AWS 如何與 IAM CodeStar 搭配運作 - AWS CodeStar

本文為英文版的機器翻譯版本,如內容有任何歧義或不一致之處,概以英文版為準。

AWS 如何與 IAM CodeStar 搭配運作

在您使用 IAM 來管理 AWS 的存取權之前 CodeStar,您應該先了解可搭配 AWS 使用的 IAM 功能有哪些 CodeStar。若要取得 AWS CodeStar 和其他AWS服務如何使用 IAM 的詳細資訊,請參閱 IAM 使用者指南中的使用 IAMAWS服務

AWS CodeStar 以身分為基礎的政策

使用 IAM 身分型政策,您可以指定允許或拒絕的動作和資源,以及在何種條件下允許或拒絕動作。AWS CodeStar 會代表您建立多個以身分識別 CodeStar 為基礎的政策,讓 AWS 能夠在 AWS CodeStar 專案範圍內建立和管理資源。AWS CodeStar 支援特定動作、資源和條件金鑰。若要了解您在 JSON 政策中使用的所有元素,請參閱《IAM 使用者指南》中的 JSON 政策元素參考

動作

管理員可以使用 AWS JSON 政策來指定誰可以存取哪些內容。也就是說,哪個主體在什麼條件下可以對什麼資源執行哪些動作

JSON 政策的 Action 元素描述您可以用來允許或拒絕政策中存取的動作。政策動作的名稱通常會和相關聯的 AWS API 操作相同。有一些例外狀況,例如沒有相符的 API 作業的僅限許可動作。也有一些作業需要政策中的多個動作。這些額外的動作稱為相依動作

政策會使用動作來授予執行相關聯操作的許可。

AWS 中的政策動作會在動作前 CodeStar 使用下列前綴:codestar:。例如,若要允許指定的 IAM 使用者編輯 AWS CodeStar 專案的屬性 (例如專案描述),您可以使用下列政策陳述式:

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement" : [ { "Effect" : "Allow", "Action" : [ "codestar:UpdateProject" ], "Resource" : "arn:aws:codestar:us-east-2:project/my-first-projec" } ] }

政策陳述式必須包含 ActionNotAction 元素。AWS 會 CodeStar 定義自己的一組動作,描述您可以使用此服務執行的任務。

若要在單一陳述式中指定多個動作,請用逗號分隔,如下所示:

"Action": [ "codestar:action1", "codestar:action2"

您也可以使用萬用字元 (*) 來指定多個動作。例如,若要指定開頭是 List 文字的所有動作,請包含以下動作:

"Action": "codestar:List*"

若要查看 AWS CodeStar 動作清單,請參閱 IAM 使用者指南 CodeStar中的 AWS 定義的動作。

資源

管理員可以使用 AWS JSON 政策來指定誰可以存取哪些內容。也就是說,哪個主體在什麼条件下可以對什麼資源執行哪些動作

Resource JSON 政策元素可指定要套用動作的物件。陳述式必須包含 ResourceNotResource 元素。最佳實務是使用其 Amazon Resource Name (ARN) 來指定資源。您可以針對支援特定資源類型的動作 (稱為資源層級許可) 來這麼做。

對於不支援資源層級許可的動作 (例如列出作業),請使用萬用字元 (*) 來表示陳述式適用於所有資源。

"Resource": "*"

AWS CodeStar 專案資源具有以下 ARN:

arn:aws:codestar:region:account:project/resource-specifier

如需 ARN 格式的詳細資訊,請參閱 Amazon Resource Name (ARN) 和 AWS 服務命名空間

例如,以下內容指定在該AWS區域中my-first-projec註冊AWS帳戶111111111111的 AWS CodeStar 專案us-east-2

arn:aws:codestar:us-east-2:111111111111:project/my-first-projec

以下111111111111內容指定以該 CodeStar 區AWS域AWS帳戶my-proj註冊名稱開頭的任何 AWS 專案us-east-2

arn:aws:codestar:us-east-2:111111111111:project/my-proj*

有些 AWS CodeStar 動作無法對資源執行。在這些情況下,您必須使用萬用字元 (*)。

"LisProjects": "*"

若要查看 AWS CodeStar 資源類型及其 ARN 的清單,請參閱 IAM 使用者指南 CodeStar中的 AWS 定義的資源。若要了解您可以使用哪些動作指定每個資源的 ARN,請參閱 AWS 定義的動作 CodeStar

