management of your licenses if a host recovery occurs.

Note

AWS License Manager integration is supported only in Regions in which AWS License Manager is available.

Host Recovery Basics

Host recovery uses host-level health checks to assess Dedicated Host availability and to detect underlying system failures. Examples of problems that can cause host-level health checks to fail include:

  • Loss of network connectivity

  • Loss of system power

  • Hardware or software issues on the physical host

When a system failure is detected on your Dedicated Host, host recovery is initiated and Amazon EC2 automatically allocates a replacement Dedicated Host. The replacement Dedicated Host receives a new host ID, but retains the same attributes as the original Dedicated Host, including:

  • Availability Zone

  • Instance type

  • Tags

  • Auto placement settings

After the replacement Dedicated Host is allocated, the instances are recovered on to the replacement Dedicated Host. The recovered instances retain the same attributes as the original instances, including:

  • Instance ID

  • Private IP addresses

  • Elastic IP addresses

  • EBS volume attachments

  • All instance metadata

If instances have a host affinity relationship with the impaired Dedicated Host, the recovered instances establish host affinity with the replacement Dedicated Host.

When all of the instances have been recovered on to the replacement Dedicated Host, the impaired Dedicated Host is released, and the replacement Dedicated Host becomes available for use.

When host recovery is initiated, the AWS account owner is notified by email and by an AWS Personal Health Dashboard event. A second notification is sent after the host recovery has been successfully completed.

Stopped instances are not recovered on to the replacement Dedicated Host. If you attempt to start a stopped instance that targets the impaired Dedicated Host, the instance start fails. We recommend that you modify the stopped instance to either target a different Dedicated Host, or to launch on any available Dedicated Host with matching configurations and auto-placement enabled.

If you are using AWS License Manager to track your licenses, AWS License Manager allocates new licenses for the replacement Dedicated Host based on the license configuration limits. If the license configuration has hard limits that will be breached as a result of the host recovery, the recovery process is not allowed and you are notified of the host recovery failure through an Amazon SNS notification. If the license configuration has soft limits that will be breached as a result of the host recovery, the recovery is allowed to continue and you are notified of the limit breach through an Amazon SNS notification. For more information about setting license configuration limits, see Using License Configurations in the AWS License Manager User Guide.

Configuring Host Recovery

You can configure host recovery at the time of Dedicated Host allocation, or after allocation using the Amazon EC2 console or AWS Command Line Interface (CLI).

Enabling Host Recovery

You can enable host recovery at the time of Dedicated Host allocation or after allocation.

For more information about enabling host recovery at the time of Dedicated Host allocation, see Allocating Dedicated Hosts.

To enable host recovery after allocation (Console)

  1. Open the Amazon EC2 console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Dedicated Hosts.

  3. Select the Dedicated Host for which to enable host recovery, and then choose Actions, Modify Host Recovery.

  4. For Host recovery, choose Enable, and then choose Save.

To enable host recovery after allocation (AWS CLI)

Use the modify-hosts command and specify the host-recovery parameter.

$ aws ec2 modify-hosts --host-recovery on --host-ids h-1234567890

Disabling Host Recovery

You can disable host recovery at any time after the Dedicated Host has been allocated.

To disable host recovery after allocation (Console)

  1. Open the Amazon EC2 console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Dedicated Hosts.

  3. Select the Dedicated Host for which to disable host recovery, and then choose Actions, Modify Host Recovery.

  4. For Host recovery, choose Disable, and then choose Save.

To disable host recovery after allocation (AWS CLI)

Use the modify-hosts command and specify the host-recovery parameter.

$ aws ec2 modify-hosts --host-recovery off --host-ids h-1234567890

Viewing Host Recovery Configuration

You can view the host recovery configuration for a Dedicated Host at any time.

To view the host recovery configuration for a Dedicated Host (Console)

  1. Open the Amazon EC2 console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Dedicated Hosts.

  3. Select the Dedicated Host, and in the Description tab, review the Host Recovery field.

To view the host recovery configuration for a Dedicated Host (AWS CLI)

Use the describe-hosts command.

$ aws ec2 describe-hosts --host-ids h-1234567890

The HostRecovery response element indicates whether host recovery is enabled or disabled.

Host Recovery States

When a Dedicated Host failure is detected, the impaired Dedicated Host enters the under-assessment state, and all of the instances enter the impaired state. You cannot launch instances on to the impaired Dedicated Host while it is in the under-assessment state.

After the replacement Dedicated Host is allocated, it enters the pending state. It remains in this state until the host recovery process is complete. You cannot launch instances on to the replacement Dedicated Host while it is in the pending state. Recovered instances on the replacement Dedicated Host remain in the impaired state during the recovery process.

After the host recovery is complete, the replacement Dedicated Host enters the available state, and the recovered instances return to the running state. You can launch instances on to the replacement Dedicated Host after it enters the available state. The original impaired Dedicated Host is permanently released and it enters the released-permanent-failure state.

If the impaired Dedicated Host has instances that do not support host recovery, such as instances with instance store-backed volumes, the Dedicated Host is not released. Instead, it is marked for retirement and enters the permanent-failure state.

Supported Instance Configurations

Host recovery is supported only on Dedicated Hosts that are configured for instances with the following characteristics:

  • Use any instance type, except C5d, M5d, R5d, F1, H1, D2, I2, I3, I3en, P3dn, Z1d, and bare metal instances

  • Run in an Amazon VPC

  • Use Amazon EBS volumes only

    Note

    If the impaired Dedicated Host has instances with block device mappings for instance store volumes that do not support host recovery, they remain on the impaired Dedicated Host and are not automatically recovered on to the replacement Dedicated Host during recovery. As a remedial measure, the impaired Dedicated Host is marked for retirement and you receive a retirement notification after the host recovery is complete. Follow the remedial steps described in the retirement notification within the specified time period to manually recover the remaining instances on the impaired Dedicated Host. For more information, see Manually Recovering Unsupported Instances.

Manually Recovering Unsupported Instances

Host recovery does not support recovering instances that use instance store volumes. Follow the instructions below to manually recover any of your instances that could not be automatically recovered.

Warning

Data on instance store volumes is lost when an instance is stopped or terminated. This includes instance store volumes that are attached to an instance that has an EBS volume as the root device. To keep data from instance store volumes, back it up to persistent storage before the instance is stopped or terminated.

Manually Recovering EBS-Backed Instances

For EBS-backed instances that could not be automatically recovered, we recommend that you manually stop and start the instances to recover them onto a new Dedicated Host. For more information about stopping your instance, and about the changes that occur in your instance configuration when it's stopped, see Stop and Start Your Instance.

Manually Recovering Instance Store-Backed Instances

For instance store-backed instances that could not be automatically recovered, we recommend that you do the following:

  1. Launch a replacement instance on a new Dedicated Host from your most recent AMI.

  2. Migrate all of the necessary data to the replacement instance.

  3. Terminate the original instance on the impaired Dedicated Host.

Dedicated Host integrates with the following AWS services:

  • AWS License Manager—Tracks licenses across your Amazon EC2 Dedicated Hosts (supported only in Regions in which AWS License Manager is available). For more information, see the AWS License Manager User Guide.

Pricing

There are no additional charges for using host recovery, but the usual Dedicated Host charges apply. For more information, see Amazon EC2 Dedicated Hosts Pricing.

As soon as host recovery is initiated, you are no longer billed for the impaired Dedicated Host. Billing for the replacement Dedicated Host begins only after it enters the available state.

If the impaired Dedicated Host was billed using the On-Demand rate, the replacement Dedicated Host is also billed using the On-Demand rate. If the impaired Dedicated Host had an active Dedicated Host Reservation, it is transferred to the replacement Dedicated Host.