ADR 程序 - AWS 方案指引

本文為英文版的機器翻譯版本,如內容有任何歧義或不一致之處,概以英文版為準。

ADR 程序

架構決策記錄 (ADR) 是一個文件,描述團隊針對他們規劃建置的軟體架構的一個重要方面所做的選擇。每個 ADR 都描述了架構決策、其內容及其後果。ADR 具有狀態,因此遵循生命週期。如需 ADR 的範例,請參閱附錄

ADR 程序會輸出架構決策記錄的集合。此集合會建立決策日誌。決策日誌提供專案內容以及詳細的實作和設計資訊。專案成員瀏覽每個 ADR 的標題,以簡要了解專案內容。他們閱讀 ADR,以深入了解專案實作和設計選擇。

在團隊接受 ADR 時,它變得不可變。如果新的洞察需要不同的決策,團隊會提議新 ADR。在團隊接受新 ADR 時,它會取代先前的 ADR。

ADR 程序的範圍

專案成員應為影響軟體專案或產品的每個架構上重要的決策建立 ADR,包括下列項目 (Richards and Ford 2020):

  • 結構 (例如,微服務等模式)

  • 非功能需求 (安全、高可用性和容錯能力)

  • 相依性 (元件的耦合)

  • 介面 (API 和已發佈的合約)

  • 建構技術 (程式庫、架構、工具和程序)

功能和非功能需求是 ADR 程序中最常見的輸入。

ADR 內容

在團隊確定需要 ADR 時,團隊成員開始根據專案範圍的範本編寫 ADR。(請參閱 ADR GitHub 組織以取得範例範本。) 此範本簡化了 ADR 建立並確保 ADR 擷取所有相關資訊。每個 ADR 至少應定義決策的內容、決策本身以及決策對專案及其可交付項目的影響。(如需這些小節的範例,請參閱附錄。) ADR 結構最強大的方面之一是它專注於決策的原因,而不是團隊如何實作決策。了解團隊做出決策的原因可以讓其他團隊成員更輕鬆地採用此決策,並防止未參與決策程序的其他架構師將來推翻該決策。

ADR 採用程序

每個團隊成員都可以建立 ADR,但團隊應為 ADR 建立擁有權定義。作為 ADR 擁有者的每個作者都應主動維護和傳達 ADR 內容。為了澄清此擁有權,本指南在下列各節將 ADR 作者稱為 ADR 擁有者。其他團隊成員永遠可以為 ADR 做出貢獻。如果在團隊接受 ADR 之前 ADR 的內容變更,則擁有者應核准這些變更。

下圖說明 ADR 建立、擁有權和採用程序。


        ADR 建立、擁有權和採用程序

在團隊識別架構決策及其擁有者後,ADR 擁有者在程序開始時提供處於已提議狀態的 ADR。已提議狀態中的 ADR 已準備就緒可供檢閱。

然後,ADR 擁有者會啟動 ADR 的審核程序。ADR 審核程序的目標是決定團隊是否接受 ADR、確定需要重做或拒絕 ADR。專案團隊 (包括擁有者) 會審核 ADR。審核會議應從專用的時間段開始讀取 ADR。平均而言,10 至 15 分鐘就夠了。在此期間,每個團隊成員都會閱讀文件並新增評論和問題以標記不清楚的主題。在審核階段之後,ADR 擁有者會讀出並與團隊討論每個評論。

如果團隊找到改進 ADR 的動作點,則 ADR 的狀態將保持為已提議。ADR 擁有者會制定動作,並與團隊合作,為每個動作新增一名受指派人。每個團隊成員都可以貢獻並解析動作點。ADR 擁有者有責任重新排程審核程序。

團隊也可以決定拒絕 ADR。在這種情況下,ADR 擁有者會新增拒絕原因,以防止將來就相同主題進行討論。擁有者將 ADR 狀態變更為已拒絕

如果團隊核准 ADR,則擁有者會新增時間戳記、版本和利害關係人清單。然後,擁有者會將狀態更新為已接受

ADR 及其建立的決策日誌代表團隊所做的決策,並提供所有決策的歷史記錄。在可能的情況下,團隊在程式碼和架構審核期間使用 ADR 作為參考。除了執行程式碼審核、設計任務和實作任務之外,團隊成員還應諮詢 ADR 來做出產品的策略決策。

下圖顯示了套用 ADR 來驗證軟體元件中的變更是否符合協議決策的程序。


        使用 ADR 驗證軟體元件變更

作為一個良好的做法,每個軟體變更都應經過同行審核並至少需要一次核准。在程式碼審核期間,程式碼審核者可能會發現違反一或多個 ADR 的變更。在這種情況下,審核者會要求程式碼變更的作者更新程式碼,並共用 ADR 的連結。在作者更新程式碼時,它會得到同行審核者的核准並合併到主要程式碼庫中。

ADR 審核程序

在團隊接受或拒絕 ADR 後,團隊應將其視為不可變的文件。對現有 ADR 的變更需要建立新的 ADR、為新的 ADR 建立審核程序並核准此 ADR。如果團隊核准新 ADR,擁有者應將舊 ADR 的狀態變更為已取代。下圖說明更新程序。


        ADR 更新程序

ADR process - AWS Prescriptive Guidance

ADR process

An architectural decision record (ADR) is a document that describes a choice the team makes about a significant aspect of the software architecture they’re planning to build. Each ADR describes the architectural decision, its context, and its consequences. ADRs have states and therefore follow a lifecycle. For an example of an ADR, see the appendix.