條件索引鍵

AWS CodeStar 不提供任何服務專用條件金鑰,但支援使用一些全域條件金鑰。若要查看 AWS 全域條件索引鍵,請參閱《IAM 使用者指南》中的 AWS 全域條件內容金鑰

範例

若要檢視 AWS CodeStar 身分型政策範例,請參閱AWS CodeStar 以身分為基礎的政策範例

AWS CodeStar 資源型政策

AWS CodeStar 不支援資源類型政策。

以 AWS CodeStar 標籤為基礎的授權

您可以將標籤連接到 AWS CodeStar 專案,或是在請求中將標籤傳遞給 AWS CodeStar。若要根據標籤控制存取,請使用 codestar:ResourceTag/key-nameaws:RequestTag/key-nameaws:TagKeys 條件索引鍵,在政策的條件元素中,提供標籤資訊。如需標記 AWS CodeStar 資源的詳細資訊,請參閱在 AWS CodeStar 中使用專案標籤

若要檢視身分型政策範例,以根據該專案上的標籤來限制 AWS CodeStar 專案的存取權,請參閱根據標籤檢視 AWS CodeStar 專案

AWS CodeStar 身分與存取點

IAM 角色是您AWS帳戶中具備特定許可的實體。

您可以將 AWS CodeStar 當成 IAM 使用者、聯合身分使用者、根使用者或假定角色。具有適當許可的所有使用者類型都可以管理其AWS資源的專案許可,但 AWS 會自動為 IAM 使用者 CodeStar 管理專案許可。IAM 政策角色會根據專案角色授予該使用者的許可和存取權。您可以使用 IAM 主控台建立其他政策,將 AWS CodeStar 和其他許可指派給 IAM 使用者。

例如,您可能希望允許使用者檢視,但不能變更 AWS CodeStar 專案。在這種情況下,您可以使用檢視者角色將 IAM 使用者新增到 AWS CodeStar 專案。每個 AWS CodeStar 專案都有一組政策,可協助您控制專案的存取權。此外,您還可以控制哪些使用者可以存取 AWS CodeStar。

IAM 使用者和聯合身分使用者的 AWS CodeStar 存取方式會不同。只有 IAM 使用者可以新增到團隊。若要對 IAM 使用者授與專案許可,您可以將使用者新增至專案團隊,並為使用者指派角色。若要授與聯合身分使用者專案許可,您可以手動將 AWS CodeStar 專案角色的受管政策附加到聯合身分使用者的角色。

下表總結各種存取類型可用的工具。

許可功能 IAM 使用者 聯合身分使用者 根使用者
針對 Amazon EC2 和 Elastic Beanstalk 專案進行遠端存取的 SSH 金鑰管理
AWS CodeCommitSSH 存取
由 AWS 管理的 IAM 使用者許可 CodeStar
手動管理的專案許可
使用者可新增至專案做為團隊成員

IAM 使用者存取 AWS CodeStar

當您將 IAM 使用者新增至專案並為使用者選擇角色時,AWS 會自動將適當的政策 CodeStar套用至 IAM 使用者。對於 IAM 使用者,您不需要直接附加或管理 IAM 中的政策或許可。如需將 IAM 使用者新增至 AWS CodeStar 專案的相關資訊,請參閱新增團隊成員到 AWS CodeStar 專案 。如需從 AWS CodeStar 專案移除 IAM 使用者的相關資訊,請參閱從 AWS CodeStar 專案移除團隊成員

將內嵌政策附加至 IAM 使用者

當您將使用者新增至專案時,AWS CodeStar 會自動附加與使用者角色相符的專案受管政策。您不應手動將專案的 AWS CodeStar 受管政策附加到 IAM 使用者。除此之外AWSCodeStarFullAccess,我們不建議您在 AWS CodeStar 專案中附加變更 IAM 使用者許可的政策。如果您決定建立並附加自己的政策,請參閱 IAM 使用者指南中的新增和移除 IAM 身分許可。

聯合身分使用者存取 AWS CodeStar

您可以使用來自 AWS Directory Service、您的企業使用者目錄、Web 身分提供者或 IAM 使用者擔任角色的使用者身分來建立 IAM 使用者,而非使用根使用者。這些稱為「聯合身分使用者」

