将数据和表与管道活动一起暂存 - AWS Data Pipeline

将数据和表与管道活动一起暂存

AWS Data Pipeline 可以暂存您的管道中的输入和输出数据,以便更容易使用特定活动,例如 ShellCommandActivityHiveActivity

数据暂存让您能够将数据从输入数据节点复制到执行活动的资源,从资源到输出数据节点与此类似。

通过在活动的 shell 命令或 Hive 脚本中使用特殊变量,可使用 Amazon EMR 或 Amazon EC2 资源上的暂存数据。

表暂存类似于数据暂存,具体而言,不同之处在于暂存的数据采用数据库表的形式。

AWS Data Pipeline 支持以下暂存场景:

  • 使用 ShellCommandActivity 的数据暂存

  • 使用 Hive 的表暂存和支持暂存的数据节点

  • 使用 Hive 的表暂存和不支持暂存的数据节点

注意

仅当活动上的 stage 字段设置为 true 时暂存才生效,例如 ShellCommandActivity。有关更多信息,请参阅ShellCommandActivity

此外,数据节点和活动可以通过四种方式关联:

在资源上本地暂存数据

输入数据自动复制到资源本地文件系统。输出数据自动从资源本地文件系统复制到输出数据节点。例如,当您使用 staging = true 配置 ShellCommandActivity 输入和输出时,输入数据作为 INPUTx_STAGING_DIR 可用,输出数据作为 OUTPUTx_STAGING_DIR 可用,其中 x 是输入或输出的编号。

暂存活动的输入和输出定义

输入数据格式 (列名和表名) 自动复制到活动的资源中。例如,当您使用 staging = true 配置 HiveActivity 时。在输入 S3DataNode 上指定的数据格式用于从 Hive 表暂存表定义。

暂存未启用

输入和输出对象及其字段可用于活动,但数据本身不行。例如,EmrActivity 默认情况下或在您使用 staging = false 配置其他活动时。在此配置中,数据字段可供活动使用 AWS Data Pipeline 表达式语法引用它们,这仅在满足依赖关系时发生。这仅用作依赖关系检查。活动中的代码负责将数据从输入复制到运行活动的资源。

对象之间的依赖关系

两个对象之间存在依赖关系,这会导致类似于未启用暂存的情况。这导致数据节点或活动用作执行另一个活动的先决条件。

使用 ShellCommandActivity 的数据暂存

请考虑使用 ShellCommandActivityS3DataNode 对象作为数据输入和输出的场景。AWS Data Pipeline 自动暂存数据节点,使其可通过 shell 命令使用环境变量 ${INPUT1_STAGING_DIR}${OUTPUT1_STAGING_DIR} 访问,就像在本地文件夹中一样,如下例中所示。名为 INPUT1_STAGING_DIROUTPUT1_STAGING_DIR 的变量的数字部分根据您的活动引用的数据节点数递增。

注意

只有在您的输入和输出为 S3DataNode 对象时,此场景才按所述工作。此外,只有当 directoryPath 设置在输出 S3DataNode 对象上时,才允许输出数据暂存。

{ "id": "AggregateFiles", "type": "ShellCommandActivity", "stage": "true", "command": "cat ${INPUT1_STAGING_DIR}/part* > ${OUTPUT1_STAGING_DIR}/aggregated.csv", "input": { "ref": "MyInputData" }, "output": { "ref": "MyOutputData" } }, { "id": "MyInputData", "type": "S3DataNode", "schedule": { "ref": "MySchedule" }, "filePath": "s3://my_bucket/source/#{format(@scheduledStartTime,'YYYY-MM-dd_HHmmss')}/items" } }, { "id": "MyOutputData", "type": "S3DataNode", "schedule": { "ref": "MySchedule" }, "directoryPath": "s3://my_bucket/destination/#{format(@scheduledStartTime,'YYYY-MM-dd_HHmmss')}" } }, ...

使用 Hive 的表暂存和支持暂存的数据节点

请考虑使用 HiveActivityS3DataNode 对象作为数据输入和输出的场景。AWS Data Pipeline 自动暂存数据节点,使其可通过 Hive 脚本使用变量 ${input1}${output1} 访问,就像它们是 Hive 表一样,如下例 HiveActivity 中所示。名为 inputoutput 的变量的数字部分根据您的活动引用的数据节点数递增。

注意

只有在您的输入和输出为 S3DataNodeMySqlDataNode 对象时,此场景才按所述方式工作。DynamoDBDataNode 不支持表暂存。

{ "id": "MyHiveActivity", "type": "HiveActivity", "schedule": { "ref": "MySchedule" }, "runsOn": { "ref": "MyEmrResource" }, "input": { "ref": "MyInputData" }, "output": { "ref": "MyOutputData" }, "hiveScript": "INSERT OVERWRITE TABLE ${output1} select * from ${input1};" }, { "id": "MyInputData", "type": "S3DataNode", "schedule": { "ref": "MySchedule" }, "directoryPath": "s3://test-hive/input" } }, { "id": "MyOutputData", "type": "S3DataNode", "schedule": { "ref": "MySchedule" }, "directoryPath": "s3://test-hive/output" } }, ...

