AWS IoT Greengrass 核心軟體的 OTA 更新 - AWS IoT Greengrass

若我們提供該指南英語版本的翻譯,在有任何牴觸的狀況下請以英文版本的指南為主。其透過機器翻譯提供翻譯。

AWS IoT Greengrass 核心軟體的 OTA 更新

AWS IoT Greengrass 核心軟體套件包含可以執行 AWS IoT Greengrass 軟體無線 (OTA) 更新的更新代理程式。您可以使用 OTA 更新,在一或多個核心上安裝最新版的 AWS IoT Greengrass 核心軟體或 OTA 更新代理程式 核心軟體。透過 OTA 更新,您的核心裝置就不需要實際存在。

我們建議您盡可能使用 OTA 更新。它們提供了一種機制,讓您用來追蹤更新狀態和更新歷程記錄。如果發生更新失敗,則 OTA 更新代理程式 會回復到先前的軟體版本。

注意

在您使用 apt 安裝 AWS IoT Greengrass 核心軟體時,不支援 OTA 更新。針對這些安裝,我們建議您使用 apt 以升級軟體。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 從 APT 儲存庫安裝 AWS IoT Greengrass 核心軟體

OTA 更新可讓您更有效率地執行下列作業:

  • 修復安全漏洞。

  • 解決軟體穩定性問題。

  • 部署新功能和改良的功能。

此功能與 AWS IoT 任務整合。

使用要求

下列需求適用於 AWS IoT Greengrass 軟體的 OTA 更新。

  • Greengrass 核心必須至少有 400 MB 的本機儲存區可用磁碟空間。OTA 更新代理程式 需要約三倍的 AWS IoT Greengrass Core 軟體執行時間使用量需求。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 Amazon Web Services 一般參考 中的 Greengrass 核心的服務配額

  • Greengrass 核心必須與 AWS 雲端連線。

  • Greengrass 核心必須正確設定並佈建憑證和金鑰,以便使用 AWS IoT Core 和 AWS IoT Greengrass 進行身份驗證。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 X.509 憑證

  • Greengrass 核心無法設定為使用網路代理。

    注意

    從 AWS IoT Greengrass v1.9.3 開始,將 MQTT 流量設定為使用連接埠 443 的核心便已支援 OTA 更新 (預設連接埠 8883 的核心未支援)。不過,OTA 更新代理程式 不支援透過網路代理進行更新。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 連線至連接埠 443 或透過網路代理

  • 無法在包含 AWS IoT Greengrass Core 軟體的磁碟分割區中啟用信任開機。

    注意

    您可以在已啟用信任開機的磁碟分割區上安裝並執行 AWS IoT Greengrass Core 軟體,但不支援 OTA 更新。

  • AWS IoT Greengrass 必須在包含 AWS IoT Greengrass Core 軟體的磁碟分割區上具有讀取/寫入許可。

  • 如果您使用初始化系統來管理您的 Greengrass 核心,則必須設定 OTA 更新以與初始化系統整合。如需更多詳細資訊,請參閱 與初始化系統整合

  • 您必須建立用來預先簽署 Amazon S3 URL 至 AWS IoT Greengrass 軟體更新成品的角色。此簽署者角色可讓 AWS IoT Core 存取代表您存放在 Amazon S3 中的軟體更新成品。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 IAM OTA 更新的許可

IAM OTA 更新的許可

AWS IoT Greengrass 發行新版本的 AWS IoT Greengrass Core 軟體時,AWS IoT Greengrass 會更新用於 OTA 更新、存放於 Amazon S3 的軟體成品。

您的 AWS 帳戶必須包含可用來存取這些成品的 Amazon S3 URL 簽署者角色。該角色必須具有允許對目標 AWS 區域中儲存貯體執行 s3:GetObject 動作的許可政策。該角色也必須具有允許 iot.amazonaws.com 將角色視為信任實體的信任政策。

許可政策

針對角色許可,您可以使用 AWS 受管政策或建立自訂政策。

  • 使用 AWS 受管政策

    GreengrassOTAUpdateArtifactAccess 受管政策是由 AWS IoT Greengrass 提供。如果您想要允許在目前和未來由 AWS IoT Greengrass 支援的所有 AWS 區域中進行存取,請使用此政策。

  • 建立自訂政策

    如果您想要明確指定核心部署的 AWS 區域,則應建立自訂政策。以下範例政策允許在六個區域中存取 AWS IoT Greengrass 軟體更新:

    { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "AllowAccessToGreengrassOTAUpdateArtifacts", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "s3:GetObject" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:s3:::us-east-1-greengrass-updates/*", "arn:aws:s3:::us-west-2-greengrass-updates/*", "arn:aws:s3:::ap-northeast-1-greengrass-updates/*", "arn:aws:s3:::ap-southeast-2-greengrass-updates/*", "arn:aws:s3:::eu-central-1-greengrass-updates/*", "arn:aws:s3:::eu-west-1-greengrass-updates/*" ] } ] }
信任政策

連接至角色的信任政策必須允許 sts:AssumeRole 動作並定義 iot.amazonaws.com 為委託人。這允許 AWS IoT Core 將角色擔任信任的實體。以下是範例政策文件:

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "AllowIotToAssumeRole", "Action": "sts:AssumeRole", "Principal": { "Service": "iot.amazonaws.com" }, "Effect": "Allow" } ] }

此外,起始 OTA 更新的使用者必須具有 greengrass:CreateSoftwareUpdateJobiot:CreateJob 的使用許可,以及使用 iam:PassRole 傳遞簽署者角色的許可。以下是一個範例 IAM 政策:

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Action": [ "greengrass:CreateSoftwareUpdateJob" ], "Effect": "Allow", "Resource": "*" }, { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "iot:CreateJob" ], "Resource": "*" }, { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "iam:PassRole" ], "Resource": "arn-of-s3-url-signer-role" } ] }

考量

啟動 Greengrass 核心軟體的 OTA 更新前,請注意更新會對 Greengrass 群組中的裝置造成的影響,不論群組是在核心裝置上還是在本機連線至該核心的用戶端裝置上:

  • 更新期間會關閉核心。

  • 在核心上執行的任何 Lambda 函數都會關閉。如果這些函數寫入到本機資源,這些函數可能會讓這些資源處於不正確的狀態,除非有正確地關閉。

  • 在核心關閉期間,其與 AWS 雲端的所有連線都會中斷。由用戶端裝置透過核心路由傳送的訊息將會遺失。

  • 登入資料快取會遺失。

  • 佇列為 Lambda 函數所保留待處理的工作會遺失。

  • 長效 Lambda 函數會遺失其動態狀態資訊,而且所有待處理的工作也會被刪除。

在 OTA 更新期間,以下狀態資訊皆會保留:

  • 核心組態

  • Greengrass 群組組態

  • 本機陰影

  • Greengrass 日誌

  • OTA 更新代理程式日誌

Greengrass OTA 更新代理程式

Greengrass OTA 更新代理程式是裝置上的軟體元件,用於處理在雲端建立和部署的更新任務。OTA 更新代理程式 會做為 AWS IoT Greengrass 核心軟體分配在相同的軟體套件中。代理程式位於 /greengrass-root/ota/ota_agent/ggc-ota 中。它會將日誌寫入 /var/log/greengrass/ota/ggc_ota.txt

注意

greengrass-root 代表 AWS IoT Greengrass 核心軟體在裝置上安裝所在的路徑。通常,這是 /greengrass 目錄。

您可以手動執行二進位檔以啟動 OTA 更新代理程式,或將其整合為 init 指令碼,如 systemd 服務檔案。二進位檔應做為根執行。啟動時,OTA 更新代理程式 會從 AWS IoT Core 接聽 AWS IoT Greengrass 軟體更新任務,並依序執行。OTA 更新代理程式 會忽略所有其他 AWS IoT 任務類型。

屬於更新目標的核心不得執行兩個 OTA 更新代理程式 的執行個體。這麼做會讓兩個代理程式處理相同的任務,而造成衝突。

與初始化系統整合

在 OTA 更新期間,OTA 更新代理程式 會重新啟動核心上的二進位檔案。如果二進位檔案正在執行,當初始化系統在更新期間監控 AWS IoT Greengrass Core 軟體或代理程式的狀態時,這可能會造成衝突。

為了協助整合 OTA 更新機制與監控策略,您可以撰寫在更新前後執行的 shell 指令碼。例如,您可以撰寫指令碼來備份資料或在裝置關機之前停止處理程序。若要告訴 OTA 更新代理程式 執行這些指令碼,您必須包含在 config.json 檔案裡的 "managedRespawn" : true 標記。此設定會顯示在下列摘錄中:

{ "coreThing": { … }, "runtime": { … }, "managedRespawn": true … }

managedRespawn 設定為 true 時,OTA 更新代理程式 會從 ./greengrass-root/usr/scripts 目錄執行指令碼。目錄樹狀圖看起來應該如下所示:

