可用性与持久性:单可用和多可用区和多可用区和多可用区和多可用区和多可用 - Amazon FSx for Windows File Server

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

可用性与持久性:单可用和多可用区和多可用区和多可用区和多可用区和多可用

Amazon FSx for Windows File Server 提供两种文件系统部署类型:单可用区和多可用区和多可用区和多可用区。

单可用区文件系统由单个 Windows 文件服务器实例和单个可用区 (AZ) 内的一组存储卷组成。在大多数情况下,使用单一可用区文件系统,可以自动复制数据以保护其免受单个组件故障的影响。Amazon FSx 持续监控硬件故障,并通过更换故障基础设施组件自动从故障事件中恢复。在这些故障恢复事件期间以及在您为文件系统配置的维护窗口内进行计划文件系统维护期间,单可用区文件系统处于脱机状态,通常不超过 20 分钟。对于单可用区文件系统,文件系统故障在极少数情况下可能无法恢复,例如由于多个组件故障或由于单个文件服务器的非正常故障导致文件系统处于不一致状态,在这种情况下,您可以从最新的备份中恢复文件系统。

多可用区文件系统由分布在两个可用区(首选可用区和备用可用区)的 Windows 文件服务器的高可用性集群组成,利用了 Windows Server 故障转移群集 (WSFC) 技术和两个可用区中每个可用区上的一组存储卷。数据在每个单独的可用区内以及两个可用区之间同步复制。相对于单可用区部署,多可用区部署通过进一步跨可用区复制数据来增强耐久性,并通过自动故障转移到备用可用区来增强计划内系统维护和计划外服务中断期间的可用性。这使您可以继续访问数据,并有助于保护您的数据免受实例故障和可用区中断的影响。

选择单可用或多可用区和多可用区和多可用区文件系统部署

鉴于多可用区文件系统提供的高可用性和耐久性模型,我们建议对大多数生产工作负载使用多可用区文件系统。单可用区部署是一种经济实惠的解决方案,适用于测试和开发工作负载、在应用程序层内置了复制功能且不需要额外存储级冗余的某些生产工作负载,以及可用性和恢复点目标 (RPO) 需求较宽的生产工作负载。如果出现计划内文件系统维护或计划外服务中断,以及在极少数情况下,自最近一次备份以来丢失数据更新,可用性和 RPO 需求较宽的工作负载可以承受长达 20 分钟的暂时性可用性中断。

按部署类型划分的功能支持

下表总结了 FSx 支持的 Windows File Server 文件系统部署类型的功能:

Deployment type (部署类型) SS存储 存储存储器 DS 命名空间 DFS 复制 自定义 DS 名称 CA
单可用区 1
单可用区 2 ✓*
多可用区 ✓*
注意

* 虽然您可以在单可用区 2 文件系统上创建持续可用 (CA) 共享,但应在多可用区文件系统上使用 CA 共享进行 SQL Server HA 部署。

FSx for Windows 文件服务器的故障转移流程

如果出现以下任一情况,多可用区和备用文件系统会自动从首选文件服务器故障转移到备用文件服务器:

  • 可用区中断。

  • 首选文件服务器变为不可用。

  • 首选文件服务器需要进行计划内维护。

当从一台文件服务器故障切换到另一台文件服务器时,新的活动文件服务器会自动开始处理所有文件系统的读写请求。当首选子网中的资源可用时,Amazon FSx 会自动回切到首选子网中的首选文件服务器。从检测到活动文件服务器上的故障到将备用文件服务器提升到活动状态,故障转移通常在不到 30 秒的时间内完成。故障恢复到原始多可用区配置也可以在不到 30 秒的时间内完成,并且只有在首选子网中的文件服务器完全恢复后才会发生。

在文件系统故障转移和故障恢复的短时间内,I/O 可能会暂停,亚马逊 CloudWatch 指标可能暂时不可用。

Windows 客户端上的故障转移体验

当从一台文件服务器故障切换到另一台文件服务器时,新的活动文件服务器会自动开始处理所有文件系统的读写请求。在首选子网中的资源可用后,Amazon FSx 会自动回切到首选子网中的首选文件服务器。由于文件系统的 DNS 名称保持不变,因此故障转移对 Windows 应用程序是透明的,这些应用程序无需手动干预即可恢复文件系统操作。从检测到活动文件服务器上的故障到将备用文件服务器提升到活动状态,故障转移通常在不到 30 秒的时间内完成。故障恢复到原始多可用区配置也可以在不到 30 秒的时间内完成,并且只有在首选子网中的文件服务器完全恢复后才会发生。

Linux 客户端上的故障转移体验

Linux 客户端不支持基于 DNS 的自动故障转移。因此,它们在故障转移期间不会自动连接到备用文件服务器。在多可用区文件系统无法返回首选子网中的文件服务器后,它们将自动恢复文件系统操作。

测试文件系统上的故障转移

您可以通过修改多可用区文件系统的吞吐容量来测试其故障转移。当您修改文件系统的吞吐量时,Amazon FSx 会关闭文件系统的文件服务器。多可用区文件系统会自动故障转移到辅助服务器,而 Amazon FSx 会先替换首选的服务器文件服务器。然后,文件系统会自动故障恢复到新的主服务器,Amazon FSx 替换辅助文件服务器。

您可以在 Amazon FSx 控制台、CLI 和 API 中监控吞吐量容量更新请求的进度。更新成功完成后,您的文件系统将故障转移到辅助服务器,并无法恢复到主服务器。有关修改文件系统的吞吐容量和监控请求进度的更多信息,请参阅管理吞吐量容量

使用单可用区和多可用区文件系统资源

子网

当您创建 VPC 时,它会跨越该区域的所有可用区 (AZ)。可用区是被设计为可以隔离其他可用区的故障的不同位置。在创建 VPC 之后,您可以在每个可用区中添加一个或多个子网。默认 VPC 在每个可用区内都有一个子网。每个子网都必须完全位于一个可用区之内,不能跨越多个可用区。创建单一可用区 Amazon FSx 文件系统时,需要为文件系统指定一个子网。您选择的子网定义了创建文件系统的可用区。

创建多可用区和多可用区文件系统时,请指定两个子网,一个用于首选文件服务器,另一个用于备用文件服务器。您选择的两个子网必须位于同一AWS区域内的不同可用区。

对于AWS应用程序中,我们建议您在与首选文件服务器相同的可用区中启动客户端,以最大限度减少延迟。

文件系统弹性网络接口

当您创建 Amazon FSx 文件系统时,Amazon FSx 会在Amazon V irtual Private Cloud (VPC) 中预置一个或多个与您的文件系统关联的弹性网络接口。网络接口允许您的客户端与 FSx for Windows File Server 文件系统通信。该网络接口被视为在 Amazon FSx 的服务范围内,尽管是您的账户的 VPC 的一部分。多可用区文件系统有两个弹性网络接口,每个文件服务器一个。单可用区文件系统有一个elastic network interface。

警告

您不得修改或删除与您的文件系统关联的弹性网络接口。修改或删除网络接口可能会导致您的 VPC 与文件系统之间的连接永久中断。

下表汇总了适用于 Windows File Server 文件系统部署类型的 FsX 的子网、弹性网络接口和 IP 地址资源:

文件系统部署类型 子网的数量 弹性网络接口的数量 IP 地址的数量
单可用区 2 1 1 2
单可用区 1 1 1 1
多可用区 2 2 4

创建文件系统后,其 IP 地址不会更改,直到文件系统被删除。

重要

Amazon FSx 不支持从公共互联网访问文件系统或向公共互联网公开文件系统。如果弹性 IP 地址(可从互联网访问的公有 IP 地址)连接到文件系统的elastic network interface,Amazon FSx 会自动将其分离。

Availability and durability: Single-AZ and Multi-AZ file systems - Amazon FSx for Windows File Server

Availability and durability: Single-AZ and Multi-AZ file systems

Amazon FSx for Windows File Server offers two file system deployment types: Single-AZ and Multi-AZ.

Single-AZ file systems are composed of a single Windows file server instance and a set of storage volumes within a single Availability Zone (AZ). With Single-AZ file systems, data is automatically replicated to protect it from the failure of a single component in most cases. Amazon FSx continuously monitors for hardware failures, and automatically recovers from failure events by replacing the failed infrastructure component. Single-AZ file systems are offline, typically for less than 20 minutes, during these failure recovery events and during planned file system maintenance within the maintenance window that you configure for your file system. With Single-AZ file systems, file system failure may be unrecoverable in rare cases, such as due to multiple component failures or due to a non-graceful failure of the single file server that leaves the file system in an inconsistent state, in which case you can recover your file system from the most recent backup.

Multi-AZ file systems are composed of a high-availability cluster of Windows file servers spread across two AZs (a preferred AZ and a standby AZ), leveraging Windows Server Failover Clustering (WSFC) technology and a set of storage volumes on each of the two AZs. Data is replicated synchronously within each individual AZ and between the two AZs. Relative to Single-AZ deployment, Multi-AZ deployments provide enhanced durability by further replicating data across AZs, and enhanced availability during planned system maintenance and unplanned service disruption by failing over automatically to the standby AZ. This allows you to continue accessing your data, and helps to protect your data against instance failure and AZ disruption.

Choosing Single-AZ or Multi-AZ file system deployment

We recommend using Multi-AZ file systems for most production workloads given the high availability and durability model it provides. Single-AZ deployment is designed as a cost-efficient solution for test and development workloads, certain production workloads that have replication built into the application layer and do not require additional storage-level redundancy, and production workloads that have relaxed availability and Recovery Point Objective (RPO) needs. Workloads with relaxed availability and RPO needs can tolerate temporary loss of availability for up to 20 minutes in the event of planned file system maintenance or unplanned service disruption and, in rare cases, the loss of data updates since the most recent backup.