透過手動將 AWS CodeStar 專案 CodeStar層級政策和許可中描述的受管政策附加到使用者的 IAM 角色,授予聯合身分使用者對 AWS 專案的存取權限。AWS CodeStar 建立專案資源和 IAM 角色後,您可以附加擁有者、參與者或檢視者政策。

先決條件:

  • 您必須已設定身分提供者。例如,您可以設定 SAML 身分提供者,並透過提供者設定AWS驗證。如需設定身分提供者的詳細資訊,請參閱建立 IAM 身分提供者。如需有關 SAML 聯合身分詳細資訊,請參閱關於以 SAML 2.0 為基礎的聯合身分

  • 透過身分提供者身分提供者請求存取時,您必須已經建立要讓聯合身分使用者擔任的角色。STS 信任政策必須連接至允許聯合身分使用者擔任的角色。如需詳細資訊,請參閱《IAM 使用者指南》中的聯合身分使用者與角色

  • 您必須已建立 AWS CodeStar 專案並知道專案 ID。

如需有關為身分提供者建立角色的詳細資訊,請參閱為第三方身分提供者 (聯合身分) 建立角色

將 AWSCodeStarFullAccess 受管理的原則附加至同盟使用者的角色

連接 AWSCodeStarFullAccess 受管政策以授予聯合身分使用者建立專案的許可。若要執行這些步驟,您必須已經以根使用者、帳戶中的 IAM 管理員使用者,或具有關聯的 AdministratorAccess 受管政策或同等政策的 IAM 使用者或聯合身分使用者的身分登入主控台。

注意

在您建立專案之後,不會自動套用您的專案擁有者權限。使用具有您帳戶的管理許可的角色,連接擁有者受管政策,如將專案的AWS CodeStar Viewer /貢者/擁有者受管政策附加到聯合身份使用者的角色中所述。

  1. 開啟 IAM 主控台。在導覽窗格中,選擇 Policies (政策)。

  2. 在搜尋欄位中輸入 AWSCodeStarFullAccess。此時會顯示策略名稱,其策略類型為 AWSManaged。您可以擴展政策以查看政策陳述式中的許可。

  3. 選取政策旁的圓圈,然後在 Policy actions (政策動作) 下方選擇 Attach (連接)

  4. Summary (摘要) 頁面上選擇 Attached entities (連接的實體) 索引標籤。選擇 Attach (連接)。

  5. Attach Policy (連接政策) 頁面上,在搜尋欄位中篩選聯合身分使用者的角色。選取角色名稱旁邊的方塊,然後選擇 Attach policy (連接政策)Attached entities (連接的實體) 索引標籤將會顯示新的連接。

將專案的AWS CodeStar Viewer /貢者/擁有者受管政策附加到聯合身份使用者的角色

將適當的 擁有者、作者群或檢視者受管政策連接至使用者的角色,藉此授予聯合身分使用者存取您的專案。受管政策可提供適當的許可層級。不同於 IAM 使用者,您必須為聯合身分使用者手動連接及分離受管政策。這等同於將專案許可指派給 AWS 中的團隊成員 CodeStar。若要執行這些步驟,您必須已經以根使用者、帳戶中的 IAM 管理員使用者,或具有關聯的 AdministratorAccess 受管政策或同等政策的 IAM 使用者或聯合身分使用者的身分登入主控台。

先決條件:

  • 您必須已經建立您的聯合身分使用者將要擔任的角色或已擁有現有的角色。

  • 您必須知道您要授予哪個許可層級。連接至擁有者、作者群及檢視者角色的受管政策,為您的專案提供以角色為基礎的許可。

  • 您的 AWS CodeStar 專案必須已建立完成。在建立專案之前,IAM 中無法使用受管政策。

  1. 開啟 IAM 主控台。在導覽窗格中,選擇 Policies (政策)。

  2. 在搜尋欄位中輸入您的專案 ID。此時將會顯示符合您專案的政策名稱,其政策類型為 Customer managed (客戶受管)。您可以擴展政策以查看政策陳述式中的許可。

  3. 選擇下列其中一項受管政策。選取政策旁的圓圈,然後在 Policy actions (政策動作) 下方選擇 Attach (連接)