<greengrass_root> |-- certs |-- config | |-- config.json |-- ggc |-- usr/scripts | |-- ggc_pre_update.sh | |-- ggc_post_update.sh | |-- ota_pre_update.sh | |-- ota_post_update.sh |-- ota

透過 OTA 更新受管的 respawn

如果 managedRespawn 設定為 true,則 OTA 更新代理程式 會在軟體更新前後檢查 /greengrass-root/usr/scripts 目錄中是否有指令碼。如果指令碼不存在,則更新失敗。

  • 針對 AWS IoT Greengrass 核心軟體的 OTA 更新:

    在開始更新之前,代理程式會執行 ggc_pre_update.sh 指令碼。完成更新後,代理程式會執行 ggc_post_update.sh 指令碼。

  • OTA 更新代理程式 軟體的 OTA 更新:

    在開始更新之前,代理程式會執行 ota_pre_update.sh 指令碼。完成更新後,代理程式會執行 ota_post_update.sh 指令碼。

如果 managedRespawn 設定為 true,則適用下列需求:

  • 您必須將下列指令碼新增至/greengrass-root/usr/scripts 目錄:

    • ggc_pre_update.sh

    • ggc_post_update.sh

    • ota_pre_update.sh

    • ota_post_update.sh

  • 指令碼必須傳回成功的傳回碼。

  • 這些指令碼必須由根目錄擁有,而且只能由根目錄執行。

注意

如果 managedRespawn 設定為 false,則 OTA 更新代理程式 不會執行指令碼。

建立 OTA 更新

請依照下列步驟在一或多個核心上執行 AWS IoT Greengrass 軟體的 OTA 更新:

  1. 確定您的核心符合 OTA 更新的要求

    注意

    如果您已設定初始化系統來管理 AWS IoT Greengrass Core 軟體或 OTA 更新代理程式,請在您的核心上確認下列項目:

    • 指定 "managedRespawn" : trueconfig.json 檔案。

    • /greengrass-root/usr/scripts 目錄包含下列指令碼:

      • ggc_pre_update.sh

      • ggc_post_update.sh

      • ota_pre_update.sh

      • ota_post_update.sh

    如需更多詳細資訊,請參閱 與初始化系統整合

  2. 在核心裝置終端機中,啟動 OTA 更新代理程式。

    cd /greengrass-root/ota/ota_agent sudo ./ggc-ota
    注意

    greengrass-root 代表 AWS IoT Greengrass 核心軟體在裝置上安裝所在的路徑。通常,這是 /greengrass 目錄。

    不要在核心上啟動多個 OTA 更新代理程式 的執行個體,因為它可能會導致衝突。

  3. 使用 AWS IoT 主控台 或 AWS IoT Greengrass API 建立軟體更新任務。

     

    使用主控台
    1. 在 AWS IoT 主控台 中,選擇 Manage (管理),然後選擇 Jobs (任務)

    2. 選擇 Create (建立),然後選擇 Create Core update job (建立核心更新任務)

    3. Create a Greengrass update (建立 Greengrass 更新) 頁面上,定義更新任務的屬性,然後選擇 Create (建立)。例如:

      • 針對 Select devices to update (選取要更新的裝置),請選擇要更新的核心。您可以選擇包含核心的單個核心物件和物件群組。

      • 針對 S3 URL Signer Role (S3 URL 簽署者角色),請選擇您的 signer role (簽署者角色)

      • Select what component of the Greengrass Core you want to update (選取您要更新的 Greengrass Core 的元件) 中,選擇更新 AWS IoT Greengrass 核心軟體或 以更新 OTA 更新代理程式 軟體。

    4. Jobs (任務) 頁面上,選擇您的新任務以查看更新狀態。

     

    Use the API (使用 API)
    1. 呼叫 CreateSoftwareUpdateJob API。在此範例程序中,我們使用 AWS CLI 命令。

      下面的命令會建立在一個核心上更新 AWS IoT Greengrass Core 軟體的任務。取代範例值,然後執行命令。

      Linux or macOS terminal
      aws greengrass create-software-update-job \ --update-targets-architecture x86_64 \ --update-targets [\"arn:aws:iot:region:123456789012:thing/myCoreDevice\"] \ --update-targets-operating-system ubuntu \ --software-to-update core \ --s3-url-signer-role arn:aws:iam::123456789012:role/myS3UrlSignerRole \ --update-agent-log-level WARN \ --amzn-client-token myClientToken1
      Windows command prompt
      aws greengrass create-software-update-job ^ --update-targets-architecture x86_64 ^ --update-targets [\"arn:aws:iot:region:123456789012:thing/myCoreDevice\"] ^ --update-targets-operating-system ubuntu ^ --software-to-update core ^ --s3-url-signer-role arn:aws:iam::123456789012:role/myS3UrlSignerRole ^ --update-agent-log-level WARN ^ --amzn-client-token myClientToken1

      該命令會傳回下列回應。

      { "IotJobId": "GreengrassUpdateJob_c3bd7f36-ee80-4d42-8321-a1da0EXAMPLE", "IotJobArn": "arn:aws:iot:region:123456789012:job/GreengrassUpdateJob_c3bd7f36-ee80-4d42-8321-a1da0EXAMPLE", "PlatformSoftwareVersion": "1.10.1" }
    2. 從回應複製 IoTJobId

    3. 在 AWS IoT Core API 中呼叫 DescribeJob 以查看任務狀態。以您的任務 ID 取代範例值,然後執行命令。

      aws iot describe-job --job-id GreengrassUpdateJob_c3bd7f36-ee80-4d42-8321-a1da0EXAMPLE

      此命令會傳回包含任務相關資訊的回應物件,包括 statusjobProcessDetails

      { "job": { "jobArn": "arn:aws:iot:region:123456789012:job/GreengrassUpdateJob_c3bd7f36-ee80-4d42-8321-a1da0EXAMPLE", "jobId": "GreengrassUpdateJob_c3bd7f36-ee80-4d42-8321-a1da0EXAMPLE", "targetSelection": "SNAPSHOT", "status": "IN_PROGRESS", "targets": [ "arn:aws:iot:region:123456789012:thing/myCoreDevice" ], "description": "This job was created by Greengrass to update the Greengrass Cores in the targets with version 1.10.1 of the core software running on x86_64 architecture.", "presignedUrlConfig": { "roleArn": "arn:aws::iam::123456789012:role/myS3UrlSignerRole", "expiresInSec": 3600 }, "jobExecutionsRolloutConfig": {}, "createdAt": 1588718249.079, "lastUpdatedAt": 1588718253.419, "jobProcessDetails": { "numberOfCanceledThings": 0, "numberOfSucceededThings": 0, "numberOfFailedThings": 0, "numberOfRejectedThings": 0, "numberOfQueuedThings": 1, "numberOfInProgressThings": 0, "numberOfRemovedThings": 0, "numberOfTimedOutThings": 0 }, "timeoutConfig": {} } }

如需故障診斷協助,請參閱故障診斷 ​AWS IoT Greengrass

CreateSoftwareUpdateJob API

您可以使用 CreateSoftwareUpdateJob API 來更新核心裝置上的 AWS IoT Greengrass Core 軟體或 OTA 更新代理程式 軟體。此 API 會建立 AWS IoT 快照任務,在有可用更新時通知裝置。呼叫 CreateSoftwareUpdateJob 之後,您可以使用其他 AWS IoT 任務命令來追蹤軟體更新。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 AWS IoT 開發人員指南 中的任務

以下範例說明如何使用 AWS CLI 來建立更新核心裝置上 AWS IoT Greengrass 核心軟體的任務:

aws greengrass create-software-update-job \ --update-targets-architecture x86_64 \ --update-targets [\"arn:aws:iot:region:123456789012:thing/myCoreDevice\"] \ --update-targets-operating-system ubuntu \ --software-to-update core \ --s3-url-signer-role arn:aws:iam::123456789012:role/myS3UrlSignerRole \ --update-agent-log-level WARN \ --amzn-client-token myClientToken1

create-software-update-job 命令會傳回一個 JSON 回應,其中包含任務 ID、任務 ARN,以及更新所安裝的軟體版本:

{ "IotJobId": "GreengrassUpdateJob_c3bd7f36-ee80-4d42-8321-a1da0EXAMPLE", "IotJobArn": "arn:aws:iot:region:123456789012:job/GreengrassUpdateJob_c3bd7f36-ee80-4d42-8321-a1da0EXAMPLE", "PlatformSoftwareVersion": "1.9.2" }

如需說明如何使用 create-software-update-job 更新核心裝置的步驟,請參閱 建立 OTA 更新

create-software-update-job 命令具有下列參數:

--update-targets-architecture

核心裝置的架構。

有效值:armv7larmv6lx86_64aarch64

--update-targets

要更新的核心。此清單可包含個別核心的 ARN,以及其成員為核心之物件群組的 ARN。如需物件群組的詳細資訊,請參閱 AWS IoT 開發人員指南 中的靜態物件群組

