在 Windows 執行個體上安裝 NVIDIA 驅動程式 - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud

Windows 執行個體上安裝 NVIDIA 驅動程式

已連接 NVIDIA GPU 的執行個體 (例如 P3 或 G4dn 執行個體) 必須安裝適當的 NVIDIA 驅動程式。根據執行個體類型,您可以下載公有 NVIDIA 驅動程式、從僅適用於 AWS 客戶的 Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 下載驅動程式,或將 AMI 與預先安裝的驅動程式搭配使用。

若要在已連接 AMD GPU 的 Linux 執行個體 (例如 G4ad 執行個體) 上安裝 AMD 驅動程式,請改為參閱安裝 AMD 驅動程式若要在 Linux 執行個體上安裝 NVIDIA 驅動程式,請參閱在 Linux 執行個體上安裝 NVIDIA 驅動程式

NVIDIA 驅動程式類型

以下是可與以 GPU 為基礎之執行個體搭配使用的主要 NVIDIA 驅動程式類型。

Tesla 驅動程式

這些驅動程式主要用於運算工作負載,將 GPU 用於平行化浮點計算等運算任務,以進行機器學習,以及用於高效能運算應用程式的快速 Fourier 轉換。

GRID 驅動程式

這些驅動程式經過認證,可為轉譯 3D 模型或高解析度影片等內容的專業視覺化應用程式提供最佳效能。您可以將 GRID 驅動程式設定為支援兩種模式。Quadro 虛擬工作站可提供每個 GPU 四個 4K 顯示器的存取權限。GRID vApp 可提供 RDSH 應用程式託管功能。

遊戲驅動程式

這些驅動程式包含遊戲的最佳化功能,而且經常更新,可提供效能增強功能。它們支援每個 GPU 一個 4K 顯示器。

設定的模式

在 Windows 上,Tesla 驅動程式是設定為在 Tesla Compute Cluster (TCC) 模式下執行。GRID 和遊戲驅動程式是設定為在 Windows Display Driver Model (WDDM) 模式下執行。在 TCC 模式下,卡片可供運算工作負載專用。在 WDDM 模式下,卡片可同時支援運算和圖形工作負載。

NVIDIA 控制面板

GRID 和遊戲驅動程式不支援 NVIDIA 控制面板。Tesla 驅動程式不支援此面板。

適用於 Tesla 驅動程式的支援 API

  • OpenCL

  • NVIDIA CUDA 和相關程式庫 (例如 cuDNN、TensorRT、nvJPEG 和 cuBLAS)

  • 適用於影片編碼的 NVENC 以及適用於影片解碼的 NVDEC

適用於 GRID 和遊戲驅動程式的支援 API

  • DirectX、Direct2D、DirectX Video Acceleration、DirectX Raytracing

  • OpenCL、OpenGL 和 Vulkan

  • NVIDIA CUDA 和相關程式庫 (例如 cuDNN、TensorRT、nvJPEG 和 cuBLAS)

  • 適用於影片編碼的 NVENC 以及適用於影片解碼的 NVDEC

依執行個體類型分類的可用驅動程式

下表摘述每種 GPU 執行個體類型的支援 NVIDIA 驅動程式。

執行個體類型 Tesla 驅動程式 GRID 驅動程式 遊戲驅動程式
G2
G3
G4dn
G5
P2
P3 是 ²

¹ 此 Tesla 驅動程式也支援 ARM64 平台專屬的最佳化圖形應用程式。

安裝選項

使用下列其中一個選項,取得 GPU 執行個體所需的 NVIDIA 驅動程式。

AWS 和 NVIDIA 提供已安裝 NVIDIA 驅動程式的不同 Amazon Machine Image (AMI)。

如果您使用其中一個 AWS Marketplace 供應項目建立自訂 Windows AMI,則 AMI 必須是使用 Sysprep 建立的標準化映像,以確保 GRID 驅動程式能夠正常運作。

