选择节点大小 - Amazon ElastiCache for Redis

选择节点大小

为集群选择的节点大小会影响成本、性能和容错能力。

选择节点大小

回答以下问题可帮助您决定实施 Redis 所需的最小节点类型:

  • 您的数据共需要多少内存量?

    要获得一般估计值,请取要缓存的项目的大小。将此大小乘以同时要保留在缓存中的项目数。要获得项目大小的合理估计值,请先序列化您的缓存项目,再计算字符数。然后将该值除以集群中的分区数。

    有关更多信息,请参阅 受支持的节点类型

  • 您运行 Redis 的哪个版本?

    对于 2.8.22 版之前的 Redis,您需要预留更多内存以用于故障转移、快照、同步和将副本提升为主节点的操作。之所以有此要求,是因为您必须具有足够的内存来执行过程中的所有写入。

    Redis 2.8.22 版和更高版本使用无分支保存过程,相比之前的过程,所需可用内存更少。

    有关更多信息,请参阅下列内容:

  • 您的应用程序的写操作有多密集?

    在拍摄快照或进行故障转移时,写操作密集的应用程序需要多得多的可用内存( 数据未使用的内存)。无论何时执行 BGSAVE 进程,必须有足够的、数据未使用的内存,以容纳在 BGSAVE 过程中执行的所有写入。例如,拍摄快照时、将主集群与集群中的副本同步时以及启用仅附加文件 (AOF) 功能时。另一个示例是将副本提升为主节点时(如果您启用了多可用区)。最糟糕的情况是在此过程中重写所有数据。在这种情况下,您需要的节点实例大小是数据所需的内存量的两倍。

    有关更多详细信息,请参阅确保具有用于创建 Redis 快照的足够内存

  • 您的实施是一个独立的 Redis(已禁用集群模式)集群,还是具有多个分区的 Redis(已启用集群模式)集群?

    Redis(已禁用集群模式)集群

    如果您实施的是 Redis(已禁用集群模式)集群,则节点类型必须能够容纳所有数据及必要的开销,如上一要点中所述。

    例如,假设您估计所有项目的总大小为 12GB。在此情况下,您可以使用具有 13.3GB 内存的 cache.m3.xlarge 节点 或具有 13.5GB 内存的 cache.r3.large 节点。但是,您可能需要更多内存才能执行 BGSAVE 操作。如果您的应用程序写入操作繁重,请将内存要求翻倍至至少 24GB。因此,使用具有 27.9GB 内存的 cache.m3.2xlarge 或具有 30.5GB 内存的 cache.r3.xlarge

    具有多个分区的 Redis(已启用集群模式)

    如果您实施的是具有多个分区的 Redis (已启用集群模式)集群,则节点类型必须能够容纳 bytes-for-data-and-overhead / number-of-shards 字节的数据。

    例如,假设您估计所有项目的总大小为 12GB 且您具有两个分区。在此情况下,您可以使用具有 6.05GB 内存的 cache.m3.large 节点(12GB/2)。但是,您可能需要更多内存才能执行 BGSAVE 操作。如果您的应用程序写入操作繁重,请将内存要求翻倍至至少每个分区 12GB。因此,使用具有 13.3GB 内存的 cache.m3.xlarge 或具有 13.5GB 内存的 cache.r3.large

  • 您是否正在使用 Local Zones?

    Local Zones 使您能够将 ElastiCache 集群等资源放置在靠近用户的多个位置。但是,当您选择节点大小时,请注意,无论容量要求如何,本次可用节点大小目前仅限于以下内容:

    • 最新一代:

      M5 节点类型:cache.m5.largecache.m5.xlargecache.m5.2xlargecache.m5.4xlargecache.m5.12xlargecache.m5.24xlarge

      R5 节点类型:cache.r5.largecache.r5.xlargecache.r5.2xlargecache.r5.4xlargecache.r5.12xlargecache.r5.24xlarge

      T3 节点类型:cache.t3.microcache.t3.smallcache.t3.medium

您的集群运行期间,您可以监控发布到 CloudWatch 的内存使用率、处理器利用率、缓存命中数和缓存未命中数指标。您可能会注意到您的集群没有您想要的命中率,或者密钥被移出的频率过于频繁。在这些情况下,您可以选择具有较高 CPU 和内存规格的不同节点大小。

监控 CPU 使用情况时,请记住 Redis 是单线程的。因此,将报告的 CPU 使用率乘以 CPU 核心数来获得实际使用量。例如,报告的使用率为 20% 的四核 CPU 实际上相当于一个使用率为 80% 的单核 Redis。

Choosing Your Node Size - Amazon ElastiCache for Redis

Choosing Your Node Size

The node size you select for your cluster impacts costs, performance, and fault tolerance.

