作業系統最佳化 - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud

作業系統最佳化

為了在執行個體上達到使用增強型聯網的最大網路效能,您可能需要修改預設的作業系統組態。建議您針對需要高網路效能的應用程式進行下列組態變更。其他最佳化 (例如開啟檢查總和卸載和啟用 RSS) 已經在官方 Windows AMI 上執行。

注意

大多數使用案例都應該停用 TCP 煙囪卸載;此功能在 Windows Server 2016 中已被移除。

除了這些作業系統最佳化以外,您也應該考慮網路流量的最大傳輸單位 (MTU),並根據您的工作負載和網路架構來調整。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 EC2 執行個體的網路最大傳輸單位 (MTU)

AWS 會定期測量在 50us 叢集置放群組中啟動的執行個體之間的平均來回延遲,以及 99.9 百分位數的 200us 尾端延遲。如果您的應用程式需要始終很低的延遲,我們建議在 Nitro 系統中建構的固定效能執行個體上使用最新版本的 ENA 驅動程式。

設定 RSS CPU 親和性

接收端調整 (RSS) 可用來將網路流量 CPU 負載分配至多個處理器。根據預設,Amazon 官方 Windows AMI 會設為啟用 RSS。ENA ENI 最多提供 8 個 RSS 佇列。藉由為 RSS 佇列以及其他系統處理程序定義 CPU 親和性,您可以將 CPU 負載分配至多核心系統,以便處理更多網路流量。在 16 vCPU 以上的執行個體類型,我們建議使用 Set-NetAdapterRSS PowerShell cmdlet (Windows Server 2012 和更新版本皆有提供),藉以為所有 ENI 排除 RSS 組態的開機處理器 (超執行緒啟用時為邏輯處理器 0 和 1),以免與各種系統元件競爭。

Windows 會察覺超執行緒,並確保單一 NIC 的 RSS 佇列總是置於不同的實體核心。因此,除非停用超執行緒,否則為了完全避免與 NIC 競爭,會將各 NIC 的 RSS 組態分配在 16 個邏輯處理器之間。Set-NetAdapterRss cmdlet 可讓您定義 BaseProcessorGroup、BaseProcessorNumber、MaxProcessingGroup、MaxProcessorNumber 和 NumaNode (選用) 的值,以定義有效邏輯處理器的各 NIC 範圍。如果無足夠的實體核心可以完全消除 NIC 間的競爭,視 ENI 預期的工作負載而定,請盡量減少重疊範圍,或減少 ENI 範圍中的邏輯處理器數量 (換言之,少量管理網路 ENI 可能不需要許多已指派的 RSS 佇列)。此外,如先前所述,各種元件必須在 CPU 0 上執行,因此當可使用足夠的 vCPU 時,我們建議從所有 RSS 組態中加以排除。

例如,當有 2 個 NUMA 節點並啟用超執行緒的 72 vCPU 執行個體出現三個 ENI 時,下列命令會將網路負載分配在兩顆 CPU 之間,而不會重疊並避免完全使用核心 0。

Set-NetAdapterRss -Name NIC1 -BaseProcessorGroup 0 -BaseProcessorNumber 2 -MaxProcessorNumber 16 Set-NetAdapterRss -Name NIC2 -BaseProcessorGroup 1 -BaseProcessorNumber 0 -MaxProcessorNumber 14 Set-NetAdapterRss -Name NIC3 -BaseProcessorGroup 1 -BaseProcessorNumber 16 -MaxProcessorNumber 30

注意,這些設定對於每個網路轉接器都是持續有效。如果有個執行個體調整大小成不同 vCPU 數的執行個體,您應針對每個已啟用 ENI 重新評估 RSS 組態。您可於以下網站找到 Set-NetAdapterRss cmdlet 完整的 Microsoft 文件:https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/powershell/module/netadapter/set-netadapterrss

SQL 工作負載的特別注意事項:我們還建議您檢查輸入/輸出執行緒同質性設定和 ENI RSS 組態,以盡量減少相同 CPU 的輸入/輸出和網路爭用。請參閱 親和性遮罩伺服器組態選項

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud
User Guide for Windows Instances

The AWS Documentation website is getting a new look!
Try it now and let us know what you think. Switch to the new look >>

You can return to the original look by selecting English in the language selector above.

Operating System Optimizations

To achieve the maximum network performance on instances with enhanced networking, you may need to modify the default operating system configuration. We recommend the following configuration changes for applications that require high network performance.Other optimizations (such as turning on checksum offloading and enabling RSS, for example) are already in place on official Windows AMIs.

Note

TCP chimney offloading should be disabled in most use cases, and has been deprecated as of Windows Server 2016.

In addition to these operating system optimizations, you should also consider the maximum transmission unit (MTU) of your network traffic, and adjust according to your workload and network architecture. For more information, see Network Maximum Transmission Unit (MTU) for Your EC2 Instance.

AWS regularly measures average round trip latencies between instances launched in a cluster placement group of 50us and tail latencies of 200us at the 99.9 percentile. If your applications require consistently low latencies, we recommend using the latest version of the ENA drivers on fixed performance Nitro-based instances.

Configure RSS CPU Affinity

Receive side scaling (RSS) is used to distribute network traffic CPU load across multiple processors. By default, the official Amazon Windows AMIs are configured with RSS enabled. ENA ENIs provide up to eight RSS queues. By defining CPU affinity for RSS queues, as well as for other system processes, it is possible to spread the CPU load out over multi-core systems, enabling more network traffic to be processed. On instance types with more than 16 vCPUs, we recommend you use the Set-NetAdapterRSS PowerShell cmdlt (available from Windows Server 2012 and later), which manually excludes the boot processor (logical processor 0 and 1 when hyper-threading is enabled) from the RSS configuration for all ENIs, in order to prevent contention with various system components.

Windows is hyper-thread aware and will ensure the RSS queues of a single NIC are always placed on different physical cores. Therefore, unless hyper-threading is disabled, in order to completely prevent contention with other NICs, spread the RSS configuration of each NIC between a range of 16 logical processors. The Set-NetAdapterRss cmdlt allows you to define the per-NIC range of valid logical processors by defining the values of BaseProcessorGroup, BaseProcessorNumber, MaxProcessingGroup, MaxProcessorNumber, and NumaNode (optional). If there are not enough physical cores to completely eliminate inter-NIC contention, minimize the overlapping ranges or reduce the number of logical processors in the ENI ranges depending on the expected workload of the ENI (in other words, a low volume admin network ENI may not need as many RSS queues assigned). Also, as noted above, various components must run on CPU 0, and therefore we recommend excluding it from all RSS configurations when sufficient vCPUs are available.

For example, when there are three ENIs on a 72 vCPU instance with 2 NUMA nodes with hyper-threading enabled, the following commands spread the network load between the two CPUs without overlap and preventthe use of core 0 completely.

Set-NetAdapterRss -Name NIC1 -BaseProcessorGroup 0 -BaseProcessorNumber 2 -MaxProcessorNumber 16 Set-NetAdapterRss -Name NIC2 -BaseProcessorGroup 1 -BaseProcessorNumber 0 -MaxProcessorNumber 14 Set-NetAdapterRss -Name NIC3 -BaseProcessorGroup 1 -BaseProcessorNumber 16 -MaxProcessorNumber 30

Note that these settings are persistent for each network adapter. If an instance is resized to one with a different number of vCPUs, you should reevaluate the RSS configuration for each enabled ENI. The complete Microsoft documentation for the Set-NetAdapterRss cmdlt can be found here: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/powershell/module/netadapter/set-netadapterrss.

Special note for SQL workloads: We also recommend that you review your IO thread affinity settings along with your ENI RSS configuration to minimize IO and network contention for the same CPUs. See affinity mask Server Configuration Option.