利用稀疏索引 - Amazon DynamoDB

利用稀疏索引

对于表的任何项目,仅当项目中存在索引排序键值时,DynamoDB 才会写入相应索引条目。如果不是每个表项目都存在排序键,这种索引称为稀疏索引。

稀疏索引对于查询表的小子集非常有用。例如,假设有一个表存储所有客户订单,具有以下键属性:

  • 分区键:CustomerId

  • 排序键:OrderId

要跟踪未结订单,可以在尚未发货的订单项目中插入一个名为 isOpen 的属性。订单发货后,可以删除该属性。如果对 CustomerId(分区键)和 isOpen(排序键)创建索引,则仅显示定义了 isOpen 的订单。如果数以千计的订单中只有少量订单处于未结状态,查询未结订单索引比扫描整个表更快,成本更低。

可以使用值在索引中生成有用排序顺序的属性,代替 isOpen 属性。例如,可以使用设置为下每个订单的日期的 OrderOpenDate 属性,订单完成后删除。这样查询稀疏索引时,返回的项目将按下每个订单的日期排序。

DynamoDB 中稀疏索引的示例

全局二级索引默认属于稀疏型。创建全局二级索引时,指定一个分区键,可以选择指定一个排序键。索引仅显示基表中包含这些属性的项目。

将全局二级索引设计为稀疏索引,可以配置低于基表的写入吞吐量,同时仍实现出色的性能。

例如,游戏应用程序可能跟踪每个用户的所有得分,但通常只需查询一些高分。下面的设计高效处理这种情况:


          稀疏 GSI 示例。

Rick 玩三款游戏,在其中一款游戏中达到 Champ 状态。Padma 玩四款游戏,在其中两款游戏中达到 Champ 状态。请注意,只有用户达到奖励的项目存在 Award 属性。关联全局二级索引如下所示:


          稀疏 GSI 示例。

全局二级索引仅包含经常查询的高分,这是基表的一个小子集。

Menu
Amazon DynamoDB
Developer Guide (API Version 2012-08-10)

Take Advantage of Sparse Indexes

For any item in a table, DynamoDB writes a corresponding index entry only if the index sort key value is present in the item. If the sort key doesn't appear in every table item, the index is said to be sparse.

Sparse indexes are useful for queries over a small subsection of a table. For example, suppose that you have a table where you store all your customer orders, with the following key attributes:

  • Partition key: CustomerId

  • Sort key: OrderId

To track open orders, you can insert a Boolean attribute named isOpen in order items that have not already shipped. Then when the order ships, you can delete the attribute. If you then create an index on CustomerId (partition key) and isOpen (sort key), only those orders with isOpen defined appear in it. When you have thousands of orders of which only a small number are open, it's faster and less expensive to query that index for open orders than to scan the entire table.

Instead of using a Boolean type of attribute like isOpen, you could use an attribute with a value that results in a useful sort order in the index. For example, you could use an OrderOpenDate attribute set to the date on which each order was placed, and then delete it after the order is fulfilled. That way, when you query the sparse index, the items are returned sorted by the date on which each order was placed.

Examples of Sparse Indexes in DynamoDB

Global secondary indexes are sparse by default. When you create a global secondary index, you specify a partition key and optionally a sort-key. Only items in the parent table that contain those attributes appear in the index.

By designing a global secondary index to be sparse, you can provision it with lower write throughput than that of the parent table, while still achieving excellent performance.

For example, a gaming application might track all scores of every user, but generally only needs to query a few high scores. The following design handles this scenario efficiently:

Sparse GSI example.

Here, Rick has played three games and achieved Champ status in one of them. Padma has played four games and achieved Champ status in two of them. Notice that the Award attribute is present only in items where the user achieved an award. The associated global secondary index looks like the following:

Sparse GSI example.

The global secondary index contains only the high scores that are frequently queried, which are a small subset of the items in the parent table.

On this page: