控制平面指標與 Prometheus - Amazon EKS

本文為英文版的機器翻譯版本,如內容有任何歧義或不一致之處,概以英文版為準。

控制平面指標與 Prometheus

Kubernetes API 伺服器公開多個可用於監控和分析的指標。這些指標透過參照 /metrics HTTP API 的指標端點於內部公開。類似其他端點,此端點在 Amazon EKS 控制平面公開。此主題說明您可使用此端點來檢視和分析叢集運作的一些方式。

檢視原始指標

若要檢視原始指標輸出,請使用 kubectl--raw 旗標。此命令可讓您傳遞任何 HTTP 路徑並傳回原始回應。

kubectl get --raw /metrics

輸出範例:

... # HELP rest_client_requests_total Number of HTTP requests, partitioned by status code, method, and host. # TYPE rest_client_requests_total counter rest_client_requests_total{code="200",host="127.0.0.1:21362",method="POST"} 4994 rest_client_requests_total{code="200",host="127.0.0.1:443",method="DELETE"} 1 rest_client_requests_total{code="200",host="127.0.0.1:443",method="GET"} 1.326086e+06 rest_client_requests_total{code="200",host="127.0.0.1:443",method="PUT"} 862173 rest_client_requests_total{code="404",host="127.0.0.1:443",method="GET"} 2 rest_client_requests_total{code="409",host="127.0.0.1:443",method="POST"} 3 rest_client_requests_total{code="409",host="127.0.0.1:443",method="PUT"} 8 # HELP ssh_tunnel_open_count Counter of ssh tunnel total open attempts # TYPE ssh_tunnel_open_count counter ssh_tunnel_open_count 0 # HELP ssh_tunnel_open_fail_count Counter of ssh tunnel failed open attempts # TYPE ssh_tunnel_open_fail_count counter ssh_tunnel_open_fail_count 0

此原始輸出會逐字傳回 API 伺服器公開的內容。這些指標會以 Prometheus 格式顯示。此格式可讓 API 伺服器按列分類公開不同的指標。每個列皆包含指標名稱、標籤和值。

<metric_name>{"<tag>"="<value>"[<,...>]} <value>

如果您正在尋找特定指標,雖然此端點很有用,但隨著時間經過,您通常會想要分析這些指標。若要這樣做,您可以將 Prometheus 部署到您的叢集。Prometheus 是監控和時間序列資料庫,它會清除公已開的端點和彙總資料,讓您能夠篩選、繪圖及查詢結果。

部署 Prometheus

此主題協助您使用 Helm V3 將 Prometheus 部署到您的叢集。如果您已經安裝了 Helm,可以使用 helm version 命令檢查您的版本。Helm 是 Kubernetes 叢集的套件管理工具。如需有關 Helm 及如何安裝它的詳細資訊,請參閱搭配 使用 HelmAmazon EKS

在您為 Amazon EKS 叢集設定 Helm 之後,即可用它來依照下列步驟部署 Prometheus。

使用 Helm 部署 Prometheus

  1. 建立 Prometheus 命名空間。

    kubectl create namespace prometheus
  2. 新增prometheus-community圖表儲存庫。

    helm repo add prometheus-community https://prometheus-community.github.io/helm-charts
  3. 部署 Prometheus。

    helm upgrade -i prometheus prometheus-community/prometheus \ --namespace prometheus \ --set alertmanager.persistentVolume.storageClass="gp2",server.persistentVolume.storageClass="gp2"
    注意

    如果您在執行此命令Error: failed to download "stable/prometheus" (hint: running `helm repo update` may help)時收到 錯誤,請執行 helm repo update,然後嘗試再次執行 Step 2 命令。

    如果您收到錯誤 Error: rendered manifests contain a resource that already exists,請執行 helm uninstall your-release-name -n namespace,然後嘗試再次執行 Step 3 (步驟 3) 命令。

  4. 確認 prometheus 命名空間中的所有裝置皆處於 READY 狀態。

    kubectl get pods -n prometheus

    輸出:

    NAME READY STATUS RESTARTS AGE prometheus-alertmanager-59b4c8c744-r7bgp 1/2 Running 0 48s prometheus-kube-state-metrics-7cfd87cf99-jkz2f 1/1 Running 0 48s prometheus-node-exporter-jcjqz 1/1 Running 0 48s prometheus-node-exporter-jxv2h 1/1 Running 0 48s prometheus-node-exporter-vbdks 1/1 Running 0 48s prometheus-pushgateway-76c444b68c-82tnw 1/1 Running 0 48s prometheus-server-775957f748-mmht9 1/2 Running 0 48s
  5. 使用 kubectl 將 Prometheus 主控台的連接埠轉送到本機機器。

    kubectl --namespace=prometheus port-forward deploy/prometheus-server 9090
  6. 將 Web 瀏覽器連接至 localhost:9090 以檢視 Prometheus 主控台。

