Deleting objects and buckets - Amazon Simple Storage Service

Deleting objects and buckets

When you no longer need an object or a bucket, we recommend that you delete them to prevent further charges. If you completed this getting started walkthrough as a learning exercise and do not plan to use your bucket or objects, we recommend that you delete your bucket so that charges no longer accrue. Before you delete your bucket, you must empty the bucket or delete the objects in the bucket. After you delete your objects and bucket, they are no longer available.

If you want to continue to use the same bucket name, we recommend that you delete the objects or empty the bucket but do not delete the bucket. After you delete a bucket, the name becomes available to reuse. However, another account might create a bucket with the same name before you have a chance to reuse it.

Emptying your bucket

If you plan to delete your bucket, you must first empty your bucket, which deletes all the objects in the bucket.

To empty a bucket

  1. In the Buckets list, select the bucket that you want to empty, and then choose Empty.

  2. To confirm that you want to empty the bucket and delete all the objects in it, in Empty bucket, enter the name of the bucket.

    Important

    Emptying the bucket cannot be undone. Objects added to the bucket while the empty bucket action is in progress will be deleted.

  3. To empty the bucket and delete all the objects in it, and choose Empty.

    An Empty bucket: Status page opens that you can use to review a summary of failed and successful object deletions.

  4. To return to your bucket list, choose Exit.

Deleting an object

If you want to choose which objects you delete without emptying all the objects from your bucket, you can delete an object.

  1. In the Buckets list, choose the name of the bucket that you want to delete an object from.

  2. Select the check box to the left of the names of the objects that you want to delete.

  3. Choose Actions and choose Delete from the list of options that appears.

    Alternatively, choose Delete from the options in the upper right.

  4. Enter delete if asked to confirm that you want to delete these objects.

  5. Choose Delete objects in the bottom right and Amazon S3 deletes the specified objects.

Deleting your bucket

After you empty your bucket or delete all the objects from your bucket, you can delete your bucket.

  1. To delete a bucket, in the Buckets list, select the bucket.

  2. Choose Delete.

  3. To confirm deletion, in Delete bucket, enter the name of the bucket.

    Important

    Deleting a bucket cannot be undone. Bucket names are unique. If you delete your bucket, another AWS user can use the name. If you want to continue to use the same bucket name, don't delete your bucket. Instead, empty and keep the bucket.

  4. To delete your bucket, choose Delete bucket.

For more information about using Amazon S3, see Where do I go from here?