AWS 提供的選項隨附驅動程式所需的授權。或者,您可以安裝公用驅動程式並攜帶自己的授權。若要安裝公用驅動程式,請依照此處所述從 NVIDIA 網站下載。

或者,您可以使用 AWS 提供的選項,而不是公有驅動程式。若要在 P3 執行個體上使用 GRID 驅動程式,請使用選項 1中所述的 AWS Marketplace AMI。若要在 G5、G4dn 或 G3 執行個體上使用 GRID 驅動程式,請依選項 1 中所述使用 AWS Marketplace AMI,或依選項 3 中所述安裝 AWS 提供的 NVIDIA 驅動程式。

下載公用 NVIDIA 驅動程式

登入 Windows 執行個體,並從 http://www.nvidia.com/Download/Find.aspx 下載適用於執行個體類型的 64 位元 NVIDIA 驅動程式。對於產品類型產品系列產品,請使用下表中的選項。

執行個體 產品類型 產品系列 產品
G2 GRID GRID 系列 GRID K520
G3 Tesla M-Class M60
G4dn Tesla T 系列 T4
G5 ¹ Tesla A 系列 A10
P2 Tesla K 系列 K80
P3 Tesla V 系列 V100

¹ G5 執行個體需要驅動程式版本 470.00 或更新版本。

在 Windows 上安裝 NVIDIA 驅動程式

  1. 開啟您下載驅動程式的所在資料夾,並啟動安裝檔案。依照指示安裝驅動程式,並視需要將執行個體重新開機。

  2. 使用裝置管理員停用內建的顯示轉接器。安裝這些 Windows 功能:Media FoundationQuality Windows Audio Video Experience (高品質 Windows 音訊/視訊體驗)。

  3. 檢查裝置管理員,確認 GPU 是否正常運作。

  4. 若要達到 GPU 的最佳效能,請完成最佳化 GPU 設定中的最佳化步驟。

這些下載僅供 AWS 客戶使用。下載即表示您同意下載的軟體,只會用來開發 AMIs,以搭配 NVIDIA A10G、NVIDIA Tesla T4 或 NVIDIA Tesla M60 硬體使用,而不做其他用途。安裝軟體時,您必須遵循 NVIDIA GRID 雲端最終使用者授權合約的條款。

先決條件

  • 如果您使用自訂的 Windows AMI 啟動 Windows 執行個體,AMI 必須是使用 Sysprep 建立的標準化映像,以確保 GRID 驅動程式能夠正常運作。

  • 在 Windows 執行個體上為您的 AWS Tools for Windows PowerShell 設定預設登入資料。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 AWS Tools for Windows PowerShell 使用者指南AWS Tools for Windows PowerShell 入門

  • IAM 使用者必須擁有由 AmazonS3ReadOnlyAccess 政策授與的許可。如需詳細資訊,請參閱《Amazon Simple Storage Service 使用者指南》中的 AWS 受管政策:AmazonS3ReadOnlyAccess

  • G3 執行個體需要 AWS 提供的 DNS 解析,這樣 GRID 授權才能運作。

  • 僅 14.0 版或更高版本的 NVIDIA 驅動程式支援 IMDSv2

在 Windows 執行個體上安裝 NVIDIA GRID 驅動程式

  1. 連接至 Windows 執行個體,然後開啟 PowerShell 視窗。

  2. 使用下列 PowerShell 命令,將驅動程式和 NVIDIA GRID 雲端最終使用者授權合約從 Amazon S3 下載至您的桌面。

    $Bucket = "ec2-windows-nvidia-drivers" $KeyPrefix = "latest" $LocalPath = "$home\Desktop\NVIDIA" $Objects = Get-S3Object -BucketName $Bucket -KeyPrefix $KeyPrefix -Region us-east-1 foreach ($Object in $Objects) { $LocalFileName = $Object.Key if ($LocalFileName -ne '' -and $Object.Size -ne 0) { $LocalFilePath = Join-Path $LocalPath $LocalFileName Copy-S3Object -BucketName $Bucket -Key $Object.Key -LocalFile $LocalFilePath -Region us-east-1 } }