  7. - insert metric at cursor (- 在游標處插入指標) 功能表中選擇一個指標,然後選擇 Execute (執行)。選擇 Graph (圖表) 標籤以顯示一段時間內的指標。下圖顯示一段時間內的 container_memory_usage_bytes

    
                        Prometheus 指標
  8. 選擇頂部導覽列中的 Status (狀態),然後選擇 Targets (目標)

    
                        Prometheus 主控台

    將會顯示使用服務探索連接至 Prometheus 的所有 Kubernetes 端點。

Control plane metrics with Prometheus - Amazon EKS

Control plane metrics with Prometheus

The Kubernetes API server exposes a number of metrics that are useful for monitoring and analysis. These metrics are exposed internally through a metrics endpoint that refers to the /metrics HTTP API. Like other endpoints, this endpoint is exposed on the Amazon EKS control plane. This topic explains some of the ways you can use this endpoint to view and analyze what your cluster is doing.

Viewing the raw metrics

To view the raw metrics output, use kubectl with the --raw flag. This command allows you to pass any HTTP path and returns the raw response.

kubectl get --raw /metrics

Example output:

... # HELP rest_client_requests_total Number of HTTP requests, partitioned by status code, method, and host. # TYPE rest_client_requests_total counter rest_client_requests_total{code="200",host="127.0.0.1:21362",method="POST"} 4994 rest_client_requests_total{code="200",host="127.0.0.1:443",method="DELETE"} 1 rest_client_requests_total{code="200",host="127.0.0.1:443",method="GET"} 1.326086e+06 rest_client_requests_total{code="200",host="127.0.0.1:443",method="PUT"} 862173 rest_client_requests_total{code="404",host="127.0.0.1:443",method="GET"} 2 rest_client_requests_total{code="409",host="127.0.0.1:443",method="POST"} 3 rest_client_requests_total{code="409",host="127.0.0.1:443",method="PUT"} 8 # HELP ssh_tunnel_open_count Counter of ssh tunnel total open attempts # TYPE ssh_tunnel_open_count counter ssh_tunnel_open_count 0 # HELP ssh_tunnel_open_fail_count Counter of ssh tunnel failed open attempts # TYPE ssh_tunnel_open_fail_count counter ssh_tunnel_open_fail_count 0

This raw output returns verbatim what the API server exposes. These metrics are represented in a Prometheus format. This format allows the API server to expose different metrics broken down by line. Each line includes a metric name, tags, and a value.

metric_name{"tag"="value"[,...]} value

While this endpoint is useful if you are looking for a specific metric, you typically want to analyze these metrics over time. To do this, you can deploy Prometheus into your cluster. Prometheus is a monitoring and time series database that scrapes exposed endpoints and aggregates data, allowing you to filter, graph, and query the results.

Deploying Prometheus

This topic helps you deploy Prometheus into your cluster with Helm V3. If you already have Helm installed, you can check your version with the helm version command. Helm is a package manager for Kubernetes clusters. For more information about Helm and how to install it, see Using Helm with Amazon EKS.

After you configure Helm for your Amazon EKS cluster, you can use it to deploy Prometheus with the following steps.

To deploy Prometheus using Helm

  1. Create a Prometheus namespace.

    kubectl create namespace prometheus
  2. Deploy Prometheus.

    helm install prometheus stable/prometheus \ --namespace prometheus \ --set alertmanager.persistentVolume.storageClass="gp2",server.persistentVolume.storageClass="gp2"
  3. Verify that all of the pods in the prometheus namespace are in the READY state.

    kubectl get pods -n prometheus

    Output:

    NAME READY STATUS RESTARTS AGE prometheus-alertmanager-59b4c8c744-r7bgp 1/2 Running 0 48s prometheus-kube-state-metrics-7cfd87cf99-jkz2f 1/1 Running 0 48s prometheus-node-exporter-jcjqz 1/1 Running 0 48s prometheus-node-exporter-jxv2h 1/1 Running 0 48s prometheus-node-exporter-vbdks 1/1 Running 0 48s prometheus-pushgateway-76c444b68c-82tnw 1/1 Running 0 48s prometheus-server-775957f748-mmht9 1/2 Running 0 48s
  4. Use kubectl to port forward the Prometheus console to your local machine.

    kubectl --namespace=prometheus port-forward deploy/prometheus-server 9090
  5. Point a web browser to localhost:9090 to view the Prometheus console.

  6. Choose a metric from the - insert metric at cursor menu, then choose Execute. Choose the Graph tab to show the metric over time. The following image shows container_memory_usage_bytes over time.

    
                        Prometheus metrics
  7. From the top navigation bar, choose Status, then Targets.

    
                        Prometheus console

    All of the Kubernetes endpoints that are connected to Prometheus using service discovery are displayed.