  4. Summary (摘要) 頁面上選擇 Attached entities (連接的實體) 索引標籤。選擇 Attach (連接)。

  5. Attach Policy (連接政策) 頁面上,在搜尋欄位中篩選聯合身分使用者的角色。選取角色名稱旁邊的方塊,然後選擇 Attach policy (連接政策)Attached entities (連接的實體) 索引標籤將會顯示新的連接。

將 AWS 受 CodeStar 管政策與聯合身分使用者的角色分離

刪除 AWS CodeStar 專案之前,您必須手動卸離連接到聯合身分使用者角色的任何受管政策。若要執行這些步驟,您必須已經以根使用者、帳戶中的 IAM 管理員使用者,或具有關聯的 AdministratorAccess 受管政策或同等政策的 IAM 使用者或聯合身分使用者的身分登入主控台。

  1. 開啟 IAM 主控台。在導覽窗格中,選擇 Policies (政策)。

  2. 在搜尋欄位中輸入您的專案 ID。

  3. 選取政策旁的圓圈,然後在 Policy actions (政策動作) 下方選擇 Attach (連接)

  4. Summary (摘要) 頁面上選擇 Attached entities (連接的實體) 索引標籤。

  5. 在搜尋欄位中篩選聯合身分使用者的角色。請選擇 Detach (分離)

將 AWS Cloud9 受管政策連接至聯合身分使用者的角色

如果您使用的是 AWS Cloud9 開發環境,請將 AWSCloud9User 受管政策連接至使用者的角色,以授予聯合身分使用者的存取權。不同於 IAM 使用者,您必須為聯合身分使用者手動連接及分離受管政策。若要執行這些步驟,您必須已經以根使用者、帳戶中的 IAM 管理員使用者,或具有關聯的 AdministratorAccess 受管政策或同等政策的 IAM 使用者或聯合身分使用者的身分登入主控台。

先決條件:

  • 您必須已經建立您的聯合身分使用者將要擔任的角色或已擁有現有的角色。

  • 您必須知道您要授予哪個許可層級:

    • AWSCloud9User 受管政策允許使用者執行下列動作:

      • 建立自己的 AWS Cloud9 開發環境。

      • 取得其環境的相關資訊。

      • 變更其環境的設定。

    • AWSCloud9Administrator 受管政策允許使用者為自己或其他使用者執行下列動作:

      • 建立環境。

      • 取得環境的相關資訊。

      • 刪除環境。

      • 變更環境的設定。

  1. 開啟 IAM 主控台。在導覽窗格中,選擇 Policies (政策)。

  2. 在搜尋欄位中輸入政策名稱。隨即顯示受管理的策略,其策略類型為受AWS管理。您可以擴展政策以查看政策陳述式中的許可。

  3. 選擇下列其中一項受管政策。選取政策旁的圓圈,然後在 Policy actions (政策動作) 下方選擇 Attach (連接)

  4. Summary (摘要) 頁面上選擇 Attached entities (連接的實體) 索引標籤。選擇 Attach (連接)。

  5. Attach Policy (連接政策) 頁面上,在搜尋欄位中篩選聯合身分使用者的角色。選擇角色名稱旁邊的方塊,然後選擇 Attach policy (連接政策)Attached entities (連接的實體) 索引標籤將會顯示新的連接。

從聯合身分使用者的角色分離 AWS Cloud9 受管政策

如果您使用的是 AWS Cloud9 開發環境,您可以分離授與存取權的政策,以移除聯合身分使用者的存取權。若要執行這些步驟,您必須已經以根使用者、帳戶中的 IAM 管理員使用者,或具有關聯的 AdministratorAccess 受管政策或同等政策的 IAM 使用者或聯合身分使用者的身分登入主控台。

  1. 開啟 IAM 主控台。在導覽窗格中,選擇 Policies (政策)。

  2. 在搜尋欄位中輸入您的專案名稱。

  3. 選取政策旁的圓圈,然後在 Policy actions (政策動作) 下方選擇 Attach (連接)

  4. Summary (摘要) 頁面上選擇 Attached entities (連接的實體) 索引標籤。

  5. 在搜尋欄位中篩選聯合身分使用者的角色。請選擇 Detach (分離)