--update-targets-operating-system

核心裝置的作業系統。

有效值:ubuntuamazon_linuxraspbianopenwrt

--software-to-update

指定應該更新的是核心的軟體或 OTA 更新代理程式軟體。

有效值:coreota_agent

--s3-url-signer-role

用來預先簽署連結至 AWS IoT Greengrass 軟體更新成品之 Amazon S3 URL 的 IAM 角色 ARN。角色的連接許可政策必須允許對目標 AWS 區域中的儲存貯體執行 s3:GetObject 動作。角色也必須允許 iot.amazonaws.com 將角色擔任為信任的實體。如需詳細資訊,請參閱 IAM OTA 更新的許可

--amzn-client-token

(選用) 使用用戶端字符發出等冪請求。提供一組唯一的字符,避免因內部重新嘗試而產生重複更新。

--update-agent-log-level

(選用) OTA 更新代理程式為日誌陳述式產生記錄等級。預設值為 ERROR

有效值:NONETRACEDEBUGVERBOSEINFOWARNERRORFATAL

注意

CreateSoftwareUpdateJob 僅接受下列支援架構和作業系統組合的要求:

  • ubuntu/x86_64

  • ubuntu/aarch64

  • amazon_linux/x86_64

  • raspbian/armv7l

  • raspbian/armv6l

  • openwrt/aarch64

  • openwrt/armv7l

OTA updates of AWS IoT Greengrass Core software - AWS IoT Greengrass

OTA updates of AWS IoT Greengrass Core software

The AWS IoT Greengrass Core software package includes an update agent that can perform over-the-air (OTA) updates of AWS IoT Greengrass software. You can use OTA updates to install the latest version of the AWS IoT Greengrass Core software or OTA update agent software on one or more cores. With OTA updates, your core devices don't have to be physically present.

We recommend that you use OTA updates when possible. They provide a mechanism you can use to track update status and update history. If a failed update occurs, the OTA update agent rolls back to the previous software version.

Note

OTA updates are not supported when you use apt to install the AWS IoT Greengrass Core software. For these installations, we recommend that you use apt to upgrade the software. For more information, see Install the AWS IoT Greengrass Core software from an APT repository.

OTA updates make it more efficient to:

  • Fix security vulnerabilities.

  • Address software stability issues.

  • Deploy new or improved features.

This feature integrates with AWS IoT jobs.

Requirements

The following requirements apply for OTA updates of AWS IoT Greengrass software.

  • The Greengrass core must have at least 400 MB of disk space available in local storage. The OTA update agent requires about three times the runtime usage requirement of the AWS IoT Greengrass Core software. For more information, see Service quotas for the Greengrass core in the Amazon Web Services General Reference.

  • The Greengrass core must have a connection to the AWS Cloud.

  • The Greengrass core must be correctly configured and provisioned with certificates and keys for authentication with AWS IoT Core and AWS IoT Greengrass. For more information, see X.509 certificates.

  • The Greengrass core can't be configured to use a network proxy.

    Note

    Starting in AWS IoT Greengrass v1.9.3, OTA updates are supported on cores that configure MQTT traffic to use port 443 instead of the default port 8883. However, the OTA update agent does not support updates through a network proxy. For more information, see Connect on port 443 or through a network proxy.

  • Trusted boot can't be enabled in the partition that contains the AWS IoT Greengrass Core software.

    Note

    You can install and run the AWS IoT Greengrass Core software on a partition that has trusted boot enabled, but OTA updates aren't supported.

  • AWS IoT Greengrass must have read/write permissions on the partition that contains the AWS IoT Greengrass Core software.

  • If you use an init system to manage your Greengrass core, you must configure OTA updates to integrate with the init system. For more information, see Integration with init systems.

  • You must create a role that's used to presign the Amazon S3 URLs to AWS IoT Greengrass software update artifacts. This signer role allows AWS IoT Core to access software update artifacts stored in Amazon S3 on your behalf. For more information, see IAM permissions for OTA updates.

IAM permissions for OTA updates

When AWS IoT Greengrass releases a new version of the AWS IoT Greengrass Core software, AWS IoT Greengrass updates the software artifacts stored in Amazon S3 that are used for the OTA update.

Your AWS account must include an Amazon S3 URL signer role that can be used to access these artifacts. The role must have a permissions policy that allows the s3:GetObject action on the buckets in target AWS Regions. The role must also have a trust policy that allows iot.amazonaws.com to assume the role as a trusted entity.