使用 Hive 的表暂存和不支持暂存的数据节点

请考虑使用 HiveActivityDynamoDBDataNode 作为数据输入并将 S3DataNode 对象作为输出的场景。没有数据暂存可用于 DynamoDBDataNode,因此您必须先手动在 hive 脚本中创建表,使用变量名 #{input.tableName} 引用 DynamoDB 表。如果 DynamoDB 表是输出,类似术语也适用,除非您使用变量 #{output.tableName}。在本示例中,暂存可用于输出 S3DataNode 对象,因此您可以将输出数据节点作为 ${output1} 引用。

注意

在本示例中,表名变量具有 #(井号)字符前缀,因为 AWS Data Pipeline 使用表达式访问 tableNamedirectoryPath。有关表达式求值在 AWS Data Pipeline 中工作方式的详细信息,请参阅 表达式计算

{ "id": "MyHiveActivity", "type": "HiveActivity", "schedule": { "ref": "MySchedule" }, "runsOn": { "ref": "MyEmrResource" }, "input": { "ref": "MyDynamoData" }, "output": { "ref": "MyS3Data" }, "hiveScript": "-- Map DynamoDB Table SET dynamodb.endpoint=dynamodb.us-east-1.amazonaws.com; SET dynamodb.throughput.read.percent = 0.5; CREATE EXTERNAL TABLE dynamodb_table (item map<string,string>) STORED BY 'org.apache.hadoop.hive.dynamodb.DynamoDBStorageHandler' TBLPROPERTIES ("dynamodb.table.name" = "#{input.tableName}"); INSERT OVERWRITE TABLE ${output1} SELECT * FROM dynamodb_table;" }, { "id": "MyDynamoData", "type": "DynamoDBDataNode", "schedule": { "ref": "MySchedule" }, "tableName": "MyDDBTable" }, { "id": "MyS3Data", "type": "S3DataNode", "schedule": { "ref": "MySchedule" }, "directoryPath": "s3://test-hive/output" } }, ...

AWS Data Pipeline
Developer Guide (API Version 2012-10-29)

Staging Data and Tables with Pipeline Activities

AWS Data Pipeline can stage input and output data in your pipelines to make it easier to use certain activities, such as ShellCommandActivity and HiveActivity.

Data staging enables you to copy data from the input data node to the resource executing the activity, and, similarly, from the resource to the output data node.

The staged data on the Amazon EMR or Amazon EC2 resource is available by using special variables in the activity's shell commands or Hive scripts.

Table staging is similar to data staging, except the staged data takes the form of database tables, specifically.

AWS Data Pipeline supports the following staging scenarios:

  • Data staging with ShellCommandActivity

  • Table staging with Hive and staging-supported data nodes

  • Table staging with Hive and staging-unsupported data nodes

Note

Staging only functions when the stage field is set to true on an activity, such as ShellCommandActivity. For more information, see ShellCommandActivity.

In addition, data nodes and activities can relate in four ways:

Staging data locally on a resource

The input data automatically copies into the resource local file system. Output data automatically copies from the resource local file system to the output data node. For example, when you configure ShellCommandActivity inputs and outputs with staging = true, the input data is available as INPUTx_STAGING_DIR and output data is available as OUTPUTx_STAGING_DIR, where x is the number of input or output.

Staging input and output definitions for an activity

The input data format (column names and table names) automatically copies into the activity's resource. For example, when you configure HiveActivity with staging = true. The data format specified on the input S3DataNode is used to stage the table definition from the Hive table.

Staging not enabled

The input and output objects and their fields are available for the activity, but the data itself is not. For example, EmrActivity by default or when you configure other activities with staging = false. In this configuration, the data fields are available for the activity to make a reference to them using the AWS Data Pipeline expression syntax, and this only occurs when the dependency is satisfied. This serves as dependency checking only. Code in the activity is responsible for copying the data from the input to the resource running the activity.

Dependency relationship between objects

There is a depends-on relationship between two objects, which results in a similar situation to when staging is not enabled. This causes a data node or activity to act as a precondition for the execution of another activity.

Data Staging with ShellCommandActivity

Consider a scenario using a ShellCommandActivity with S3DataNode objects as data input and output. AWS Data Pipeline automatically stages the data nodes to make them accessible to the shell command as if they were local file folders using the environment variables ${INPUT1_STAGING_DIR} and ${OUTPUT1_STAGING_DIR} as shown in the following example. The numeric portion of the variables named INPUT1_STAGING_DIR and OUTPUT1_STAGING_DIR increment depending on the number of data nodes your activity references.

Note

This scenario only works as described if your data inputs and outputs are S3DataNode objects. Additionally, output data staging is allowed only when directoryPath is set on the output S3DataNode object.

{ "id": "AggregateFiles", "type": "ShellCommandActivity", "stage": "true", "command": "cat ${INPUT1_STAGING_DIR}/part* > ${OUTPUT1_STAGING_DIR}/aggregated.csv", "input": { "ref": "MyInputData" }, "output": { "ref": "MyOutputData" } }, { "id": "MyInputData", "type": "S3DataNode", "schedule": { "ref": "MySchedule" }, "filePath": "s3://my_bucket/source/#{format(@scheduledStartTime,'YYYY-MM-dd_HHmmss')}/items" } }, { "id": "MyOutputData", "type": "S3DataNode", "schedule": { "ref": "MySchedule" }, "directoryPath": "s3://my_bucket/destination/#{format(@scheduledStartTime,'YYYY-MM-dd_HHmmss')}" } }, ...

Table Staging with Hive and Staging-Supported Data Nodes

Consider a scenario using a HiveActivity with S3DataNode objects as data input and output. AWS Data Pipeline automatically stages the data nodes to make them accessible to the Hive script as if they were Hive tables using the variables ${input1} and ${output1} as shown in the following example for HiveActivity. The numeric portion of the variables named input and output increment depending on the number of data nodes your activity references.

Note

This scenario only works as described if your data inputs and outputs are S3DataNode or MySqlDataNode objects. Table staging is not supported for DynamoDBDataNode.

{ "id": "MyHiveActivity", "type": "HiveActivity", "schedule": { "ref": "MySchedule" }, "runsOn": { "ref": "MyEmrResource" }, "input": { "ref": "MyInputData" }, "output": { "ref": "MyOutputData" }, "hiveScript": "INSERT OVERWRITE TABLE ${output1} select * from ${input1};" }, { "id": "MyInputData", "type": "S3DataNode", "schedule": { "ref": "MySchedule" }, "directoryPath": "s3://test-hive/input" } }, { "id": "MyOutputData", "type": "S3DataNode", "schedule": { "ref": "MySchedule" }, "directoryPath": "s3://test-hive/output" } }, ...

Table Staging with Hive and Staging-Unsupported Data Nodes

Consider a scenario using a HiveActivity with DynamoDBDataNode as data input and an S3DataNode object as the output. No data staging is available for DynamoDBDataNode, therefore you must first manually create the table within your hive script, using the variable name #{input.tableName} to refer to the DynamoDB table. Similar nomenclature applies if the DynamoDB table is the output, except you use variable #{output.tableName}. Staging is available for the output S3DataNode object in this example, therefore you can refer to the output data node as ${output1}.

Note

In this example, the table name variable has the # (hash) character prefix because AWS Data Pipeline uses expressions to access the tableName or directoryPath. For more information about how expression evaluation works in AWS Data Pipeline, see Expression Evaluation.

{ "id": "MyHiveActivity", "type": "HiveActivity", "schedule": { "ref": "MySchedule" }, "runsOn": { "ref": "MyEmrResource" }, "input": { "ref": "MyDynamoData" }, "output": { "ref": "MyS3Data" }, "hiveScript": "-- Map DynamoDB Table SET dynamodb.endpoint=dynamodb.us-east-1.amazonaws.com; SET dynamodb.throughput.read.percent = 0.5; CREATE EXTERNAL TABLE dynamodb_table (item map<string,string>) STORED BY 'org.apache.hadoop.hive.dynamodb.DynamoDBStorageHandler' TBLPROPERTIES ("dynamodb.table.name" = "#{input.tableName}"); INSERT OVERWRITE TABLE ${output1} SELECT * FROM dynamodb_table;" }, { "id": "MyDynamoData", "type": "DynamoDBDataNode", "schedule": { "ref": "MySchedule" }, "tableName": "MyDDBTable" }, { "id": "MyS3Data", "type": "S3DataNode", "schedule": { "ref": "MySchedule" }, "directoryPath": "s3://test-hive/output" } }, ...