搭配使用臨時憑證與 AWS CodeStar

您可以搭配聯合使用臨時憑證、擔任 IAM 角色,或是擔任跨帳戶角色。您取得暫時安全登入資料的方式是透過呼叫AssumeRole或等AWS STS API 操作GetFederationToken

AWS CodeStar 支援使用臨時登入資料,但 AWS CodeStar 團隊成員功能不適用於聯合存取。AWS CodeStar 團隊成員功能僅支援將 IAM 使用者新增為團隊成員。

服務連結角色

服務連結角色可讓 AWS 服務存取其他服務中的資源,以代您完成動作。服務連結角色會顯示在您的 IAM 帳戶中,並由該服務所擁有。IAM 管理員可以檢視,但無法編輯服務連結角色的許可。

AWS CodeStar 不支援服務連結角色。

服務角色

此功能可讓服務代表您擔任服務角色。此角色可讓服務存取其他服務中的資源,以代表您完成動作。服務角色會出現在您的 IAM 帳戶中,且由該帳戶所擁有。這表示 IAM 管理員可以變更此角色的許可。不過,這樣可能會破壞此服務的功能。

AWS CodeStar 支援服務角色。當 AWS CodeStar 為您的專案建立和管理資源時 aws-codestar-service-role,會使用服務角色。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 IAM 使用者指南中的角色術語和概念

重要

您必須以 IAM 管理員使用者或根帳戶的身分登入,才能建立此服務角色。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 IAM 使用者指南中的僅首次存取:根使用者登入資料和建立您的第一個 IAM 管理員使用者和群組

在您第一次在 AWS 中建立專案時就會建立此角色 CodeStar。此服務角色將代表您:

  • 建立您在建立專案時選擇的資源。

  • 在 AWS CodeStar 專案儀表板中顯示這些資源的相關資訊。

它也可以在您管理專案的資源時代表您。如需此政策陳述式的範例,請參閱 AWSCodeStarServiceRole 政策

此外,AWS 還會根據專案類型 CodeStar 建立多個專案特定的服務角色。 AWS CloudFormation而且會針對每個專案類型建立工具鏈角色。

  • AWS CloudFormation角色可 CodeStar 讓 AWS 存取AWS CloudFormation以建立和修改 AWS CodeStar 專案的堆疊。

  • 工具鏈角色可讓 AWS 存 CodeStar 取其他AWS服務,為您的 AWS CodeStar 專案建立和修改資源。

How AWS CodeStar Works with IAM - AWS CodeStar

How AWS CodeStar Works with IAM

Before you use IAM to manage access to AWS CodeStar, you should understand what IAM features are available to use with AWS CodeStar. To get a high-level view of how AWS CodeStar and other AWS services work with IAM, see AWS Services That Work with IAM in the IAM User Guide.

AWS CodeStar Identity-Based Policies

With IAM identity-based policies, you can specify allowed or denied actions and resources and the conditions under which actions are allowed or denied. AWS CodeStar creates several identity-based policies on your behalf, which allow AWS CodeStar to create and manage resources within the scope of an AWS CodeStar project. AWS CodeStar supports specific actions, resources, and condition keys. To learn about all of the elements that you use in a JSON policy, see IAM JSON Policy Elements Reference in the IAM User Guide.

Actions

The Action element of an IAM identity-based policy describes the specific action or actions that will be allowed or denied by the policy. Policy actions usually have the same name as the associated AWS API operation. The action is used in a policy to grant permissions to perform the associated operation.

Policy actions in AWS CodeStar use the following prefix before the action: codestar:. For example, to allow a specified IAM user to edit the attributes of an AWS CodeStar project, such as its project description, you could use the following policy statement:

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement" : [ { "Effect" : "Allow", "Action" : [ "codestar:UpdateProject" ], "Resource" : "arn:aws:codestar:us-east-2:project/my-first-projec" } ] }

Policy statements must include either an Action or NotAction element. AWS CodeStar defines its own set of actions that describe tasks that you can perform with this service.

To specify multiple actions in a single statement, separate them with commas as follows:

"Action": [ "codestar:action1", "codestar:action2"

You can specify multiple actions using wildcards (*). For example, to specify all actions that begin with the word List, include the following action:

"Action": "codestar:List*"

To see a list of AWS CodeStar actions, see Actions Defined by AWS CodeStar in the IAM User Guide.