The ADR process outputs a collection of architectural decision records. This collection creates the decision log. The decision log provides the project context as well as detailed implementation and design information. Project members skim the headlines of each ADR to get an overview of the project context. They read the ADRs to dive deep into project implementations and design choices.

When the team accepts an ADR, it becomes immutable. If new insights require a different decision, the team proposes a new ADR. When the team accepts the new ADR, it supersedes the previous ADR.

Scope of the ADR process

Project members should create an ADR for every architecturally significant decision that affects the software project or product, including the following (Richards and Ford 2020):

  • Structure (for example, patterns such as microservices)

  • Non-functional requirements (security, high availability, and fault tolerance)

  • Dependencies (coupling of components)

  • Interfaces (APIs and published contracts)

  • Construction techniques (libraries, frameworks, tools, and processes)

Functional and non-functional requirements are the most common inputs to the ADR process.

ADR contents

When the team identifies a need for an ADR, a team member starts to write the ADR based on a projectwide template. (See the ADR GitHub organization for example templates.) The template simplifies ADR creation and ensures that the ADR captures all the relevant information. At a minimum, each ADR should define the context of the decision, the decision itself, and the consequences of the decision for the project and its deliverables. (For examples of these sections, see the appendix.) One of the most powerful aspects of the ADR structure is that it focuses on the reason for the decision rather than how the team implemented it. Understanding why the team made the decision makes it easier for other team members to adopt the decision, and prevents other architects who weren’t involved in the decision-making process to overrule that decision in the future.

ADR adoption process

Every team member can create an ADR, but the team should establish a definition of ownership for an ADR. Each author who is the owner of an ADR should actively maintain and communicate the ADR content. To clarify this ownership, this guide refers to ADR authors as ADR owners in the following sections. Other team members can always contribute to an ADR. If the content of an ADR changes before the team accepts the ADR, the owner should approve these changes.

The following diagram illustrates the ADR creation, ownership, and adoption process.


        ADR creation, ownership, and adoption process

After the team identifies an architectural decision and its owner, the ADR owner provides the ADR in the Proposed state at the beginning of the process. ADRs in the Proposed state are ready for review.

The ADR owner then initiates the review process for the ADR. The goal of the ADR review process is to decide whether the team accepts the ADR, determines that it needs rework, or rejects the ADR. The project team, including the owner, reviews the ADR. The review meeting should start with a dedicated time slot to read the ADR. On average, 10 to 15 minutes should be enough. During this time, each team member reads the document and adds comments and questions to flag unclear topics. After the review phase, the ADR owner reads out and discusses each comment with the team.

If the team finds action points to improve the ADR, the state of the ADR stays Proposed. The ADR owner formulates the actions, and, in collaboration with the team, adds an assignee to each action. Each team member can contribute and resolve the action points. It is the responsibility of the ADR owner to reschedule the review process.

The team can also decide to reject the ADR. In this case, the ADR owner adds a reason for the rejection to prevent future discussions on the same topic. The owner changes the ADR state to Rejected.

If the team approves the ADR, the owner adds a timestamp, version, and list of stakeholders. The owner then updates the state to Accepted.

ADRs and the decision log they create represent decisions made by the team and provide a history of all decisions. The team uses the ADRs as a reference during code and architectural reviews where possible. In addition to performing code reviews, design tasks, and implementation tasks, team members should consult ADRs for strategic decisions for the product.

The following diagram shows the process of applying an ADR to validate if a change in a software component conforms to the agreed decisions.


        Using an ADR to validate software component changes

As a good practice, each software change should go through peer reviews and require at least one approval. During the code review, a code reviewer might find changes that violate one or more ADRs. In this case, the reviewer asks the author of the code change to update the code, and shares a link to the ADR. When the author updates the code, it is approved by peer reviewers and merged into the main code base.

ADR review process

The team should treat ADRs as immutable documents after the team accepts or rejects them. Changes to an existing ADR requires creating a new ADR, establishing a review process for the new ADR, and approving the ADR. If the team approves the new ADR, the owner should change the state of the old ADR to Superseded. The following diagram illustrates the update process.


        ADR update process