Feature support by deployment type

The following table summarizes features supported by the FSx for Windows File Server file system deployment types:

Deployment type SSD storage HDD storage DFS namespaces DFS replication Custom DNS names CA shares
Single-AZ 1
Single-AZ 2 ✓*
Multi-AZ ✓*
Note

* While you can create continously available (CA) shares on Single-AZ 2 file systems, you should use CA shares on Multi-AZ file systems for SQL Server HA deployments.

Failover process for FSx for Windows File Server

Multi-AZ file systems automatically fail over from the preferred file server to the standby file server if any of the following conditions occur:

  • An Availability Zone outage occurs.

  • The preferred file server becomes unavailable.

  • The preferred file server undergoes planned maintenance.

When failing over from one file server to another, the new active file server automatically begins serving all file system read and write requests. When the resources in the preferred subnet are available, Amazon FSx automatically fails back to the preferred file server in the preferred subnet. A failover typically completes in less than 30 seconds from the detection of the failure on the active file server to the promotion of the standby file server to active status. Failback to the original Multi-AZ configuration also completes in less than 30 seconds, and only occurs once the file server in the preferred subnet is fully recovered.

During the brief period in which your file system is failing over and failing back, I/O may be paused and Amazon CloudWatch metrics may be temporarily unavailable.

Failover experience on Windows clients

When failing over from one file server to another, the new active file server automatically begins serving all file system read and write requests. After the resources in the preferred subnet are available, Amazon FSx automatically fails back to the preferred file server in the preferred subnet. Because the file system's DNS name remains the same, failovers are transparent to Windows applications, which resume file system operations without manual intervention. A failover typically completes in less than 30 seconds from the detection of the failure on the active file server to the promotion of the standby file server to active status. Failback to the original Multi-AZ configuration also completes in less than 30 seconds, and only occurs after the file server in the preferred subnet is fully recovered.

Failover experience on Linux clients

Linux clients do not support automatic DNS-based failover. Therefore, they don't automatically connect to the standby file server during a failover. They will automatically resume file system operations after the Multi-AZ file system has failed back to the file server in the preferred subnet.

Testing failover on a file system

You can test failover your Multi-AZ file system by modifying its throughput capacity. When you modify your file system's throughput capacity, Amazon FSx switches out the file system's file server. Multi-AZ file systems automatically fail over to the secondary server while Amazon FSx replaces the preferred server file server first. Then the file system automatically fails back to the new primary server and Amazon FSx replaces the secondary file server.

You can monitor the progress of the throughput capacity update request in the Amazon FSx console, the CLI, and the API. Once the update has completed successfully, your file system has failed over to the secondary server, and failed back to the primary server. For more information about modifying your file system's throughput capacity and monitoring the progress of the request, see Managing throughput capacity.

Working with Single and Multi-AZ file system resources

Subnets

When you create a VPC, it spans all the Availability Zones (AZs) in the Region. Availability Zones are distinct locations that are engineered to be isolated from failures in other Availability Zones. After creating a VPC, you can add one or more subnets in each Availability Zone. The default VPC has a subnet in each Availability Zone. Each subnet must reside entirely within one Availability Zone and cannot span zones. When you create a Single-AZ Amazon FSx file system, you specify a single subnet for the file system. The subnet you choose defines the Availability Zone in which the file system is created.

When you create a Multi-AZ file system, you specify two subnets, one for the preferred file server, and one for the standby file server. The two subnets you choose must be in different Availability Zones within the same AWS Region.

For in-AWS applications, we recommend that you launch your clients in the same Availability Zone as your preferred file server to minimize latency.

File system elastic network interfaces

When you create an Amazon FSx file system, Amazon FSx provisions one or more elastic network interfaces in the Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) that you associate with your file system. The network interface allows your client to communicate with the FSx for Windows File Server file system. The network interface is considered to be within the service scope of Amazon FSx, despite being part of your account's VPC. Multi-AZ file systems have two elastic network interfaces, one for each file server. Single-AZ file systems have one elastic network interface.

Warning

You must not modify or delete the elastic network interfaces associated with your file system. Modifying or deleting the network interface can cause a permanent loss of connection between your VPC and your file system.

The following table summarizes the subnet, elastic network interface, and IP address resources for FSx for Windows File Server file system deployment types:

File system deployment type Number of subnets Number of elastic network interfaces Number of IP addresses
Single-AZ 2 1 1 2
Single-AZ 1 1 1 1
Multi-AZ 2 2 4

Once a file system is created, its IP addresses don't change until the file system is deleted.

Important

Amazon FSx doesn't support accessing file systems from, or exposing file system to the public Internet. If an Elastic IP address, which is a public IP address reachable from the Internet, gets attached to a file system's elastic network interface, Amazon FSx automatically detaches it.