Resources

The Resource element specifies the object or objects to which the action applies. Statements must include either a Resource or a NotResource element. You specify a resource using an ARN or using the wildcard (*) to indicate that the statement applies to all resources.

The AWS CodeStar project resource has the following ARN:

arn:aws:codestar:region:account:project/resource-specifier

For more information about the format of ARNs, see Amazon Resource Names (ARNs) and AWS Service Namespaces.

For example, the following specifies the AWS CodeStar project named my-first-projec registered to the AWS account 111111111111 in the AWS Region us-east-2:

arn:aws:codestar:us-east-2:111111111111:project/my-first-projec

The following specifies any AWS CodeStar project that begins with the name my-proj registered to the AWS account 111111111111 in the AWS Region us-east-2:

arn:aws:codestar:us-east-2:111111111111:project/my-proj*

Some AWS CodeStar actions, such as for listing projects, cannot be performed on a resource. In those cases, you must use the wildcard (*).

"LisProjects": "*"

To see a list of AWS CodeStar resource types and their ARNs, see Resources Defined by AWS CodeStar in the IAM User Guide. To learn with which actions you can specify the ARN of each resource, see Actions Defined by AWS CodeStar.

Condition Keys

AWS CodeStar does not provide any service-specific condition keys, but it does support using some global condition keys. To see all AWS global condition keys, see AWS Global Condition Context Keys in the IAM User Guide.

Examples

To view examples of AWS CodeStar identity-based policies, see AWS CodeStar Identity-Based Policy Examples.

AWS CodeStar Resource-Based Policies

AWS CodeStar does not support resource-based policies.

Authorization Based on AWS CodeStar Tags

You can attach tags to AWS CodeStar projects or pass tags in a request to AWS CodeStar. To control access based on tags, you provide tag information in the condition element of a policy using the codestar:ResourceTag/key-name, aws:RequestTag/key-name, or aws:TagKeys condition keys. For more information about tagging AWS CodeStar resources, see Working with Project Tags in AWS CodeStar.

To view an example identity-based policy for limiting access to an AWS CodeStar project based on the tags on that project, see Viewing AWS CodeStar Projects Based on Tags.

AWS CodeStar IAM Roles

An IAM role is an entity in your AWS account that has specific permissions.

You can use AWS CodeStar as an IAM user, a federated user, the root user, or an assumed role. All user types with the appropriate permissions can manage project permissions to their AWS resources, but AWS CodeStar manages project permissions automatically for IAM users. IAM policies and roles grant permissions and access to that user based on the project role. You can use the IAM console to create other policies that assign AWS CodeStar and other permissions to an IAM user.

For example, you might want to allow a user to view, but not change, an AWS CodeStar project. In this case, you add the IAM user to an AWS CodeStar project with the viewer role. Every AWS CodeStar project has a set of policies that help you control access to the project. In addition, you can control which users have access to AWS CodeStar.

AWS CodeStar access is handled differently for IAM users and federated users. Only IAM users can be added to teams. To grant IAM users permissions to projects, you add the user to the project team and assign the user a role. To grant federated users permissions to projects, you manually attach the AWS CodeStar project role's managed policy to the federated user's role.

This table summarizes the tools available for each type of access.

Permissions feature IAM user Federated user Root user
SSH key management for remote access for Amazon EC2 and Elastic Beanstalk projects
AWS CodeCommit SSH access
IAM user permissions managed by AWS CodeStar
Project permissions managed manually
Users can be added to project as team members

IAM User Access to AWS CodeStar

When you add an IAM user to a project and choose a role for the user, AWS CodeStar applies the appropriate policy to the IAM user automatically. For IAM users, you don't need to directly attach or manage policies or permissions in IAM. For information about adding an IAM user to an AWS CodeStar project, see Add Team Members to an AWS CodeStar Project . For information about removing an IAM user from an AWS CodeStar project, see Remove Team Members from an AWS CodeStar Project .

Attach an Inline Policy to an IAM User

When you add a user to a project, AWS CodeStar automatically attaches the managed policy for the project that matches the user's role. You should not manually attach an AWS CodeStar managed policy for a project to an IAM user. With the exception of AWSCodeStarFullAccess, we do not recommend that you attach policies that change an IAM user's permissions in an AWS CodeStar project. If you decide to create and attach your own policies, see Adding and Removing IAM Identity Permissions in the IAM User Guide.

