处理缺失值 - Amazon Forecast

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

处理缺失值

时间序列预测数据中的一个常见问题是存在缺失值。由于多种原因,您的数据可能会有缺失值,这包括测量失败、格式化问题、人为错误或缺乏可记录的信息。例如,如果您要预测零售商店的商品需求,并且某个商品已售罄或不可用,则当该商品缺货时,该商品将没有销售数据可供记录。缺失值在占到一定的比例时,会显著影响模型的精度。

Amazon Forecast 提供了多种填充方法,用于处理目标时间序列和相关时间序列数据集中的缺失值。填充是向数据集中缺少的条目添加标准化值的过程。

Forecast 支持以下填充方法:

  • 中间填充 – 填充数据集的项目开始日期和项目结束日期之间的任何缺失值。

  • 回填充 – 填充数据集最后记录的数据点与数据集的全局结束日期之间的任何缺失值。

  • 未来填充(仅限相关时间序列)– 填充全局结束日期与预测范围结束日期之间的任何缺失值。

下图提供了不同填充方法的可视化表示。

选择填充逻辑

选择填充逻辑时,您应考虑模型将如何解释逻辑。例如,在零售场景中,记录有货商品的 0 销售额与记录无货商品的 0 销售额不同,因为后者并不意味着客户对该商品缺乏兴趣。因此,目标时间序列中的 0 填充可能会导致预测器的预测中偏差过低,而 NaN 填充可能会忽略实际上有 0 个有货商品可供销售的情况,并导致预测器的预测中偏差过高。

下面的时间序列图表说明了选择错误的填充值会如何显著影响模型的精度。图 A 和 B 绘制了对部分商品的需求 out-of-stock,黑线表示实际销售数据。使用 0 来填充 A1 中的缺失值,导致 A2 中相对偏差过低的预测(由虚线表示)。同样,使用 NaN 填充 B1 中的缺失值,这会导致 B2 中的预测更精确。

有关支持的填充逻辑的列表,请参阅以下部分。

目标时间序列及相关时间序列填充逻辑

您可以对目标时间序列和相关时间序列数据集执行填充。每种数据集类型有不同的填充指南和限制。

填充指南
数据集类型 是否默认填充? 支持的填充方法 默认填充逻辑 接受的填充逻辑
目标时间序列 中间填充和回填充 0
  • zero - 0 填充。

  • value - 整数或浮点数。

  • nan - 不是数字。

  • mean - 来自数据序列的平均值。

  • median - 来自数据序列的中位数值。

  • min - 数据序列中的最小值。

  • max - 数据序列的最大值。

相关时间序列 中间填充、回填充和未来填充 无默认值
  • zero - 0 填充。

  • value - 整数或浮点数值。

  • mean - 来自数据序列的平均值。

  • median - 来自数据序列的中位数值。

  • min - 数据序列中的最小值。

  • max - 数据序列的最大值。

重要

对于目标时间序列和相关时间序列数据集,根据缺失值之前的最近的 64 个数据条目的滚动窗口来计算 meanmedianminmax

缺失值语法

要执行缺失值填充,请在调用CreatePredictor操作时指定要实现的填充类型。填充逻辑是在FeaturizationMethod对象中指定的。

以下摘录演示了目标时间序列属性和相关时间序列属性(分别为 target_valueprice)的格式正确的 FeaturizationMethod 对象。

要将填充方法设置为特定值,请将填充参数设置为 value,并在相应的 _value 参数中定义该值。如下所示,相关时间序列的回填值设置为 2,具体如下:"backfill": "value",且 "backfill_value":"2"

[ { "AttributeName": "target_value", "FeaturizationPipeline": [ { "FeaturizationMethodName": "filling", "FeaturizationMethodParameters": { "aggregation": "sum", "middlefill": "zero", "backfill": "zero" } } ] }, { "AttributeName": "price", "FeaturizationPipeline": [ { "FeaturizationMethodName": "filling", "FeaturizationMethodParameters": { "middlefill": "median", "backfill": "value", "backfill_value": "2", "futurefill": "max" } } ] } ]