    此儲存貯體會保留 NVIDIA GRID 驅動程式的多個版本。您可以移除 -KeyPrefix $KeyPrefix 選項,來下載儲存貯體中的所有可用版本。

    從 GRID 版本 11.0 開始,您可以針對 G3 和 G4dn 執行個體使用 latest 下的驅動程式。我們不會將 11.0 之後的版本新增至 g4/latest,但會將版本 11.0 和 G4dn 專用的舊版保留在 g4/latest 下。

    G5 執行個體需要 GRID 13.1 或更新版本 (或 GRID 12.4 或更新版本)。

  3. 導覽至桌面並按兩下安裝檔案予以啟動 (選擇與您的執行個體 OS 版本對應的驅動程式版本)。依照指示安裝驅動程式,並視需要將執行個體重新開機。若要確認 GPU 是否正常運作,請檢查裝置管理員。

  4. (選用) 使用下列命令在控制面板中停用授權頁面,以防止使用者意外變更產品類型 (NVIDIA GRID 虛擬工作站預設為啟用)。如需詳細資訊,請參閱《GRID 授權使用者指南》。

    New-ItemProperty -Path "HKLM:\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global\GridLicensing" -Name "NvCplDisableManageLicensePage" -PropertyType "DWord" -Value "1"
  5. (選用) 視您的使用案例而定,您可能會完成下列選用步驟。如果您不需要這項功能,請勿完成這些步驟。

    1. 為了協助善加利用最高 4K 解析度的四個顯示器,請設定高效能顯示器通訊協定 NICE DCV

    2. 預設會啟用 NVIDIA Quadro 虛擬工作站。若要針對主控功能的 RDSH 應用程式啟動 GRID 虛擬應用程式,請完成啟用 NVIDIA GRID 虛擬應用程式中的 GRID 虛擬應用程式啟動步驟。

這些驅動程式僅適用於 AWS 客戶。下載即表示您同意下載的軟體,只會用來開發 AMI,以搭配 NVIDIA A10G 和 NVIDIA Tesla T4 硬體使用,而不做其他用途。安裝軟體時,您必須遵循 NVIDIA GRID 雲端最終使用者授權合約的條款。

先決條件

  • 如果您使用自訂的 Windows AMI 啟動 Windows 執行個體,AMI 必須是使用 Sysprep 建立的標準化映像,以確保遊戲驅動程式能夠正常運作。

  • 在 Windows 執行個體上為您的 AWS Tools for Windows PowerShell 設定預設登入資料。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 AWS Tools for Windows PowerShell 使用者指南AWS Tools for Windows PowerShell 入門

  • IAM 使用者必須擁有由 AmazonS3ReadOnlyAccess 政策授與的許可。如需詳細資訊,請參閱《Amazon Simple Storage Service 使用者指南》中的 AWS 受管政策:AmazonS3ReadOnlyAccess

  • G3 執行個體需要 AWS 提供的 DNS 解析,這樣 GRID 授權才能運作。

  • 僅版 495.x 版或更高版本的 NVIDIA 驅動程式支援 IMDSv2

在 Windows 執行個體上安裝 NVIDIA 遊戲驅動程式

  1. 連接至 Windows 執行個體,然後開啟 PowerShell 視窗。

  2. 使用下列 PowerShell 命令下載並安裝遊戲驅動程式。

    $Bucket = "nvidia-gaming" $KeyPrefix = "windows/latest" $LocalPath = "$home\Desktop\NVIDIA" $Objects = Get-S3Object -BucketName $Bucket -KeyPrefix $KeyPrefix -Region us-east-1 foreach ($Object in $Objects) { $LocalFileName = $Object.Key if ($LocalFileName -ne '' -and $Object.Size -ne 0) { $LocalFilePath = Join-Path $LocalPath $LocalFileName Copy-S3Object -BucketName $Bucket -Key $Object.Key -LocalFile $LocalFilePath -Region us-east-1 } }

