封存 Amazon EBS 快照 - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud

封存 Amazon EBS 快照

Amazon EBS 快照封存是新的儲存層,您可以將其用於低成本、長期儲存且很少存取的快照,因為這些快照不需要頻繁或快速擷取。

根據預設,當您建立快照時,其會存放在 Amazon EBS 快照標準層 (標準層) 中。存放在標準層中的快照是增量快照。這表示僅儲存最近快照後,磁碟區上已變更的區塊。

當您封存快照時,增量快照會轉換為完整快照,且其會從標準層移至 Amazon EBS 快照封存層 (封存層)。完整快照包括建立快照時寫入至磁碟區的所有區塊。

需要存取已封存的快照時,您可以將其從封存層還原至標準層,然後以與您在帳戶中使用任何其他快照相同的方式使用該快照。

對於計劃存放 90 天或更長時間且您很少需要存取的快照,Amazon EBS 快照封存可降低高達 75% 的快照儲存成本。

一些典型的使用案例包括:

  • 封存磁碟區的唯一快照,例如專案結束快照

  • 基於合規原因,封存完整時間點增量快照。

  • 封存每月、每季或每年增量快照。

考量與限制

考量

  • 最短封存期間為 90 天。如果您在最短封存期間 90 天之前刪除或永久還原已封存的快照,則會向您收取封存層剩餘天數的費用,四捨五入至最接近的小時。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 定價和計費

  • 將封存的快照從封存層還原到標準層最多可能需要 72 小時,取決於快照的大小。

  • 封存的快照一律是完整快照。完整快照包括建立快照時寫入至磁碟區的所有區塊。完整快照可能會大於從中建立其的增量快照。不過,如果標準層上只有磁碟區的增量快照,則封存層中完整快照的大小將與標準層中快照的大小相同。這是因為磁碟區的第一個快照一律是完整快照。

  • 封存快照時,快照關係中其他快照所參考的快照資料都會保留在標準層中。與標準層上保留的參考資料相關聯的資料和儲存成本會配置給關係中的下一個快照。這可確保關係中的後續快照不會受到封存的影響。

  • 如果您刪除符合資源回收筒保留規則的封存快照,封存的快照會保留在資源回收筒中,其保留時間為定義在保留規則的保留期間。若要使用快照,您必須先從資源回收筒復原快照,然後再從封存層還原快照。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 資源回收筒定價和計費

限制

  • 您可以封存僅處於 completed 狀態的快照。

  • 您只能封存您在帳戶中擁有的快照。若要封存與您共用的快照,請先將快照複製到您的帳戶,然後封存快照副本。

  • 您無法封存已註冊 AMI 之根設備磁碟區的快照。

  • 您無法封存與 Amazon EBS 後端 AMI 相關聯的快照。

  • 啟動快照封存或快照還原程序之後,您無法將其取消。

  • 您無法共用封存的快照。如果您封存已與其他帳戶共用的快照,則在封存快照之後,共用快照的帳戶會失去存取權。

  • 您無法複製封存的快照。如果需要複製封存的快照,您必須先將其還原。

  • 您無法針對封存的快照啟用快速快照還原。封存快照時,快速快照還原會自動停用。如果需要使用快速快照還原,您必須在還原快照之後手動將其啟用。

定價和計費

封存的快照以每 GB 每月 0.0125 美元的費率計費。例如,如果您封存 100 GiB 快照,則每月向您收取 1.25 美元的費用 (100 GiB * 0.0125 美元)。

快照還原是以每 GB 還原的資料 0.03 美元的費率計費。例如,如果您從封存層還原 100 GiB 快照,則會一次向您收取 3 美元的費用 (100 GiB * 0.03 美元)。

將快照還原至標準層之後,快照會按照每 GB 每月 0.05 美元的標準費率計費。

如需詳細資訊,請參閱 Amazon EBS 定價

最短封存期間的計費

最短封存期間為 90 天。如果您在最短封存期間 90 天之前刪除或永久還原已封存的快照,則會按比例向您收取費用,此費用等同於剩餘天數的封存層儲存費用,四捨五入至最接近的小時。例如,如果您在 40 天之後刪除或永久還原已封存的快照,則會向您收取最短封存期間剩餘 50 天的費用。

注意

在最短封存期間 90 天之前,暫時還原已封存的快照並不會產生此費用。

暫時還原

當您暫時還原快照時,快照會從封存層還原到標準層,而且快照副本仍會保留在封存層中。在暫時還原期間,會向您收取標準層中快照和封存層中快照副本的費用。從標準層移除暫時還原的快照時,就不會再向您收取該快照費用,而且只會向您收取封存層中快照的費用。

永久還原

當您永久還原快照時,快照會從封存層還原到標準層,而且快照會從封存層中刪除。只會針對標準層中的快照向您收費。

刪除快照

如果您在封存快照時將其刪除,則會向您收取已移至封存層的快照資料費用。此資料受限於最短封存期間 90 天,並在刪除時相應地計費。例如,如果您封存 100 GiB 快照,並在僅封存 40 GiB 之後刪除快照,則會針對已封存的 40 GiB 向您收取最短封存期間 90 天的費用 1.50 美元 (每 GB 每月 0.0125 美元 * 40 GB * (90 天 * 24 小時) / (24 小時/天 * 每月 30 天))。

