对表执行 vacuum 操作 - Amazon Redshift

对表执行 vacuum 操作

Amazon Redshift 可以在后台自动对表进行排序并执行 VACUUM DELETE 操作。要在加载或一系列增量更新操作后清理表,您也可以对整个数据库或对单个表运行 VACUUM 命令。

注意

仅表所有者或超级用户可对表高效地执行 vacuum 操作。如果您不具有某个表的所有者或超级用户权限,则指定单个表的 VACUUM 操作将失败。如果您对整个数据库运行 VACUUM,而不指定表名,则操作将成功完成。不过,该操作不会影响您不具有其所有者或超级用户权限的表。

出于此原因,我们建议根据需要对各个表执行 vacuum 操作。我们也推荐此方法,因为对整个数据库进行 vacuum 操作可能会消耗大量资源。

自动表排序

Amazon Redshift 在后台自动对数据进行排序以按照其排序键顺序保留表数据。Amazon Redshift 将跟踪您的扫描查询以确定表的哪些部分将从排序中受益。

根据系统上的负载,Amazon Redshift 自动启动排序操作。此自动排序减少了运行 VACUUM 命令以按排序键顺序保留数据的需求。如果您需要按排序键顺序对数据进行完全排序(例如,在加载大量数据之后),则您仍可以手动运行 VACUUM 命令。要通过运行 VACUUM SORT 来确定您的表是否将受益,请监控 vacuum_sort_benefit 中的 SVV_TABLE_INFO 列。

Amazon Redshift 跟踪在每个表上使用排序键的扫描查询。Amazon Redshift 估计每个表(如果表已完全排序)在数据扫描和筛选方面的最大改进百分比。此估计值在 vacuum_sort_benefit 中的 SVV_TABLE_INFO 列中可见。您可以将此列与 unsorted 列结合使用,确定查询何时可以从手动对表运行 VACUUM SORT 中受益。unsorted 列反映表的物理排序顺序。vacuum_sort_benefit 列指定通过手动运行 VACUUM SORT 对表进行排序的影响。

例如,请考虑以下查询:

select "table", unsorted,vacuum_sort_benefit from svv_table_info order by 1;
table | unsorted | vacuum_sort_benefit -------+----------+--------------------- sales | 85.71 | 5.00 event | 45.24 | 67.00

对于表“sales”,即使该表的物理未排序项约为 86%,其对查询性能的影响也仅为 5%。这可能是因为查询只访问表的一小部分内容,也可能是因为访问表的查询几近于无。对于表“event”,该表的物理未排序项约为 45%。不过,67% 的查询性能影响表明查询访问了表的更大部分内容,或者访问表的查询的数量很多。表“event”可能会从运行 VACUUM SORT 中受益。

自动 vacuum 删除

执行 delete 操作时,会将行标记为删除,但不会删除。Amazon Redshift 会根据数据库表中已删除的行数在后台自动运行 VACUUM DELETE 操作。Amazon Redshift 安排 VACUUM DELETE 在负载减少期间运行,并在高负载期间暂停操作。

vacuum 频率

您应按照所需频率执行 vacuum 操作以保持一致的查询性能。在确定运行 VACUUM 命令的频率时,请考虑以下因素。

  • 在预计集群上的活动最少的时间段(例如,夜晚或指定的数据库管理时段)内运行 VACUUM。

  • 大型未排序区域将导致更长的 vacuum 时间。如果您延迟 vacuum 操作,则 vacuum 操作将需要更长的时间,因为需要识别更多数据。

  • VACUUM 是 I/O 密集型操作,因此,完成 vacuum 操作所需的时间越长,它对您的集群上运行的并发查询和其他数据库操作的影响就越大。

  • 对于使用交错排序的表,VACUUM 花费的时间更长。要评估是否需对交错的表重新排序,请查询 SVV_INTERLEAVED_COLUMNS 视图。

排序阶段和合并阶段

Amazon Redshift 按照两个阶段执行 vacuum 操作:首先,它会对未排序区域中的行进行排序;然后,如有必要,会将表结尾处的新排序的行与现有行合并。在对大型表执行 vacuum 操作时,vacuum 操作将在合并后继续一系列步骤(包括增量排序)。如果操作失败,或者如何 Amazon Redshift 在 vacuum 操作期间停止运行,已部分执行 vacuum 操作的表或数据库将处于一致状态,但您需要手动重启 vacuum 操作。增量排序将丢失,但不需要再次对失败前已提交的合并行执行 vacuum 操作。如果未排序区域较大,则浪费的时间可能更多。有关排序阶段和合并阶段的更多信息,请参阅管理合并的行数

在对表执行 vacuum 操作时,用户可以访问表。您可以在对表执行 vacuum 操作的同时执行查询和写入操作,但如果 DML 和 vacuum 操作同时运行,则二者可能花费更长时间。如果您在 vacuum 操作期间执行 UPDATE 和 DELETE 语句,则系统性能可能会降低。增量合并会临时阻止并发 UPDATE 和 DELETE 操作,而 UPDATE 和 DELETE 反过来会临时阻止对受影响的表执行增量合并步骤。在对表执行完 vacuum 操作前,DDL 操作(例如 ALTER TABLE)将被阻止。

注意

VACUUM 的各种修饰符控制它的工作方式。您可以使用它们来根据当前需求定制 vacuum 操作。例如,使用 VACUUM RECLUSTER 可通过不执行完全合并操作来缩短 vacuum 操作。有关更多信息,请参阅VACUUM

vacuum 阈值

默认情况下,当任意表中有 95% 的行已有序时,VACUUM 会为该表跳过排序阶段。跳过排序阶段能够显著提高 VACUUM 的性能。要更改某个表的默认排序阈值,请在运行 VACUUM 命令时包含表名称和 TO threshold PERCENT 参数。

vacuum 类型

有关不同 vacuum 类型的信息,请参阅VACUUM

Amazon Redshift
Database Developer Guide

Vacuuming Tables

Amazon Redshift can automatically sort and perform a VACUUM DELETE operation on tables in the background. To clean up tables after a load or a series of incremental updates, you can also run the VACUUM command, either against the entire database or against individual tables.

Note

Only the table owner or a superuser can effectively vacuum a table. If you don't have owner or superuser privileges for a table, a VACUUM operation that specifies a single table fails. If you run a VACUUM of the entire database without specifying a table name, the operation completes successfully. However, the operation has no effect on tables for which you don't have owner or superuser privileges.

For this reason, we recommend vacuuming individual tables as needed. We also recommend this approach because vacuuming the entire database is potentially an expensive operation,

Automatic Table Sort

Amazon Redshift automatically sorts data in the background to maintain table data in the order of its sort key. Amazon Redshift keeps track of your scan queries to determine which sections of the table will benefit from sorting.

Depending on the load on the system, Amazon Redshift automatically initiates the sort. This automatic sort lessens the need to run the VACUUM command to keep data in sort key order. If you need data fully sorted in sort key order, for example after a large data load, then you can still manually run the VACUUM command. To determine whether your table will benefit by running VACUUM SORT, monitor the vacuum_sort_benefit column in SVV_TABLE_INFO.

Amazon Redshift tracks scan queries that use the sort key on each table. Amazon Redshift estimates the maximum percentage of improvement in scanning and filtering of data for each table (if the table was fully sorted). This estimate is visible in the vacuum_sort_benefit column in SVV_TABLE_INFO. You can use this column, along with the unsorted column, to determine when queries can benefit from manually running VACUUM SORT on a table. The unsorted column reflects the physical sort order of a table. The vacuum_sort_benefit column specifies the impact of sorting a table by manually running VACUUM SORT.

For example, consider the following query:

select "table", unsorted,vacuum_sort_benefit from svv_table_info order by 1;
table | unsorted | vacuum_sort_benefit -------+----------+--------------------- sales | 85.71 | 5.00 event | 45.24 | 67.00

For the table “sales”, even though the table is ~86% physically unsorted, the query performance impact from the table being 86% unsorted is only 5%. This might be either because only a small portion of the table is accessed by queries, or very few queries accessed the table. For the table “event”, the table is ~45% physically unsorted. But the query performance impact of 67% indicates that either a larger portion of the table was accessed by queries, or the number of queries accessing the table was large. The table "event" can potentially benefit from running VACUUM SORT.

Automatic Vacuum Delete

When you perform a delete, the rows are marked for deletion, but not removed. Amazon Redshift automatically runs a VACUUM DELETE operation in the background based on the number of deleted rows in database tables. Amazon Redshift schedules the VACUUM DELETE to run during periods of reduced load and pauses the operation during periods of high load.

VACUUM Frequency

You should vacuum as often as you need to in order to maintain consistent query performance. Consider these factors when determining how often to run your VACUUM command.

  • Run VACUUM during time periods when you expect minimal activity on the cluster, such as evenings or during designated database administration windows.

  • A large unsorted region results in longer vacuum times. If you delay vacuuming, the vacuum will take longer because more data has to be reorganized.

  • VACUUM is an I/O intensive operation, so the longer it takes for your vacuum to complete, the more impact it will have on concurrent queries and other database operations running on your cluster.

  • VACUUM takes longer for tables that use interleaved sorting. To evaluate whether interleaved tables need to be re-sorted, query the SVV_INTERLEAVED_COLUMNS view.

Sort Stage and Merge Stage

Amazon Redshift performs a vacuum operation in two stages: first, it sorts the rows in the unsorted region, then, if necessary, it merges the newly sorted rows at the end of the table with the existing rows. When vacuuming a large table, the vacuum operation proceeds in a series of steps consisting of incremental sorts followed by merges. If the operation fails or if Amazon Redshift goes off line during the vacuum, the partially vacuumed table or database will be in a consistent state, but you will need to manually restart the vacuum operation. Incremental sorts are lost, but merged rows that were committed before the failure do not need to be vacuumed again. If the unsorted region is large, the lost time might be significant. For more information about the sort and merge stages, see Managing the Volume of Merged Rows.

Users can access tables while they are being vacuumed. You can perform queries and write operations while a table is being vacuumed, but when DML and a vacuum run concurrently, both might take longer. If you execute UPDATE and DELETE statements during a vacuum, system performance might be reduced. Incremental merges temporarily block concurrent UPDATE and DELETE operations, and UPDATE and DELETE operations in turn temporarily block incremental merge steps on the affected tables. DDL operations, such as ALTER TABLE, are blocked until the vacuum operation finishes with the table.

Vacuum Threshold

By default, VACUUM skips the sort phase for any table where more than 95 percent of the table's rows are already sorted. Skipping the sort phase can significantly improve VACUUM performance. To change the default sort threshold for a single table, include the table name and the TO threshold PERCENT parameter when you run the VACUUM command.

Vacuum Types

You can run a full vacuum, a delete only vacuum, a sort only vacuum, or a reindex with full vacuum.

  • VACUUM FULL

    VACUUM FULL re-sorts rows and reclaims space from deleted rows. Amazon Redshift automatically performs VACUUM DELETE ONLY operations in the background, so for most applications, VACUUM FULL and VACUUM SORT ONLY are equivalent. VACUUM FULL is the same as VACUUM. Full vacuum is the default vacuum operation.

  • VACUUM DELETE ONLY

    A DELETE ONLY vacuum is the same as a full vacuum except that it skips the sort. Amazon Redshift automatically performs a DELETE ONLY vacuum in the background, so you rarely, if ever, need to run a DELETE ONLY vacuum.

  • VACUUM SORT ONLY

    A SORT ONLY doesn't reclaim disk space. In most cases there is little benefit compared to a full vacuum.

  • VACUUM REINDEX

    Use VACUUM REINDEX for tables that use interleaved sort keys. For more information about interleaved sort keys, see Interleaved Sort Key.

    When you initially load an empty interleaved table using COPY or CREATE TABLE AS, Amazon Redshift automatically builds the interleaved index. If you initially load an interleaved table using INSERT, you need to run VACUUM REINDEX afterwards to initialize the interleaved index.

    REINDEX reanalyzes the distribution of the values in the table's sort key columns, then performs a full VACUUM operation. VACUUM REINDEX takes significantly longer than VACUUM FULL because it needs to take an extra analysis pass over the data, and because merging in new interleaved data can involve touching all the data blocks.

    If a VACUUM REINDEX operation terminates before it completes, the next VACUUM resumes the reindex operation before performing the vacuum.