Delete users from your Amazon Connect instance - Amazon Connect

Delete users from your Amazon Connect instance

When a user is deleted from Amazon Connect, you won't be able to configure their agent settings any more. For example, you won't be able to assign a routing profile to them.

What happens to the user's metrics?

The user's data in contact records and reports is retained. The data is preserved for the consistency of the historical metrics. For example, when you search for contact records, you'll still see the agent's username, any contact recordings involving the agent, etc.

In the historical metrics reports, the agent's data will be included in the Agent performance metrics report. However, you won't be able to see an Agent activity audit of the deleted agent because their name won't appear in the drop-down list.

Required permissions to delete users

Before you can update permissions in a security profile, you must be logged in with an Amazon Connect account that has the following permissions: Users - Remove.

By default, the Amazon Connect Admin security profile has these permissions.

How to delete users

You can't undo a deletion.

  1. Log in to the Amazon Connect console with an Admin account, or an account assigned to a security profile that has permissions to remove users.

  2. Choose the user account you want to delete, and then choose Delete.

  3. Confirm you want to delete that account.

  4. Note the status of account. If the status is error, as shown in the following image...

    Then check whether there's a quick connect associated with the user:

    1. Choose Routing, Quick connects.

    2. If there's a quick connect for the user, you can either delete the quick connect or replace it with a quick connect for another user:

      • To delete the quick connect, select the quick connect, and then choose the Delete icon. For more information, see Delete quick connects.

      • To replace the quick connect with one for another user, under Destination use the dropdown box to select another user, and then choose Save. When agents select this quick connect in the future, they will be transferred to the new destination.

    3. Return to the User management page and delete the user account.

  5. The following image shows and example of the message when a user is deleted successfully. Choose Close to return to the User management page.