如果從封存層還原快照時將其刪除,則會向您收取完整快照大小的快照還原費用 (快照大小 * 0.03 美元)。例如,如果您從封存層還原 100 GiB 快照,並在快照還原完成之前任何時間點將其刪除,則會向您收取 3 美元的費用 (100 GiB 快照大小 * 0.03 美元)。

資源回收筒

封存的快照在資源回收筒中時,會以封存快照的費率計費。資源回收筒中的已封存快照受限於最短封存期間 90 天,如果它們在最短封存期間之前遭資源回收筒刪除,則會相應地計費。換言之,如果保留規則在最短期間 90 天之前,從資源回收筒刪除封存的快照,則會向您收取剩餘天數的費用。

如果您在快照封存時刪除符合資源回收筒保留規則的快照,封存的快照會保留在資源回收筒中,其保留時間為定義在保留規則的保留期間。按封存快照的費率計費。

如果您在快照還原時刪除符合保留規則的快照,還原的快照會保留在資源回收筒中,其保留時間為保留期間的剩餘天數,並按標準快照費率計費。若要使用還原的快照,您必須先從資源回收筒復原該快照。

如需詳細資訊,請參閱 資源回收筒

成本追蹤

封存的快照會出現在具有其相同資源 ID 和 Amazon Resource Name (ARN) 的 AWS Cost and Usage Report 中。如需詳細資訊,請參閱《AWS Cost and Usage Report 使用者指南》。

您可以使用下列使用類型來識別相關聯的成本:

  • SnapshotArchiveStorage – 每月資料儲存費用

  • SnapshotArchiveRetrieval - 快照還原的一次性費用

  • SnapshotArchiveEarlyDelete – 在最短封存期間 (90 天) 之前刪除或永久還原快照的費用

配額

本節描述已封存和進行中快照的預設配額。

配額 預設配額
每個磁碟區的已封存快照 25
每個帳戶並行進行中的快照封存 25
每個帳戶並行進行中的快照還原 5

如果您所需的超過預設限制,請完成 AWS Support 中心建立案例表來請求增加限制。

Archive Amazon EBS snapshots - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud

Archive Amazon EBS snapshots

Amazon EBS Snapshots Archive is a new storage tier that you can use for low-cost, long-term storage of your rarely-accessed snapshots that do not need frequent or fast retrieval.

By default, when you create a snapshot, it is stored in the Amazon EBS Snapshot Standard tier (standard tier). Snapshots stored in the standard tier are incremental. This means that only the blocks on the volume that have changed after your most recent snapshot are saved.

When you archive a snapshot, the incremental snapshot is converted to a full snapshot, and it is moved from the standard tier to the Amazon EBS Snapshots Archive tier (archive tier). Full snapshots include all of the blocks that were written to the volume at the time when the snapshot was created.

When you need to access an archived snapshot, you can restore it from the archive tier to the standard tier, and then use it in the same way that you use any other snapshot in your account.

Amazon EBS Snapshots Archive offers up to 75 percent lower snapshot storage costs for snapshots that you plan to store for 90 days or longer and that you rarely need to access.

Some typical use cases include:

  • Archiving the only snapshot of a volume, such as end-of-project snapshots

  • Archiving full, point-in-time incremental snapshots for compliance reasons.

  • Archiving monthly, quarterly, or yearly incremental snapshots.

Considerations and limitations

Considerations

  • The minimum archive period is 90 days. If you delete or permanently restore an archived snapshot before the minimum archive period of 90 days, you are billed for remaining days in the archive tier, rounded to the nearest hour. For more information, see Pricing and billing.

  • It can take up to 72 hours to restore an archived snapshot from the archive tier to the standard tier, depending on the size of the snapshot.

  • Archived snapshots are always full snapshots. A full snapshot contains all the blocks written to the volume at the time the snapshot was created. The full snapshot will likely be larger than the incremental snapshot from which it was created. However, if you have only one incremental snapshot of a volume on the standard tier, the size of the full snapshot in the archive tier will be the same size as the snapshot in standard tier. This is because the first snapshot taken of a volume is always a full snapshot.

  • When a snapshot is archived, the data of the snapshot that is referenced by other snapshots in the snapshot lineage are retained in the standard tier. Data and storage costs associated with the referenced data that is retained on the standard tier are allocated to the next snapshot in the lineage. This ensures that subsequent snapshots in the lineage are not affected by the archival.

  • If you delete an archived snapshot that matches a Recycle Bin retention rule, the archived snapshot is retained in the Recycle Bin for the retention period defined in the retention rule. To use the snapshot, you must first recover it from the Recycle Bin and then restore it from the archive tier. For more information, see Recycle Bin and Pricing and billing.

Limitations

  • You can archive snapshots that are in the completed state only.

  • You can archive only snapshots that you own in your account. To archive a snapshot that is shared with you, first copy the snapshot to your account and then archive the snapshot copy.

  • You can’t archive a snapshot of the root device volume of a registered AMI.

  • You can't archive snapshots that are associated with an Amazon EBS-backed AMI.

  • You can't cancel the snapshot archive or snapshot restore process after it has been started.

  • You can't share archived snapshots. If you archive a snapshot that you have shared with other accounts, the accounts with which the snapshot is shared lose access after the snapshot is archived.

  • You can't copy an archived snapshot. If you need to copy an archived snapshot, you must first restore it.

  • You can't enable fast snapshot restore for an archived snapshot. Fast snapshot restore is automatically disabled when a snapshot is archived. If you need to use fast snapshot restore, you must manually enable it after restoring the snapshot.

Pricing and billing

Archived snapshots are billed at a rate of $0.0125 per GB-month. For example, if you archive a 100 GiB snapshot, you are billed $1.25 (100 GiB * $0.0125) per month.

Snapshot restores are billed at a rate of $0.03 per GB of data restored. For example, if you restore a 100 GiB snapshot from the archive tier, you are billed one time for $3 (100 GiB * $0.03).

After the snapshot is restored to the standard tier, the snapshot is billed at the standard rate for snapshots of $0.05 per GB-month.

For more information, see Amazon EBS pricing.

Billing for the minimum archive period

The minimum archive period is 90 days. If you delete or permanently restore an archived snapshot before the minimum archive period of 90 days, you are billed a pro-rated charge equal to the archive tier storage charge for the remaining days, rounded to the nearest hour. For example, if you delete or permanently restore an archived snapshot after 40 days, you are billed for the remaining 50 days of the minimum archive period.

Note

Temporarily restoring an archived snapshot before the minimum archive period of 90 days does not incur this charge.

Temporary restores

When you temporarily restore a snapshot, the snapshot is restored from the archive tier to the standard tier, and a copy of the snapshot remains in the archive tier. You are billed for both the snapshot in the standard tier and the snapshot copy in the archive tier for the duration of the temporary restore period. When the temporarily restored snapshot is removed from the standard tier, you are no longer billed for it, and you are billed for the snapshot in the archive tier only.

Permanent restores

When you permanently restore a snapshot, the snapshot is restored from the archive tier to the standard tier, and the snapshot is deleted from the archive tier. You are billed for the snapshot in the standard tier only.

Deleting snapshots

If you delete a snapshot while it is being archived, you are billed for the snapshot data that has already been moved to the archive tier. This data is subject to the minimum archive period of 90 days and billed accordingly upon deletion. For example, if you archive a 100 GiB snapshot, and you delete the snapshot after only 40 GiB has been archived, you are billed $1.50 for the minimum archive period of 90 days for the 40 GiB that has already been archived ($0.0125 per GB-month * 40 GB * (90 days * 24 hours) / (24 hours/day * 30-day month).

If you delete a snapshot while it is being restored from the archive tier, you are billed for the snapshot restore for the full size of the snapshot (snapshot size * $0.03). For example, if you restore a 100 GiB snapshot from the archive tier, and you delete the snapshot at any point before the snapshot restore completes, you are billed $3 (100 GiB snapshot size * $0.03).

Recycle Bin

Archived snapshots are billed at the rate for archived snapshots while they are in the Recycle Bin. Archived snapshots that are in the Recycle Bin are subject to the minimum archive period of 90 days and they are billed accordingly if they are deleted by Recycle Bin before the minimum archive period. In other words, if a retention rule deletes an archived snapshot from the Recycle Bin before the minimum period of 90 days, you are billed for the remaining days.

If you delete a snapshot that matches a retention rule while the snapshot is being archived, the archived snapshot is retained in the Recycle Bin for the retention period defined in the retention rule. It is billed at the rate for archived snapshots.

If you delete a snapshot that matches a retention rule while the snapshot is being restored, the restored snapshot is retained in the Recycle Bin for the remainder of the retention period, and billed at the standard snapshot rate. To use the restored snapshot, you must first recover it from the Recycle Bin.

For more information, see Recycle Bin.

Cost tracking

Archived snapshots appear in the AWS Cost and Usage Report with their same resource ID and Amazon Resource Name (ARN). For more information, see the AWS Cost and Usage Report User Guide.

You can use the following usage types to identify the associated costs:

  • SnapshotArchiveStorage — fee for monthly data storage

  • SnapshotArchiveRetrieval — one-time fee for snapshot restores

  • SnapshotArchiveEarlyDelete — fee for deleting or permanently restoring a snapshot before the minimum archive period (90 days)

Quotas

This section describes the default quotas for archived and in-progress snapshots.

Quota Default quota
Archived snapshots per volume 25
Concurrent in-progress snapshot archives per account 25
Concurrent in-progress snapshot restores per account 5

If you need more than the default limits, complete the AWS Support Center Create case form to request a limit increase.