    此 S3 儲存貯體會保留 NVIDIA GRID 驅動程式的多個版本。您可以移除 -KeyPrefix $KeyPrefix 選項,來下載儲存貯體中的所有可用版本。

  3. 導覽至桌面並按兩下安裝檔案予以啟動 (選擇與您的執行個體 OS 版本對應的驅動程式版本)。依照指示安裝驅動程式,並視需要將執行個體重新開機。若要確認 GPU 是否正常運作,請檢查裝置管理員。

  4. 在 HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global 金鑰中建立登錄值,名稱為 vGamingMarketplace、類型 DWORD,以及值 2。您可以使用命令提示字元視窗或 64 位元版本的 PowerShell,如下所示。

    • 使用下列 PowerShell 命令來建立此登錄值。根據預設,AWS Windows AMI 中的 AWS Tools for PowerShell 是 32 位元版本,因此該命令會失敗。請改用作業系統隨附的 64 位元版本 PowerShell。

      New-ItemProperty -Path "HKLM:\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global" -Name "vGamingMarketplace" -PropertyType "DWord" -Value "2"
    • 使用下列登錄命令來建立此登錄值。您可以使用「命令提示字元」視窗或 64 位元版本的 PowerShell 來執行它。

      reg add "HKLM\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global" /v vGamingMarketplace /t REG_DWORD /d 2
  5. 在 PowerShell 中執行下列命令。這會下載認證檔案、重新命名檔案 GridSwCert.txt,並將檔案移至系統磁碟機上的 Public Documents (公用文件) 資料夾。通常,資料夾路徑為 C:\Users\Public\Documents

    • 對於 461.40 版本或更新版本:

      Invoke-WebRequest -Uri "https://nvidia-gaming.s3.amazonaws.com/GridSwCert-Archive/GridSwCertWindows_2021_10_2.cert" -OutFile "$Env:PUBLIC\Documents\GridSwCert.txt"
    • 對於 445.87 版本:

      Invoke-WebRequest -Uri "https://nvidia-gaming.s3.amazonaws.com/GridSwCert-Archive/GridSwCert-Windows_2020_04.cert" -OutFile "$Env:PUBLIC\Documents\GridSwCert.txt"
    • 對於較早版本

      Invoke-WebRequest -Uri "https://nvidia-gaming.s3.amazonaws.com/GridSwCert-Archive/GridSwCert-Windows_2019_09.cert" -OutFile "$Env:PUBLIC\Documents\GridSwCert.txt"
  6. 將執行個體重新開機。

  7. 使用下列命令以確認 NVIDIA 遊戲授權。

    "C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NVSMI\nvidia-smi.exe" -q

    輸出格式應類似以下內容。

    vGPU Software Licensed Product Product Name : NVIDIA Cloud Gaming License Status : Licensed (Expiry: N/A)
  8. (選用) 為協助善加利用最高 4K 解析度的單一顯示器,請設定高效能顯示器通訊協定 NICE DCV。如果您不需要此功能,請勿完成此步驟。

安裝 CUDA 附加版本

在執行個體上安裝 NVIDIA 圖形驅動程序後,您可以安裝與圖形驅動程序隨附版本以外的 CUDA 版本。下列程序會示範如何在執行個體上設定多個版本的 CUDA。

若要安裝 CUDA 工具套件

  1. 連接至 Windows 執行個體。

  2. 開啟 NVIDIA 網站並選擇您需要的 CUDA 版本。

  3. Installer Type (安裝程式類型)中,選取 exe (local),然後選擇 Download (下載)

  4. 使用瀏覽器執行下載的安裝檔案。依指示安裝 CUDA 工具套件。您可能需要重新啟動執行個體。

Installing NVIDIA drivers on Windows instances - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud

Installing NVIDIA drivers on Windows instances

An instance with an attached GPU, such as a P3 or G4 instance, must have the appropriate NVIDIA driver installed. Depending on the instance type, you can either download a public NVIDIA driver, download a driver from Amazon S3 that is available only to AWS customers, or use an AMI with the driver pre-installed.