Handling Missing Values - Amazon Forecast

Handling Missing Values

A common issue in time-series forecasting data is the presence of missing values. Your data might contain missing values for a number of reasons, including measurement failures, formatting problems, human errors, or a lack of information to record. For instance, if you're forecasting product demand for a retail store and an item is sold out or unavailable, there would be no sales data to record while that item is out of stock. If prevelant enough, missing values can signficantly impact a model's accuracy.

Amazon Forecast provides a number of filling methods to handle missing values in your target time series and related time series datasets. Filling is the process of adding standardized values to missing entries in your dataset.

Forecast supports the following filling methods:

  • Middle filling – Fills any missing values between the dataset's item start and item end date.

  • Back filling – Fills any missing values between the dataset's last recorded data point and the dataset's global end date.

  • Future filling (related time series only) – Fills any missing values between the dataset's global end date and the end of the forecast horizon.

The following image provides a visual representation of different filling methods.

Choosing Filling Logic

When choosing a filling logic, you should consider how the logic will be interpreted by your model. For instance, in a retail scenario, recording 0 sales of an available item is different from recording 0 sales of an unavailable item, as the latter does not imply a lack of customer interest in the item. Because of this, 0 filling in the target time series might cause the predictor to be under-biased in its predictions, while NaN filling might ignore actual occurances of 0 available items being sold and cause the predictor to be over-biased.

The following time-series graphs illustrate how choosing the wrong filling value can significantly affect the accuracy of your model. Graphs A and B plot the demand for an item that is partially out-of-stock, with the black lines representing actual sales data. Missing values in A1 are filled with 0, leading to relatively under-biased predictions (represented by the dotted lines) in A2. Similarly, missing values in B1 are filled with NaN, which leads to predictions that are more exact in B2.

For a list of supported filling logic, see the following section.

Target Time Series and Related Time Series Filling Logic

You can perform filling on both target time series and related time series datasets. Each dataset type has different filling guidelines and restrictions.

Filling Guidelines
Dataset type Filling by default? Supported filling methods Default filling logic Accepted filling logic
Target time series Yes Middle and back filling 0
  • zero - 0 filling.

  • value - an integer or float number.

  • nan - not a number.

  • mean - the mean value from the data series.

  • median - the median value from the data series.

  • min - the minumum value from the data series.

  • max - the maximum value from the data series.

Related time series No Middle, back, and future filling No default
  • zero - 0 filling.

  • value - an integer or float value.

  • mean - the mean value from the data series.

  • median - the median value from the data series.

  • min - the minumum value from the data series.

  • max - the maximum value from the data series.

Important

For both target and related time series datasets, mean, median, min, and max are calculated based on a rolling window of the 64 most recent data entries before the missing values.

Missing Value Syntax

To perform missing value filling, specify the types of filling to implement when you call the CreatePredictor operation. Filling logic is specified in FeaturizationMethod objects.

The following excerpt demonstrates a correctly formatted FeaturizationMethod object for a target time series attribute and related time series attribute (target_value and price respectively).

To set a filling method to a specific value, set the fill parameter to value and define the value in a corresponding _value parameter. As shown below, backfilling for the related time series is set to a value of 2 with the following: "backfill": "value" and "backfill_value":"2".

[ { "AttributeName": "target_value", "FeaturizationPipeline": [ { "FeaturizationMethodName": "filling", "FeaturizationMethodParameters": { "aggregation": "sum", "middlefill": "zero", "backfill": "zero" } } ] }, { "AttributeName": "price", "FeaturizationPipeline": [ { "FeaturizationMethodName": "filling", "FeaturizationMethodParameters": { "middlefill": "median", "backfill": "value", "backfill_value": "2", "futurefill": "max" } } ] } ]