Bookmarking views of a dashboard - Amazon QuickSight

Bookmarking views of a dashboard

When you load a dashboard as an Amazon QuickSight reader or author, you can create bookmarks to capture specific views of your interests. For example, you can create a bookmark for a dashboard with a specific filter setting that differs from the original published dashboard. By doing this, you can quickly return to the data that's relevant to you.

After you create a bookmark, you can set it as the default view of the dashboard that you see when you open the dashboard in a new session. This doesn't affect anyone else's view of the dashboard.

You can create multiple bookmarks for a dashboard and share them by a URL link with other subscribers of that dashboard.

Dashboard bookmarks are available on the Amazon QuickSight console. Bookmarks for embedded dashboards are currently not supported.

Use the following procedures to learn how to use bookmarks.

Creating bookmarks

Use the following procedure to create a bookmark for a dashboard.

To create a bookmark for a dashboard

  1. Open the published dashboard that you want to view and make changes to the filters or parameters, or select the sheet that you want. For example, you can filter to the Region that interests you, or you can select a specific date range using a sheet control on the dashboard.

  2. Choose the bookmark icon at upper right, and then choose Add bookmark.

    
                            The bookmark icon
  3. In the Add a bookmark pane that opens, enter a name for the bookmark, and then choose Save.

    The bookmark is saved, and the dashboard name updates with the bookmark name (at top left).

    
                            Dashboard showing named bookmark

    You can return to the original dashboard view that the author published at any time by selecting Original dashboard in the Bookmarks pane at right.

Updating bookmarks

At any time, you can change a bookmark dashboard view and update the bookmark to always reflect those changes.

To update a bookmark

  1. Open the published dashboard and make any changes to the filters or parameters, or select a sheet.

  2. Choose the bookmark icon at upper right.

    
                            The bookmark icon
  3. In the Bookmarks pane that opens, choose the context menu (the three vertical dots) for the bookmark that you want to update, and then choose Update.

    
                            The context menu (three vertical dots)

    A message appears confirming the update.

Renaming bookmarks

Use the following procedure to rename a bookmark.

To rename a bookmark

  1. In a published dashboard, choose the bookmark icon at upper right to open the Bookmarks pane.

    
                            The bookmark icon
  2. In the Bookmarks pane, choose the context menu (the three vertical dots) for the bookmark that you want to rename, and then choose rename.

    
                            The context menu (three vertical dots)
  3. In the Rename bookmark pane, enter a name for the bookmark, and then choose Save.

Making a bookmark the default view

By default, when you make a change to a dashboard, QuickSight remembers those changes and keeps them after you close the dashboard. This way, you can pick up where you left off when you open the dashboard again. You can set a bookmark as the default view of a dashboard instead. If you do, any time that you open the dashboard, the bookmark view is presented to you, regardless of the changes you made during your last session.

To set a bookmark as your default view of the dashboard

  1. In a published dashboard, choose the bookmark icon at upper right to open the Bookmarks pane.

    
                            The bookmark icon
  2. In the Bookmarks pane, choose the context menu (the three dots) for the bookmark that you want to set as your default view, and then choose Set as default.

    
                            The context menu (three vertical dots)

Sharing bookmarks

After you create a bookmark, you can share a URL link for the view with others who have permission to view the dashboard. They can then save that view as their own bookmark.

To share a bookmark with another dashboard subscriber

  1. In a published dashboard, choose the bookmark icon at upper right to open the Bookmarks pane.

    
                            The bookmark icon
  2. In the Bookmarks pane, choose the bookmark that you want to share so that the dashboard updates to that view.

  3. Choose the share icon at upper right, and then choose Share this view.

    You can copy the URL link that QuickSight provides and paste it in an email or IM message to share it with others. The recipient of the URL link can then save the view as their own bookmark. For more information about sharing views of a dashboard, see Sharing your view of a Amazon QuickSight dashboard.

    
                            The share icon

Deleting bookmarks

Use the following procedure to delete a bookmark.

To delete a bookmark

  1. In a published dashboard, choose the bookmark icon at upper right to open the Bookmarks pane.

    
                            The bookmark icon
  2. In the Bookmarks pane, choose the context menu (the three vertical dots) for the bookmark that you want to delete, and then choose Delete.

    
                            The context menu (three vertical
                                    dots)
  3. In the Delete Bookmark pane that opens, choose Yes, Delete Bookmark.