Types of NVIDIA drivers

The following are the main types of NVIDIA drivers that can be used with GPU-based instances.

Tesla drivers

These drivers are intended primarily for compute workloads, which use GPUs for computational tasks such as parallelized floating-point calculations for machine learning and fast Fourier transforms for high performance computing applications.

GRID drivers

These drivers are certified to provide optimal performance for professional visualization applications that render content such as 3D models or high-resolution videos. You can configure GRID drivers to support two modes. Quadro Virtual Workstations provide access to four 4K displays per GPU. GRID vApps provide RDSH App hosting capabilities.

Gaming drivers

These drivers contain optimizations for gaming and are updated frequently to provide performance enhancements. They support a single 4K display per GPU.

Configured mode

On Windows, the Tesla drivers are configured to run in Tesla Compute Cluster (TCC) mode. The GRID and gaming drivers are configured to run in Windows Display Driver Model (WDDM) mode. In TCC mode, the card is dedicated to compute workloads. In WDDM mode, the card supports both compute and graphics workloads.

NVIDIA control panel

The NVIDIA control panel is supported with GRID and Gaming drivers. It is not supported with Tesla drivers.

Supported APIs for Tesla drivers

  • OpenCL

  • NVIDIA CUDA and related libraries (for example, cuDNN, TensorRT, nvJPEG, and cuBLAS)

  • NVENC for video encoding and NVDEC for video decoding

Supported APIs for GRID and gaming drivers

  • DirectX, Direct2D, DirectX Video Acceleration, DirectX Raytracing

  • OpenCL, OpenGL, and Vulkan

  • NVIDIA CUDA and related libraries (for example, cuDNN, TensorRT, nvJPEG, and cuBLAS)

  • NVENC for video encoding and NVDEC for video decoding

Available drivers by instance type

The following table summarizes the supported NVIDIA drivers for each GPU instance type.

Instance type Tesla driver GRID driver Gaming driver
G2 No Yes No
G3 Yes Yes No
G4 Yes Yes Yes
P2 Yes No No
P3 Yes Yes † No

† Using Marketplace AMIs only

Installation options

Use one of the following options to get the NVIDIA drivers required for your GPU instance.

Option 1: AMIs with the NVIDIA drivers installed

AWS and NVIDIA offer different Amazon Machine Images (AMI) that come with the NVIDIA drivers installed.

Option 2: Public NVIDIA drivers

The options offered by AWS come with the necessary license for the driver. Alternatively, you can install the public drivers and bring your own license. To install a public driver, download it from the NVIDIA site as described here.

Alternatively, you can use the options offered by AWS instead of the public drivers. To use a GRID driver on a P3 instance, use the AWS Marketplace AMIs as described in Option 1. To use a GRID driver on a G3 or G4 instance, use the AWS Marketplace AMIs, as described in Option 1 or install the NVIDIA drivers provided by AWS as described in Option 3.

To download a public NVIDIA driver

Log on to your Windows instance and download the 64-bit NVIDIA driver appropriate for the instance type from http://www.nvidia.com/Download/Find.aspx. For Product Type, Product Series, and Product, use the options in the following table.

Instance Product Type Product Series Product
G2 GRID GRID Series GRID K520
G3 Tesla M-Class M60
G4 † Tesla T-Series T4
P2 Tesla K-Series K80
P3 Tesla V-Series V100

† G4 instances require driver version 426.00 or later.

