使用写入分区均匀分配工作负载 - Amazon DynamoDB

使用写入分区均匀分配工作负载

扩大空间是一种在 Amazon DynamoDB 的分区键空间更好地分配写入的方式。可以通过多种不同方式来进行。可以将随机数加入分区键值,在分区之间分配项目。或者,可以使用基于查询内容计算的数字。

使用随机后缀分区

将随机数加入分区键值末尾,是在分区键空间更均匀分配负载的一种策略。然后在更大空间内随机写入。

例如,对于表示当天日期的分区键,可能选择介于 1200 之间的随机数,并将它作为后缀连接到日期。这将生成分区键值 2014-07-09.12014-07-09.2,以此类推,直到 2014-07-09.200。由于随机化分区键,每天表的写入将均匀分布在多个分区。这样可以提高并行度和总体吞吐量。

但是,要读取指定日期的所有项目,必须针对所有后缀查询项目,然后合并结果。例如,先对分区键值 2014-07-09.1 发出 Query 请求。然后,对 2014-07-09.2 发出另一个 Query,以此类推,直到 2014-07-09.200。最后,应用程序必须合并所有 Query 请求的结果。

使用计算后缀分区

随机化策略可以显著改善写入吞吐量,但难以读取特定项目,因为不知道写入项目时使用的后缀值。要更容易读取各个项目,可使用其他策略。不使用随机数在分区间分配项目,而是使用可根据查询内容计算的数字。

考虑上一个示例,表在分区键中使用当天日期。现在假设每个项目有一个可访问的 OrderId 属性,除了日期外,最经常需要按订单 ID 查找项目。应用程序将项目写入表之前,可以根据订单 ID 计算一个哈希后缀,并将此后缀追加到分区键日期。计算可能产生一个介于 1 和 200 之间非常均匀分布的数字,类似于随机策略所生成的数字。

简单的计算足够了,例如订单 ID 字符的 UTF-8 码位值的乘积,取模 200,加 1。分区键值是连接计算结果的日期。

利用此策略,写入均匀分布在分区键值之间,从而均匀分布在物理分区之间。可以对特殊项目和日期轻松执行 GetItem 操作,因为可以为特定 OrderId 值计算分区键值。

要读取指定日期的所有项目,仍必须Query每个 2014-07-09.N 键(其中,N 为 1-200),然后应用程序必须合并所有结果。好处是避免出现单个“热门”分区键值,承担所有工作负载。

注意

有关专门设计用于处理大容量时间序列数据的更高效策略,请参见时间序列数据

Menu
Amazon DynamoDB
Developer Guide (API Version 2012-08-10)

Using Write Sharding to Distribute Workloads Evenly

One way to better distribute writes across a partition key space in DynamoDB is to expand the space. You can do this in several different ways. You can add a random number to the partition key values to distribute the items among partitions, or you can use a number that is calculated based on something that you are querying on.

Sharding Using Random Suffixes

One strategy for distributing loads more evenly across a partition key space is to add a random number to the end of the partition key values. Then you randomize the writes across the larger space.

For example, in the case of a partition key that represents today's date, you might choose a random number between 1 and 200 and concatenate it as a suffix to the date. This yields partition key values like 2014-07-09.1, 2014-07-09.2, and so on, through 2014-07-09.200. Because you are randomizing the partition key, the writes to the table on each day are spread evenly across multiple partitions. This results in better parallelism and higher overall throughput.

However, to read all the items for a given day, you would have to query the items for all the suffixes and then merge the results. For example, you would first issue a Query request for the partition key value 2014-07-09.1, then another Query for 2014-07-09.2, and so on, through 2014-07-09.200. Finally, your application would have to merge the results from all those Query requests.

Sharding Using Calculated Suffixes

A randomizing strategy can greatly improve write throughput. But it's difficult to read a specific item because you don't know which suffix value was used when writing the item. To make it easier to read individual items, you can use a different strategy. Instead of using a random number to distribute the items among partitions, use a number that you can calculate based upon something that you want to query on.

Consider the previous example, in which a table uses today's date in the partition key. Now suppose that each item has an accessible OrderId attribute, and that you most often need to find items by order ID in addition to date. Before your application writes the item to the table, it could calculate a hash suffix based on the order ID and append it to the partition key date. The calculation might generate a number between 1 and 200 that is fairly evenly distributed, similar to what the random strategy produces.

A simple calculation would likely suffice, such as the product of the UTF-8 code point values for the characters in the order ID, modulo 200, + 1. The partition key value would then be the date concatenated with the calculation result.

With this strategy, the writes are spread evenly across the partition-key values, and thus across the physical partitions. You can easily perform a GetItem operation for a particular item and date because you can calculate the partition-key value for a specific OrderId value.

To read all the items for a given day, you still must Query each of the 2014-07-09.N keys (where N is 1–200), and your application then has to merge all the results. The benefit is that you avoid having a single "hot" partition key value taking all of the workload.

Note

For an even more efficient strategy specifically designed to handle high-volume time-series data, see Time-Series Data.