Deleting a cluster - Amazon ECS

Deleting a cluster

If you are finished using a cluster, you can delete it. Once deleted, the cluster will transition to the INACTIVE state. Clusters with an INACTIVE status may remain discoverable in your account for a period of time. However, this behavior is subject to change in the future, so you should not rely on INACTIVE clusters persisting.

When you delete a cluster in the Amazon ECS console, the associated resources that are deleted with it vary depending on how the cluster was created. This condition is discussed in step 5 of the following procedure.

If your cluster was created with the AWS Management Console then the AWS CloudFormation stack that was created for your cluster is also deleted when you delete your cluster. If you have added or modified the underlying cluster resources you may receive an error when attempting to delete the cluster. AWS CloudFormation refers to this as stack drift. For more information on detecting drift on an existing AWS CloudFormation stack, see Detect drift on an entire AWS CloudFormation stack in the AWS CloudFormation User Guide.

Important

The delete cluster workflow is not supported yet in the new Amazon ECS console.

To delete a cluster (AWS Management Console)

  1. Open the Amazon ECS console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/ecs/.

  2. From the navigation bar, select the Region to use.

  3. In the navigation pane, choose Clusters.

    Important

    In the navigation pane, turn off New ECS Experience, or choose use the old console. The delete cluster workflow is not supported yet in the new Amazon ECS console.

  4. On the Clusters page, select the cluster to delete.

  5. In the upper-right of the page, choose Delete Cluster. You see a confirmation prompt.

  6. In the confirmation box, enter delete me.