使用参数组 - Amazon Aurora

使用参数组

数据库参数指定数据库的配置方式。例如,数据库参数可以指定要分配给数据库的资源量(如内存)。

您可以通过将数据库实例和 Aurora 数据库集群与参数组进行关联来管理数据库配置。Aurora 使用默认设置定义参数组。

重要

您可以使用自定义设置定义您自己的参数组。然后,您可以修改数据库实例和 Aurora 数据库集群来使用您自己的参数组。

有关修改数据库集群或数据库实例的信息,请参阅 修改 Amazon Aurora 数据库集群

数据库集群参数组就像是引擎配置值的容器,这些值可应用于 Aurora 数据库集群中的每个数据库实例。例如,Aurora 共享存储模型需要 Aurora 集群中的每个数据库实例为参数(如 innodb_file_per_table)使用相同设置。因此,影响物理存储布局的参数是集群参数组的一部分。数据库集群参数组还包括所有实例级参数的默认值。

数据库参数组就像是引擎配置值的容器,这些值可应用于一个或多个数据库实例。数据库参数组对于 Amazon RDS 和 Aurora 中的数据库实例均适用。这些配置设置适用于在 Aurora 集群内的数据库实例之间可能不同的属性,如内存缓冲区的大小。

如果创建的数据库实例未指定数据库参数组,数据库实例将使用默认的数据库参数组。同样,如果您在创建 Aurora 数据库集群时未指定数据库集群参数组,数据库集群将使用默认数据库集群参数组。每个默认参数组包含数据库引擎默认值和 Amazon RDS 系统默认值,具体根据引擎、计算等级及实例的分配存储空间而定。默认参数组的参数设置无法修改。您可以创建在其中选择您自己的参数设置的您自己的参数组。并非所有数据库引擎参数都可在您创建的参数组中进行更改。

要使用自己的参数组,您需要创建新参数组,然后修改需要修改的参数。然后,修改数据库实例或数据库集群来使用新参数组。如果您更新了数据库参数组内的参数,更改将应用于与该参数组关联的所有数据库实例。同样,如果您更新了 Aurora 数据库参数组内的参数,更改将应用于与该数据库集群参数组关联的所有 Aurora 集群。

您还可使用 AWS CLI copy-db-parameter-group 命令复制现有数据库参数组。您还可以使用 AWS CLI copy-db-cluster-parameter-group 命令复制现有数据库集群参数组。在某些情况下,复制参数组可能很方便。例如,当您希望在新的参数组中包含现有参数组的大多数自定义参数和值时。

以下是使用参数组中参数的几个要点:

  • 数据库集群参数是静态的,也可以是动态的。更改静态参数并保存数据库集群参数组时,参数更改将在手动重启关联数据库集群中的数据库实例后生效。

    当您更改动态参数时,默认情况下,参数更改将立即应用于数据库集群,而无需重启。要将参数更改推迟到重启关联数据库集群中的数据库实例之后,请使用 AWS CLI 或 RDS API。将 ApplyMethod 设置为 pending-reboot 以进行参数更改。

    当您使用 AWS Management Console 更改数据库集群参数值时,对于动态参数,它始终使用 immediate 作为 ApplyMethod。对于静态参数,AWS Management Console 始终使用 pending-reboot 作为 ApplyMethod

    有关使用 AWS CLI 更改参数值的更多信息,请参阅 modify-db-cluster-parameter-group。有关使用 RDS API 更改参数值的更多信息,请参阅 ModifyDBClusterParameterGroup

  • 数据库实例参数是静态的,也可以是动态的。更改静态参数并保存数据库参数组时,参数更改将在手动重启关联的数据库实例后生效。

    当您更改动态参数时,默认情况下,参数更改将立即应用于数据库实例,而无需重启。要将参数更改推迟到重启关联的数据库实例之后,请使用 AWS CLI 或 RDS API。将 ApplyMethod 设置为 pending-reboot 以进行参数更改。

    当您使用 AWS Management Console 更改数据库实例参数值时,对于动态参数,它始终使用 immediate 作为 ApplyMethod。对于静态参数,AWS Management Console 始终使用 pending-reboot 作为 ApplyMethod

    有关使用 AWS CLI 更改参数值的更多信息,请参阅 modify-db-parameter-group。有关使用 RDS API 更改参数值的更多信息,请参阅 ModifyDBParameterGroup

  • 如果数据库实例未使用对其关联的数据库参数组所做的最新更改,控制台将针对数据库参数组显示 pending-reboot(待重启)状态。此状态不会在下一个维护时段期间导致自动重启。要向该数据库实例应用最新的参数更改,请手动重启数据库实例。

  • 将新数据库参数组关联到数据库实例时,修改后的静态和动态参数仅在数据库实例重新启动后得到应用。但是,如果修改新关联的数据库参数组中的动态参数,这些更改将立即得到应用,而无需重新启动。有关更改数据库集群参数组的信息,请参阅 修改 Amazon Aurora 数据库集群

  • 更改与数据库集群关联的数据库集群参数组后,重启数据库集群中的数据库实例。这样做会将更改应用于数据库集群中的所有数据库实例。

    要确定是否必须重启数据库集群的数据库实例才能应用更改,请运行以下 AWS CLI 命令。

    aws rds describe-db-clusters --db-cluster-identifier db_cluster_identifier

    检查 DBClusterParameterGroupStatus 输出中主数据库实例的值。如果值为 pending-reboot,则重启数据库集群的数据库实例。

  • 在许可情况下,您可以使用表达式、公式和函数指定整数和布尔参数值。函数可以包含数学对数表达式。但是,并非所有参数都支持对参数值使用表达式、公式和函数。有关更多信息,请参阅指定数据库参数

  • 在创建数据库集群之前,在参数组中设置与数据库的字符集或排序规则相关的任何参数。在其中创建数据库之前也要这样做。这将确保默认数据库以及新数据库使用您指定的字符集和排序规则值。如果您更改字符集或排序规则参数,则参数更改不会应用于现有数据库。

    对于某些数据库引擎,您可使用 ALTER DATABASE 命令更改现有数据库的字符集或排序规则值,例如:

    ALTER DATABASE database_name CHARACTER SET character_set_name COLLATE collation;

    有关更改数据库字符集或排序规则值的更多信息,请查阅数据库引擎文档。

  • 在参数组内设置参数不恰当可能会产生意外的不利影响,包括性能降低和系统不稳定。修改数据库参数时应始终保持谨慎,且在修改参数组前备份数据。将参数组更改应用于生产数据库实例或数据库集群前,请在测试数据库实例或数据库集群上尝试进行这些参数组设置更改。

  • 对于 Aurora 全局数据库,您可以为各个 Aurora 集群指定不同的配置设置。请确保设置足够相似,以便您在将辅助集群提升到主集群时生成一致的行为。例如,对于跨 Aurora 全局数据库的所有集群的时区和字符集使用相同设置。

  • 要确定数据库引擎支持的参数,请查看数据库实例或数据库集群使用的数据库参数组和数据库集群参数组中的参数。有关更多信息,请参阅 查看数据库参数组的参数值查看数据库集群参数组的参数值

Working with parameter groups - Amazon Aurora

Working with parameter groups

Database parameters specify how the database is configured. For example, database parameters can specify the amount of resources, such as memory, to allocate to a database.

You manage your database configuration by associating your DB instances and Aurora DB clusters with parameter groups. Aurora defines parameter groups with default settings.

Important

You can define your own parameter groups with customized settings. Then you can modify your DB instances and Aurora DB clusters to use your own parameter groups.

For information about modifying a DB cluster or DB instance, see Modifying an Amazon Aurora DB cluster.

A DB cluster parameter group acts as a container for engine configuration values that are applied to every DB instance in an Aurora DB cluster. For example, the Aurora shared storage model requires that every DB instance in an Aurora cluster use the same setting for parameters such as innodb_file_per_table. Thus, parameters that affect the physical storage layout are part of the cluster parameter group. The DB cluster parameter group also includes default values for all the instance-level parameters

A DB parameter group acts as a container for engine configuration values that are applied to one or more DB instances. DB parameter groups apply to DB instances in both Amazon RDS and Aurora. These configuration settings apply to properties that can vary among the DB instances within an Aurora cluster, such as the sizes for memory buffers.

If you create a DB instance without specifying a DB parameter group, the DB instance uses a default DB parameter group. Likewise, if you create an Aurora DB cluster without specifying a DB cluster parameter group, the DB cluster uses a default DB cluster parameter group. Each default parameter group contains database engine defaults and Amazon RDS system defaults based on the engine, compute class, and allocated storage of the instance. You can't modify the parameter settings of a default parameter group. Instead, you create your own parameter group where you choose your own parameter settings. Not all DB engine parameters can be changed in a parameter group that you create.

To use your own parameter group, you create a new parameter group and modify the parameters that you want to modify. You then modify your DB instance or DB cluster to use the new parameter group. If you update parameters within a DB parameter group, the changes apply to all DB instances that are associated with that parameter group. Likewise, if you update parameters within an Aurora DB cluster parameter group, the changes apply to all Aurora clusters that are associated with that DB cluster parameter group.

You can copy an existing DB parameter group with the AWS CLI copy-db-parameter-group command. You can copy an existing DB cluster parameter group with the AWS CLI copy-db-cluster-parameter-group command. Copying a parameter group can be convenient in some cases. An example is when you want to include most of an existing parameter group's custom parameters and values in a new parameter group.

Here are some important points about working with parameters in a parameter group:

  • DB cluster parameters are either static or dynamic. When you change a static parameter and save the DB cluster parameter group, the parameter change takes effect after you manually reboot the DB instances in each associated DB cluster.

    When you change a dynamic parameter, by default the parameter change is applied to your DB cluster immediately, without requiring a reboot. To defer the parameter change until after the DB instances in an associated DB cluster are rebooted, use the AWS CLI or RDS API. Set the ApplyMethod to pending-reboot for the parameter change.

    When you use the AWS Management Console to change DB cluster parameter values, it always uses immediate for the ApplyMethod for dynamic parameters. For static parameters, the AWS Management Console always uses pending-reboot for the ApplyMethod.

    For more information about using the AWS CLI to change a parameter value, see modify-db-cluster-parameter-group. For more information about using the RDS API to change a parameter value, see ModifyDBClusterParameterGroup.

  • DB instance parameters are either static or dynamic. When you change a static parameter and save the DB parameter group, the parameter change takes effect after you manually reboot the associated DB instances.

    When you change a dynamic parameter, by default the parameter change is applied to your DB instance immediately, without requiring a reboot. To defer the parameter change until after an associated DB instance is rebooted, use the AWS CLI or RDS API. Set the ApplyMethod to pending-reboot for the parameter change.

    When you use the AWS Management Console to change DB instance parameter values, it always uses immediate for the ApplyMethod for dynamic parameters. For static parameters, the AWS Management Console always uses pending-reboot for the ApplyMethod.

    For more information about using the AWS CLI to change a parameter value, see modify-db-parameter-group. For more information about using the RDS API to change a parameter value, see ModifyDBParameterGroup.

  • If a DB instance isn't using the latest changes to its associated DB parameter group, the console shows a status of pending-reboot for the DB parameter group. This status doesn't result in an automatic reboot during the next maintenance window. To apply the latest parameter changes to that DB instance, manually reboot the DB instance.

  • When you associate a new DB parameter group with a DB instance, the modified static and dynamic parameters are applied only after the DB instance is rebooted. However, if you modify dynamic parameters in the newly associated DB parameter group, these changes are applied immediately without a reboot. For more information about changing the DB parameter group, see Modifying an Amazon Aurora DB cluster.

  • After you change the DB cluster parameter group associated with a DB cluster, reboot the DB instances in the DB cluster. Doing this applies the changes to all of the DB instances in the DB cluster.

    To determine whether the DB instances of a DB cluster must be rebooted to apply changes, run the following AWS CLI command.

    aws rds describe-db-clusters --db-cluster-identifier db_cluster_identifier

    Check the DBClusterParameterGroupStatus value for the primary DB instance in the output. If the value is pending-reboot, then reboot the DB instances of the DB cluster.

  • In many cases, you can specify integer and Boolean parameter values using expressions, formulas, and functions. Functions can include a mathematical log expression. However, not all parameters support expressions, formulas, and functions for parameter values. For more information, see Specifying DB parameters.

  • Set any parameters that relate to the character set or collation of your database in your parameter group before creating the DB cluster. Also do so before you create a database in it. This ensures that the default database and new databases use the character set and collation values that you specify. If you change character set or collation parameters, the parameter changes aren't applied to existing databases.

    For some DB engines, you can change character set or collation values for an existing database using the ALTER DATABASE command, for example:

    ALTER DATABASE database_name CHARACTER SET character_set_name COLLATE collation;

    For more information about changing the character set or collation values for a database, check the documentation for your DB engine.

  • Improperly setting parameters in a parameter group can have unintended adverse effects, including degraded performance and system instability. Always be cautious when modifying database parameters, and back up your data before modifying a parameter group. Try parameter group setting changes on a test DB instance or DB cluster before applying those parameter group changes to a production DB instance or DB cluster.

  • For an Aurora global database, you can specify different configuration settings for the individual Aurora clusters. Make sure that the settings are similar enough to produce consistent behavior if you promote a secondary cluster to be the primary cluster. For example, use the same settings for time zones and character sets across all the clusters of an Aurora global database.

  • To determine the supported parameters for your DB engine, view the parameters in the DB parameter group and DB cluster parameter group used by the DB instance or DB cluster. For more information, see Viewing parameter values for a DB parameter group and Viewing parameter values for a DB cluster parameter group.