Permissions policy

For role permissions, you can use the AWS managed policy or create a custom policy.

  • Use the AWS managed policy

    The GreengrassOTAUpdateArtifactAccess managed policy is provided by AWS IoT Greengrass. Use this policy if you want to allow access in all AWS Regions supported by AWS IoT Greengrass, both current and future.

  • Create a custom policy

    You should create a custom policy if you want to explicitly specify the AWS Regions where your cores are deployed. The following example policy allows access to AWS IoT Greengrass software updates in six Regions.

    { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "AllowAccessToGreengrassOTAUpdateArtifacts", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "s3:GetObject" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:s3:::us-east-1-greengrass-updates/*", "arn:aws:s3:::us-west-2-greengrass-updates/*", "arn:aws:s3:::ap-northeast-1-greengrass-updates/*", "arn:aws:s3:::ap-southeast-2-greengrass-updates/*", "arn:aws:s3:::eu-central-1-greengrass-updates/*", "arn:aws:s3:::eu-west-1-greengrass-updates/*" ] } ] }
Trust policy

The trust policy attached to the role must allow the sts:AssumeRole action and define iot.amazonaws.com as a principal. This allows AWS IoT Core to assume the role as a trusted entity. Here's an example policy document:

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "AllowIotToAssumeRole", "Action": "sts:AssumeRole", "Principal": { "Service": "iot.amazonaws.com" }, "Effect": "Allow" } ] }

In addition, the user who initiates an OTA update must have permissions to use greengrass:CreateSoftwareUpdateJob and iot:CreateJob, and to use iam:PassRole to pass the permissions of the signer role. Here's an example IAM policy:

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Action": [ "greengrass:CreateSoftwareUpdateJob" ], "Effect": "Allow", "Resource": "*" }, { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "iot:CreateJob" ], "Resource": "*" }, { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "iam:PassRole" ], "Resource": "arn-of-s3-url-signer-role" } ] }

Considerations

Before you launch an OTA update of Greengrass Core software, be aware of the impact on the devices in your Greengrass group, both on the core device and on client devices connected locally to that core:

  • The core shuts down during the update.

  • Any Lambda functions running on the core are shut down. If those functions write to local resources, they might leave those resources in an incorrect state unless shut down properly.

  • During the core's downtime, all its connections with the AWS Cloud are lost. Messages routed through the core by client devices are lost.

  • Credential caches are lost.

  • Queues that hold pending work for Lambda functions are lost.

  • Long-lived Lambda functions lose their dynamic state information and all pending work is dropped.

The following state information is preserved during an OTA update:

  • Core configuration

  • Greengrass group configuration

  • Local shadows

  • Greengrass logs

  • OTA update agent logs

Greengrass OTA update agent

The Greengrass OTA update agent is the software component on the device that handles update jobs created and deployed in the cloud. The OTA update agent is distributed in the same software package as the AWS IoT Greengrass Core software. The agent is located in /greengrass-root/ota/ota_agent/ggc-ota. It writes logs to /var/log/greengrass/ota/ggc_ota.txt.

Note

greengrass-root represents the path where the AWS IoT Greengrass Core software is installed on your device. Typically, this is the /greengrass directory.

You can start the OTA update agent by executing the binary manually or by integrating it as part of an init script, such as a systemd service file. The binary should be run as root. When it starts, the OTA update agent listens for AWS IoT Greengrass software update jobs from AWS IoT Core and executes them sequentially. The OTA update agent ignores all other AWS IoT job types.

A core that is the target of an update must not run two instances of the OTA update agent. Doing so causes the two agents to process the same jobs, which creates conflicts.

Integration with init systems

During an OTA update, the OTA update agent restarts binaries on the core. If the binaries are running, this might cause conflicts when an init system is monitoring the state of the AWS IoT Greengrass Core software or the agent during the update.

To help integrate the OTA update mechanism with your init monitoring strategies, you can write shell scripts that run before and after an update. For example, you can write a script that backs up data or stops processes before the device shuts down. To tell the OTA update agent to run these scripts, you must include the "managedRespawn" : true flag in the config.json file. This setting is shown in the following excerpt:

{ "coreThing": { … }, "runtime": { … }, "managedRespawn": true … }

When managedRespawn is set to true, the OTA update agent runs the scripts from the ./greengrass-root/usr/scripts directory. The directory tree should look like the following:

<greengrass_root> |-- certs |-- config | |-- config.json |-- ggc |-- usr/scripts | |-- ggc_pre_update.sh | |-- ggc_post_update.sh | |-- ota_pre_update.sh | |-- ota_post_update.sh |-- ota

Managed respawn with OTA updates

If managedRespawn is set to true, the OTA update agent checks the /greengrass-root/usr/scripts directory for the scripts before and after the software update. If the scripts don't exist, the update fails.

