Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling
用户指南

控制在缩减过程中终止哪些 Auto Scaling 实例

对于每个 Auto Scaling 组,您可以控制它何时向网络架构添加实例 (称为扩展)或从中删除实例(称为缩减)。您可以通过附加和分离实例手动扩展组大小,或者可以使用扩展策略自动执行该过程。

要指定在缩减时首先终止哪一实例,请为 Auto Scaling 组配置终止策略。

在执行自动缩减时,您也可以使用实例保护来防止特定实例被终止。对于 Auto Scaling 组中的实例,使用 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 功能在发生缩减事件时保护实例。如果要防止您的实例被意外终止,请使用 Amazon EC2 终止保护。

注意

对于 Auto Scaling 组具有多个实例类型和购买选项,缩减操作会考虑按需基数以及为按需和 Spot 实例设置的百分比。在组缩减时,Auto Scaling 组首先标识它将终止的两种实例类型。然后,它会选择有包含最多该类型实例并应用默认或自定义终止策略的可用区。

默认终止策略

本节描述 Auto Scaling 在发生缩减事件时使用的默认终止策略。默认终止策略旨在帮助确保在可用区之间平均分配实例,以获得高可用性。默认策略会保留通用性和灵活性,旨在满足各种场景的需要。

使用默认终止策略时,Auto Scaling 组的行为如下所示:

  1. 确定哪些可用区包含最多实例,并且至少有一个实例不受缩减保护。

    如果可以从可用区中选择多个不受保护的实例,可以根据以下标准(按显示的顺序应用)选择要终止的实例。

  2. [仅适用于Auto Scaling 组具有多个实例类型和购买选项]

    确定要终止的实例,以便将剩余实例与要终止的按需或 Spot 实例的分配策略、当前选择的实例类型,以及在 N 个最低价格 Spot 池之间分配保持一致。如果有一个此类实例,则终止该实例。否则,应用下一个条件。

  3. [适用于使用启动模板的 Auto Scaling 组]

    确定是否有任何实例使用最旧的启动模板。如果有一个此类实例,则终止该实例。(请注意存在一个例外情况:如果组最初使用启动配置。Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 会首先终止使用启动配置的实例,然后再终止使用最旧启动模板的实例。)

  4. [适用于使用启动配置的 Auto Scaling 组]

    确定是否有任何实例使用最旧的启动配置。如果有一个此类实例,则终止该实例。

  5. 在应用 2 到 4 中的所有条件后,如果要终止多个不受保护的实例,确定哪些实例最接近下一个计费小时。如果有一个此类实例,则终止该实例。(通过终止最接近下一个计费小时的实例,将帮助您最大程度地使用按小时计费的实例。)

    注意

    使用按需实例时,您可以根据运行的实例以按小时或按分钟的方式为计算容量付费。如果您的 Auto Scaling 组使用 Amazon Linux 或 Ubuntu,则 EC2 的使用以秒为单位计费。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon EC2 定价

  6. 如果多个未保护的实例最接近下一个计费小时,请随机选择其中的一个实例。

示例

设想一个使用启动配置的 Auto Scaling 组。它具有一个实例类型和两个可用区,所需的容量为两个实例,并且扩展策略在达到特定阈值时按一为增量增加和减少实例数。该组中的两个实例分布如下。


                    基本 Auto Scaling 组。

当达到扩展策略的阈值时,策略生效,Auto Scaling 组启动新实例。Auto Scaling 组中现在有三个实例,分布如下。


                    执行扩展操作之后的 Auto Scaling 组。

当达到缩减策略的阈值时,策略生效,Auto Scaling 组终止其中一个实例。如果您没有为该组分配特定的终止策略,则使用默认终止策略。它选择有两个实例的可用区,并终止从最旧启动配置启动的实例。如果这些实例是从同一启动配置启动的,则 Auto Scaling 组选择最接近下一个计费小时的实例并终止该实例。

有关 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 高可用性的更多信息,请参阅在可用区之间分配实例

自定义终止策略

为 Auto Scaling 组分配的默认终止策略通常足以适用于大多数情况。但是,您可以选择将默认策略替换为自定义策略。

当您自定义终止策略时,如果某个可用区的实例数多于该组使用的其他可用区,则您的终止策略将应用于不均衡可用区中的实例。如果组使用的可用区是均衡的,则终止策略将应用于该组的所有可用区。

Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 支持以下自定义终止策略:

  • OldestInstance。终止组中最旧的实例。当您将 Auto Scaling 组中的实例升级为新的 EC2 实例类型,此选项十分有用。您可以逐渐将较旧类型的实例替换为较新类型的实例。

  • NewestInstance。终止组中最新的实例。如果要测试新的启动配置但不想在生产中保留它时,此策略非常有用。

  • OldestLaunchConfiguration。终止采用最旧启动配置的实例。如果要更新某个组并且逐步淘汰先前配置中的实例时,此策略非常有用。

  • ClosestToNextInstanceHour。终止最接近下个计费小时的实例。此策略将帮助您最大程度地使用您的实例并管理 Amazon EC2 使用成本。

  • Default。根据默认终止策略终止实例。如果该组有多个扩展策略,此策略非常有用。

  • OldestLaunchTemplate。终止采用最旧启动模板的实例。利用此策略,会首先终止使用非当前启动模板的实例,然后终止使用当前启动模板的最旧版本的实例。如果要更新某个组并且逐步淘汰先前配置中的实例时,此策略非常有用。

  • AllocationStrategy。终止 Auto Scaling 组中的实例,使剩余实例与所终止实例类型的分配策略匹配(Spot 实例或按需实例)。当您首选的实例类型发生变化时,可使用该策略。您可以逐渐在 N 个最低价 Spot 池中重新平衡分布 Spot 实例。您也可以使用较高优先级类型的按需实例逐渐替代较低优先级类型的按需实例。

自定义终止策略(控制台)

  1. 打开 Amazon EC2 控制台 https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/

  2. 在导航窗格中,选择 Auto Scaling 组

  3. 选择 Auto Scaling 组。

  4. 对于 Actions,选择 Edit

  5. Details 选项卡上,找到 Termination Policies。选择一个或多个终止策略。如果您选择多个策略,请按照它们的应用顺序将其列出。如果您使用默认策略,请将其指定为列表中的最后一个策略。

  6. 选择保存

自定义终止策略 (AWS CLI)

使用以下命令之一:

您可以单独使用这些策略,或者将它们合并到策略列表中。例如,使用以下命令更新 Auto Scaling 组以首先使用 OldestLaunchConfiguration 策略,然后使用 ClosestToNextInstanceHour 策略:

aws autoscaling update-auto-scaling-group --auto-scaling-group-name my-asg --termination-policies "OldestLaunchConfiguration" "ClosestToNextInstanceHour"

如果您使用 Default 终止策略,请将该策略设为终止策略列表中的最后一项。例如:--termination-policies "OldestLaunchConfiguration" "Default"

实例保护

要控制 Auto Scaling 组在缩减时是否可以终止特定实例,请使用实例保护。您可以对 Auto Scaling 组或单个 Auto Scaling 实例启用实例保护设置。当 Auto Scaling 组启动实例时,实例会继承 Auto Scaling 组的实例保护设置。您可以随时更改 Auto Scaling 组或 Auto Scaling 实例的实例保护设置。

当实例状态为 InService 时,实例保护启动。当您分离受终止保护的实例时,其实例保护设置就会失效。再次将实例挂载到组时,它会继承组的当前实例保护设置。

如果缩减期间 Auto Scaling 组中的所有实例都受终止保护并且发生缩减事件,则其所需容量会减少。不过,Auto Scaling 组不能终止所需数量的实例,直到其实例保护设置被禁用。

实例保护并不能针对以下情况保护 Auto Scaling 实例:

  • 通过 Amazon EC2 控制台、terminate-instances 命令或 TerminateInstances 操作手动终止。要保护 Auto Scaling 实例不被手动终止,请启用 Amazon EC2 终止保护。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon EC2 用户指南(适用于 Linux 实例) 中的启用终止保护

  • 实例未通过运行状况检查的情况下的运行状况检查更换。有关更多信息,请参阅 Auto Scaling 实例的运行状况检查。要阻止 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 终止运行状况不佳的实例,请暂停 ReplaceUnhealthy 流程。有关更多信息,请参阅暂停和恢复扩展流程

  • Spot 实例中断。当 Spot 实例的容量不再可用,或 Spot 价格超过您的最高价,则将其终止。

启用组的实例保护

您可以在创建 Auto Scaling 组时启用实例保护。默认情况下,实例保护是禁用的。

启用实例保护(控制台)

在创建 Auto Scaling 组时,在配置 Auto Scaling 组详细信息页上,在高级详细信息下从实例保护中选择 Protect From Scale In 选项。


                        使用向导启用实例保护。

启用实例保护 (AWS CLI)

可以使用以下 create-auto-scaling-group 命令启用实例保护:

aws autoscaling create-auto-scaling-group --auto-scaling-group-name my-asg --new-instances-protected-from-scale-in ...

