Deleting SnapLock volumes - FSx for ONTAP

Deleting SnapLock volumes

You can delete a SnapLock Compliance volume if the retention periods of all the write once, read many (WORM) files on it are expired.

Note

When you close an AWS account that contains SnapLock Enterprise or Compliance volumes, AWS and FSx for ONTAP suspend your account for 90 days with your data intact. If you don't reopen your account during those 90 days, AWS deletes your data including data in SnapLock volumes regardless of your retention settings.

You can delete a SnapLock Enterprise volume at any time if you have the appropriate permissions. You must be an Amazon FSx administrator. Additionally, whether you're using the Amazon FSx console or Amazon FSx API, you must have the IAM fsx:BypassSnapLockEnterpriseRetention IAM permission to delete a SnapLock Enterprise volume that contains WORM data with an active retention policy.

Warning

The minimum retention period for a SnapLock audit log volume is six months. Until this retention period expires you can't delete the SnapLock audit log volume, the storage virtual machine (SVM), or the file system that's associated with the SVM—even if the volume was created in SnapLock Enterprise mode. For more information, see SnapLock audit log volumes.

To delete a SnapLock Enterprise volume on the Amazon FSx console
  1. Open the Amazon FSx console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/fsx/.

  2. In the left navigation pane, choose Volumes.

  3. Choose the volume that you want to delete.

  4. From Actions, choose Delete volume.

  5. For Bypass SnapLock Enterprise Retention, choose Yes.

  6. In the confirmation dialog box, choose one of the following options for Create final backup:

    • Choose Yes to make a final backup of the volume. The name of the final backup is displayed.

    • Choose No if you don't want a final backup of the volume. You are asked to acknowledge that once the volume is deleted, automatic backups are no longer available.

  7. Confirm the volume deletion by entering delete in the Confirm delete field.

  8. Choose Delete volume(s).