  • For OTA updates of the AWS IoT Greengrass Core software:

    Before starting the update, the agent runs the ggc_pre_update.sh script. After completing the update, the agent runs the ggc_post_update.sh script.

  • For OTA updates of the OTA update agent software:

    Before starting the update, the agent runs the ota_pre_update.sh script. After completing the update, the agent runs the ota_post_update.sh script.

If managedRespawn is set to true, the following requirements apply:

  • You must add the following scripts to the /greengrass-root/usr/scripts directory:

    • ggc_pre_update.sh

    • ggc_post_update.sh

    • ota_pre_update.sh

    • ota_post_update.sh

  • The scripts must return a successful return code.

  • The scripts must be owned by root and executable by root only.

Note

If managedRespawn is set to false, the OTA update agent does not run the scripts.

Create an OTA update

Follow these steps to perform an OTA update of AWS IoT Greengrass software on one or more cores:

  1. Make sure that your cores meet the requirements for OTA updates.

    Note

    If you configured an init system to manage the AWS IoT Greengrass Core software or the OTA update agent, verify the following on your cores:

    • The config.json file specifies "managedRespawn" : true.

    • The /greengrass-root/usr/scripts directory contains the following scripts:

      • ggc_pre_update.sh

      • ggc_post_update.sh

      • ota_pre_update.sh

      • ota_post_update.sh

    For more information, see Integration with init systems.

  2. In a core device terminal, start the OTA update agent.

    cd /greengrass-root/ota/ota_agent sudo ./ggc-ota
    Note

    greengrass-root represents the path where the AWS IoT Greengrass Core software is installed on your device. Typically, this is the /greengrass directory.

    Don't start multiple instances of the OTA update agent on a core because it might cause conflicts.

  3. Use the AWS IoT console or AWS IoT Greengrass API to create a software update job.

     

    Use the console
    1. In the AWS IoT console, choose Manage, and then choose Jobs.

    2. Choose Create, and then choose Create Core update job.

    3. On the Create a Greengrass update page, define the properties for the update job, and then choose Create. For example:

      • For Select devices to update, choose the cores to update. You can select individual core things and thing groups that contain cores.

      • For S3 URL Signer Role, choose your signer role.

      • For Select what component of the Greengrass Core you want to update, choose to update the AWS IoT Greengrass Core software or to update the OTA update agent software.

    4. On the Jobs page, choose your new job to see the update status.

     

    Use the API
    1. Call the CreateSoftwareUpdateJob API. In this example procedure, we use AWS CLI commands.

      The following command creates a job that updates the AWS IoT Greengrass Core software on one core. Replace the example values and then run the command.

      Linux or macOS terminal
      aws greengrass create-software-update-job \ --update-targets-architecture x86_64 \ --update-targets [\"arn:aws:iot:region:123456789012:thing/myCoreDevice\"] \ --update-targets-operating-system ubuntu \ --software-to-update core \ --s3-url-signer-role arn:aws:iam::123456789012:role/myS3UrlSignerRole \ --update-agent-log-level WARN \ --amzn-client-token myClientToken1
      Windows command prompt
      aws greengrass create-software-update-job ^ --update-targets-architecture x86_64 ^ --update-targets [\"arn:aws:iot:region:123456789012:thing/myCoreDevice\"] ^ --update-targets-operating-system ubuntu ^ --software-to-update core ^ --s3-url-signer-role arn:aws:iam::123456789012:role/myS3UrlSignerRole ^ --update-agent-log-level WARN ^ --amzn-client-token myClientToken1

      The command returns the following response.

      { "IotJobId": "GreengrassUpdateJob_c3bd7f36-ee80-4d42-8321-a1da0EXAMPLE", "IotJobArn": "arn:aws:iot:region:123456789012:job/GreengrassUpdateJob_c3bd7f36-ee80-4d42-8321-a1da0EXAMPLE", "PlatformSoftwareVersion": "1.10.1" }
    2. Copy the IoTJobId from the response.

    3. Call DescribeJob in the AWS IoT Core API to see the job status. Replace the example value with your job ID and then run the command.

      aws iot describe-job --job-id GreengrassUpdateJob_c3bd7f36-ee80-4d42-8321-a1da0EXAMPLE

      The command returns a response object that contains information about the job, including status and jobProcessDetails.