Federated User Access to AWS CodeStar

Instead of creating an IAM user or using the root user, you can use user identities from AWS Directory Service, your enterprise user directory, a web identity provider, or IAM users assuming roles. These are known as federated users.

Grant federated users access to your AWS CodeStar project by manually attaching the managed policies described in AWS CodeStar Project-Level Policies and Permissions to the user's IAM role. You attach the owner, contributor, or viewer policy after AWS CodeStar creates your project resources and IAM roles.

Prerequisites:

  • You must have set up an identity provider. For example, you could set up a SAML identity provider and set up AWS authentication through the provider. For more information about setting up an identity provider, see Creating IAM Identity Providers. For more information about SAML federation, see About SAML 2.0-based Federation.

  • You must have created a role for a federated user to assume when access is requested through an identity provider. An STS trust policy must be attached to the role that allows federated users to assume the role. For more information, see Federated Users and Roles in the IAM User Guide.

  • You must have created your AWS CodeStar project and know the project ID.

For more information about creating a role for identity providers, see Creating a Role for a Third-Party Identity Provider (Federation).

Attach the AWSCodeStarFullAccess Managed Policy to the Federated User's Role

Grant a federated user permissions to create a project by attaching the AWSCodeStarFullAccess managed policy. To perform these steps, you must have signed in to the console either as a root user, an IAM administrator user in the account, or an IAM user or federated user with the associated AdministratorAccess managed policy or equivalent.

Note

After you create the project, your project owner permissions are not applied automatically. Using a role with administrative permissions for your account, attach the owner managed policy, as described in Attach Your Project's AWS CodeStar Viewer/Contributor/Owner Managed Policy to the Federated User's Role.

  1. Open the IAM console. In the navigation pane, choose Policies.

  2. Enter AWSCodeStarFullAccess in the search field. The policy name is displayed, with a policy type of AWS managed. You can expand the policy to see the permissions in the policy statement.

  3. Select the circle next to the policy, and then under Policy actions, choose Attach.

  4. On the Summary page, choose the Attached entities tab. Choose Attach.

  5. On the Attach Policy page, filter for the federated user's role in the search field. Select the box next to the name of the role, and then choose Attach policy. The Attached entities tab displays the new attachment.

Attach Your Project's AWS CodeStar Viewer/Contributor/Owner Managed Policy to the Federated User's Role

Grant federated users access to your project by attaching the appropriate owner, contributor, or viewer managed policy to the user's role. The managed policy gives the appropriate level of permissions. Unlike IAM users, you must manually attach and detach managed policies for federated users. This is equivalent to assigning project permissions to team members in AWS CodeStar. To perform these steps, you must have signed in to the console either as a root user, an IAM administrator user in the account, or an IAM user or federated user with the associated AdministratorAccess managed policy or equivalent.

Prerequisites:

  • You must have created a role or have an existing role that your federated user assumes.

  • You must know which level of permissions you want to grant. The managed policies attached to the owner, contributor, and viewer roles provide role-based permissions for your project.

  • Your AWS CodeStar project must have been created. The managed policy is not available in IAM until the project is created.

  1. Open the IAM console. In the navigation pane, choose Policies.

  2. Enter your project ID in the search field. The policy name matching your project is displayed, with a policy type of Customer managed. You can expand the policy to see the permissions in the policy statement.

  3. Choose one of these managed policies. Select the circle next to the policy, and then under Policy actions, choose Attach.

  4. On the Summary page, choose the Attached entities tab. Choose Attach.

  5. On the Attach Policy page, filter for the federated user's role in the search field. Select the box next to the name of the role and then choose Attach policy. The Attached entities tab displays the new attachment.

Detach an AWS CodeStar Managed Policy from the Federated User's Role

Before you delete your AWS CodeStar project, you must manually detach any managed policies you attached to a federated user's role. To perform these steps, you must have signed in to the console either as a root user, an IAM administrator user in the account, or an IAM user or federated user with the associated AdministratorAccess managed policy or equivalent.

  1. Open the IAM console. In the navigation pane, choose Policies.

  2. Enter your project ID in the search field.

  3. Select the circle next to the policy, and then under Policy actions, choose Attach.

  4. On the Summary page, choose the Attached entities tab.

  5. Filter for the federated user's role in the search field. Choose Detach.

Attach an AWS Cloud9 Managed Policy to the Federated User's Role

If you are using an AWS Cloud9 development environment, grant federated users access to it by attaching the AWSCloud9User managed policy to the user's role. Unlike IAM users, you must manually attach and detach managed policies for federated users. To perform these steps, you must have signed in to the console either as a root user, an IAM administrator user in the account, or an IAM user or federated user with the associated AdministratorAccess managed policy or equivalent.

Prerequisites:

  • You must have created a role or have an existing role that your federated user assumes.

  • You must know which level of permissions you want to grant:

    • The AWSCloud9User managed policy allows the user to do the following:

      • Create their own AWS Cloud9 development environments.

      • Get information about their environments.

      • Change the settings for their environments.

    • The AWSCloud9Administrator managed policy allows the user to do the following for themselves or others:

      • Create environments.

      • Get information about environments.

      • Delete environments.

      • Change the settings of environments.

  1. Open the IAM console. In the navigation pane, choose Policies.

  2. Enter the policy name in the search field. The managed policy is displayed, with a policy type of AWS managed. You can expand the policy to see the permissions in the policy statement.

  3. Choose one of these managed policies. Select the circle next to the policy, and then under Policy actions, choose Attach.

  4. On the Summary page, choose the Attached entities tab. Choose Attach.

  5. On the Attach Policy page, filter for the federated user's role in the search field. Choose the box next to the name of the role and then choose Attach policy. The Attached entities tab displays the new attachment.

Detach an AWS Cloud9 Managed Policy from the Federated User's Role

If you are using an AWS Cloud9 development environment, you can remove a federated user's access to it by detaching the policy that grants access. To perform these steps, you must have signed in to the console either as a root user, an IAM administrator user in the account, or an IAM user or federated user with the associated AdministratorAccess managed policy or equivalent.

  1. Open the IAM console. In the navigation pane, choose Policies.

  2. Enter your project name in the search field.

  3. Select the circle next to the policy, and then under Policy actions, choose Attach.

  4. On the Summary page, choose the Attached entities tab.

  5. Filter for the federated user's role in the search field. Choose Detach.

Using Temporary Credentials with AWS CodeStar

You can use temporary credentials to sign in with federation, assume an IAM role, or to assume a cross-account role. You obtain temporary security credentials by calling AWS STS API operations such as AssumeRole or GetFederationToken.

AWS CodeStar supports the use of temporary credentials, but the AWS CodeStar team member functionality doesn't work for federated access. AWS CodeStar team member functionality only supports adding an IAM user as a team member.

Service-Linked Roles

Service-linked roles allow AWS services to access resources in other services to complete an action on your behalf. Service-linked roles appear in your IAM account and are owned by the service. An IAM administrator can view, but cannot edit, the permissions for service-linked roles.

AWS CodeStar does not support service-linked roles.

Service Roles

This feature allows a service to assume a service role on your behalf. This role allows the service to access resources in other services to complete an action on your behalf. Service roles appear in your IAM account and are owned by the account. This means that an IAM administrator can change the permissions for this role. However, doing so might break the functionality of the service.

AWS CodeStar supports service roles. AWS CodeStar uses a service role, aws-codestar-service-role, when it creates and manages the resources for your project. For more information, see Roles Terms and Concepts in the IAM User Guide.

Important

You must be signed in as an IAM administrator user or root account to create this service role. For more information, see First-Time Access Only: Your Root User Credentials and Creating Your First IAM Admin User and Group in the IAM User Guide.

This role is created for you the first time you create a project in AWS CodeStar. The service role acts on your behalf to:

  • Create the resources you choose when you create a project.

  • Display information about those resources in the AWS CodeStar project dashboard.

It also acts on your behalf when you manage the resources for a project. For an example of this policy statement, see AWSCodeStarServiceRole Policy.

In addition, AWS CodeStar creates several project-specific service roles, depending on the project type. AWS CloudFormation and toolchain roles are created for each project type.

  • AWS CloudFormation roles allow AWS CodeStar to access AWS CloudFormation to create and modify stacks for your AWS CodeStar project.

  • Toolchain roles allow AWS CodeStar to access other AWS services to create and modify resources for your AWS CodeStar project.