修改组的实例保护设置

您可以启用或禁用 Auto Scaling 组的实例保护设置。

更改组的实例保护设置(控制台)

  1. 打开 Amazon EC2 控制台 https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/

  2. 在导航窗格中,选择 Auto Scaling 组

  3. 选择 Auto Scaling 组。

  4. Details 选项卡上,选择 Edit

  5. 对于实例保护,请选择保护免于缩减

    
                                查看“Details (详细信息)”选项卡上的“Instance Protection (实例保护)”
  6. 选择保存

更改组的实例保护设置 (AWS CLI)

可以使用以下 update-auto-scaling-group 命令为指定的 Auto Scaling 组启用实例保护:

aws autoscaling update-auto-scaling-group --auto-scaling-group-name my-asg --new-instances-protected-from-scale-in

使用以下命令可对指定的组禁用实例保护:

aws autoscaling update-auto-scaling-group --auto-scaling-group-name my-asg --no-new-instances-protected-from-scale-in

修改实例的实例保护设置

默认情况下,实例从其 Auto Scaling 组获取其实例保护设置。但是,您随时可以对实例启用或禁用实例保护。

更改实例的实例保护设置(控制台)

  1. 打开 Amazon EC2 控制台 https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/

  2. 在导航窗格中,选择 Auto Scaling 组

  3. 选择 Auto Scaling 组。

  4. Instances 选项卡上,选择实例。

  5. 要启用实例保护,请依次选择 ActionsInstance ProtectionSet Scale In Protection。系统提示时,选择 Set Scale In Protection

  6. 要禁用实例保护,请依次选择 ActionsInstance ProtectionRemove Scale In Protection。系统提示时,选择删除缩减保护

更改实例的实例保护设置 (AWS CLI)

使用以下 set-instance-protection 命令为指定的实例启用实例保护:

aws autoscaling set-instance-protection --instance-ids i-5f2e8a0d --auto-scaling-group-name my-asg --protected-from-scale-in

使用以下命令可对指定实例禁用实例保护:

aws autoscaling set-instance-protection --instance-ids i-5f2e8a0d --auto-scaling-group-name my-asg --no-protected-from-scale-in

Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling
User Guide

Controlling Which Auto Scaling Instances Terminate During Scale In

With each Auto Scaling group, you control when it adds instances (referred to as scaling out) or removes instances (referred to as scaling in) from your network architecture. You can scale the size of your group manually by attaching and detaching instances, or you can automate the process through the use of a scaling policy.

To specify which instances to terminate first during scale in, configure a termination policy for the Auto Scaling group.

Optionally, you can use instance protection to prevent specific instances from being terminated during automatic scale in. For instances in an Auto Scaling group, use Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling features to protect an instance when a scale-in event occurs. If you want to protect your instance from being accidentally terminated, use Amazon EC2 termination protection.

Note

For Auto Scaling Groups with Multiple Instance Types and Purchase Options, the scale-in action respects the On-Demand base amount and the percentages set for On-Demand and Spot Instances. When the group scales in, the Auto Scaling group first identifies which of these two types of instances it will terminate. Then, it chooses the Availability Zone with the most instances of that type, and applies the default or customized termination policy.

Default Termination Policy

This section describes the default termination policy used by an Auto Scaling group when a scale-in event occurs. The default termination policy is designed to help ensure that your instances span Availability Zones evenly for high availability. The default policy is kept generic and flexible to cover a range of scenarios.

With the default termination policy, the behavior of the Auto Scaling group is as follows:

  1. Determine which Availability Zone(s) have the most instances, and at least one instance that is not protected from scale in.

    If there are multiple unprotected instances to choose from in the Availability Zone(s) with the most instances, an instance is selected for termination based on the following criteria (applied in the order shown).

  2. [For Auto Scaling Groups with Multiple Instance Types and Purchase Options only]

    Determine which instance to terminate so as to align the remaining instances to the allocation strategy for the On-Demand or Spot Instance that is terminating, your current selection of instance types, and distribution across your N lowest priced Spot pools. If there is one such instance, terminate it. Otherwise, apply the next condition.

