了解資料表、資料庫和資料目錄 - Amazon Athena

了解資料表、資料庫和資料目錄

在 Athena 中,資料表和資料庫是中繼資料定義的容器,用於定義基礎來源資料的結構描述。對於每個資料集,Athena 中必須存在資料表。資料表中的中繼資料可讓 Athena 知道資料位於 Amazon S3 中的何處,並指定資料的結構,例如資料欄名稱、資料類型和資料表名稱。資料庫是資料表的邏輯群組,也只保存資料集的中繼資料和結構描述資訊。

對於您想要查詢的每個資料集,Athena 必須有基礎資料表,以用於取得和傳回查詢結果。因此,在查詢資料之前,必須在 Athena 中註冊資料表。註冊是在您自動或手動建立資料表時進行。

無論資料表的建立方式為何,資料表建立程序都會向 Athena 註冊資料集。此註冊會在 AWS Glue Data Catalog 中進行,並可讓 Athena 對資料執行查詢。

  • 若要自動建立資料表,請從 Athena 內使用 AWS Glue 編目程式。如需有關 AWS Glue 和編目程式的詳細資訊,請參閱與 AWS Glue 整合。當 AWS Glue 建立資料表時,其會在自己的 AWS Glue 資料目錄中註冊資料表。Athena 使用 AWS Glue 資料目錄來存放和擷取此中繼資料,供您執行查詢以分析基礎資料集時使用。

在建立資料表之後,您可以使用 SQL SELECT 陳述式來查詢該資料表,包括取得來源資料的特定檔案位置。您的查詢結果會存放在 Amazon S3 中您指定的查詢結果位置

您可以透過整個 Amazon Web Services 帳戶存取該 AWS Glue 資料目錄。其他 AWS 服務 可以共用 AWS Glue 資料目錄,因此,您可以使用 Athena 查看整個組織中建立的資料庫和資料表,反之亦然。此外,AWS Glue 可讓您自動探索資料結構描述,以及擷取、轉換和載入 (ETL) 資料。

  • 手動建立資料表:

    • 使用 Athena 主控台執行建立資料表精靈

    • 使用 Athena 主控台在查詢編輯器中撰寫 Hive DDL 陳述式。

    • 使用 Athena API 或 CLI,以執行採用 DDL 陳述式的 SQL 查詢字串。

    • 使用 Athena JDBC 或 ODBC 驅動程式。

手動建立資料表和資料庫時,Athena 會在幕後使用 HiveQL 資料定義語言 (DDL) 陳述式 (例如 CREATE TABLECREATE DATABASEDROP TABLE),在 AWS Glue Data Catalog 中建立資料表和資料庫。

注意

如果您在 Athena 中有 2017 年 8 月 14 日之前建立的資料表,則它們已在 Athena 受管內部資料目錄中建立,而且與 AWS Glue Data Catalog 並存,直到您選擇更新為止。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 逐步升級到 AWS Glue Data Catalog

當您查詢現有的資料表時,Amazon Athena 在幕後會使用分散式 SQL 引擎 Presto。我們在 Athena 內提供附有範本資料的範例,以說明如何使用 Athena 建立資料表,然後對其發出查詢。Athena 在主控台中也提供教學課程,可協助您根據 Amazon S3 中存放的資料建立資料表。

  • 如需在 Athena 查詢編輯器中建立資料表和撰寫查詢的逐步教學課程,請參閱入門

  • 在主控台執行 Athena 教學課程。如果您是第一次登入至 https://console.aws.amazon.com/athena/,此教學課程會自動啟動。您也可以在主控台選擇 Tutorial (教學) 來啟動它。

Amazon Athena
User Guide

Understanding Tables, Databases, and the Data Catalog

In Athena, tables and databases are containers for the metadata definitions that define a schema for underlying source data. For each dataset, a table needs to exist in Athena. The metadata in the table tells Athena where the data is located in Amazon S3, and specifies the structure of the data, for example, column names, data types, and the name of the table. Databases are a logical grouping of tables, and also hold only metadata and schema information for a dataset.

For each dataset that you'd like to query, Athena must have an underlying table it will use for obtaining and returning query results. Therefore, before querying data, a table must be registered in Athena. The registration occurs when you either create tables automatically or manually.

Regardless of how the tables are created, the tables creation process registers the dataset with Athena. This registration occurs either in the AWS Glue Data Catalog, or in the internal Athena data catalog and enables Athena to run queries on the data.

  • To create a table automatically, use an AWS Glue crawler from within Athena. For more information about AWS Glue and crawlers, see Integration with AWS Glue. When AWS Glue creates a table, it registers it in its own AWS Glue Data Catalog. Athena uses the AWS Glue Data Catalog to store and retrieve this metadata, using it when you run queries to analyze the underlying dataset.

The AWS Glue Data Catalog is accessible throughout your AWS account. Other AWS services can share the AWS Glue Data Catalog, so you can see databases and tables created throughout your organization using Athena and vice versa. In addition, AWS Glue lets you automatically discover data schema and extract, transform, and load (ETL) data.

Note

You use the internal Athena data catalog in regions where AWS Glue is not available and where the AWS Glue Data Catalog cannot be used.

  • To create a table manually:

    • Use the Athena console to run the Create Table Wizard.

    • Use the Athena console to write Hive DDL statements in the Query Editor.

    • Use the Athena API or CLI to execute a SQL query string with DDL statements.

    • Use the Athena JDBC or ODBC driver.

When you create tables and databases manually, Athena uses HiveQL data definition language (DDL) statements such as CREATE TABLE, CREATE DATABASE, and DROP TABLE under the hood to create tables and databases in the AWS Glue Data Catalog, or in its internal data catalog in those regions where AWS Glue is not available.

Note

If you have tables in Athena created before August 14, 2017, they were created in an Athena-managed data catalog that exists side-by-side with the AWS Glue Data Catalog until you choose to update. For more information, see Upgrading to the AWS Glue Data Catalog Step-by-Step.

When you query an existing table, under the hood, Amazon Athena uses Presto, a distributed SQL engine. We have examples with sample data within Athena to show you how to create a table and then issue a query against it using Athena. Athena also has a tutorial in the console that helps you get started creating a table based on data that is stored in Amazon S3.

  • For a step-by-step tutorial on creating a table and writing queries in the Athena Query Editor, see Getting Started.

  • Run the Athena tutorial in the console. This launches automatically if you log in to https://console.aws.amazon.com/athena/ for the first time. You can also choose Tutorial in the console to launch it.