To install the NVIDIA driver on Windows

  1. Open the folder where you downloaded the driver and launch the installation file. Follow the instructions to install the driver and reboot your instance as required.

  2. Disable the built-in display adapter using Device Manager. Install these Windows features: Media Foundation and Quality Windows Audio Video Experience.

  3. Check Device Manager to verify that the GPU is working correctly.

  4. To achieve the best performance from your GPU, complete the optimization steps in Optimizing GPU settings.

Option 3: GRID drivers (G3 and G4 instances)

These downloads are available to AWS customers only. By downloading, you agree to use the downloaded software only to develop AMIs for use with the NVIDIA Tesla T4 or NVIDIA Tesla M60 hardware. Upon installation of the software, you are bound by the terms of the NVIDIA GRID Cloud End User License Agreement.

Prerequisites

  • Configure default credentials for the AWS Tools for Windows PowerShell on your Windows instance. For more information, see Getting Started with the AWS Tools for Windows PowerShell in the AWS Tools for Windows PowerShell User Guide.

  • IAM users must have the permissions granted by the AmazonS3ReadOnlyAccess policy.

To install the NVIDIA GRID driver on your Windows instance

  1. Connect to your Windows instance and open a PowerShell window.

  2. Download the drivers and the NVIDIA GRID Cloud End User License Agreement from Amazon S3 to your desktop using the following PowerShell commands.

    $Bucket = "ec2-windows-nvidia-drivers" $KeyPrefix = "latest" $LocalPath = "$home\Desktop\NVIDIA" $Objects = Get-S3Object -BucketName $Bucket -KeyPrefix $KeyPrefix -Region us-east-1 foreach ($Object in $Objects) { $LocalFileName = $Object.Key if ($LocalFileName -ne '' -and $Object.Size -ne 0) { $LocalFilePath = Join-Path $LocalPath $LocalFileName Copy-S3Object -BucketName $Bucket -Key $Object.Key -LocalFile $LocalFilePath -Region us-east-1 } }

    Multiple versions of the NVIDIA GRID driver are stored in this bucket. You can download all of the available versions in the bucket by removing the -KeyPrefix $KeyPrefix option.

    Starting with GRID version 11.0, you can use the drivers under latest for both G3 and G4 instances. We will not add versions later than 11.0 to g4/latest, but will keep version 11.0 and the earlier versions specific to G4 under g4/latest.

  3. Navigate to the desktop and double-click the installation file to launch it (choose the driver version that corresponds to your instance OS version). Follow the instructions to install the driver and reboot your instance as required. To verify that the GPU is working properly, check Device Manager.

  4. (Optional) Use the following command to disable the licensing page in the control panel to prevent users from accidentally changing the product type (NVIDIA GRID Virtual Workstation is enabled by default). For more information, see the GRID Licensing User Guide.

    New-ItemProperty -Path "HKLM:\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global\GridLicensing" -Name "NvCplDisableManageLicensePage" -PropertyType "DWord" -Value "1"
  5. (Optional) Depending on your use case, you might complete the following optional steps. If you do not require this functionality, do not complete these steps.

    1. To help take advantage of the four displays of up to 4K resolution, set up the high-performance display protocol, NICE DCV.

    2. NVIDIA Quadro Virtual Workstation mode is enabled by default. To activate GRID Virtual Applications for RDSH Application hosting capabilities, complete the GRID Virtual Application activation steps in Activate NVIDIA GRID Virtual Applications.

Option 4: NVIDIA gaming drivers (G4 instances)

These drivers are available to AWS customers only. By downloading them, you agree to use the downloaded software only to develop AMIs for use with the NVIDIA Tesla T4 hardware. Upon installation of the software, you are bound by the terms of the NVIDIA GRID Cloud End User License Agreement.

Prerequisites

  • Configure default credentials for the AWS Tools for Windows PowerShell on your Windows instance. For more information, see Getting Started with the AWS Tools for Windows PowerShell in the AWS Tools for Windows PowerShell User Guide.

  • IAM users must have the permissions granted by the AmazonS3ReadOnlyAccess policy.

To install the NVIDIA gaming driver on your Windows instance

  1. Connect to your Windows instance and open a PowerShell window.

  2. Download and install the gaming driver using the following PowerShell commands.

    $Bucket = "nvidia-gaming" $KeyPrefix = "windows/latest" $LocalPath = "$home\Desktop\NVIDIA" $Objects = Get-S3Object -BucketName $Bucket -KeyPrefix $KeyPrefix -Region us-east-1 foreach ($Object in $Objects) { $LocalFileName = $Object.Key if ($LocalFileName -ne '' -and $Object.Size -ne 0) { $LocalFilePath = Join-Path $LocalPath $LocalFileName Copy-S3Object -BucketName $Bucket -Key $Object.Key -LocalFile $LocalFilePath -Region us-east-1 } }

    Multiple versions of the NVIDIA GRID driver are stored in this S3 bucket. You can download all of the available versions in the bucket by removing the -KeyPrefix $KeyPrefix option.

  3. Navigate to the desktop and double-click the installation file to launch it (choose the driver version that corresponds to your instance OS version). Follow the instructions to install the driver and reboot your instance as required. To verify that the GPU is working properly, check Device Manager.

  4. Create a registry value in the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global key with the name vGamingMarketplace, the type DWord, and the value 2. You can use either the Command Prompt window or a 64-bit version of PowerShell as follows.

    • Use the following PowerShell command to create this registry value. By default, the AWS Tools for PowerShell in AWS Windows AMIs is a 32-bit version and this command fails. Instead, use the 64-bit version of PowerShell included with the operating system.

      New-ItemProperty -Path "HKLM:\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global" -Name "vGamingMarketplace" -PropertyType "DWord" -Value "2"
    • Use the following registry command to create this registry value. You can run it using the Command Prompt window or a 64-bit version of PowerShell.

      reg add "HKLM\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global" /v vGamingMarketplace /t REG_DWORD /d 2
  5. Use the following command to download the certification file, rename the file GridSwCert.txt, and move the file to the Public Documents folder on your system drive. Typically, the folder path is C:\Users\Public\Public Documents (Windows Explorer) or C:\Users\Public\Documents (Command Prompt window).

    • For version 445.87 or later:

      Invoke-WebRequest -Uri "https://nvidia-gaming.s3.amazonaws.com/GridSwCert-Archive/GridSwCert-Windows_2020_04.cert" -OutFile "$Env:PUBLIC\Documents\GridSwCert.txt"
    • For earlier versions:

      Invoke-WebRequest -Uri "https://nvidia-gaming.s3.amazonaws.com/GridSwCert-Archive/GridSwCert-Windows_2019_09.cert" -OutFile "$Env:PUBLIC\Documents\GridSwCert.txt"
  6. Reboot your instance.

  7. Verify the NVIDIA Gaming license using the following command.

    "C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NVSMI\nvidia-smi.exe" -q

    The output should be similar to the following.

    GRID Licensed Product Product Name : GRID vGaming License Status : Licensed
  8. (Optional) To help take advantage of the single display of up to 4K resolution, set up the high-performance display protocol NICE DCV. If you do not require this functionality, do not complete this step.

Installing an additional version of CUDA

After you install an NVIDIA graphics driver on your instance, you can install a version of CUDA other than the version that is bundled with the graphics driver. The following procedure demonstrates how to configure multiple versions of CUDA on the instance.

To install the CUDA toolkit

  1. Connect to your Windows instance.

  2. Open the NVIDIA website and select the version of CUDA that you need.

  3. For Installer Type, select exe (local) and then choose Download.

  4. Using your browser, run the downloaded install file. Follow the instructions to install the CUDA toolkit. You might be required to reboot the instance.