  3. [For Auto Scaling groups that use a launch template]

    Determine whether any of the instances use the oldest launch template. If there is one such instance, terminate it. (Note that there is one exception: if the group originally used a launch configuration. Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling terminates instances that use a launch configuration before instances with the oldest launch template.)

  4. [For Auto Scaling groups that use a launch configuration]

    Determine whether any of the instances use the oldest launch configuration. If there is one such instance, terminate it.

  5. After applying all of the criteria in 2 through 4, if there are multiple unprotected instances to terminate, determine which instances are closest to the next billing hour. If there is one such instance, terminate it. (Terminating the instance closest to the next billing hour helps you maximize the use of your instances that have an hourly charge.)

    Note

    With On-Demand Instances, you pay for compute capacity by per hour or per second depending on which instances you run. If your Auto Scaling group uses Amazon Linux or Ubuntu, your EC2 usage is billed in one-second increments. For more information, see Amazon EC2 Pricing.

  6. If there are multiple unprotected instances closest to the next billing hour, choose one of these instances at random.

Example

Consider an Auto Scaling group that uses a launch configuration. It has one instance type, two Availability Zones, a desired capacity of two instances, and scaling policies that increase and decrease the number of instances by one when certain thresholds are met. The two instances in this group are distributed as follows.


                    A basic Auto Scaling group.

When the threshold for the scale-out policy is met, the policy takes effect and the Auto Scaling group launches a new instance. The Auto Scaling group now has three instances, distributed as follows.


                    An Auto Scaling group after a scaling action occurs.

When the threshold for the scale-in policy is met, the policy takes effect and the Auto Scaling group terminates one of the instances. If you did not assign a specific termination policy to the group, it uses the default termination policy. It selects the Availability Zone with two instances, and terminates the instance launched from the oldest launch configuration. If the instances were launched from the same launch configuration, the Auto Scaling group selects the instance that is closest to the next billing hour and terminates it.

For more information about high availability with Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling, see Distributing Instances Across Availability Zones.

Customizing the Termination Policy

The default termination policy assigned to an Auto Scaling group is typically sufficient for most situations. However, you have the option of replacing the default policy with a customized one.

When you customize the termination policy, if one Availability Zone has more instances than the other Availability Zones that are used by the group, your termination policy is applied to the instances from the imbalanced Availability Zone. If the Availability Zones used by the group are balanced, the termination policy is applied across all of the Availability Zones for the group.

Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling supports the following custom termination policies:

  • OldestInstance. Terminate the oldest instance in the group. This option is useful when you're upgrading the instances in the Auto Scaling group to a new EC2 instance type. You can gradually replace instances of the old type with instances of the new type.

  • NewestInstance. Terminate the newest instance in the group. This policy is useful when you're testing a new launch configuration but don't want to keep it in production.

  • OldestLaunchConfiguration. Terminate instances that have the oldest launch configuration. This policy is useful when you're updating a group and phasing out the instances from a previous configuration.

  • ClosestToNextInstanceHour. Terminate instances that are closest to the next billing hour. This policy helps you maximize the use of your instances and manage your Amazon EC2 usage costs.

  • Default. Terminate instances according to the default termination policy. This policy is useful when you have more than one scaling policy for the group.

  • OldestLaunchTemplate. Terminate instances that have the oldest launch template. With this policy, instances that use the non-current launch template are terminated first, followed by instances that use the oldest version of the current launch template. This policy is useful when you're updating a group and phasing out the instances from a previous configuration.

  • AllocationStrategy. Terminate instances in the Auto Scaling group to align the remaining instances to the allocation strategy for the type of instance that is terminating (either a Spot Instance or an On-Demand Instance). This policy is useful when your preferred instance types have changed. You can gradually rebalance the distribution of Spot Instances across your N lowest priced Spot pools. You can also gradually replace On-Demand Instances of a lower priority type with On-Demand Instances of a higher priority type.

To customize a termination policy (console)

  1. Open the Amazon EC2 console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/.

  2. On the navigation pane, choose Auto Scaling Groups.

  3. Select the Auto Scaling group.

  4. For Actions, choose Edit.

  5. On the Details tab, locate Termination Policies. Choose one or more termination policies. If you choose multiple policies, list them in the order in which they should apply. If you use the Default policy, make it the last one in the list.

