Amazon ElastiCache
User Guide (API Version 2015-02-02)

Supported Node Types

The following node types are supported by ElastiCache. Generally speaking, the current generation types provide more memory and computational power at lower cost when compared to their equivalent previous generation counterparts.

  • General purpose:

    • Current generation:

      T2 node types: cache.t2.micro, cache.t2.small, cache.t2.medium

      M3 node types: cache.m3.medium, cache.m3.large, cache.m3.xlarge, cache.m3.2xlarge

      M4 node types: cache.m4.large, cache.m4.xlarge, cache.m4.2xlarge, cache.m4.4xlarge, cache.m4.10xlarge

    • Previous generation: (not recommended)

      T1 node types: cache.t1.micro

      M1 node types: cache.m1.small, cache.m1.medium, cache.m1.large, cache.m1.xlarge

  • Compute optimized:

    • Previous generation: (not recommended)

      C1 node types: cache.c1.xlarge

  • Memory optimized:

    • Current generation:

      R3 node types: cache.r3.large, cache.r3.xlarge, cache.r3.2xlarge, cache.r3.4xlarge, cache.r3.8xlarge

      R4 node types: cache.r4.large, cache.r4.xlarge, cache.r4.2xlarge, cache.r4.4xlarge, cache.r4.8xlarge, cache.r4.16xlarge

    • Previous generation: (not recommended)

      M2 node types: cache.m2.xlarge, cache.m2.2xlarge, cache.m2.4xlarge

Additional node type info

  • All T2 instances are created in an Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC).

  • Redis backup and restore is not supported for T2 instances.

  • Redis append-only files (AOF) are not supported for T1 or T2 instances.

  • Redis Multi-AZ with automatic failover is not supported on T1 instances.

  • Redis Multi-AZ with automatic failover is supported on T2 instances only when running Redis (cluster mode enabled) - version 3.2.4 or later with the default.redis3.2.cluster.on parameter group or one derived from it.

  • Redis configuration variables appendonly and appendfsync are not supported on Redis version 2.8.22 and later.

Supported engine versions

Supported engine versions vary by region. The latest engine versions are supported in all regions. To find the available engine versions in your region see Determine Available Engine Versions.

Supported Node Types by Region

Region Name Region   T2     M3     M4     R3     R4  
US East (Ohio) us-east-2 Yes Yes Yes Yes
US East (N. Virginia) us-east-1 Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
US West (N. California) us-west-1 Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
US West (Oregon) us-west-2 Yes Yes Yes Yes
Canada (Central) ca-central-1 Yes Yes Yes
Asia Pacific (Mumbai) ap-south-1 Yes Yes Yes Yes
Asia Pacific (Tokyo) ap-northeast-1 Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Asia Pacific (Seoul) ap-northeast-2 Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Asia Pacific (Osaka-Local) * ap-northeast-3 Yes Yes
Asia Pacific (Singapore) ap-southeast-1 Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Asia Pacific (Sydney) ap-southeast-2 Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
EU (Frankfurt) eu-central-1 Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
EU (Ireland) eu-west-1 Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
EU (London) eu-west-2 Yes Yes Yes
EU (Paris) eu-west-3 Yes Yes
South America (São Paulo) sa-east-1 Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
China (Beijing) cn-north-1 Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
China (Ningxia) cn-northwest-1 Yes Yes Yes
AWS GovCloud (US) gov-uswest-1 Yes Yes Yes Yes

The Asia Pacific (Osaka-Local) Region is a local region that is available to select AWS customers who request access. Customers wishing to use the Asia Pacific (Osaka-Local) Region should speak with their sales representative. The Asia Pacific (Osaka-Local) Region supports a single availavility zone.

For a complete list of node types and specifications, see the following: