可序列化隔離 - Amazon Redshift

本文為英文版的機器翻譯版本,如內容有任何歧義或不一致之處,概以英文版為準。

可序列化隔離

有些應用程式需要的不僅僅是並行查詢和載入,還有並行寫入多個資料表或相同的資料表的能力。在此情況下,並行表示重疊,而不是排程在完全相同的時間執行。如果第二個交易在第一個認可之前開始,則會把兩個交易會視為並行。並行操作可能源自受相同使用者或不同使用者控制的不同工作階段。

注意

Amazon Redshift 支持默認自動提交每個單獨運行 SQL 命令單獨提交的行為。如果您在交易區塊中含括一組命令 (由 BEGIN結束 陳述式定義),該區塊會以一個交易的形式認可,因此您可以在必要時加以復原。這種行為的例外是 TRUNCATE 和 VACUUM 命令,這兩種命令會自動遞交所有目前交易中未完成的變更。

某些 SQL 用戶端會自動發出 BEGIN 和 COMMIT 命令,讓用戶端控制要將陳述式群組做為交易執行,還是將每個個別的陳述式做為單獨的交易執行。請查看您正在使用的界面文件。例如,使用 Amazon Redshift JDBC 驅動程序時,JDBCPreparedStatement使用包含多個(分號分隔)的查詢字符串 SQL 命令將所有語句作為單個事務運行。相反地,如果您使用 SQL Workbench/J 並設定 AUTO COMMIT ON,則當您執行多個陳述式時,每個陳述式都會做為單獨的交易執行。

Amazon Redshift 以保護的方式支援並行寫入操作,並在資料表上使用寫入鎖定,以及序列化隔離。可序列化隔離可維持對資料表執行的交易對該資料表執行的唯一交易的錯覺。例如,兩個並行執行的交易,T1 和 T2,必須產生與下列至少一項相同的結果:

  • T1 和 T2 會依照該順序循序執行。

  • T2 和 T1 會依照該順序循序執行。

並行交易彼此看不見對方;它們無法偵測彼此的變更。每個並行交易將在交易開始時建立資料庫的快照。資料庫快照會在多數 SELECT 陳述式、DML 命令 (例如 COPY、DELETE、INSERT、UPDATE 和 TRUNCATE),以及下列 DDL 命令的第一個出現的交易內建立:

  • ALTER TABLE (用來新增或捨棄資料欄)

  • CREATE TABLE

  • DROP TABLE

  • TRUNCATE TABLE

如果並行異動的任何序號執行產生與並行執行相同的結果,則這些異動會被視為「可序列化」,並且可以安全地執行。如果沒有任何序列執行這些交易可以產生相同的結果,則執行可能會破壞序列化能力之陳述式的交易會停止並回復。

系統目錄資料表 (PG) 和其他 Amazon Redshift 系統資料表 (STL 和 STV) 不會鎖定在交易中。因此,對於 DDL 和 TRUNCATE 作業所產生的資料庫物件所做的變更,在認可至任何並行交易時都會顯示出來。

例如,假設當兩個並行交易 T1 和 T2 開始時,資料表 A 存在於資料庫。假設 T2 透過從 PG_TABLES 目錄表格中選取來傳回資料表清單。然後 T1 刪除表 A 並提交,然後 T2 再次列出表。表 A 現在不再列出。如果 T2 嘗試查詢丟棄的表,Amazon Redshift 返回「關係不存在」錯誤。將資料表清單傳回至 T2 或檢查資料表 A 是否存在的目錄查詢,不會受到與在使用者資料表上執行的作業相同的隔離規則所限制。

對這些資料表更新的交易會在讀取已認可隔離模式中執行。PG 前綴目錄資料表不支援快照集隔離。

系統資料表和類別資料表的可序列化隔離

對於參考使用者建立的資料表或 Amazon Redshift 系統資料表 (STL 或 STV) 的任何 SELECT 查詢,在交易中也會建立資料庫快照集。不參考任何資料表的 SELECT 查詢不會建立新的交易資料庫快照集。僅在系統目錄資料表 (PG) 上運作的 INSERT、DELETE 和 UPDATE 陳述式也不會建立新的交易資料庫快照集。

如何修正可序列化隔離錯誤

錯誤:1023 詳細信息:在 Redshift 中的表上可序列化隔離違規

Amazon Redshift 偵測到可序列化的隔離錯誤時,您會看到錯誤訊息,例如以下所示:

ERROR:1023 DETAIL: Serializable isolation violation on table in Redshift

若要解決可序列化隔離錯誤,您可以嘗試以下方法:

  • 重試已取消的交易。

    Amazon Redshift 偵測到並行工作負載不可序列化。它表明應用程序邏輯中的差距,通常可以通過重試遇到錯誤的事務來解決這個問題。如果問題仍然存在,請嘗試使用其他方法。

  • 將任何無須位於同一不可分割交易中的操作,移到交易之外。

    當兩個交易中的個別操作以可能影響另一個交易結果的方式交叉參考時,適用此方法。例如,以下兩個工作階段會開始交易。

    Session1_Redshift=# begin;
    Session2_Redshift=# begin;

    每個交易中 SELECT 陳述式的結果,可能會受到另一個交易中 INSERT 陳述式的影響。換句話說,假設您以任何順序,依序執行以下陳述式。在每種情況下,結果都是其中一個 SELECT 陳述式會比同時執行全部交易多傳回一行。依序執行的操作中,沒有任何執行順序可以產生與並行執行相同的結果。因此,最後一個執行的操作會導致可序列化隔離錯誤。

    Session1_Redshift=# select * from tab1; Session1_Redshift=# insert into tab2 values (1);
    Session2_Redshift=# insert into tab1 values (1); Session2_Redshift=# select * from tab2;

    在許多情況下,SELECT 陳述式的結果並不重要。換句話說,交易中操作的不可分割性並不重要。在這些情況下,將 SELECT 陳述式移到交易之外,如以下範例所示。

    Session1_Redshift=# begin; Session1_Redshift=# insert into tab1 values (1) Session1_Redshift=# end; Session1_Redshift=# select * from tab2;
    Session2_Redshift # select * from tab1; Session2_Redshift=# begin; Session2_Redshift=# insert into tab2 values (1) Session2_Redshift=# end;

    在這些範例中,交易中沒有交叉參考。兩個 INSERT 陳述式不會互相影響。在這些範例中,至少有一個順序,可讓交易依序執行並產生與並行執行相同的結果。這表示交易是可序列化的。

  • 請透過鎖定每個工作階段中的所有資料表來強制序列化。

    LOCK 命令能封鎖可能導致可序列化隔離錯誤的操作。使用 LOCK 命令時,請務必執行以下操作:

    • 鎖定受交易影響的所有資料表,包括受交易內部唯讀 SELECT 陳述式影響的資料表。

    • 無論操作的執行順序為何,均以相同的順序鎖定資料表。

    • 在交易開頭,執行任何操作之前,先鎖定所有資料表。

錯誤:1018 詳細信息:關係不存在

當您在不同的工作階段中執行並行的 Amazon Redshift 操作時,您會看到錯誤訊息,例如以下所示:

ERROR: 1018 DETAIL: Relation does not exist.

Amazon Redshift 中的交易遵循快照隔離。交易開始後,Amazon Redshift 會擷取資料庫的快照。對於交易的整個生命週期,交易會在快照集中反映在資料庫的狀態上運作。如果交易從快照集中不存在的資料表讀取,則會擲回先前顯示的 1018 錯誤訊息。即使在交易擷取快照集之後,另一個並行交易建立資料表,交易也無法從新建立的資料表中讀取。

為了解決此序列化隔離錯誤,您可以嘗試將事務的開始移動到您知道該表存在的位置。

如果該表是由另一個事務創建的,這一點至少在該事務已經提交之後。此外,請確定沒有可能捨棄資料表的並行交易。

session1 = # BEGIN; session1 = # DROP TABLE A; session1 = # COMMIT;
session2 = # BEGIN;
session3 = # BEGIN; session3 = # CREATE TABLE A (id INT); session3 = # COMMIT;
session2 = # SELECT * FROM A;

作為 session2 讀取操作運行的最後一個操作會導致可序列化隔離錯誤。當 session2 取得快照集,且資料表已被認可的工作階段 1 卸除時,就會發生這個錯誤。換句話說,即使並發 session3 已經創建了表,session2 看不到該表,因為它不在快照集中。

若要解決此問題,您可以如下所示重新排序工作階段。

session1 = # BEGIN; session1 = # DROP TABLE A; session1 = # COMMIT;
session3 = # BEGIN; session3 = # CREATE TABLE A (id INT); session3 = # COMMIT;
session2 = # BEGIN; session2 = # SELECT * FROM A;

現在,當 session2 獲取其快照時,session3 已經提交,並且該表位於數據庫中。會話 2 可以從表中讀取而不會出現任何錯誤。

Serializable isolation - Amazon Redshift

Serializable isolation

Some applications require not only concurrent querying and loading, but also the ability to write to multiple tables or the same table concurrently. In this context, concurrently means overlapping, not scheduled to run at precisely the same time. Two transactions are considered to be concurrent if the second one starts before the first commits. Concurrent operations can originate from different sessions that are controlled either by the same user or by different users.

Note

Amazon Redshift supports a default automatic commit behavior in which each separately executed SQL command commits individually. If you enclose a set of commands in a transaction block (defined by BEGIN and END statements), the block commits as one transaction, so you can roll it back if necessary. Exceptions to this behavior are the TRUNCATE and VACUUM commands, which automatically commit all outstanding changes made in the current transaction.

Some SQL clients issue BEGIN and COMMIT commands automatically, so the client controls whether a group of statements are run as a transaction or each individual statement is run as its own transaction. Check the documentation for the interface you are using. For example, when using the Amazon Redshift JDBC driver, a JDBC PreparedStatement with a query string that contains multiple (semicolon separated) SQL commands runs all the statements as a single transaction. In contrast, if you use SQL Workbench/J and set AUTO COMMIT ON, then if you run multiple statements, each statement runs as its own transaction.

Concurrent write operations are supported in Amazon Redshift in a protective way, using write locks on tables and the principle of serializable isolation. Serializable isolation preserves the illusion that a transaction running against a table is the only transaction that is running against that table. For example, two concurrently running transactions, T1 and T2, must produce the same results as at least one of the following:

  • T1 and T2 run serially in that order.

  • T2 and T1 run serially in that order.

Concurrent transactions are invisible to each other; they cannot detect each other's changes. Each concurrent transaction will create a snapshot of the database at the beginning of the transaction. A database snapshot is created within a transaction on the first occurrence of most SELECT statements, DML commands such as COPY, DELETE, INSERT, UPDATE, and TRUNCATE, and the following DDL commands:

  • ALTER TABLE (to add or drop columns)

  • CREATE TABLE

  • DROP TABLE

  • TRUNCATE TABLE

If any serial execution of the concurrent transactions produces the same results as their concurrent execution, those transactions are deemed "serializable" and can be run safely. If no serial execution of those transactions can produce the same results, the transaction that runs a statement that might break the ability to serialize is stopped and rolled back.

System catalog tables (PG) and other Amazon Redshift system tables (STL and STV) are not locked in a transaction. Therefore, changes to database objects that arise from DDL and TRUNCATE operations are visible on commit to any concurrent transactions.

For example, suppose that table A exists in the database when two concurrent transactions, T1 and T2, start. Suppose that T2 returns a list of tables by selecting from the PG_TABLES catalog table. Then T1 drops table A and commits, and then T2 lists the tables again. Table A is now no longer listed. If T2 tries to query the dropped table, Amazon Redshift returns a "relation does not exist" error. The catalog query that returns the list of tables to T2 or checks that table A exists isn't subject to the same isolation rules as operations performed on user tables.

Transactions for updates to these tables run in a read committed isolation mode. PG-prefix catalog tables don't support snapshot isolation.

Serializable isolation for system tables and catalog tables

A database snapshot is also created in a transaction for any SELECT query that references a user-created table or Amazon Redshift system table (STL or STV). SELECT queries that don't reference any table don't create a new transaction database snapshot. INSERT, DELETE, and UPDATE statements that operate solely on system catalog tables (PG) also don't create a new transaction database snapshot.

How to fix serializable isolation errors

ERROR:1023 DETAIL: Serializable isolation violation on a table in Redshift

When Amazon Redshift detects a serializable isolation error, you see an error message such as the following.

ERROR:1023 DETAIL: Serializable isolation violation on table in Redshift

To address a serializable isolation error, you can try the following methods:

  • Retry the aborted transaction.

    Amazon Redshift detected that a concurrent workload is not serializable. It suggests gaps in the application logic, which can usually be worked around by retrying the transaction that encountered the error. If the issue persists, try one of the other methods.

  • Move any operations that don't have to be in the same atomic transaction outside of the transaction.

    This method applies when individual operations inside two transactions cross-reference each other in a way that can affect the outcome of the other transaction. For example, the following two sessions each start a transaction.

    Session1_Redshift=# begin;
    Session2_Redshift=# begin;

    The result of a SELECT statement in each transaction might be affected by an INSERT statement in the other. In other words, suppose that you run the following statements serially, in any order. In every case, the result is one of the SELECT statements returning one more row than if the transactions were run concurrently. There is no order in which the operations can run serially that produces the same result as when run concurrently. Thus, the last operation that is run results in a serializable isolation error.

    Session1_Redshift=# select * from tab1; Session1_Redshift=# insert into tab2 values (1);
    Session2_Redshift=# insert into tab1 values (1); Session2_Redshift=# select * from tab2;

    In many cases, the result of the SELECT statements isn't important. In other words, the atomicity of the operations in the transactions isn't important. In these cases, move the SELECT statements outside of their transactions, as shown in the following examples.

    Session1_Redshift=# begin; Session1_Redshift=# insert into tab1 values (1) Session1_Redshift=# end; Session1_Redshift=# select * from tab2;
    Session2_Redshift # select * from tab1; Session2_Redshift=# begin; Session2_Redshift=# insert into tab2 values (1) Session2_Redshift=# end;

    In these examples, there are no cross-references in the transactions. The two INSERT statements don't affect each other. In these examples, there is at least one order in which the transactions can run serially and produce the same result as if run concurrently. This means that the transactions are serializable.

  • Force serialization by locking all tables in each session.

    The LOCK command blocks operations that can result in serializable isolation errors. When you use the LOCK command, be sure to do the following:

    • Lock all tables affected by the transaction, including those affected by read-only SELECT statements inside the transaction.

    • Lock tables in the same order, regardless of the order that operations are performed in.

    • Lock all tables at the beginning of the transaction, before performing any operations.

ERROR:1018 DETAIL: Relation does not exist

When you run concurrent Amazon Redshift operations in different sessions, you see an error message such as the following.

ERROR: 1018 DETAIL: Relation does not exist.

Transactions in Amazon Redshift follow snapshot isolation. After a transaction begins, Amazon Redshift takes a snapshot of the database. For the entire lifecycle of the transaction, the transaction operates on the state of the database as reflected in the snapshot. If the transaction reads from a table that doesn't exist in the snapshot, it throws the 1018 error message shown previously. Even when another concurrent transaction creates a table after the transaction has taken the snapshot, the transaction can't read from the newly created table.

To address this serialization isolation error, you can try to move the start of the transaction to a point where you know the table exists.

If the table is created by another transaction, this point is at least after that transaction has been committed. Also, ensure that no concurrent transaction has been committed that might have dropped the table.

session1 = # BEGIN; session1 = # DROP TABLE A; session1 = # COMMIT;
session2 = # BEGIN;
session3 = # BEGIN; session3 = # CREATE TABLE A (id INT); session3 = # COMMIT;
session2 = # SELECT * FROM A;

The last operation that is run as the read operation by session2 results in a serializable isolation error. This error happens when session2 takes a snapshot and the table has already been dropped by a committed session1. In other words, even though a concurrent session3 has created the table, session2 doesn't see the table because it's not in the snapshot.

To resolve this error, you can reorder the sessions as follows.

session1 = # BEGIN; session1 = # DROP TABLE A; session1 = # COMMIT;
session3 = # BEGIN; session3 = # CREATE TABLE A (id INT); session3 = # COMMIT;
session2 = # BEGIN; session2 = # SELECT * FROM A;

Now when session2 takes its snapshot, session3 has already been committed, and the table is in the database. Session2 can read from the table without any error.