  6. Choose Save.

To customize a termination policy (AWS CLI)

Use one of the following commands:

You can use these policies individually, or combine them into a list of policies. For example, use the following command to update an Auto Scaling group to use the OldestLaunchConfiguration policy first and then use the ClosestToNextInstanceHour policy:

aws autoscaling update-auto-scaling-group --auto-scaling-group-name my-asg --termination-policies "OldestLaunchConfiguration" "ClosestToNextInstanceHour"

If you use the Default termination policy, make it the last one in the list of termination policies. For example, --termination-policies "OldestLaunchConfiguration" "Default".

Instance Protection

To control whether an Auto Scaling group can terminate a particular instance when scaling in, use instance protection. You can enable the instance protection setting on an Auto Scaling group or on an individual Auto Scaling instance. When the Auto Scaling group launches an instance, it inherits the instance protection setting of the Auto Scaling group. You can change the instance protection setting for an Auto Scaling group or an Auto Scaling instance at any time.

Instance protection starts when the instance state is InService. If you detach an instance that is protected from termination, its instance protection setting is lost. When you attach the instance to the group again, it inherits the current instance protection setting of the group.

If all instances in an Auto Scaling group are protected from termination during scale in, and a scale-in event occurs, its desired capacity is decremented. However, the Auto Scaling group can't terminate the required number of instances until their instance protection settings are disabled.

Instance protection does not protect Auto Scaling instances from the following:

  • Manual termination through the Amazon EC2 console, the terminate-instances command, or the TerminateInstances action. To protect Auto Scaling instances from manual termination, enable Amazon EC2 termination protection. For more information, see Enabling Termination Protection in the Amazon EC2 User Guide for Linux Instances.

  • Health check replacement if the instance fails health checks. For more information, see Health Checks for Auto Scaling Instances. To prevent Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling from terminating unhealthy instances, suspend the ReplaceUnhealthy process. For more information, see Suspending and Resuming Scaling Processes.

  • Spot Instance interruptions. A Spot instance is terminated when capacity is no longer available or the Spot price exceeds your maximum price.

Enable Instance Protection for a Group

You can enable instance protection when you create an Auto Scaling group. By default, instance protection is disabled.

To enable instance protection (console)

When you create the Auto Scaling group, on the Configure Auto Scaling group details page, under Advanced Details, select the Protect From Scale In option from Instance Protection.


                        Enable Instance Protection using the wizard.

To enable instance protection (AWS CLI)

Use the following create-auto-scaling-group command to enable instance protection:

aws autoscaling create-auto-scaling-group --auto-scaling-group-name my-asg --new-instances-protected-from-scale-in ...

Modify the Instance Protection Setting for a Group

You can enable or disable the instance protection setting for an Auto Scaling group.

To change the instance protection setting for a group (console)

  1. Open the Amazon EC2 console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/.

  2. On the navigation pane, choose Auto Scaling Groups.

  3. Select the Auto Scaling group.

  4. On the Details tab, choose Edit.

  5. For Instance Protection, select Protect From Scale In.

    
                                View Instance Protection on the Details tab.
  6. Choose Save.

To change the instance protection setting for a group (AWS CLI)

Use the following update-auto-scaling-group command to enable instance protection for the specified Auto Scaling group:

aws autoscaling update-auto-scaling-group --auto-scaling-group-name my-asg --new-instances-protected-from-scale-in

Use the following command to disable instance protection for the specified group:

aws autoscaling update-auto-scaling-group --auto-scaling-group-name my-asg --no-new-instances-protected-from-scale-in

Modify the Instance Protection Setting for an Instance

By default, an instance gets its instance protection setting from its Auto Scaling group. However, you can enable or disable instance protection for an instance at any time.

To change the instance protection setting for an instance (console)

  1. Open the Amazon EC2 console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/.

  2. On the navigation pane, choose Auto Scaling Groups.

  3. Select the Auto Scaling group.

  4. On the Instances tab, select the instance.

  5. To enable instance protection, choose Actions, Instance Protection, Set Scale In Protection. When prompted, choose Set Scale In Protection.

  6. To disable instance protection, choose Actions, Instance Protection, Remove Scale In Protection. When prompted, choose Remove Scale In Protection.

To change the instance protection setting for an instance (AWS CLI)

Use the following set-instance-protection command to enable instance protection for the specified instance:

aws autoscaling set-instance-protection --instance-ids i-5f2e8a0d --auto-scaling-group-name my-asg --protected-from-scale-in

Use the following command to disable instance protection for the specified instance:

aws autoscaling set-instance-protection --instance-ids i-5f2e8a0d --auto-scaling-group-name my-asg --no-protected-from-scale-in