      { "job": { "jobArn": "arn:aws:iot:region:123456789012:job/GreengrassUpdateJob_c3bd7f36-ee80-4d42-8321-a1da0EXAMPLE", "jobId": "GreengrassUpdateJob_c3bd7f36-ee80-4d42-8321-a1da0EXAMPLE", "targetSelection": "SNAPSHOT", "status": "IN_PROGRESS", "targets": [ "arn:aws:iot:region:123456789012:thing/myCoreDevice" ], "description": "This job was created by Greengrass to update the Greengrass Cores in the targets with version 1.10.1 of the core software running on x86_64 architecture.", "presignedUrlConfig": { "roleArn": "arn:aws::iam::123456789012:role/myS3UrlSignerRole", "expiresInSec": 3600 }, "jobExecutionsRolloutConfig": {}, "createdAt": 1588718249.079, "lastUpdatedAt": 1588718253.419, "jobProcessDetails": { "numberOfCanceledThings": 0, "numberOfSucceededThings": 0, "numberOfFailedThings": 0, "numberOfRejectedThings": 0, "numberOfQueuedThings": 1, "numberOfInProgressThings": 0, "numberOfRemovedThings": 0, "numberOfTimedOutThings": 0 }, "timeoutConfig": {} } }

For troubleshooting help, see Troubleshooting AWS IoT Greengrass.

CreateSoftwareUpdateJob API

You can use the CreateSoftwareUpdateJob API to update the AWS IoT Greengrass Core software or OTA update agent software on your core devices. This API creates an AWS IoT snapshot job that notifies devices when an update is available. After you call CreateSoftwareUpdateJob, you can use other AWS IoT job commands to track the software update. For more information, see Jobs in the AWS IoT Developer Guide.

The following example shows how to use the AWS CLI to create a job that updates the AWS IoT Greengrass Core software on a core device:

aws greengrass create-software-update-job \ --update-targets-architecture x86_64 \ --update-targets [\"arn:aws:iot:region:123456789012:thing/myCoreDevice\"] \ --update-targets-operating-system ubuntu \ --software-to-update core \ --s3-url-signer-role arn:aws:iam::123456789012:role/myS3UrlSignerRole \ --update-agent-log-level WARN \ --amzn-client-token myClientToken1

The create-software-update-job command returns a JSON response that contains the job ID, job ARN, and software version that was installed by the update:

{ "IotJobId": "GreengrassUpdateJob_c3bd7f36-ee80-4d42-8321-a1da0EXAMPLE", "IotJobArn": "arn:aws:iot:region:123456789012:job/GreengrassUpdateJob_c3bd7f36-ee80-4d42-8321-a1da0EXAMPLE", "PlatformSoftwareVersion": "1.9.2" }

For steps that show you how to use create-software-update-job to update a core device, see Create an OTA update.

The create-software-update-job command has the following parameters:

--update-targets-architecture

The architecture of the core device.

Valid values: armv7l, armv6l, x86_64, or aarch64

--update-targets

The cores to update. The list can contain ARNs of individual cores and ARNs of thing groups whose members are cores. For more information about thing groups, see Static thing groups in the AWS IoT Developer Guide.

--update-targets-operating-system

The operating system of the core device.

Valid values: ubuntu, amazon_linux, raspbian, or openwrt

--software-to-update

Specifies whether the core's software or the OTA update agent software should be updated.

Valid values: core or ota_agent

--s3-url-signer-role

The ARN of the IAM role used to presign the Amazon S3 URL that links to the AWS IoT Greengrass software update artifacts. The role's attached permissions policy must allow the s3:GetObject action on the buckets in the target AWS Regions. The role must also allow iot.amazonaws.com to assume the role as a trusted entity. For more information, see IAM permissions for OTA updates.

--amzn-client-token

(Optional) A client token used to make idempotent requests. Provide a unique token to prevent duplicate updates from being created because of internal retries.

--update-agent-log-level

(Optional) The logging level for log statements generated by the OTA update agent. The default is ERROR.

Valid values: NONE, TRACE, DEBUG, VERBOSE, INFO, WARN, ERROR, or FATAL

Note

CreateSoftwareUpdateJob accepts requests only for the following supported architecture and operating system combinations:

  • ubuntu/x86_64

  • ubuntu/aarch64

  • amazon_linux/x86_64

  • raspbian/armv7l

  • raspbian/armv6l

  • openwrt/aarch64

  • openwrt/armv7l