Sharing Datasets - Amazon QuickSight

Sharing Datasets

You can give other Amazon QuickSight users and groups access to a dataset by sharing it with them. Then they can create analyses from it. If you make them co-owners, they can also refresh, edit, delete, or reshare the dataset.

Sharing a Dataset

Use the following procedure to share a dataset.

  1. On the Your Data Sets page, choose the dataset. Then choose Share (if this dataset hasn't been shared with anyone). Or choose Shared with <X> users (if the dataset has been shared with others).

  2. Choose Invite Users.

  3. Enter the user or group that you want to share this dataset with. Then choose the add icon. You can only invite users who belong to the same Amazon QuickSight account.

    Repeat this step until you have entered information for everyone you want to share the dataset with.

  4. For Permission, choose the role for each user or group, to give them permissions on the dataset.

    Choose User to allow the user to create analyses from the dataset. Choose Owner to allow the user to do that and also refresh, edit, delete, and reshare the dataset.

  5. Choose Share.

    Users receive emails with a link to the dataset. Groups don't receive invitation emails.

Viewing and Editing the Permissions of Users That a Dataset Is Shared With

If you have owner permissions on a dataset, you can use the following procedure to view, edit, or change user access to it.

  1. On the Your Data Sets page, choose the dataset. Then choose Share (if this dataset hasn't been shared with anyone). Or choose Shared with <X> users (if the dataset has been shared with others).

    A list of all users with access to the dataset is displayed.

  2. (Optional) To change roles, choose the field in the Permission column next to the user or group. Then choose either User or Owner.

Revoking Access to a Dataset

If you have owner permissions on a dataset, you can use the following procedure to revoke user access to a dataset.

  1. On the Your Data Sets page, choose the dataset. Then choose Share (if this dataset hasn't been shared with anyone). Or choose Shared with <X> users (if the dataset has been shared with others).

    A list of all users with access to the dataset is displayed.

  2. In the Actions column for the user, choose Revoke access.