Choosing Your Node Size

Answering the following questions can help you determine the minimum node type you need for your Redis implementation:

  • How much total memory do you need for your data?

    To get a general estimate, take the size of the items that you want to cache. Multiply this size by the number of items that you want to keep in the cache at the same time. To get a reasonable estimation of the item size, first serialize your cache items, then count the characters. Then divide this over the number of shards in your cluster.

  • What version of Redis are you running?

    Redis versions before 2.8.22 require you to reserve more memory for failover, snapshot, synchronizing, and promoting a replica to primary operations. This requirement occurs because you must have sufficient memory available for all writes that occur during the process.

    Redis version 2.8.22 and later use a forkless save process that requires less available memory than the earlier process.

    For more information, see the following:

  • How write-heavy is your application?

    Write heavy applications can require significantly more available memory, memory not used by data, when taking snapshots or failing over. Whenever the BGSAVE process is performed, you must have sufficient memory that is unused by data to accommodate all the writes that transpire during the BGSAVE process. Examples are when taking a snapshot, when syncing a primary cluster with a replica in a cluster, and when enabling the append-only file (AOF) feature. Another is when promoting a replica to primary (if you have Multi-AZ enabled). The worst case is when all of your data is rewritten during the process. In this case, you need a node instance size with twice as much memory as needed for data alone.

    For more detailed information, see Ensuring That You Have Enough Memory to Create a Redis Snapshot.

  • Will your implementation be a standalone Redis (cluster mode disabled) cluster or a Redis (cluster mode enabled) cluster with multiple shards?

    Redis (cluster mode disabled) cluster

    If you're implementing a Redis (cluster mode disabled) cluster, your node type must be able to accommodate all your data plus the necessary overhead as described in the previous bullet.

    For example, suppose that you estimate that the total size of all your items is 12 GB. In this case, you can use a cache.m3.xlarge node with 13.3 GB of memory or a cache.r3.large node with 13.5 GB of memory. However, you might need more memory for BGSAVE operations. If your application is write-heavy, double the memory requirements to at least 24 GB. Thus, use either a cache.m3.2xlarge with 27.9 GB of memory or a cache.r3.xlarge with 30.5 GB of memory.

    Redis (cluster mode enabled) with multiple shards

    If you're implementing a Redis (cluster mode enabled) cluster with multiple shards, then the node type must be able to accommodate bytes-for-data-and-overhead / number-of-shards bytes of data.

    For example, suppose that you estimate that the total size of all your items to be 12 GB and you have two shards. In this case, you can use a cache.m3.large node with 6.05 GB of memory (12 GB / 2). However, you might need more memory for BGSAVE operations. If your application is write-heavy, double the memory requirements to at least 12 GB per shard. Thus, use either a cache.m3.xlarge with 13.3 GB of memory or a cache.r3.large with 13.5 GB of memory.

  • Are you using Local Zones?

    Local Zones enable you to place resources such as an ElastiCache cluster in multiple locations close to your users. But when you choose your node size, be aware that the available node sizes are limited to the following at this time, regardless of capacity requirements:

    • Current generation:

      M5 node types: cache.m5.large, cache.m5.xlarge, cache.m5.2xlarge, cache.m5.4xlarge, cache.m5.12xlarge, cache.m5.24xlarge

      R5 node types: cache.r5.large, cache.r5.xlarge, cache.r5.2xlarge, cache.r5.4xlarge, cache.r5.12xlarge, cache.r5.24xlarge

      T3 node types: cache.t3.micro, cache.t3.small, cache.t3.medium

While your cluster is running, you can monitor the memory usage, processor utilization, cache hits, and cache misses metrics that are published to CloudWatch. You might notice that your cluster doesn't have the hit rate that you want or that keys are being evicted too often. In these cases, you can choose a different node size with larger CPU and memory specifications.

When monitoring CPU usage, remember that Redis is single-threaded. Thus, multiply the reported CPU usage by the number of CPU cores to get that actual usage. For example, a four-core CPU reporting a 20-percent usage rate is actually the one core Redis is using running at 80 percent.