实现混合数据库系统的最佳实践 - Amazon DynamoDB

实现混合数据库系统的最佳实践

在一些情况下,从一个或多个关系数据库管理系统 (RDBMS) 迁移到 Amazon DynamoDB 可能无益。在这些情况下,创建混合系统可能更可取。

如果不想将所有内容迁移到 DynamoDB

例如,一些企业大笔投资代码,生成会计和运营所需的众多报告。生成报告所花时间对这些组织并不重要。关系系统的灵活性非常适合此类任务,在 NoSQL 环境中重新创建这些报告可能过于困难。

有些企业还保留几十年前获取或继承的各种旧式关系系统。迁移这些系统的数据可能风险过高,代价昂贵。

但是,这些组织现在可能发现,其运营依赖面向客户的高流量网站,非常注重毫秒级响应。除非投入海量费用(往往无法接受),否则无法缩放关系系统满足此要求。

在这种情况下,可以创建混合系统,DynamoDB 为一个或多个关系系统中存储的数据创建具体化视图,并按照视图处理高流量请求。这种系统无需以前处理面向客户的流量所需的服务器硬件、维护和 RDBMS 许可证,有可能降低成本。

如何实现混合系统

DynamoDB 可以利用 DynamoDB Streams 和 AWS Lambda,无缝集成一个或多个现有关系数据库系统:


        如何集成 DynamoDB 与现有 SQL 系统的示意图。

集成 DynamoDB Streams 和 AWS Lambda 的系统有以下优点:

  • 可以作为具体化视图的持久缓存运行。

  • 可以设置为在查询数据时,以及在 SQL 系统中修改数据时,逐步填充相关数据。这意味着无需预先填充整个视图,更有可能高效利用预置吞吐容量。

  • 管理成本低,可用性和可靠性高。

要实现此类集成,必须提供三种互操作性。


        集成 DynamoDB 与现有 SQL 系统所需的代码。
  1. 增量填充 DynamoDB 缓存。 查看项目时,首先在 DynamoDB 中查找。如果没有,则在 SQL 系统中查找,然后加载到 DynamoDB。

  2. 通过 DynamoDB 缓存写入。 如果客户更改 DynamoDB 中的值,将触发 Lambda 函数,将新数据写回 SQL 系统。

  3. 从 SQL 系统更新 DynamoDB。 如果内部流程(如库存管理或定价)更改 SQL 系统的值,将触发存储过程,将更改传输至 DynamoDB 具体化视图。

这些操作简单直接,但并不是所有情况都需要。

如果希望主要依赖 DynamoDB,同时保留一个小的关系系统以执行一次性查询,或用于需要特殊安全性或非时间关键型操作,也可以采用混合解决方案。

Amazon DynamoDB
Developer Guide (API Version 2012-08-10)

Best Practices for Implementing a Hybrid Database System

In some circumstances, migrating from one or more relational database management systems (RDBMS) to DynamoDB might not be advantageous. In these cases, it might be preferable to create a hybrid system.

If You Don't Want to Migrate Everything to DynamoDB

For example, some organizations have large investments in the code that produces a multitude of reports needed for accounting and operations. The time it takes to generate a report is not important to them. The flexibility of a relational system is well suited to this kind of task, and re-creating all those reports in a NoSQL context might be prohibitively difficult.

Some organizations also maintain a variety of legacy relational systems that they have acquired or inherited over decades. Migrating data from these systems might be too risky and expensive to justify the effort.

However, the same organizations may now find that their operations depend on high-traffic customer-facing websites, where millisecond response is essential. Relational systems can't scale to meet this requirement except at huge (and often unacceptable) expense.

In these situations, the answer might be to create a hybrid system, in which DynamoDB creates a materialized view of data stored in one or more relational systems and handles high-traffic requests against this view. This type of system can potentially reduce costs by eliminating server hardware, maintenance, and RDBMS licenses that were previously needed to handle customer-facing traffic.

How a Hybrid System Can Be Implemented

DynamoDB can take advantage of DynamoDB Streams and AWS Lambda to integrate seamlessly with one or more existing relational database systems:


        Diagram illustrating how to integrate DynamoDB with existing SQL systems.

A system that integrates DynamoDB Streams and AWS Lambda can provides several advantages:

  • It can operate as a persisted cache of materialized views.

  • It can be set up to fill gradually with data as that data is queried for, and as data is modified in the SQL system. This means that the entire view does not need to be pre-populated, which in turn means that provisioned throughput capacity is more likely to be utilized efficiently.

  • It has low administrative costs and is highly available and reliable.

For this kind of integration to be implemented, essentially three kinds of interoperation must be provided:


        Coding needed to integrate DynamoDB with existing SQL systems.
  1. Fill the DynamoDB cache incrementally. When an item is queried, look for it first in DynamoDB. If it is not there, look for it in the SQL system, and load it into DynamoDB.

  2. Write through a DynamoDB cache. When a customer changes a value in DynamoDB, a Lambda function is triggered to write the new data back to the SQL system.

  3. Update DynamoDB from the SQL system. When internal processes such as inventory management or pricing change a value in the SQL system, a stored procedures is triggered to propagate the change to the DynamoDB materialized view.

These operations are straightforward, and not all of them are needed for every scenario.

A hybrid solution can also be useful when you want to rely primarily on DynamoDB, but you also want to maintain a small relational system for one-time queries, or for operations that need special security or that are not time-critical.