Application Load Balancer 的粘性會話 - Elastic Load Balancing

本文為英文版的機器翻譯版本,如內容有任何歧義或不一致之處,概以英文版為準。

Application Load Balancer 的粘性會話

根據預設,Application Load Balancer 會根據所選的負載平衡演算法,將每個請求獨立路由至註冊的目標。不過,您可以使用粘性會話功能 (也稱為工作階段親和性),讓負載平衡器將使用者的工作階段繫結到特定目標。這樣能確保該工作階段期間所有的使用者請求都能傳送到同一個目標。這功能對於維護狀態資訊以便為用戶端提供持續體驗的伺服器來說很實用。若要使用粘性會話,用戶端必須支援 Cookie。

Application Load Balancer 支援持續時間型 Cookie 和應用程式型 Cookie。粘性會話會在目標群組層級啟用。您可以組合使用持續時間型粘性、應用程式型粘性,以及目標群體之間無粘性。

管理粘性會話的金鑰是決定您的負載平衡器應該持續將使用者請求路由到同一個目標的時間。如果您的應用程式有自己的工作階段 Cookie,則您可以使用應用程式型粘性,負載平衡器工作階段 Cookie 會遵循應用程式的工作階段 Cookie 指定的持續時間。如果您的應用程式沒有自己的工作階段 Cookie,則您可以使用持續時間型粘性,來產生具有指定持續時間的負載平衡器工作階段 Cookie。

系統會使用輪換金鑰來對負載平衡器產生的 Cookie 內容進行加密。您不能解密或修改負載平衡器產生的 Cookie。

對於這兩種粘性類型,Application Load Balancer 會在每次請求後重設其產生的 Cookie 到期時間。如果 Cookie 過期,則工作階段不再具有粘性,用戶端應該從其 Cookie 存放區中刪除該 Cookie。

要求
  • HTTP/HTTPS 負載平衡器。

  • 在各個可用區域內啟動至少一個正常運作的執行個體。

考量事項
  • 如果跨區域負載平衡已停用,便不支援粘性會話。在跨區域負載平衡已停用時,啟用粘性會話的嘗試會失敗。

  • 對於應用程式型 Cookie,必須針對每個目標群組個別指定 Cookie 名稱。但是,對於持續時間型 Cookie,AWSALB 是所有目標群組中唯一使用的名稱。

  • 如果您使用多層 Application Load Balancer,則可以使用應用程式型 Cookie 在所有層級間啟用粘性會話。但是,如果使用持續時間型 Cookie,便只能在一個層上啟用粘性會話,因為 AWSALB 是唯一可用的名稱。

  • 應用程式型粘性不適用於加權目標群組。

  • 如果您有一個轉送規則涉及多個目標群組,且一個或多個目標群組已啟用粘性會話,則您必須啟用目標群組層級的粘性。

  • WebSocket 連接本質上是粘性的。如果用戶端要求連線升級至 WebSockets,則傳回 HTTP 101 狀態碼以接受連線升級的目標就是連線中使用的 WebSockets目標。 WebSockets 升級完成之後,就不會使用以 Cookie 為基礎的黏性。

  • Application Load Balancer 會使用 Cookie 標頭中的 Expires 屬性,而非 Max-Age 屬性。

  • Application Load Balancer 不支援 URL 編碼的 Cookie 值。

持續時間型粘性

持續時間型粘性會使用負載平衡器產生的 Cookie (AWSALB),將請求路由至目標群組中的同一個目標。Cookie 用於將工作階段映射到目標。如果您的應用程式沒有自己的工作階段 Cookie,您可以指定自己的粘性持續時間,並管理負載平衡器應持續地將使用者的請求路由至同一個目標的時間。

負載平衡器首次從用戶端收到請求時,它會將請求路由到目標 (根據所選演算法),並產生一個名為 AWSALB 的 Cookie。它會對所選目標的資訊進行編碼,對 Cookie 進行加密,並在對用戶端的回應中包含 Cookie。負載平衡器產生的 Cookie 自己有 7 天的有效期,且無法設定。

在後續的請求中,用戶端應該包括 AWSALB Cookie。負載平衡器收到來自用戶端包含 Cookie 的請求時,會偵測到此 Cookie,並會將該請求路由至同一個目標。如果 Cookie 存在但無法解碼,或者它參照了已取消註冊或狀況不良的目標,負載平衡器會選取新的目標,並以新目標的相關資訊更新 Cookie。

對於跨源資源共享(CORS)請求,某些瀏覽器需SameSite=None; Secure要啟用粘性。為了支持這些瀏覽器,負載平衡器始終生成第二個粘性 cookieAWSALBCORS,其中包含與原始粘性 cookie 相同的信息以及屬性。SameSite客戶端會收到兩個 cookie,包括非 CORS 請求。

使用主控台啟用持續時間型粘性
  1. 前往 https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/ 開啟 Amazon EC2 主控台。

  2. 在導覽窗格的 Load Balancing (負載平衡) 中,選擇 Target Groups (目標群組)

  3. 選擇目標群組的名稱,以開啟其詳細資訊頁面。

  4. 群組詳細資訊索引標籤的屬性區段中,選擇編輯

  5. Edit attributes (編輯屬性) 頁面上,執行下列動作:

    1. 選取粘性

    2. 粘性類型中,選取負載平衡器產生的 Cookie

    3. 針對 Stickiness duration (黏性持續期間),指定介於 1 秒到 7 天之間的值。

    4. 選擇儲存變更

若要啟用以持續時間為基礎的黏性,請使用 AWS CLI

使用 modify-target-group-attributes 命令搭配 stickiness.enabledstickiness.lb_cookie.duration_seconds 屬性。

請使用下列命令啟用持續時間型粘性。

aws elbv2 modify-target-group-attributes --target-group-arn ARN --attributes Key=stickiness.enabled,Value=true Key=stickiness.lb_cookie.duration_seconds,Value=time-in-seconds

輸出內容應如下範例所示。

{ "Attributes": [ ... { "Key": "stickiness.enabled", "Value": "true" }, { "Key": "stickiness.lb_cookie.duration_seconds", "Value": "86500" }, ... ] }

應用程式型粘性

應用程式型粘性可讓您靈活地設定自己的用戶端目標粘性標準。啟用應用程式型粘性後,負載平衡器會根據選擇的演算法,將第一個請求路由到目標群組內的目標。目標預期會設定與負載平衡器上設定的 Cookie 相符的自訂應用程式 Cookie,以啟用粘性。這個自定義 Cookie 可以包括應用程序所需的任何 Cookie 屬性。

Application Load Balancer 從目標收到自訂應用程式 Cookie 後,會自動產生新的加密應用程式 Cookie,以擷取粘性資訊。此負載平衡器產生的應用程式 Cookie 會擷取每個已啟用應用程式型粘性之目標群組的粘性資訊。

負載平衡器產生的應用程式 Cookie 不會複製目標所設定之自訂 Cookie 的屬性。它自己有 7 天的有效期,且無法設定。在對用戶端的回應中,Application Load Balancer 只會驗證在目標群組層級設定之自訂 Cookie 的名稱,而不會驗證自訂 Cookie 的值或到期屬性。只要名稱相符,負載平衡器會在對用戶端待回應中傳送兩個 Cookie,即目標設定的自訂 Cookie 以及負載平衡器產生的應用程式 Cookie。

在後續請求中,用戶端必須傳回這兩個 Cookie 以保持粘性。負載平衡器會解密應用程式 Cookie,並檢查設定的粘性持續時間是否仍然有效。然後,它會使用 Cookie 中的資訊來將請求傳送給目標群組中的同一個目標,以維持粘性。負載平衡器也會將自訂應用程式 Cookie 代理至目標,且不會對其進行檢查或修改。在後續回應中,負載平衡器產生的應用程式 Cookie 到期時間,以及在負載平衡器上設定的粘性持續時間都會重設。為了保持用戶端和目標之間的粘性,Cookie 的到期時間和粘性的持續時間不應結束。

如果目標失敗或運作狀態不佳,負載平衡器會停止路由請求到該目標,並根據選擇的負載平衡演算法選擇運作狀態良好的新目標。負載平衡器會將工作階段視為「粘到」運作狀態良好的新目標,並持續路由請求到運作狀態良好的新目標,即使失敗的目標恢復也是如此。

對於跨來源資源共用 (CORS) 請求,若要啟用粘性,負載平衡器只會在使用者代理程式版本為 Chromium80 或更高版本時,將 SameSite=None; Secure 屬性新增至負載平衡器產生的應用程式 Cookie。

由於大部分瀏覽器會將 Cookie 大小限制在 4K,負載平衡器會將大於 4K 的應用程式 Cookie 分成多個 Cookie 碎片。Application Load Balancer 支援的 Cookie 大小上限為 16K,因此最多會建立 4 個傳送到用戶端的碎片。用戶端看到的應用程式 Cookie 名稱以「AWSALBAPP-」開頭,並包含片段編號。例如,如果 Cookie 大小為 0-4K,則用戶端會看到 AWSALBAPP -0。如果 Cookie 的大小是 4-8k,則客戶端會看到 AWSALBAPP -0 和 AWSALBAPP -1,依此類推。

使用主控台啟用應用程式型粘性
  1. 前往 https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/ 開啟 Amazon EC2 主控台。

  2. 在導覽窗格的 Load Balancing (負載平衡) 中,選擇 Target Groups (目標群組)

  3. 選擇目標群組的名稱,以開啟其詳細資訊頁面。

  4. 群組詳細資訊索引標籤的屬性區段中,選擇編輯

  5. Edit attributes (編輯屬性) 頁面上,執行下列動作:

    1. 選取粘性

    2. 粘性類型中,選取應用程式型 Cookie

    3. 針對 Stickiness duration (黏性持續期間),指定介於 1 秒到 7 天之間的值。

    4. 應用程式 Cookie 名稱中,輸入應用程式型 Cookie 的名稱。

      請勿使用 AWSALBAWSALBAPP、或 AWSALBTG 作為 Cookie 名稱;它們預留供負載平衡器使用。

    5. 選擇儲存變更

若要啟用以應用程式為基礎的黏性,請使用 AWS CLI

使用 modify-target-group-attributes 命令搭配以下屬性:

  • stickiness.enabled

  • stickiness.type

  • stickiness.app_cookie.cookie_name

  • stickiness.app_cookie.duration_seconds

請使用下列命令啟用應用程式型粘性。

aws elbv2 modify-target-group-attributes --target-group-arn ARN --attributes Key=stickiness.enabled,Value=true Key=stickiness.type,Value=app_cookie Key=stickiness.app_cookie.cookie_name,Value=my-cookie-name Key=stickiness.app_cookie.duration_seconds,Value=time-in-seconds

輸出內容應如下範例所示。

{ "Attributes": [ ... { "Key": "stickiness.enabled", "Value": "true" }, { "Key": "stickiness.app_cookie.cookie_name", "Value": "MyCookie" }, { "Key": "stickiness.type", "Value": "app_cookie" }, { "Key": "stickiness.app_cookie.duration_seconds", "Value": "86500" }, ... ] }
手動重新平衡

縱向擴展時,如果目標數量大幅增加,則由於粘性,可能會導致負載分配不均衡。在這種情況下,可以使用下列兩個選項重新平衡目標上的負載:

  • 在由應用程式產生的 Cookie 上設定早於目前日期和時間的到期時間。這樣可防止用戶端將 Cookie 傳送至 Application Load Balancer,重新啟動建立粘性的程序。

  • 在負載平衡器的應用程式型粘性組態上設定非常短的持續時間,例如 1 秒。這會強制 Application Load Balancer 重新建立粘性,即使目標所設定的 Cookie 尚未過期。

Sticky sessions for your Application Load Balancer - Elastic Load Balancing

Sticky sessions for your Application Load Balancer

By default, an Application Load Balancer routes each request independently to a registered target based on the chosen load-balancing algorithm. However, you can use the sticky session feature (also known as session affinity) to enable the load balancer to bind a user's session to a specific target. This ensures that all requests from the user during the session are sent to the same target. This feature is useful for servers that maintain state information in order to provide a continuous experience to clients. To use sticky sessions, the client must support cookies.

Application Load Balancers support both duration-based cookies and application-based cookies. The key to managing sticky sessions is determining how long your load balancer should consistently route the user's request to the same target. Sticky sessions are enabled at the target group level. You can use a combination of duration-based stickiness, application-based stickiness, and no stickiness across all of your target groups.

The content of load balancer generated cookies are encrypted using a rotating key. You cannot decrypt or modify load balancer generated cookies.

For both stickiness types, the Application Load Balancer resets the expiry of the cookies it generates after every request. If a cookie expires, the session is no longer sticky and the client should remove the cookie from its cookie store.

Requirements

  • An HTTP/HTTPS load balancer.

  • At least one healthy instance in each Availability Zone.

Considerations

  • For application-based cookies, cookie names have to be specified individually for each target group. However, for duration-based cookies, AWSALB is the only name used across all target groups.

  • If you are using multiple layers of Application Load Balancers, you can enable sticky sessions across all layers with application-based cookies. However, with duration-based cookies, you can enable sticky sessions only on one layer, because AWSALB is the only name available.

  • Application-based stickiness does not work with weighted target groups.

  • If you have a forward action with multiple target groups, and sticky sessions are enabled for one or more of the target groups, you must enable stickiness at the target group level.

  • WebSocket connections are inherently sticky. If the client requests a connection upgrade to WebSockets, the target that returns an HTTP 101 status code to accept the connection upgrade is the target used in the WebSockets connection. After the WebSockets upgrade is complete, cookie-based stickiness is not used.

  • Application Load Balancers use the Expires attribute in the cookie header instead of the Max-Age attribute.

  • Application Load Balancers do not support cookie values that are URL encoded.

Duration-based stickiness

Duration-based stickiness routes requests to the same target in a target group using a load balancer generated cookie (AWSALB). The cookie is used to map the session to the target. If your application does not have its own session cookie, you can specify your own stickiness duration and manage how long your load balancer should consistently route the user's request to the same target.

When a load balancer first receives a request from a client, it routes the request to a target (based on the chosen algorithm), and generates a cookie named AWSALB. It encodes information about the selected target, encrypts the cookie, and includes the cookie in the response to the client. The load balancer generated cookie has its own expiry of 7 days which is non-configurable.

In subsequent requests, the client should include the AWSALB cookie. When the load balancer receives a request from a client that contains the cookie, it detects it and routes the request to the same target. If the cookie is present but cannot be decoded, or if it refers to a target that was deregistered or is unhealthy, the load balancer selects a new target and updates the cookie with information about the new target.

With cross-origin resource sharing (CORS) requests, some browsers require SameSite=None; Secure to enable stickiness. In this case, the load balancer generates a second stickiness cookie, AWSALBCORS, which includes the same information as the original stickiness cookie plus the SameSite attribute. Clients receive both cookies.

To enable duration-based stickiness using the console

  1. Open the Amazon EC2 console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/.

  2. On the navigation pane, under Load Balancing, choose Target Groups.

  3. Choose the name of the target group to open its details page.

  4. On the Group details tab, in the Attributes section, choose Edit.

  5. On the Edit attributes page, do the following:

    1. Select Stickiness.

    2. For Stickiness type, select Load balancer generated cookie.

    3. For Stickiness duration, specify a value between 1 second and 7 days.

    4. Choose Save changes.

To enable duration-based stickiness using the AWS CLI

Use the modify-target-group-attributes command with the stickiness.enabled and stickiness.lb_cookie.duration_seconds attributes.

Use the following command to enable duration-based stickiness.

aws elbv2 modify-target-group-attributes --target-group-arn ARN --attributes Key=stickiness.enabled,Value=true Key=stickiness.lb_cookie.duration_seconds,Value=time-in-seconds

Your output should be similar to the following example.

{ "Attributes": [ ... { "Key": "stickiness.enabled", "Value": "true" }, { "Key": "stickiness.lb_cookie.duration_seconds", "Value": "86500" }, ... ] }

Application-based stickiness

Application-based stickiness gives you the flexibility to set your own criteria for client-target stickiness. When you enable application-based stickiness, the load balancer routes the first request to a target within the target group based on the chosen algorithm. The target is expected to set a custom application cookie that matches the cookie configured on the load balancer to enable stickiness. This custom cookie can include any of the cookie attributes required by the application.

When the Application Load Balancer receives the custom application cookie from the target, it automatically generates a new encrypted application cookie to capture stickiness information. This load balancer generated application cookie captures stickiness information for each target group that has application-based stickiness enabled.

The load balancer generated application cookie does not copy the attributes of the custom cookie set by the target. It has its own expiry of 7 days which is non-configurable. In the response to the client, the Application Load Balancer only validates the name with which the custom cookie was configured at the target group level and not the value or the expiry attribute of the custom cookie. As long as the name matches, the load balancer sends both cookies, the custom cookie set by the target, and the application cookie generated by the load balancer, in the response to the client.

In subsequent requests, clients have to send back both cookies to maintain stickiness. The load balancer decrypts the application cookie, and checks whether the configured duration of stickiness is still valid. It then uses the information in the cookie to send the request to the same target within the target group to maintain stickiness. The load balancer also proxies the custom application cookie to the target without inspecting or modifying it. In subsequent responses, the expiry of the load balancer generated application cookie and the duration of stickiness configured on the load balancer are reset. To maintain stickiness between client and target, the expiry of the cookie, and the duration of stickiness should not elapse.

If a target fails or becomes unhealthy, the load balancer stops routing requests to that target, and chooses a new healthy target based on the chosen load balancing algorithm. The load balancer treats the session as now being "stuck" to the new healthy target, and continues routing requests to the new healthy target even if the failed target comes back.

With cross-origin resource sharing (CORS) requests, to enable stickiness, the load balancer adds the SameSite=None; Secure attributes to the load balancer generated application cookie only if the user-agent version is Chromium80 or above.

Since most browsers limit cookies to 4K in size, the load balancer shards application cookies greater than 4K into multiple cookies. Application Load Balancers support cookies up to 16K in size and can therefore create up to 4 shards that it sends to the client. The application cookie name that the client sees begins with “AWSALBAPP-" and includes a fragment number. For example, if the cookie size is 0-4K, the client sees AWSALBAPP-0. If the cookie size is 4-8k, the client sees AWSALBAPP-0 and AWSALBAPP-1, and so on.

To enable application-based stickiness using the console

  1. Open the Amazon EC2 console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/.

  2. On the navigation pane, under Load Balancing, choose Target Groups.

  3. Choose the name of the target group to open its details page.

  4. On the Group details tab, in the Attributes section, choose Edit.

  5. On the Edit attributes page, do the following:

    1. Select Stickiness.

    2. For Stickiness type, select Application-based cookie.

    3. For Stickiness duration, specify a value between 1 second and 7 days.

    4. For App cookie name, enter a name for your application-based cookie.

      Do not use AWSALB, AWSALBAPP, or AWSALBTG for the cookie name; they're reserved for use by the load balancer.

    5. Choose Save changes.

To enable application-based stickiness using the AWS CLI

Use the modify-target-group-attributes command with the following attributes:

  • stickiness.enabled

  • stickiness.type

  • stickiness.app_cookie.cookie_name

  • stickiness.app_cookie.duration_seconds

Use the following command to enable application-based stickiness.

aws elbv2 modify-target-group-attributes --target-group-arn ARN --attributes Key=stickiness.enabled,Value=true Key=stickiness.type,Value=app_cookie Key=stickiness.app_cookie.cookie_name Value=my-cookie-name Key=stickiness.app_cookie.duration_seconds Value=time-in-seconds

Your output should be similar to the following example.

{ "Attributes": [ ... { "Key": "stickiness.enabled", "Value": "true" }, { "Key": "stickiness.app_cookie.cookie_name", "Value": "MyCookie" }, { "Key": "stickiness.type", "Value": "app_cookie" }, { "Key": "stickiness.app_cookie.duration_seconds", "Value": "86500" }, ... ] }

Manual rebalancing

When scaling up, if the number of targets increase considerably, there is potential for unequal distribution of load due to stickiness. In this scenario, you can rebalance the load on your targets using the following two options:

  • Set an expiry on the cookie generated by the application that is prior to the current date and time. This will prevent clients from sending the cookie to the Application Load Balancer, which will restart the process of establishing stickiness.

  • Set a very short duration on the load balancer’s application-based stickiness configuration, for example, 1 second. This forces the Application Load Balancer to reestablish stickiness even if the cookie set by the target has not expired.