Granting anyone on the internet access to an Amazon QuickSight dashboard - Amazon QuickSight

Granting anyone on the internet access to an Amazon QuickSight dashboard

 Applies to: Enterprise Edition 

You can also share your Amazon QuickSight dashboard with anyone on the internet from the Share menu in the QuickSight console. When you do this, anyone on the internet will be able to access the dashboard, even if they aren't a registered user on your QuickSight account, when you share the dashboard link or embed the dashboard.

Use the following procedure to grant anyone on the internet access to dashboard when you share it.

Before you start

Before you can share a dashboard with anyone on the internet, make sure to do the following:

  1. Turn on session capacity pricing on your account. If you have not turned on session capacity pricing on your account, you won't be able to update your account's public sharing settings. For more information about session capacity pricing, see https://aws.amazon.com/quicksight/pricing/.

  2. Assign public sharing permissions to an administrative user in the IAM console. You can add these permissions with a new policy or you can add the new permissions to an existing user.

    The following sample policy provides permissions for use with UpdatePublicSharingSettings.

    { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Action": "quicksight:UpdatePublicSharingSettings", "Resource": "*", "Effect": "Allow" } ] }

    Accounts that don't want users with administrator access to use this feature can add an IAM policy that denies public sharing permissions. The following sample policy denies permissions for use with UpdatePublicSharingSettings.

    { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Action": "quicksight:UpdatePublicSharingSettings", "Resource": "*", "Effect": "Deny" } ] }

    For more information on using IAM with QuickSight, see Using Amazon QuickSight with IAM.

    You can also use the "Deny" policy as a Service Control Policy (SCP) if you don't want any of the accounts in your organization to have the public sharing feature. For more information, see Service control policies (SCPs) in the AWS Organizations User Guide.

  3. Turn on public sharing on your QuickSight account.

    1. From the Amazon QuickSight start page, choose your user icon at the upper right of your browser window, and then choose Manage QuickSight.

    2. In the page that opens, choose Security and permissions at left.

    3. Scroll down and, in the Public access to dashboards section, choose Manage.

    4. On the page that opens, choose Anyone on the internet.

      When you turn on this setting, a pop up will appear asking you to confirm your choice. Once you've confirmed your choice, you can grant the public access to specific dashboards and share those dashboards with them with a link or by embedding the dashboard in a public application, wiki, or portal.

Granting anyone on the internet access to a dashboard

To grant anyone on the internet access to a dashboard
  1. In QuickSight, open the published dashboard that you want to share. You must be the owner or a co-owner of the dashboard.

  2. In the published dashboard, choose the Share icon at upper-right, and then choose Share dashboard.

  3. In the Share dashboard page that opens, choose Anyone on the internet (public) in the Enable access for section at bottom-left.

    This setting allows you to share the dashboard with anyone on the internet with the share link or when embedded. Turning on this switch also automatically turns on the Everyone in this account option, which means that the dashboard will be shared with anyone in your QuickSight account. If you do not want this, turn off this option.

  4. In the Allow public access pop-up that appears, enter confirm in the box to confirm your choice, and then choose Confirm.

After you confirm your dashboard's access settings, an orange PUBLIC tag appears at upper right of your dashboard in the Amazon QuickSight console. Additionally, an eye icon appears on the dashboard on the QuickSight Dashboards page, both in tile and list view.

Note that when public access is turned on, the dashboard can only be accessed using the link or when embedded using the embed code. For more information about sharing a link to the dashboard, see Sharing a link to the dashboard. For more information about embedding dashboards for anyone on the internet, see Turning on public access to visuals and dashboards with a 1-click embed code.

Updating a publicly shared dashboard

Use the following procedure to update a shared dashboard that can be accessed by anyone on the internet.

To update a public dashboard:
  1. From the Amazon QuickSight start page, choose the analysis that is tied to the dashboard that you want to update and make your desired changes. You must be the owner or a co-owner of the analysis.

  2. In the analysis, choose Publish.

  3. In the pop-up that appears, choose Replace an existing dashboard and select the public dashboard that you want to update.

  4. To confirm your choice, enter confirm and then choose Publish dashboard.

    Once you choose Publish dashboard, your public dashboard is updated to reflect the new changes.

Turning off public sharing settings

You can turn off public sharing settings for dashboards at anytime. You can turn off public sharing for an individual dashboard, or for all dashboards in your account. Visual sharing settings are determined at the dashboard level. If you turn off public sharing settings to a dashboard that holds a visual that you are embedding, users won't be able to access the visual.

The following table describes the different scenarios for when a dashboard is publicly available.

Account-level public setting Dashboard-level public setting Public access Visual indicators

Off

Off

Off

None

On

Off

Off

None

On

On

Yes

An orange badge appears on the dashboard and an eye icon appears on the dashboard in the Dashboards page.

Off

On

No

A grey badge appears on the dashboard and an eye icon with a slash appears on the dashboard in the Dashboards page. It can take up to two minutes for a dashboard's public access to be revoked.

To turn off public sharing for a single dashboard
  1. In QuickSight, open the published dashboard that you no longer want to share. You must be the owner or a co-owner of the dashboard.

  2. In the published dashboard, choose the Share icon at upper-right, and then choose Share dashboard.

  3. In the Share dashboard page that opens, toggle off the Anyone on the internet (public) switch in the Enable access for section at bottom-left.

    This action will remove public access to the dashboard. It will now only be accessible to users that it has been shared with.

To turn off public sharing settings for all dashboards in a QuickSight user account
  1. From the Amazon QuickSight start page, choose your user icon at upper right of your browser window, and then choose Manage QuickSight.

  2. In the page that opens, choose Security and permissions at left.

  3. Scroll down and, in the Public access to dashboards section, choose Manage.

  4. On the page that opens, toggle off the Anyone on the internet switch.

    When you disable public sharing settings from the Public sharing menu, a pop-up will appear asking you to confirm your choice. Select I have read and acknowledge this change and then choose Confirm to confirm your choice.

    This action will remove public access to every dashboard on your account. Dashboards that were visible to anyone on the internet will now only be accessible to users that each dashboard has been shared with. Individual dashboards that have their public settings turned on will have a gray badge and the eye icon that appears on the Dashboards page will have a strike through it to indicate that the account level public settings are disabled and that the dashboard can't be viewed. It can take up to two minutes for a dashboard's public access to be revoked.

If your session capacity pricing subscription has expired, public sharing settings will be automatically removed across your account. Renew your subscription to restore access to public sharing settings.